Pairc Tailteann

Replying To Royalblufill:  "This from the Sun!

The redevelopment of Pairc Tailteann in Navan into a 22,000 all-seater arena is estimated to cost €9 million, with Croke Park and the Leinster Council set to contribute €4million. A planning application was submitted just before Christmas and a decision isn't due for another few months. The redevelopment of the ground into a 22,000 all-seater arena is estimated to cost €9 million. Meath chiefs were originally limited to a spend of €10 million on the stadium but there have been reports that has since been reduced to €7 million. Many clubs in the county, themselves struggling to raise funds, have been annoyed by requests from the county board to help finance the redevelopment.

So a government injection would help advance plans, with the first phase of the revamp expected to be the construction of a new stand at the Navan town end of the ground where there is currently a grass bank.

A Transport Departments spokesman said: "Following the conclusion of Budget 2018 discussions, the Department is committed to establishing a new "Large Scale Sport Infrastructure Fund" in 2018."The Fund will be for larger projects where the proposed Government contribution exceeds the amount available under the Sports Capital Programme (where the maximum grant is currently €200,000.)

You are right RD - this is fantastic news for the county. Should be a real incentive now for kids to try and get to play there! (And adults too I guess!!) Hopefully planning permission will be approved quickly and smoothly and work can commence sooner rather than later!"
The article is incorrect. It's €9 Million for demolition of old stand and banks and only a 4,000 seater stand built NOT complete 22,000 seater built.

Redsalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 116 - 26/01/2018 14:38:15    2070808

Replying To Royalblufill:  "This from the Sun!

The redevelopment of Pairc Tailteann in Navan into a 22,000 all-seater arena is estimated to cost €9 million, with Croke Park and the Leinster Council set to contribute €4million. A planning application was submitted just before Christmas and a decision isn't due for another few months. The redevelopment of the ground into a 22,000 all-seater arena is estimated to cost €9 million. Meath chiefs were originally limited to a spend of €10 million on the stadium but there have been reports that has since been reduced to €7 million. Many clubs in the county, themselves struggling to raise funds, have been annoyed by requests from the county board to help finance the redevelopment.

So a government injection would help advance plans, with the first phase of the revamp expected to be the construction of a new stand at the Navan town end of the ground where there is currently a grass bank.

A Transport Departments spokesman said: "Following the conclusion of Budget 2018 discussions, the Department is committed to establishing a new "Large Scale Sport Infrastructure Fund" in 2018."The Fund will be for larger projects where the proposed Government contribution exceeds the amount available under the Sports Capital Programme (where the maximum grant is currently €200,000.)

You are right RD - this is fantastic news for the county. Should be a real incentive now for kids to try and get to play there! (And adults too I guess!!) Hopefully planning permission will be approved quickly and smoothly and work can commence sooner rather than later!"
Yes. Hopefully it will glide through planning and start digging asap

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/01/2018 15:00:32    2070812

I would sincerely hope we would get government funding for PT but I take anything that's printed in that so called paper with a large pinch of salt. First planning from MCC is due on Feb 10th and not "a few months" and €9 million is not going to rebuild the entire of PT but just demolish most of what's there and build a 4000 seat stand on one of the two sides which will be extended to 7000 (although the plans online show building a first phase stand of 5000). Building a stand at one of the goal ends first is a new one so I'd love to know what the source for this article is.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 26/01/2018 15:47:09    2070830

Replying To Redsalltheway:  "The article is incorrect. It's €9 Million for demolition of old stand and banks and only a 4,000 seater stand built NOT complete 22,000 seater built."
Thought it sounded to good to be true!!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 473 - 26/01/2018 15:56:37    2070833

Replying To Richieq:  "I would sincerely hope we would get government funding for PT but I take anything that's printed in that so called paper with a large pinch of salt. First planning from MCC is due on Feb 10th and not "a few months" and €9 million is not going to rebuild the entire of PT but just demolish most of what's there and build a 4000 seat stand on one of the two sides which will be extended to 7000 (although the plans online show building a first phase stand of 5000). Building a stand at one of the goal ends first is a new one so I'd love to know what the source for this article is."
I didn't get it iniofrom the sun, but I had a look there and it seems odd to start at grass banks.
Now I do believe that when complete it will be a all seater stadium but that could be 10 years away. That stand needs to go asap.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/01/2018 16:56:18    2070852

Replying To Richieq:  "I would sincerely hope we would get government funding for PT but I take anything that's printed in that so called paper with a large pinch of salt. First planning from MCC is due on Feb 10th and not "a few months" and €9 million is not going to rebuild the entire of PT but just demolish most of what's there and build a 4000 seat stand on one of the two sides which will be extended to 7000 (although the plans online show building a first phase stand of 5000). Building a stand at one of the goal ends first is a new one so I'd love to know what the source for this article is."
Yeah I think the only thing to take from the article is the availability of funding, which I good because this was my concern as all sources have been vague.

