Popular Posts from southmeathgael

Meath Vs Mayo - 27 Like(s)
I wouldn't be touching b conlon POR or mckeever with a barge pole, Alan ford is a different kettle of fish and warrants inclusion, I don't know where Wallace was this year but he isn't any better then what's there now imo. Someone said earlier on here that Gallagher and Shane mcentee aren't up to it...... Shane mc isn't an intercounty midfielder but he would be a valuable squad member, but Jesus Christ regards Gallagher, what championship were you watching, he wasn't great yesterday in the 2nd half but I thought had an excellent 1st half, he totally marked Con o Callaghan out of it against dublin, COC scored 1-0 That day, but I think Gallagher might even have been gone off by the time he scored the goal...... he was excellent against Clare and had a brilliant league.....I'm honestly wondering did u type Gallagher by mistake

southmeathgael (Meath) - 22/07/2019 13:02:12

Meath V Offaly - 27 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Also from RUMOURS, the players had a meeting with management after league. Only 4 players spoke at the meeting, keoghan, O'Sullivan, mcentee and jones (current capt and previous 2, plus our best player in league) . They held their hands up and said they hadn't performed but that they felt the style of play that was been asked had left confusion and a inability to execute it as management would have liked, and it was decided that we would revert to a more defensive type of play, using the running game as the main game plan . Again this is what I was told over the weekend by a man from a club who has someone on team from his club. It was a very healthy meeting. I've been critical of Colm during league. But credit where credit is due, if he has listened to the players and taken them views on board then we have to give him and the other management team credit. I hope and pray we see a game plan that they can execute. As you said in newbridge the players looked awful and had 0 faith in the way they were playing. IF that has changed then we have to get behind management and players as they embark on a more familiar type of play."
All made up

southmeathgael (Meath) - 17/04/2023 15:38:05

Meath V Carlow - 26 Like(s)
So many experts of all aspects of the game on here, its very surprising that our club standard is so bad ...with all this indept knowledge of skills, drills s &c etc on here from everyone involved with clubs the length and breath of the county, we should be competing for club Leinster year on year. .....Jesus Christ almighty

southmeathgael (Meath) - 17/05/2019 08:13:12

After Andy - 25 Like(s)
Give mcentee another year

southmeathgael (Meath) - 17/05/2022 15:12:29

Meath V Dublin - 24 Like(s)
I can't believe how delusional some meath fans have become.....i'm sure meath are gonna come out all guns blazing, fire in their bellies and pride in their jersey, infact I expect it, sure that's a minimum requirement , that's not a new and wonderful game plan that dublin will not have come across....it wont make a blind bit of difference, they will not beat Dublin and anybody that says otherwise or uses any of the above idioms to try convince themseves it can be done are just in soundbite territory and not actually looking at bare facts or looking at the 2 teams objectively. And the way I feel about the game Sunday week doesn't mean I'm less of a fan then those that say meath have a chance. It just means I'm a realist and not a fantasist. And like you royal dunne, my meath match attendances are in the 90 percent plus range , so I won't be told I'm less of a fan then you, or not to turn up just because I havnt got the blind optimism you have......and which you are entitled too have by the way, same way some of us are entitled to think it won't go so well, without being castigated for lack of loyalty.....and believe you me I'll take pleasure in saying I was wrong that Sunday evening if meath do pull it off. And as a side note....nothing that is said on here has any bearing on what way the team or any player will perform, so stop overvaluing your opinions.

southmeathgael (Meath) - 15/06/2019 15:38:32

Meath Vs Kerry - 24 Like(s)

Replying To Jackpot:  "Wont go near pt this weekend. A nothing game. Good year but we got a lucky draw."
I would of thought we go an unlucky draw, if losing Leinster finalists were in group 2 instead of losing Munster finalist we would have had Tyrone in croker and roscommon in Pairc tailteann......A far better chance of going through. And anyway who did Kerry beat to get to super 8s.....Clare and cork......it's amazing how Clare were labelled as tough sticky opponents for Kerry but a handy draw for us. Anyone that can go to PT Saturday and doesn't, and particular for such an idiotic reason as a "handy draw"..., doesn't really belong at meath matches anyway. Best year since the late noughties and up to div 1, regardless of what happens result wise the players deserve a full house.

southmeathgael (Meath) - 01/08/2019 10:34:12

Galway Vs Meath - 24 Like(s)

