Popular Posts from meath1977

Meath V Offaly - 27 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Last word on this ,If you think Meath were a 100% today you haven't been at a match all year, which is a possibility."
I go to all Meath matches so don't be talking crap , I was working in Donegal the day Meath played cork and I done a 9 hour car trip so I could see the match so have some manners

meath1977 (Meath) - 12/05/2019 22:18:55

Meath V Offaly - 27 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Thank you for calling me Mr Dunne. It shows my superiority and your respect. Today was as expected, tired players who wouldn't be looking at anything other than getting over the line against a shocking team (I'd rate one of the worst in ire) who came for their all ire in tip top shape and we still won. It will be light training this week and next the hard graft is over, and teams who will be hell of lot better than than Offaly. Job done like I expected played worse football in 2 years. AND STILL WON."
The Meath team must have took your advice and when on the bear. God you should read out the stuff you write first to yourself before you post it. Facts are if we play like that as we did today we will be beating. Only positive is we won

meath1977 (Meath) - 12/05/2019 19:57:31

Meath V Dublin - 24 Like(s)

Replying To nobull456:  "[quote=brian:  "KK here's where you're wrong. Andy has had Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone and Kerry all in Navan, between league and championship and some of them in both. He has won the sum total of none of those games. Meath have stagnated since 2019. You said all the names people suggest aren't worthy because they don't have the CV or were only part of backroom staff's on multiple all ireland winning teams. They were integral parts of those all ireland winning teams. It's not all down to Jim Gavin and Pat Gilroy that Dublin won things. You mentioned Andy had a minor all ireland final appearance and club all ireland final to his name. What about his own failures as a a manager. Don/ Ash had multiple chances under him and they won nothing. Ultimately every first time manager has to start somewhere and they don't all start with a glittering CV. Lets not forget our greatest ever Sean Boylan applied for the hurling managers job. I don't believe Jim McGuinness or James Horan started with all irelands in their back pockets as managers but they were given a chance. Our results, our performance, our consistency, our morale, our strength and conditioning, our fitness, our tactics have all improved under McEntee. Our results haven't improved, they peaked in 2019 and we've not been close to it since then. Our performances have been laboured at best when playing teams at a similar standard. Our morale... did you see the performance and attitude v Kildare, only started caring when the game was out of reach.. Have you seen the morale of players leaving the panel after being brow beaten by Andy (Donal Lenihan) Our tactics, gimme a break, Can't get our kick outs right, run up blind alleys, can't get a good free taker. He's hardly reinvented the wheel Our S&C and Fitness have improved because Niall Ronan has worked with the players for 3 summers now i believe. They're consistently working with the same person, they have programs and plans and are monitored. You talk about him bringing through young players, i would say he's not the right kind of manager to bringing through the modern player. He rules by fear and dictation. Don't do what he says and you're out. Modern players look for guidance, support and information to improve, not the old school approach of being roared at from the sidelines. If he was developing such a good team why can't he resolve some of the most basic skills and strategies within the game? Kickouts and free taking. Huge important parts of the game and virtually ignored. The first thing a new manager would come in and do is work on those and we'd improve our scoring by 3-4 scores a game on our side and reduce our opponents scoring by at least 2 scores a game. Its as simple as that. But Andy doesn't seem to think that's important. As I've said all along does this matter. Will Brian on hoganstand.com/meath and his opinion mean anything to the county board and Andy? No it won't and we'll be having very similar discussions a year or 2 down the line."
Agreed 100%..............But not too sure the current status of poor quality management can continue much longer. You can only stretch the elastic so far. No lessons learned and NO improvements using any objective measurement in the last year or two leads to self destruction. Players will continue to walk away, sponsors will find greener pastures. Maybe left with a hardcore of supporters .Youth will ensure old fashioned outdated methods will not be tolerated. Who can blame them.? The game has moved on . Dublin have demonstrated what good leadership on and off the field can do. They have now a culture where continuous improvement is the only agenda. Gombeen mentality has to be made redundant. Professionalism is encouraged in every way. Not talking about payment for players ,but about players being rewarded with top quality coaching and management. Where players have no hesitation in stating the benefits of being in this atmosphere helps in every aspect of life. As a life long Meath supporter i am very disappointed to see how we seem to settle for such low standards. FACTS are there for anyone who wants to see them. CB ye cannot continue to hide forever. Ye have been given the honour and RESPONSIBILITY to serve in the best interests of Meath football. So do whatever it takes to raise the standards especially in all areas of preparation of teams for competitive games. Yes i did welcome Andy's appointment as manager. He did his best which is all that can be expected. Massive thanks due to him for that. Time now to move on but not just with a fresh face but far more importantly with CB showing vision by keeping up with the game. To do so look at what is required for the role of Manager in the present tense. Please pass on all excuses. Yes it will take time,but you have to start somewhere! Ye really do not have any option !"]its absolutely ridiculous talking about a new manager a week before playing Dublin

meath1977 (Meath) - 09/07/2021 15:30:01

Meath V Offaly - 24 Like(s)
Mr Dunne hope you learn something from today and keep your opinion to yourself. We have no right to beat anyone we should have lost today only for a lucky goal

meath1977 (Meath) - 12/05/2019 18:19:17

Meath V Offaly - 24 Like(s)