Richie you are saying the decision is due on Feb 10th. We must consider time for extended considerations by the council and perhaps even an appeal to an bord pleanala.

Hopefully the application has been fully thought through with the planning officials a grant will be made straight away. But would not count chickens just yet given the size of the project.

We must also remember that the development is 'phased' so it will be a number of years to reach the end goal of 22,000.

I think the timing of the project will dictate where development starts.. it may make sense to start behind the goals in order to allow a full season of games to be played with the dressing room facilities and then demolish main stand and gradually build that over a winter period.

Without picking the entire article apart, It's generally positive and not just hot air

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 27/01/2018 12:24:33    2071024

Im see that Meath CC has granted full planning permission to the project although there will probably be an appeal somewhere along the line.

Hopefully this is the start of seeing a nice look Paric Tailteann going forward.

I would be in favour of demolishing the current stand first even if it did mean having only the terrace there for a while. Would be worth it in the long term.

juicy (Meath) - Posts: 399 - 02/02/2018 11:00:08    2073330

Replying To juicy:  "Im see that Meath CC has granted full planning permission to the project although there will probably be an appeal somewhere along the line.

Hopefully this is the start of seeing a nice look Paric Tailteann going forward.

I would be in favour of demolishing the current stand first even if it did mean having only the terrace there for a while. Would be worth it in the long term."
That's really positive news that we at last seem to be getting somewhere. I couldn't see how anyone would have grounds for appeal. It's not going to affect any local residents, apart from parking, and that is manageable. Unless the hse object because of the impact on the hospital. But this being Ireland, there will probably be some crackpot who will appeal it, and this being Ireland they will be allowed to drag the whole process to a standstill.

I can't see how doing the stand first would work. There are a lot of elderly supporters who would not be fit to stand on the terrace, and there is no way you will get the county board members to stand with the riff-raff. I think I'd you are going to do the stand first, you would need to put temporary seats on the terrace. But then you would reduce the standing room, so you would have to provide standing on the banks.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 02/02/2018 12:39:25    2073353

Replying To anfearbeag:  "That's really positive news that we at last seem to be getting somewhere. I couldn't see how anyone would have grounds for appeal. It's not going to affect any local residents, apart from parking, and that is manageable. Unless the hse object because of the impact on the hospital. But this being Ireland, there will probably be some crackpot who will appeal it, and this being Ireland they will be allowed to drag the whole process to a standstill.

I can't see how doing the stand first would work. There are a lot of elderly supporters who would not be fit to stand on the terrace, and there is no way you will get the county board members to stand with the riff-raff. I think I'd you are going to do the stand first, you would need to put temporary seats on the terrace. But then you would reduce the standing room, so you would have to provide standing on the banks."
While I understand it would put a certain proportion off going, I think it would be a case of short term pain for long term gain as the saying goes.

The current Terrace is fit for purpose as things stand in my view but the stand isnt. Hence focus on what isn't fit first. Id hate to see a case whereby we spent all the money on the terrace side and then couldn't afford to do anything with the stand side.

I cant see the logic in putting temporary seats in place, as to me this would be a waste of money which is already tight. And to do anything behind the goals is going to cost money

juicy (Meath) - Posts: 399 - 02/02/2018 13:05:51    2073362

As no objections at all were lodged, I think it is a formality that the development in some guise is a go. There is a lot to consider to make sure that whatever work is done, is done once and done correctly for the long term benefits. while there are issues regarding the design of the building in Dunganny, it was delivered on time and in budget which is a positive and a rarity, The main stand and lights have to be first, even if attendances are effected or games have to be moved in 2019 it is one year, for the benefit of the next 25 or 30 years. Behind the goals on both sides should be phase 2 with the Terrance being last, if the money runs out after phase 2, it would not be the end of the world, the terrace is not in bad shape and with some upgrade works to toilets etc it would be just fine and you are given people who prefer to stand at a game the chance to do that.

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 02/02/2018 13:21:48    2073369

More positive news for PT, great to see that we are moving in the right direction. Still a bit surprised we're going for 4 stands but sure look it, why not.

