Monaghan Forum

Popular Posts from mhunicean_abu

Malachy's Successor - 9 Like(s)

Replying To hardcore:  "More miss information from supporters leading to all sorts of crap been said regarding the management set up...........plus the whole social media abuse of Banty is disgusting,and makes us look like a right shower of you know whats........ Easy know none of thoses people were around Monaghan football in the late 90's until 2005 to see the strides we made and the change in culture around the County squad....... Before Banty came in we had a division 4 team who couldnt wait to go on the beer on an away match.......2 years later we were leading Kerry by a point with 2 minutes left in an All Ireland Quarter Final (and to this day was the best Monaghan football performance in Croke Park). Peter Donnelly is S&C coach and will train the squad to a higher standard than they are at now. Conor Laferty is Sports sicence/coach................both these men are top notch and as the say this Generation football coaches. David McCague is Selector/Maor Forine............Sharpe man,well got with the players. Stats men are All Ireland winners And Banty,old school,blinded by pure passion for the job who rubs people up the wrong way,including me...........but will give everything to this job and thats all we can ask. He's in a no win situation............if this goes well,all the credit will go to Peter Donnelly.............if this goes bad then its all Bantys fault............thats what you's will all say. Remember,who was Malachy O'Rourke before he was asked to Manage Monaghan??? He was a selector with Latton in 2012 !!!! And we all know how that turned out........... Give this set up a chance."
There was me thinking MOR took Tyholland up senior for the first time ever, won the Derry and Ulster club titles with underdogs the Loup, won senior county titles with Cavan Gaels and Errigal Chiaran, took Fermanagh to their first Ulster final in decades. League and Ulster titles with Monaghan. And you can be sure he'll win again Latton were lucky to get rid of him when they did

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - 09/09/2019 15:58:43

Andy Mcentee And The Referee - 8 Like(s)
It's disappointing the stuff coming out of some from Meath, saying the Galway tactics would put Ulster teams to shame, didn't hear any uproar from them after the Tyrone and Donegal matches, it's not OK to insult and single out Ulster teams. Most of the Galway scores I seen in the second half came from in front of the goals and the wind died down for them in second half. The game ws there to be won in the second half. I had some sympathy for him regarding the added time issue against Donegal but little otherwise They have very short memories if the truth was told.

mhunicean_abu (National) - 02/03/2020 13:09:08

El Clasico 2020 Monaghan Vs Cavan - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Monaghan Exile:  "I have always had great time for Banty, his passion & love of Monaghan, 2nd to none. He brought us out of Div 4 limbo to become one of the top sides in the country. I was glad to see him take over from Malachy. The tactics we used inthe second half were just crazy & senseless. I can seriously say, that was the first time I've ever seen a team beat itself. At one stage in the second half, Ryan McAnespie, won a ball aprox 35-40m from the Cavan goal, we had a man free inside, but he did'nt even look up, just passed the ball back down the field, ending up with Rory Beggan inside his own 45m. Those were obvoiusly, instructions from management. Cavan, after 10mins of 2nd half realized that Monaghan were not going to attack, therefore went after us & we all know the story. I would say every neutral in the country wanted Cavan to win with the display we put on in the second half. Banty has 2 choices, change his system or resign. If he stays, he should talk to his senior players & commit to change. Our full forward line, must have been seething ,with what was happening. Some positivity, O'Hanlon looks like fulfilling his potential, young Woods looks a great prospect, as does Bannigan. Finally, well done Cavan, ye deserved it."
How is his passion and love of Monaghan second to none. I have been going to away league matches for 30 years through all the divisions and very seldom have I seen him attend. There are thousands of genuine passionate supporters that 'loves me county' that I would put Banty second to. Stop this nonsense, nobody has a monopoly on passion or love for their county. The appointment of manager should be based on at the very least some level of tactical acumen

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - 01/11/2020 14:05:19

NFL Division 1 - 7 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "Monaghan arent in the chasing pack."
Monaghan are happy where they are, no matter where your good self would grade us

