Monaghan Forum

Popular Posts from monaghanmad

NFL Division 1 - 9 Like(s)
I have to say, out of all the yoyo teams posters on this forums that the Meath fans were the most entertaining.

monaghanmad (National) - 11/03/2020 15:40:54

Ulster Championship 2021 - 9 Like(s)

Replying To rorysboys:  "If Dublin had to go into ballybofey, clones or healey park omagh on a championship Sunday with a full house in a knockout championship match, they would know they were in a game."
I have no doubt that Dublin can go clones ballyboefey etc and wipe the floor with teams but do it 3 games in a row against cavan Tyrone donegal, monaghan armagh and then ulster final in a neutral ground and I can guarantee you Dublin would not win 10 ulster's in a row. Then win an ulster final and then go to super 8s or quarter final and maintain that level and I can guarantee you that Dublin would not have won the 6 in a row. It is not possible to sustain that consistency in ulster compared to leinster. Not a hope. That is the difference in the provinces and provincials. I have no doubt if monaghan Tyrone wasin leinster the last 10 years and Dublin was in ulster monaghan tyrone would have an all ireland to their name, basically because they don't need to sustain the same level for a long period of time. Its the difference.

monaghanmad (National) - 23/04/2021 13:50:29

NFL Division 1 - 8 Like(s)

Replying To TrimJim:  "This thread is just full of bitters, we may have been relegated but we'll storm Div 2 next year and take a few big scalps this summer and the faltering Dubs. We'll be the ones laughing when Galway's season of promise comes to a limp end as per usual."
Maybe yous should go down to division 3 and win the tailteann cup and then have a massive homecoming in tailteann park. Wouldn't that be lovely for yous.

monaghanmad (National) - 03/03/2020 08:49:37

NFL Division 1 - 7 Like(s)

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Reading this I decided to check out MONAGHAN - after all it must be a hotbed of success considering you are having a great laugh at Meath at the moment. Meath - All Irelands All-Ireland Senior Football Championships: Winners: (7): 1949, 1954, 1967, 1987, 1988, 1996, 1999 Runners-Up: (9): 1895, 1939, 1951, 1952, 1966, 1970, 1990, 1991, 2001 Centenary Cup (One off competition) 1984 All-Ireland Junior Football Championships: 5 1947, 1952, 1962, 1988, 2003 All-Ireland Under-21 Football Championships: 1 1993 All-Ireland Minor Football Championships: 3 1957, 1990, 1992 Monaghan - All Irelands All-Ireland Vocational Schools Championships: 2 2001, 2009 All-Ireland Junior Football Championships: 1 1956 Has someone not been keeping the MONAGHAN wikipedia page up to date?? Surely ye have won SOMETHING? Or have you just given up and are waiting till Meaths successful cycle comes around again?"
Just what I was waiting for.

monaghanmad (National) - 05/03/2020 13:48:01

NFL Division 1 - 7 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh would you go away out of that. Meath were by far the better team, Jesus wept at least admit that. Galway were cynical and the ref lost control of game in last 10 mins of first half. As the youngest team in div 1 we will learn from that. But please don't start with Galway were the better team bs , they were not pure and simple"
Welcome to the big dogs league. Ifs and buts count for nothing here. It's all about the points at the end of the day. You don't have to be the better team to win games up here. We in monaghan know that more than anyone, but we are used to it. It's cruel and cynical but you have to give it as good as you take it and galway can give it and you can't give it. I feel Meath are using this excuse of learning and injuries as some excuse. Maybe the county should learn at how to avoid injuries and toughen up. A yoyo team in the making, joining the cavan, roscommon and kildare.