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Most over rated meath player in the last 40 years in my opinion, how was he against dublin in all them hamerings, or the ones against kildare donegal mayo etc."
I think slamming keogan is pathetic and shows a lack of any sort of football knowledge really disrespectful too.

southmeathgael (Meath) - 30/01/2022 19:38:30

Meath Vs Mayo - 24 Like(s)

Replying To latouche25:  "Well it's to be expected that Royal Dunne a la McEnroe, would bring out the CB spin. We achieved our goals for the year. The reality is. We scored 4 points in the Leinster final. The worst ever by a Meath team. We have played 2 games in the super 8's and have lost heavily in both. How or where have we improved under Mc Entee. He said he would put the foot back in Meath football, yet we are passing it more now than ever. Have we really gone to the point of bringing in a Louth man to help Meath football. The fact that he has his son on the team who is an average club player undermines his credibility. Kells have the best forward line in the county. Why is Hanlon Reilly or Matimo not on the panel. Indeed Oisin Reilly at midfield would be an option. If we want to improve its time to move on and bring in a manager who can unite the county. Mc Entee is to decisive"
Ah here........we've seen some ridiculous posts on here down through the years but we could have a winner. " how or where have we improved under mcentee" ..... are u serious, you should probably give the old football a miss for a while there lad, cause ya clearly don't know what your looking at. Yes, he should go out and boost the squad, but he favours a certain type player to fit into his preferred system, that's his perogitive as manager whether we like it or not and it has clearly gotten results, my club has a standout player that should be on it, but he isn't.....tough luck......the meath county board has made mistakes in the past, but anything other then offering Andy mc another 3 year extension would be the biggest mistake they have ever made, he'll move on to some other county and improve them, and we'd be stuck with some other ham, there would be a mass exodus as the players are now use to his meticulous professional set up, and others would be very reluctant to join up......yes Andy makes mistakes, All managers do...... we are in a possition we havnt been in in a while, division 1 football and underage talent coming through, the players need and deserve the best man available .... they have it right now.

southmeathgael (Meath) - 26/07/2019 07:24:20

Meath V Carlow - 23 Like(s)

Replying To Evernal:  "O Reilly was causing Carlow all sorts of problems. Yes he was dispossessed a few times but that just shows how much he was actually on the ball. He didn't hide once he got dispossessed unlike some. It's a wonderful trait to keep at it and if he was kept on I'm sure he would've ran riot. Especially against 14 men. Then yous would be all on here claiming he'd be deserving of an All Star..... such is the small margins! Flanagan was doing monumental work in the middle of the field. Just because he didn't get on the scoresheet like Menton he tends to get overlooked. Like I alluded to in the Offaly game he hit one superb foot pass to the inside forward line but they weren't on his wavelength and were the other side. Croke Park will really suit him and his range of passing."
Yea thomas oreilly was getting an a savage amount of ball and giving it away every time, just one of those days, had a great league and worth his place in my opinion just had a bad day simple as.... if everyone is fit you won't see Flanagan in croke park I'm afraid, just not athletic enough and he def needs to be much sharper in possession. The carlow midfielder was far better.then him till he got the red

southmeathgael (Meath) - 26/05/2019 09:59:50

New Additions For Meath Panel 2020... - 23 Like(s)

Replying To summerhillof69:  "Hes no Robert Ruddy , Or Pa O Rourke but did did more than alright . . Were you at the game?? TBH Barry shouldnt even play in the OBC as we all knwo what hes capable of when given a fair shot Its lads like Nippy, Aaron Lynch and other lads that need to be given a shot not men like Dardis who have nothing to prove"
Dardis has a hell of alot to prove at intercounty level

southmeathgael (Meath) - 28/11/2019 23:50:27

New Additions For Meath Panel 2020... - 23 Like(s)

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Here is a team I would like to see fro next year. And hopefully there might be a few others from the U20s and the juniors getting a run. Andrew Beakey(Cilles) Seamus Lavin, Conor McGill, Shane Gallagher; Donal Keoghan, Padraic Harnan, Alan Forde Bryan Menton, Ethan Devine Darragh Campion, Bryan McMahon, Ruairi O'Coileain Cillian O'Sullivan,Shane Walsh, Donal lenihan Some quality subs Thomas O'Reilly. Gavin Mc Coy Mickey Newman Niall Kane James Conlon Thomas McGovern"
Bar a couple of iffy performances, James mcentee has been very very good for last 2 years, def ahead of forde in the pecking order at wing back.