Replying To Jinxie:  "A bit contradictory there? Your' opinion is that he should keep his opinion to himself.... on a message board... which is based on the fundamental concept of people sharing and exchanging views and opinions... You may not have the same opinion as him, but it doesn't me he is not entitled to it, or that yours carries and more weight than his. Most of the county would have had a similar mindset before the game, and even after that close shave, the mindset will still be the same against Carlow. We should be beating those teams and expect to beat them. Simple as that."
Go and read what mr Dunne wrote last night and then get back to me. Talking about we would be able to go out drinking and get with women and still beat offaly

meath1977 (Meath) - 12/05/2019 18:46:39

Meath Vs Galway - 23 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Same as that. The worst I've felt all year. Totally and utterly devastated. We were the better team today. And so much for the all singing and all dancing Galway. They showed antics today that would shame any Ulster county"
very true I was actually crying leaving the ground. I have seen some great meath teams in my time but this team is very close to my heart, they never seem to get a break a bounce of a ball a bit of luck. and the amount of negative crap they have to put with thats written about them on social media .

meath1977 (Meath) - 01/03/2020 21:20:09

Meath V Offaly - 22 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Actually it was Barney who said it first. And if you think Meath need to be at 100% to beat Offaly I are the one talking silly, actually talking utter scutter, 20-% would beat Offaly. That's a fact. They aren't and won't need to be in til top shape tomorrow."
Who was talking utter scutter now. Time you think before you write stuff in future

meath1977 (Meath) - 12/05/2019 18:40:08

Meath v Kildare Semi-final - 22 Like(s)

Replying To grahamc9897:  "What do you suggest we do then !"
what's the point running down the team they are giving their all into a system that's is at the very early stages. body strength Wise they are not at Kildare or other teams level yet. I remember walking out of a venue very like last night in June 1985 after laois bet us about ten points, they all wanted the mangers head then and will I tell you what happen the years after. look we can go out and win the next game and take it from there. Andy has made mistakes but who has not in life he will learn from them and meath will come back stronger. There is no more passionate man then Andy he has even taken leave off work. Some so called meath supporters on here love to see meath beating so they can tell us I told you so. some of them has a club issue thing which is if their club players they think should be on are not on , also there is people who were fully behind micko o dowd and didn't like the way people were against him in the end are trying to prove a point now that we lost.

meath1977 (Meath) - 18/06/2017 13:12:25

Meath Vs Kerry - 22 Like(s)

Replying To Foley91:  "graham Reilly and Mickey Burke will likely be given a run aswell in what would be their last games for meath. They would get a great send off"
why should it be their last games for Meath biggy is only 29

meath1977 (Meath) - 25/07/2019 07:47:06

Meath Vs Mayo - 22 Like(s)

Replying To latouche25:  "Well it's to be expected that Royal Dunne a la McEnroe, would bring out the CB spin. We achieved our goals for the year. The reality is. We scored 4 points in the Leinster final. The worst ever by a Meath team. We have played 2 games in the super 8's and have lost heavily in both. How or where have we improved under Mc Entee. He said he would put the foot back in Meath football, yet we are passing it more now than ever. Have we really gone to the point of bringing in a Louth man to help Meath football. The fact that he has his son on the team who is an average club player undermines his credibility. Kells have the best forward line in the county. Why is Hanlon Reilly or Matimo not on the panel. Indeed Oisin Reilly at midfield would be an option. If we want to improve its time to move on and bring in a manager who can unite the county. Mc Entee is to decisive"
I from near kells myself but such a load of cow manure your talking there

meath1977 (Meath) - 23/07/2019 17:09:38

Meath V Laois - 21 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "First off Westmeath won the final of div 3. Secondly will many go?? Sorry jack what sort of question is that?? Any self respecting Meath supporters will be there and if they not , unless for some very good reason they NOT Meath supporters. I will be there should we get there and so will every member of my family from youngest (2yp son) the whole way up. And furthermore I will not be going to see a foregone conclusion, we will be going with flags and anything else we can find green and gold to watch Meath win Leinster, (I have never gone to a Meath game thinking we will get beat, and I never will) I will fully expect Meath to win and Donal and Bryan to lift the Delaney cup. Now of course if I take off the Meath glasses , it will be difficult, but at the match I will expect nothing less than a Meath victory."
We need to take one game at time. The Laois game and no other.