mhunicean_abu (National) - 23/02/2020 19:03:47

Dublin unreachable - fact or fiction? - 6 Like(s)
After the Monaghan and Dublin match on Sunday and reading the article (link below) on the development of games in our county. I got to thinking (I know, I know) is it realistic for a county like Monaghan to stay competitive with the likes of Dublin http://www.gaa.ie/features/feature/monaghan-remain-busy-planning-for-the-future/ On the face of it looking at the population of the two counties, Dublin 1,300,000 and Monaghan 60,000 (approx.), you would have to say no way. But when you dig deeper it may not be as implausible as first seems. The article states that "During the 2016 GAA Cul Camps 10,251 participated in Dublin, 2,789 in Monaghan. Back in 2006 5,713 attended in the capital, while Monaghan only had 865." I cross referenced the figures with the total potential population according to the CSO census, IE primary school going children, Dublin have approx. 123,000 children in that age group and Monaghan have 6,900. What all that means is that, according to the Cul camp figures in the article, Dublin had an 8.5% (10,251) participation rate while Monaghan had a whopping 40.5% (2,789). This clearly indicates two things: That the competition from other sports is very real in Dublin and that using Dublin's overall population as an argument, while it is distinctly advantageous, is not as robust as I first thought. Monaghan is a football mad County and that 40% participation rate is almost guaranteed, it is what we do with that 40% that determines the quality our older aged and senior teams. The article sites how well run the development of the games has come-on over the past ten years in Monaghan. This development can only happen with the support and input of parents, volunteers at club, school and county level, but the county board have put in place a clear strategy that brings these young players on to inter county level when they reach 14 or so. This is exactly what is happening in Dublin albeit at a much larger scale. The hard work and a clear strategy set out by the county board, which aims to be totally inclusive is starting to bear fruits and there should be no reason for this not to continue. Sunday clearly showed that we are not there yet though , on the day we had the game and the team to win but we just didn't have the squad. Basically what you need is a squad of 30 or so of a certain level at minor, U20 and senior, and even with a starting pool of 2,789 that is very achievable if the development strategy is there throughout as we have currently. The other issue of ability relating directly to the two counties is no argument either. I know first hand that juveniles in Dublin are required to split training and matches equally between Hurling and Football, In Monaghan it is all football. So lets say an U10 team (football) from Scotstown trains twice a week and plays at the weekend, every week, and the same U10 team in Raheny only does so on alternate weeks, surely the Scotstown football team are further on in their development than the one in Raheny. Dublin with all their resources have not reached a minor final since 2012, Kerry have dominated that scene since by and large. Kerry as we know is also a football mad county with little in the way of competition from other sports, and the focus here is primarily on football, as is Mayo. It would be interesting to see the Cul camp figures for these counties. As a Monaghan supporter I would be just as concerned about Kerry and Mayo as about Dublin. But I firmly believe the foundations are there so that we can compete in the future, it requires hard work and everyone involved being on board to maximise the resources we have.

mhunicean_abu (National) - 04/04/2017 13:23:15

Monaghan GAA thread - 6 Like(s)
To what extent any analysis was done on Derry's style of play on the lead up to this game has to be questioned. You cannot go two goals down to a team that play 15 behind the ball and then break at speed. We set up to accommodate that very strategy. Derry were much better than us today and indeed much better that I thought they were. Good luck to them. The one question I would have about Derry going forward is what do they do when they go behind against a good team, and have they got a plan B. We'll find that out later in the year While the outsiders on this forum are welcome to offer their opinions, the blame for this defeat must lie firmly at inept management. We, the supporters and armchair analysts, knew what was coming. Surely the management must have had some inkling. Essentially we played into their strengths, just like against Tyrone last year. Disappointed but not surprised

mhunicean_abu (National) - 15/05/2022 19:55:33

Bloody Sunday - 5 Like(s)

Replying To bloodyban:  "Thats simultaneously an hilarious and outrageous comment and that garnered 5 likes. To honestly put forward the idea of resettling up to a million people in Scotland or England just shows the ignorance we have when discussing Northern Ireland. So welcome to a united Ireland and if you don't like it you can settle back in England or Scotland...all the unionist farmers will be given farms...all the unionists business owners will get new businesses. And it got 5 thumbs up !! You couldn't make it up. Then you have a guy wheeling out the religion of people as a barometer. The last estimate was a 60/40 so more and more Catholics are opting out of a United Ireland. They arent on a GAA website like this obviously ..."
If you think religion isn't a barometer of the political divide and the future direction in NI you know absolutely nothing about the place. Indeed it's worrying that people like you are so ignorant about the future of this island with their heads stuck in the sand. In 20 years the Catholic vote will be in the majority By the way I referenced census figures you are throwing out a guess {estimate).and to say more catholics are "opting out" of a United Ireland after the Brexit fiasco, when it is in fact sections of the protestant population considering it as an alternative, is just plain fiction

mhunicean_abu (National) - 12/11/2020 11:17:57

Monaghan GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "Aye right, blame lies with the Derry man , his fault a Monaghan player takes out a Tyrone player. Where did you see players feigning injuries? Take your beating."
Think you are typically looking for a row where there is none. If you read the post again he says we deserved what we got, don't know how that's not taking a beating, he also says "on a side note" regarding players feigning injury, never actually called out any Tyrone player for doing it. Regarding Cassidy he has shown consistent bias against us now for a long time and we are well entitled to call it out.