southmeathgael (Meath) - 11/08/2019 13:51:53

Change Of Management? - 23 Like(s)
Crazy decision

southmeathgael (Meath) - 07/10/2021 14:15:28

Meath V Dublin - 23 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well said."
How is that well said, unless of course he is 8 or 9......a very childish and disprespectful response to insinuate that dunboyne are less meath men cause alot of dubs moved into the area i would have thought , yee seem to be going with the " either say meath will win or we'll abuse yee approach" . I'm not a dunboyne man but I know a fair few and staunch meath men is an understatement....maybe they are just a bit more pragmatic down that way and are hopeful rather then expectant. Just except some people aren't as optimistic as yee, it doesn't make them any less a meath man believe me.

southmeathgael (Meath) - 15/06/2019 18:34:40

Cork V Meath NFL Rd 1 - 22 Like(s)
So we actually looked like we had a dangerous ff line yesterday for the first time in a long time, and some suggestions on here are to move Walsh and Morris further out the field ? ......... mind boggling

southmeathgael (Meath) - 30/01/2023 15:31:36

Meath V Donegal - 22 Like(s)

Replying To winatallcost:  "Really disappointed with todays performance and in particular how management had our team setup from the start. First of all, we were playing with a gale on our backs in the 1st half and continued to play with extra men in our defense and when kicking, it was usually backwards or sideways. At a minimum, there should be at least two men in full forward line at all times when wind on our backs and should be kicking in from midfield forwards. Currently none of our outfield players kick accurately forwards or even look up. Our inside forwards are probably cold, bored and frustrated and come out looking for handy ball on 45 line where we pass over and back. Wallace's, McMahon, and O Sullivan are all similar players that never kick. Menton likewise and James McEntee continue to run with heads down. Not criticising effort but coaching and tactics have to be. This is not the traditional Meath way. It looks awful. I must add, some questionable substitutions and order that they were made. Players look completely devoid of confidence which management must instill. I thought there was a great support there today but supporters were bitterly disappointed."
Some waffle there. Traditional meath way?? Kick it in to who like? That was poor today and management have to take a proportion of the blame, but how many balls were kicked wide or into keepers hands from scorable possitions?? At least 6/ 8 id say. Sure thats no managements fault....Even if ya don't like Andy, there is literally no other alternative within the.county and nobody outside the county that would come near us with a barge pole.

southmeathgael (Meath) - 02/02/2020 19:23:16

Meath V Donegal - 22 Like(s)
Royaldunne is at that crack the whole time lately , give your honest amd realistic opinion on here and he slates ya....... unless it's 100% praise, even blind optimism, your castigated, and told your not welcome at a meath match. Sure I'd say we'll beat Donegal by 15 points Sunday RD, if we all stay possitive on here, no matter what the facts of the matter are.....Jesus wept

southmeathgael (Meath) - 10/07/2019 15:22:15

Meath U20 2020 - 22 Like(s)
They've all been either looked at or tried, if they aren't there, they aren't good enough, so suck it up and stop moaning and being paranoid about north vs south meath and support MEATH. Do you honestly think a manager is going to leave a talented lad out cause he doesnt live south of navan?? I do worry about some of yee lads sometimes

southmeathgael (Meath) - 05/01/2020 18:40:33

Meath V Laois - 22 Like(s)