monaghanmad (National) - 01/03/2020 23:29:36

Monaghan GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
What can i say...One of the all time great days to be a monaghan supporter. We showed the mentality, courage, never say die and the skills that most counties envy. Our leadership on the field to assess the last free and analyse the time left and make a decision of what to do and who to get the ball to was outstanding, those small details are the difference. The big hit by gary mohan at the end and to get it perfect shoulder to shoulder shows that all that gym work and s &c is worth it. I thought throughout the game we were the better team, armagh were so disappointing and their decision making was atrocious. I thought they had so much more but realistically they are limited and lived off frees. As for Mc geeney his actions after the whistle were embarrassing and sum up his managerial status, you wouldn't see another top level manager do what he does and that is why they are at home in 2 weeks time, armagh be safer off changing asap. We really needed the full 26 men and testament to the men who came on, I thought O toole and Lennon were immense. Bannigan chipped in with some great scores and Gary mohan is not the raw lad he once was, it was a coming of age for him and that was shown with his ability to hit the 2nd penalty. A minor team in an all Ireland semi final, under 20s in ulster final 2/3 years ago and now the seniors in the all Ireland semi final, the buzz and the spirit this will drive into Cloghan will drive us on for the the next 5 years and knowing the lads they will not fear Dublin in the slightest and why should they.

monaghanmad (National) - 03/07/2023 11:42:58

A Change Of Harte - 4 Like(s)
Tony mc entee, 5 ulsters with cross, 2 all irelands, 3 years under a management team with rochford, was involved in big games as selector with mayo including all ireland finals. Great praise all round. Won it all. Seen it all. Look at the Sligo hoganstand page. They are over the moon gaining such an astute operator with great experience and a drive to succeed. Mc conville has great praise of him and look at thr work in progress he is doing with Iniskeen. Both are winners. What county experience did malachy o Rourke have thst mc entee didn't have? Now we have a management team who greatest success was winning a division 2A league title. That's the difference. Winners win. Losers loose.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - 28/11/2020 15:38:04

El Clasico 2020 Monaghan Vs Cavan - 4 Like(s)

Replying To MONAGHAN1985:  "Anybody following the u 20s last year would have seen banty s ineptitude on the line , the hope was he had good men around , that he would listen to , but obviously they have given up trying to talk to him, not once in the 2nd half when in trouble , did it show him talking to his back room team Complete shambles 2nd half, monaghan cut through them 5/6 times in the first half, why stop running at them in 2 nd half Baffling"
I wonder would the proud GAA man from Armagh who applied for the job but didn't have the brains in the background team have stood up and watched what unfolded in clones today and let it happen?

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - 31/10/2020 16:42:36

NFL Division 1 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To BeJasus:  "Meath wont be missed in Div 1 . Mayo i feel will join them but i expect them to do a Donegal and sleep-walk their way back up next year."
Referees won't miss Meath anyways lol

monaghanmad (National) - 10/03/2020 19:08:00

Malachy's Successor - 3 Like(s)

Replying To FootblockREF:  "Yes"
My God

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - 22/09/2019 11:48:48

Donegal GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To rorysboys:  "He has always being animated on the line. He seems to be getting worse every year. I would say in his mind he thinks they'll beat Donegal. As much as I admired him I hope his dream doesn't come thru. Have no time now for his antics. Watched him a few times lately when Donegal beat them and he never shook hands with any of the back room team. Sore loser"
Was standing behind the goals at the derry monaghan game and got a first hand experience of Gallaghers sideline antics. To be honest i found them pretty disgusting, he was continually cursing and given there was young children at the game in the stands and right behind him who could hear it all, i thought it was one of the rudest acts of behaviour i have seen at a game. The lack of respect from him to the youth in the stands and his actions are the antithesis of what we should train our youth to become.

monaghanmad (National) - 19/05/2022 16:36:12

Donegal GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
I only wish our management done what doengal did and went full blanket defence, only fault i have with bonner is that he didn't put mc breatey back too, yous nearly had them at their won game, I fully believe it was the right option as they want the other team to press out, just didn't have the runners to win those frees and derry would have fouled all day if yous would have penetrated a bit more.