meath1977 (Meath) - 28/05/2019 21:10:33

Andy McEntee Was Right To Tell A Reporter To Stick It - 21 Like(s)

Replying To Htaem:  "To hell with the Chronicle, somebody in there obviously doesn't like McEntee and engineered a controversial story to stick the boot in. This is really kicking the whole Meath setup and Meath supporters while we're down and a most unwelcome distraction while the squad are trying to pick themselves up for a huge qualifier game. Obviously apart from the attack on McEntee the other objective is to sell papers, well the ironic thing is I was planning on buying the Chronical this week to have a look but they can stick it now! They've published some right tripe in the past but this is as low as they've stopped for a long time. We await the apology from the Chronicle....."
very good post 100% right

meath1977 (Meath) - 26/06/2019 21:35:42

Where Do We Go From Here? - 21 Like(s)

Replying To stillaroyal:  "Firstly, I think that Andy should stay on another year. Its too close to the start of next year to be chopping and changing at this stage. Not sure if the O'Byrne Cup will go ahead but we probably should field a second team in that to give new players a chance to impress. Regarding the goalkeeping position I think Andy should ask Brendan Murphy would he come in as a goalkeeping coach. Brendan has finished as manager of Trim and he should be given the task of identifying and developing a goalie for next season. Trying 11 goalies and ending up with the kickout performance we had yesterday is just not good enough and puts all the other good work in jeopardy. Probably a freshening up in the backroom team needed also."
Andy needs to step aside . 37 points defeat over 2 years is just not good enough

meath1977 (Meath) - 22/11/2020 18:49:04

Meath V Offaly - 21 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Facts are I was right. There was never a need to be in peak condition or performance for that game. And maybe they did have a few scoops. They won like I said they would. Playing at about 20% potential. You really need to learn about championship football, you build game by game."
We put ourselves in a position of losing to offaly and been out of Leinster again with only one chance left. So if you want to believe we set out not to be 100% today you believe that.

meath1977 (Meath) - 12/05/2019 21:26:10

Meath V Offaly - 20 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yes there is. Look the starting 15 plus subs could go out tonight on the lash get absolutely plastered , have a line of women not get to bed until 6 am, head to pt puke in changing room and the would still account for Offaly, and this yarra yarra crap of showing respect and been 100% is nonsense. There is ABSOLUTELY no need to, they would still beat Offaly."
We have no given right to beat any team look at longford last year. I do believe we will win by six to eight points but I think talk like that is dangerous. We can't be looking down the road we have to take one game at a time I am sure the management is thinking like that

meath1977 (Meath) - 11/05/2019 21:33:32

Meath V Offaly - 20 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "No one said they looking down the road. Barney said they won't be at peak performance, I agreed with him, they won't be, they will be fully focused on Offaly but not in absolute tip top performance, why? They don't need to be, and secondly it would be very stupid there at least has to be another 10 percent that will be needed later on. Forget about longford, it wasn't that we weren't in peak it was that longford have a decent team (better than Offaly) and things went right for them. In their home venue where they have beat plenty of top sides. This is Offaly in navan."
Longford were that good Dublin beat them by twenty points. One game at a time and we will see where it takes us

meath1977 (Meath) - 11/05/2019 21:53:48

Meath V Tyrone - 20 Like(s)

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Any word from Meath Cavan match?"
meath won by a point in cavan behind close doors

meath1977 (Meath) - 19/01/2020 16:54:03

Meath V Dublin - 20 Like(s)
I think for the benefit of Meath football this forum on meath should be stood down until jan .. too many negative and unhelpful comments .. God I would have loved if we had won .. but unfortunately we fell a little bit short .. but by god I am proud of that team and so looking forward to January.

meath1977 (Meath) - 21/07/2021 22:39:44

Meath v Kildare Semi-final - 20 Like(s)

Replying To icehonesty:  "You can't start GR the next day. You just can't. No way. If McEntee is a serious manager he'll leave him out. There's no way his performance last night can be justified by anyone. Centre forward has to be O'Sullivan."
sorry had you a drink to come out with that statement

meath1977 (Meath) - 18/06/2017 17:34:30

Meath V Dublin - 20 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yes look where O'Dowd had us. We now in division one. And had one bad extremely bad game against the greatest team of all time. Thank god for Andy rescued us from the abyss"
I agree with you

meath1977 (Meath) - 24/06/2019 18:37:39