I hope they do start with the stand, our current stand is in shocking condition and needs to be torn down asap. The grass banks are unslightly but in the grand scheme of things they can wait, also while the terrace ain't gonna win any beauty contests it's fit for purpose for the time being.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/02/2018 15:16:45    2073402

Replying To juicy:  "While I understand it would put a certain proportion off going, I think it would be a case of short term pain for long term gain as the saying goes.

The current Terrace is fit for purpose as things stand in my view but the stand isnt. Hence focus on what isn't fit first. Id hate to see a case whereby we spent all the money on the terrace side and then couldn't afford to do anything with the stand side.

I cant see the logic in putting temporary seats in place, as to me this would be a waste of money which is already tight. And to do anything behind the goals is going to cost money"
As far as I am aware the behind goals has to be done , they can't be left as is, due to health and safety, even closed off the are regarded as a risk to patrons. I don't know why but they are. So I think one of the things is it won't get the safety cert if they not done. Or so I have been told. The terrace is actually acceptable as it is to h&s.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/02/2018 15:18:28    2073403

RD, you can start saving now for a corporate box. It would be make a grand retirement home :)

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 02/02/2018 16:32:55    2073422

Replying To GlasagusOr:  "RD, you can start saving now for a corporate box. It would be make a grand retirement home :)"
You just gave me a great idea :).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/02/2018 16:57:41    2073428

Fantastic news today, not one objection or comment of a negative nature points to a proper and well informed application and those involved deserve great credit for this. I sincerely hope this project receives government funding and I believe it will, how much may depend how big phase 1 is but the reality is Pairc Tailteann is about to dramatically change and for the better. I would hope that the stand is developed first with total demolition and removal of the grass banks, I would have no objection to some temporary seating being erected at either goal end whilst the new stand is being built l, whilst the terrace as it stands is generally in decent shape and can hold 9'500 you still need some seated accommodation for spectators so some temporary arrangement, even 1500-2000 seats would suffice until the new stand is up and running. Central and Leinster Council need to get behind this too, the North and West of Leinster is badly lacking in fit for purpose stadia, we are providing a solution that should be properly supported by financial grants.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 02/02/2018 19:45:52    2073462

Do people not think that there should be some form of terracing in the new PT? A fully seated stadium while very modern I feel will take away the atmosphere that comes with having terracing.

Westtip (Meath) - Posts: 24 - 02/02/2018 23:40:01    2073502

Replying To Westtip:  "Do people not think that there should be some form of terracing in the new PT? A fully seated stadium while very modern I feel will take away the atmosphere that comes with having terracing."
Very good point terrace town end? ..should be suggested before everythings set in stone

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 03/02/2018 00:37:04    2073508

Replying To Westtip:  "Do people not think that there should be some form of terracing in the new PT? A fully seated stadium while very modern I feel will take away the atmosphere that comes with having terracing."
Yes, but years of zero consideration to supporters amongst other factors leading to diluted atmospheres have just left me feeling ambiguous about the whole thing, feels a lost cause really with not much hunger out there to change that. It's a pity because some of the best days I've had centred around the carnival atmosphere we created on the terraces, and not always during the glory days either. Most recently(yes I know!) 07 and 09 in particular were brilliant, between the hill and portlaoise etc, feel for young lads that seem destined to miss out on that, hope I'm wrong.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 03/02/2018 08:48:36    2073522

Although I am in favour of some element of terracing in Pairc Tailteann, it is considered archaic and poses a threat to health and safety.

We must understand that Pairc Tailteann is being used as a template design - four stands fully seated at 21-22,000. It will be the stadia benchmark moving forward.

Also we need to look beyond GAA as a fully seated stadium opens the use of the stadium for non-gaa events which must also be positive thinking for Navan and County in terms of revenue.

We should support the "master plan" development fully and keep in mind, the ultimate end product is a master scheme.

I realistically think that 4 fully seated stands will not be achieved in the short term (5-10 years) and that an element of terracing will ultimately remain in P.T due to funding, resources etc

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 03/02/2018 10:09:55    2073532

Plenty of obstacles yet before this project gets started.
It will need the full support from the clubs and without this there will be a cascading negative effect on the project.
If clubs do not commit to the funding proposals then the county board won't have a recurring revenue model which will be required to secure lending from financial institutions.

Hopefully the clubs back the project but it will be a potential burden on many clubs.

Royal_Gunner (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 06/02/2018 13:22:15    2074571