monaghanmad (National) - 31/05/2022 13:30:10

Replying To The_analyser:  "So as expected a short return to Div 1 for us due to the late management appointment and big player turnover from last summer. We were given hope from the opening 3 games of staying up but as they say its the hope that does kill you. Yes we were only one point off from staying up and were inches away from earning a win against Tyrone but we never recovered from letting that 7 point lead slip in that match and went into the Cavan game with the wrong mindset and were well beaten. After that we had little or no chance of beating or even drawing against Galway,Dublin,Kerry. Most disappointing thing was that we have gone back to our defensive worst in our last four games and our energy,intensity in our play simply wasn't there to be competitive in Div 1 games. We have been here before though matter of fact only 9 years ago we were relegated to Div 4 so its a matter of taking the positives and learning experience against the best sides in Ireland into the championship now, hope to cut out the silly mistakes,improve fitness and once again find a structure and system for our defence that will stick."
A lot of Roscommon people were in confident mood after the monaghan game saying yous would only have to show up in the last games to stay up. Arguably Roscommon played better football than monaghan and were more competitive but didnt have that cuteness or class act to stay up.

monaghanmad (National) - 25/03/2019 19:15:35

Replying To Furlong1949:  "I think that summed everything really well. A good piece of anaylsis. Just to list the players missing, its not an excuse, we are good enough, simple as, many teams are missing players. But for a div 2 teams thats trying to establish themselves in division 1 its a massive headache and not the ideal situation taking on the best teams and best player in the country. The elite in any sport will hurt you if show any sign of weakenss. Ten Players injured today for Meath Niall kane Dara Campion Seamus Lavin Shane Gallagher Padraig Harnan Mickey Newman Shane Walsh Donal Lenihan Andy Colgan Shane McEntee Thats our goalkeeper, our two corner backs. our centre back, Menton midfield partner last year and our three best forwards and 3 best freetakers and couple of more players also. But we just not good enough. Donegal had players missing they dealt with. Overall so far div 1 has being a very tough experience for Meath and with Dublin and kerry away and Monaghan in Clones, a rejuvenated Galway under Joyce and Mayo who need points in Navan, its going get even tougher. At the moment it doesnt look like Meath can break the div 2 team hoodoo, it does look at the moment we are a yo yo team. There is a serious gap between div 2 and div 1. Even though div 2 is a brillant div and the most exciting. Already this year its really being very competitive. But to try and go from div 2 team into the div 1 team, is a massive task and Meath are failing miserably at the moment at achieving that."
What is the problem ? Why are all these players injured. Here in monaghan we would never have a list like that ever. Somethings going wrong somewhere. No other division 1 team has that injury list

monaghanmad (National) - 03/02/2020 08:45:13

Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To seanie08:  "Listening to some previews of the year ahead not too many give Vinnie or the team much of a hope of doing anything. Narrative appears to be nobody wanted the job as the only way is down. V tough div 1 and draw from hell in ulster against a tyrone side who will surely bounce back from their year off last year. Certainly be no complaints about high expectations anyway. For what it is worth wish mgmt and the squad all the best of what is sure to be a v tough year ahead. Biggest worry is not the players that are retired its more the lads who were in the first 15 but have opted out now for travel or whatever. It does seriously weaken a squad like monaghans not to have best players available. Midfield as ever huge issue esp with kearns out. Be happy enough with forwards but just dont see us winning enough ball to supply them. Defence was v poor last year and mgmt will surely need to strengthen to have any hope of survival and a chance in the championship. A win next weekend be massive as Armagh were v close last year to a semi final they'd probably won so definitely top side now. That said being underdogs will suit monaghan in that kind of ulster derby."
Maybe might be looking at Mohan out the middle with Bannigan, O Hanlon, Mc Carthy, Jones, Mc Carron and best of the rest in the other spot. Still as good of forward Unit as is about. Im sure Dessie Ward will be in the middle and he would walk onto any team. In the backs, management are probably looking to freshen things up, maybe with Loughran and Mc Philiphs getting a sustained run in the team. This would allow Kieran Duffy or Boyle out to the half back line with the other accompanying wylie and mc philiphs. Centre Half seems to be the big problem, not sure if Lavelle is the man either, hes very rash and very prone to fouling. He could be a better man out the middle in a man marking, working role. Good to see Mc Donnell get a go in goals and if he is delivering the goods in training and challenge games then he should be staking a place and keeping Rory on his toes. Looking at the quality of players mentioned above we have a pretty strong 15-20 players so dont be surprised if this team actually stay up and are pushing at the top end of the Div 1 table.