mhunicean_abu (National) - 17/03/2024 16:59:45

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 5 Like(s)
Delighted for Fergal Logan deserved a medal in 95, has one now

mhunicean_abu (National) - 11/09/2021 18:50:27

Monaghan GAA thread - 5 Like(s)
So basically what yez are saying is Mc Enaney is doing a great job for football........ Cavan Football

mhunicean_abu (National) - 02/04/2022 19:10:36

Championship 2017 - 5 Like(s)
I think we will beat Down. Everything went for them in the first match and we were caught out physically and mentally. That won't happen again. Could someone please tell me the difference in playing Dublin in the semi rather than the quarter final. There is nothing handed out for winning either. The sooner the better I say. I predicted Dublin would have to play us and Tyrone to get to the final. Which way around is irrelevant really. Focus hard on beating Down and we have nothing to lose after that, just where we want to be. There are issues management need sorting around selection etc Could people lay off Mc Carron ffs. He had the balls to shoot on sight on Saturday. Had they went over we would be singing his praises. Remember this. Regardless of what happens for the rest of the championship we will be playing Kerry, Dublin, Mayo etc in division 1 next season. Jack Mc Carron was very instrumental in making that happen this year. Lay off him

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - 17/07/2017 11:02:46

Bloody Sunday - 5 Like(s)

Replying To bloodyban:  "I think 'unnecessary' is the right word. Northern Ireland has developed as a separate entity. Its natural political development is in its own space. I dont think Northern Ireland coming into a United Ireland is going to help anybody. Its better off getting on with things the way they are or striking g out on its own with Help from us and the rest of the UK."
Irish unity is inevitable and the two states that are currently involved in propping it up as a subsidised statelet need to prepare for unity with realistic maturity The 2011 census recorded the Protestant population at 48‰ and Catholics at 45‰. In 2000/01, 50.7‰ of all primary school registrations were Catholic and 42‰ Protestant. By 2019 that figure had reduced to 33‰ Protestant It has been suggested by those who monitor social trends that Catholics will out number Protestants by 2021. Within a year or so Irish unity will be decided by the people within the six counties. You will not hear this mentioned within unionism who are grasping at a no deal brexit to somehow strengthen "the union". Both governments and communities need to prepare for the inevitable in our lifetimes

mhunicean_abu (National) - 11/11/2020 20:17:11

Donegal V Monaghan - 4 Like(s)

Replying To bennybunny:  "Great game of football. Monaghan for such a small county of knack of unearthing top class forwards- Freeman, McManus and now young McCarthy (sawxhim up close two years ago in under 20 semi). Referee coming in for very unfair criticism. The black card was brought in to cut out cynical play. First Monaghan one, he attempts to trip, withdraws but it is too late. It looks cynical and he rightly gets 10 minutes to reflect. He comes back on and within minutes he body checks a player. Don't want to be critical of the player but he must just learn but I don't think Monaghan management can complain too much about it. Maybe they can point to some inconsistency but in general I thought Cassidy got most right (from a neutral view). Credit to both sides for such a good game. Hope Monaghan can get something from Tyrone game. They belong in Division 1."
I may not be a neutral but have to disagree, there were 5 all ulster matches in 8 days with just two cynical pieces of play in all five matches. Mc Fadden and Boyles second yesterday. I wouldn't blame Mc Fadden for what he done the way things were going for them at the time, someone had to do something, but he should have been given a black card. I don't understand how you can say Boyle attempts to trip yet pulled out of a trip at the same time, he either tried to trip or he didn't, surely if he pulled out of it he should not be punished. The Donegal player was buying a free going to ground, and I know as a Monaghan man I can't really afford to talk. This meant we were a man down for ten minutes in the first half when in fact they should have been. They were in trouble during this time and it had a bearing on the result as they scored the next two points after Boyles first black card. It also resulted in him being sent off for his deserved second black. I'm sorry but these decisions cost us and had a bearing on the result. The Donegal player was sent off essentially for trying to play football, he deserved no more than a ticking, never mind 2 yellows. Would agree with you about the attacking football, Ulster teams are to the forefront in this regard. Its easy to double up an target one or two marquee forwards, another job trying to do that on six. I'm open to correction here but the 8 forwards used yesterday were all free takers with their respective clubs, comfortable taking a score, and the pressure exerted in possession in div 1 will bring them on. Tyrone are using similar tactics to us and are are trying to get a similar blend as us, so next week should be a cracker, but I hope the ref let's them at it and is not a factor, we have two chances to stay up now or even win the thing, should both ourselves and Donegal win, hopefully we take one win and at least stay up.