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Thanks Royaldunne. Ur clubman young Conlon has been a revelation. 10 points from play in 3 games , 2 games as a substitute. 5 points from play in first 3 championship games , 5 points from play in first championship game in Croker. He is player of potential and could be matchwinner even this year. He is small and light but he has ability to create space in tight spots and is a handful for any defender. It was a pleasure to see him perform in Croker in his debut. It wouldn't be his last game in Croker. He seems to be a player who grows in the Meath jersey . St Colmcilles players from past and present eg B Flynn , R O Malley and G Reilly have always been big match players for Meath. He carrys on that great tradition . Its a pity maybe he scored so much today as Dubs have been warned of his talent. So they will be aware of him , while going into leinster final under the radar , might have been better. But the form he is in , he will be a handful for Dublin. And its great for him to be performing so well as we enter the real endgame of the championship. I felt all year we were to reliant on Newman in the inside line. Donal lenihan has been a lose. T Reilly and Dardis have had good moments and good games but they are players developing. We need a duo upfront always have eg Curran Shanley in 60s , O Rourke Flynn in 80s and Murphy Geraghty in the 90s. The last time Meath had a real good leinster final and good championship, Newman and Wallace were a good partnership dup up front which caused Dubs bother. With S Bray also a threat a bit deeper. Newman and Conlon could be a duo like Meath had with Newman and Wallace had 2013. And Sullivan could play the Bray role. I always felt if we played Dubs we needed more threat upfront from play. So Conlon could be a real important player in the leinster final . Hes young and he is still learning his trade. But McEntee has used him well this year. Instead of thrown in the spring in bad conditions. He used him sparingly in the league. And used him more in 2 championship games before today. Bringing him on in the last 15 mins when the opposition where tired. Young Conlon full of energy. Young Conlon made an impact and scored 5 points from play and his confidence has skyrocket. And he started today and he is clearly flying. A definate player for the future. But he is a player that could have a big role for us this summer. Just regards the performances lately we won the leinster quater final by 15 points and leinster semi final by 11 points. They are impressive winning margins and yet we didnt play brillant in both games. A good way to reach a final. Its all about building towards a final and then delivering s big performance in the final. U need a team to peak in a final. We peaked in the league. And there was always going to be comedown after a sucessful league. The Offaly game was example of that. The team is trying to build up again. Carlow was an improvement on the Offaly game and Laois was an improvement on the Carlow game. So the run in leinster has got confidence up again. And three wins on a trot builds confidence also. So the key is to keep improving and deliver their best performance of the year v Dubs. Everyone playing well v Carlow is not essential. Everyone playing well v Dubs thats what we need. So for me the performances v Carlow and laois is just the right build up before Dublin. We improved on Offaly game in each game after. We now need to deliver a performance similar to what we saw v Tyrone last year , Armagh in Navan this year , second half v kildare and first half v Donegal in Croker. But the 65mins we performed v Donegal in Ballybofey if we perform to that level play that quality of football, intelligent quality football. Then we have a great chance of being very competitive game and even a tight game and u just never know, maybe another famous Meath victory over Dublin. Just a side note A wet bad day might be a good thing. I know we are a small pacey team that suits dry conditions. But in 1986 in dreadful conditions we won leinster final v Dublin by 9 points to 7. In 1996 we defeated Dublin in dreadful rain conditions 10 points to 8. I will be hoping for more rain on the 23rd June. It suited us a underdogs in 86 and 96. A real dirty dog of day could lead to a dogfight. And Meath always beat Dublin in a dogfight. Another way would be to go for the juggler in first 15 mins. Like we did v Donegal and throw the kitchen sink at Dublin in first 15 mins. Go for goals unsettle them and try and get in early lead. The way we played v Donegal in Croker in the first half is the way to go. Try and blow Dublin away in first 20 mins. Try go into an early big lead. That would be my plan for leinster final. Im sure McEntee has a plan also. McEntee is steeped in Meath football. This is his first game v Dublin. He knows he will judged as a manager of Meath in how we plays v Dublin. How many times he beats Dublin. I expected Meath will put it up to Dublin all year long , and if u look at every single Meath manager ever in their first championship game they always put it up to Dublin. 1983 Boylan first game v Dublin. Meath drew with Dublin and narrowly lost the replay. Meath threw the kitchen sink at Dublin. 2007 Next Meath manager first game v Dublin was Colm Coyle. Meath again drew with Dublin. Meath lost the replay narrowly after putting it really up to Dublin. 