monaghanmad (National) - 20/01/2023 12:48:40

Ulster Senior Football Championship- Monaghan V Cavan - 2 Like(s)
Congrats to Cavan on their win. Played football. Nothing spectacular but done a job. Doing your job is all it took. All the best in Ulster, this game will give the whole Cavan squad a lift and a boost which will be welcome. Play simple football with passion and heart and you never know where you could end up. Well done and best of luck

monaghanmad (Cavan) - 31/10/2020 18:10:06

Monaghan Vs Dublin - 2 Like(s)
Good win and performance as expected from the lads a seasoned division 1 team and one of the top 3 teams in the country. I take offence to say that we stunned Dublin, All top 6 division 1 teams can expect to beat each other on a given day. As for all the Dubs complaining about the referee in the first half, I thought bothblack cards were cynical fouls when the whole pitch opened up for Mc carron and Garland and both were pull downs, only pity it wasnt mc manus on both occasions and I am quite sure he would of shrugged off both tackles and goaled.

monaghanmad (National) - 27/01/2019 21:40:52

Monaghan GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "That game will have done them good, final should be closer at a neutral venue, tough on Tyrone young lads, though we usually lose those type games. Derry will be favourites but try telling our lads that after today"
Great Work being done by the minor management and players. As supporters all we ask is that they give their all and develop to their max and this crop are doing that. I was impressed by the quality of the subs we took on too, some massive talent to take on that made a big difference. Any day you beat a tyrone underage team in championship football, you know your going in the right direction. Also good to see Dermot Malone given the reigns, a young hungry manager who understands the commitment and the game at county level and gaining great experience to develop his own coaching critiques. In addition the sheer size and physical build of the lads is something i have never seen in a minor team before even the all ireland semi final team, its clear they are doing the right stuff in the gym.

monaghanmad (National) - 21/05/2023 19:25:17

Dublin Vs Monaghan - 2 Like(s)

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Monaghan are as short as 4/1 for this and have a very good chance on Saturday. In recent years the likes of Dublin, Kerry and Mayo have tended to experiment more against them, than say Tyrone or Donegal. Presumably because they rate the others as a threat for the summer. So Monaghan have been a good shout to pick up least 2 points against the 2nd string of established Div1 sides. An accumulator builder for this weekend."
Get off the big boys forum

monaghanmad (National) - 06/02/2020 10:42:14

Monaghan GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
A sobering experience in Armagh to say the least. Serious questions need to be asked of the management, It was like they are more interested in playing a style of football instead of doing whatever it takes to win games. Surely we had a game plan strategy in our armoury that consisted of playing 15 men behind the ball and mirroring a team like Derry and frustrating them at their own game. Did management honestly think we would be able to push up on Derry for the entire game and expect to get joy and not play a sweeper or pack our defence. I was honestly expecting us to mirror derrys game plan today and keep the score down and dog it out, instead it was the exact opposite, unbelievable. Also Andrew Woods has been one of our best players all year and dropping him was madness. Although we had many many wides, Derry put severe pressure on the kicker and narrowed the angles and this all added to the wides, where was our pressure ?? It consisted of leaving 4 men in our forwards when Derry attacked and hoping we would be good enough man on man to win every battle. We were never winning this game today with those tactics given our player pool and calibre. Good teams ask questions of other teams and can amend their tactics, team etc from game to game to ask these questions, we just stick with the same. No 75m long kickouts, no high balls in the square, no surprises on match ups, no bolters in the team, NOTHING, just stale football, Its a long way away from Malachy giving Padraig Donaghy a start in an ulster final in 2013, he amended his teams etc to WIN games, sadly this management cant and its why we are in the qualifier draw year after year.

monaghanmad (National) - 15/05/2022 21:23:13