mhunicean_abu (National) - 23/05/2021 12:10:39

NFL Division 1 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To kiloughter:  "Ref had a 2nd half shocker in Salthill. Some result by our guys to sneek it against a decent Monaghan side."
condescending adjective Having an attitude of patronising superiority Many neutrals would say we were the better team today, again

mhunicean_abu (National) - 26/01/2020 19:28:16

Listen lads the rules dictate ( not me ) that the ref should allow 5 seconds advantage to a team fouled, he was out on his feet and could not keep up. Mc Manus was clear on goal with a two on one. Had he allowed this to happen you would all have a different analysis, Dublin were lucky to get a draw

mhunicean_abu (National) - 08/02/2020 21:12:54

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Well done on the diversionary response - I am sure that you think through and plan your tactics here!! I'll ask a slightly different question. What do you think Monaghan's best achievement on the football field is? Winning an Ulster Championship? Or perhaps getting to the final of the Centenary Cup in 1984?"
I would say our best achievement is maintaining our status as a top 8 team in this era where teams are semi professional. We more than anyone else have adapted to changing tactics and structures on and off the field, an enviable achievement given the limited resources we have (fact), unlike some that have their heads stuck so far up their own a***s they still think the return of the glory days are a given, just a "cycle" as some would put it. The fact remains Meath have played 8 games at the top level (9 if you count last year's Leinster final debacle) and lost the lot, you haven't won a division 1 game for 14 years. Dublin are the benchmark for everyone and over our 6 year (7 game) head to head in division 1, (the actual topic at hand) the accumulated score stands at 7-98 for 6-113 against that's a 12 point difference, let's see if you can better that in one game next week The chances of us ever winning an All Ireland are slim and logically we shouldn't, but we will keep trying without whinging all the time. It's not lost on me whenever our neighbours are confronted with our current status they spew out past glories that have eluded us. Nobody G'sAF

mhunicean_abu (National) - 07/03/2020 13:55:14

Martin McGuinness RIP - 4 Like(s)
Had the pleasure of being in his company once at a rugby match and function of all things. Just a normal bloke that seemed to seek a bit of craic at every opportunity. Regarding the troubles, they would have happened just as bad with or without him, however they would no way have ended when they did had he not been involved in the first place, such was the esteem he held in republicanism. RIP

mhunicean_abu (National) - 21/03/2017 22:15:54

The GAA And "Northern Ireland" - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Oh lord help us. What a load of horse manure. There isn't a catholic majority in Northern Ireland. It's a minority and set to stay that way. Protestants are heading for minority as well. Do you not understand that both are under 50%? Do you understand that majority means over 50%? Furthermore do you understand that a census is of everyone whereas for a border poll only 18 year olds and over can vote? Do you understand these simple concepts or are you buying Sinn Fein nonsense propaganda where, to save fave with their electorate, they big up the public calls for a border poll but in fact don't want one at all (surely you can see that) because they know it's 20 years too early and a vote now or in the near future (of over 18's) will be soundly beaten."
Oh I understand all right and no political party ever influenced me, or ever will, I believe in a United Ireland regardless The point I made, which you can't seem to or refuse to accept, is that there IS a Catholic majority in the school going under 18 demographic currently 51%, and, in the over 60s there is a protestant majority 57%. Everyone up here in Ulster knows that the next generation of nationalists will have the voting numbers to WIN a border poll, should they choose. The ADULT thing to do would be to prepare for such a distinct possibility/probability. The current census returns underway will further underline the requirement for honest debate around the inevitable, or we can always follow you and just call it propaganda because it doesn't suit our opinion I often wondered why the DUP don't just call a border poll now in advance of that, it must be very tight either way for them not to so, because they don't miss a chance to strengthen the so called union that only they want. White Hall would drop ye in a heartbeat.

mhunicean_abu (National) - 18/04/2021 11:33:39

El Clasico 2020 Monaghan Vs Cavan - 4 Like(s)

Replying To farneyfan123:  "At least the #BantyOut brigade will be silenced now for a while anyway or at least until possibly our next defeat. He is in Cloghan tonight at training with the lads preparing for the McKenna Cup campaign. Good to see the county board are backing him and his team after all the backlash from 'supporters' on social media"
Phew that's a relief, was worried they might not be ready for the challenge. Wouldn't do to let any of those colleges get a head start on us. Are we to take it that one must back McEneaney to be considered real Monaghan supporters, just like there are those that say if one voted Trump they are real Americans. Did you or anyone else bother to look at the players we used for the last 8 competitive games, league and championship, and, all the new talent that was actually given game time? Have a look at the players actually used before spouting the usual BS about young players been given a chance and developing a new team. It was MOR's team used and flogged to death. Merry Christmas

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - 11/11/2020 10:52:47

Championship 2017 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Bernardo:  "Great That mal dropped jack. Jack was a wee bit better but to say he turned the game is funny! So we have beaten cavan, fermanagh, down, carlow and wexford! How many division one teams have we beaten? I would keep jack as a sub for the next game"
If indeed you are a Monaghan supporter you have some serious issues around negativity fella

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - 29/07/2017 23:58:45