2010 The next Meath manager Eamon O Brien first game v Dublin 09 we lost by a couple of points. A game if we played a little bit better we cud have won. 2012 Next Meath manager was Banty, and this was the last manager and team to nearly get result v Dublin. Meath lost by 3 points and had chances to draw the game at the end. 2013 The next Meath manager first game v Meath was Mick O Dowd. Meath were 2 up at half time and were much better team after missing many goal chances. It was the last time any team in leinster got close to Dublin. The game was still in the balance with 10 mins to go. So every Meath manager in their first game v Dublin they all put it up to Dublin. Sean Boylan, Colm Coyle, Eamon O Brien, Seamus McAilneney and Mick O Dowd. Andy McEntee doesnt want to be first Meath manager ever to not put it up to Dublin in his first game. I expect Andys first game for Meath , for Meath to throw the kitchen sink at Dublin like we did in 1983 and 2007. I know my head says Meath who have 1 game ever won as a team in Croker v a Dublin team who has won 4 All-Irelands and 9 leinsters in Croker. The head says it it of course Dublin the gap and experience Dublin have is to much for Meath to close in one summer. But I am a Meath man. And thinking with the head when it comes to Dublin is just not the case. When that ball is thrown in I will expecting those Meath lads to throw the kitchen sink at Dublin and in my heart and soul and with all the passion I can muster I will expect and believe Meath can win. Why ? because no team has beaten Dublin more then Meath. No team has been a stone in the shoe of Dublin football more then Meath. Dublins worst nightmare is if Meath came back as strong sucessful county because the one thing Dublin could never deal with is a strong Meath team. So it doesnt matter how many titles Dublin have in their pockets when they Meath play Dublin I always expect Meath have a chance. Why shouldnt I ? Why shouldnt I believe the county that has beaten Dublin more then any other county a county that has hammared humilated and drove Dublin football to the wilderness for years after Meath victories. We are Meath, they are Dublin. Its not a question of Meath will beat Dublin. Its a question when. This year or in 2020 or 2021 or 2022. It going to happen. Just believe. At the start of this decade a Dublin team played Meath in leinster championship . On that Dublin team who were hammered and humilated by Meath were the Dublin players Stephen Cluxton , James Mcarthy , Phily McMahon, Michael Fitzsimmons, Michael Dara Macauley , Bernard Brogan, Alan Brogan, Diarmaid Connolly , Kevin McMemanin, Paul Flynn., Rory O Carroll , Ger Brennan , Bryan Cullen , Eoghan O Gara. Basically the great Dublin team that won 5 All Irelands in 6 years were hammered by 5 goals on that day by. Meath. Only 4 teams have beaten Dublin in this decade. Kerry Galway Tyrone none of these teams have beaten Dublin in this decade. The four teams that have beaten Dublin in this decade are Mayo Donegal Cork and of course Meath. We started this decade shocking this great Dublin, hammering this Dublin team. Wouldnt it be Dublin's worst nightmare in the year of the five of a row, that their greatest nemesis where to end the decade just like we stated the decade. Humbling and beating the Dubs. Its in our dna it who we are as a people. Beating Dublin is everything to Meath people.Its defines it make us unique. We have done it 36 times in league and championship beaten Dublin more then any other county in the country. We did it in the sun in 1964 when they were All Ireland champions, we did it in the rain when they were as invincible as they were now in 1986. We did it in 1987 and 1988 to prove our greatness. We did it 90 again and in 91 in 4 games they threw kitchen sink at us and still we never were beaten. We did it in 88 in a league final v Dubs with 14 men for a a whole game and won by 8 points. We did it in the rain in 1996 when they were champions and we did it in 1997 1999 and 2001 just because we were better then them. We drew in 07 and hammered the living daylights out of them in 2010 with 5 goals. We can do it. Never give in . They have always had more resources more money more population. But we have heart and a never say die spirit. And that will always suceed for if u have heart and a never say die spirit u are never beaten and you can win a game. Its 15 Meath men v 15 Dublin men. We started this decade with a bang v Dublin lets not end on a whimper v Dublin this decade. Lets throw the kitchen sink at them. And let's see how they like it up So when that ball is thrown I wouldn't be thinking with my head I will be believing in my heart that we can beat Dublin. Its the only county when Meath play in the championship I know we can beat and will always beat. Because it the Meath way , we can and will beat them. Why not in 2 weeks. Believe in the greatest footballer county Ireland after kerry , Meath . Thats who we are now we must deliver because we dont know any other way. Who is going to be our Seamus Darby , is it Newman or McMahon or Sullivan or Menton or keoghan running from deep. No, young James Conlon will score the winner for Meatg ijn injury time. June 23rd 2019 A day Meath will rock the capital and the GAA to its very foundations, not for the first time not for last time. Meath 2 - 14 Dublin 0 - 19. Meath Leinster champions 2019."
Waffle for the sake of it.

southmeathgael (Meath) - 10/06/2019 13:15:32

Meath V Carlow - 21 Like(s)

Replying To Brownepat:  "I don't understand it but I thought Shane Gallagher was our best player v offaly kept their dangerman Bernard Allen well under tabs"
What don't you understand?? He'll 100% start, pay no heed to any teams picked up here without him included

southmeathgael (Meath) - 22/05/2019 07:11:20

Meath Vs Kerry - 21 Like(s)
Anyone that thinks mcentee wil run the bench in this game is clueless.....itll be the same as every other game, strongest team and strongest subs ran in.....and so it should be. Mickey Burke.....gimme a break, i dont recall brayer getting a big send off, a man that deserved one

southmeathgael (Meath) - 29/07/2019 21:58:54