Meath V Donegal

At the end of the day if Kerry and Dublin were missing as many players as ye they would be severly weakened too. No team can afford to be missing a lot of players and still be expecting to win. Meath were poor on the day but get a few bodies back and things will start to improve . Must say I enjoyed the day yesterday the result helped but the Meath people all round me were lovely and so gracious in defeat. I always liked Meath football and hopefully the results will pick up for yous.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 03/02/2020 11:32:08    2264793

Newman is the only household name Meath are missing. A good free taker. Walsh only played 2 games last year? . He hasn't been there for 4 or 5 years to say he's a huge loss..
The other players are they much better then what's there?

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 03/02/2020 11:38:14    2264797

Replying To BigJoe14:  "The absolute tripe that gets posted on this site and other social media outlets about management and players is just behold outrageous at this stage. Players and management are giving everything they have for the county seven days a week, 24 hours a day practically, and then you have gutless key board warriors slating everything from top to bottom without a single idea about what they are even talking about and if put in the same position as any Meath player or mentor wouldn't know where to start. Also I very much doubt if any key board warrior came across any player or member of management face to face they wouldn't even look at them never mind say anything to them as they are complete cowards. Luckily for all of the air heads on social media and this site non of the players/management (or at least they shouldn't) pay one bit of attention to the crap that comes out of peoples heads and onto their phones. If you have something constructive and helpful to say and actually know what you are talking about, then say it, but if you have nothing but a barrage of insults and personal comments without any foundation to it then you should keep it to yourself. Yes Meath are struggling, especially in the forward unit at the minute, but it is certainly not for the lack of effort, we just do not posses at the minute the same level of player as the likes of Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone and Donegal or even Galway. And the injury list is very hard on the squad that is only new into division one. Also if you are so concerned about Meath football and seem to know it all,why don't you go down to your local club, get yourself qualified as a coach and start bringing through the next generation, or get involved in the administration side of things. But no I would say it is much easier for them to sit on their phones and insult from a distance."
So you know this : We are entitled to come on here and voice our opinions on the state of Meath football, that's one of the privileges living in a democracy gives up. No we don't have the right to abuse anyone but we do have the right give our opinions. You are suggesting we don't pay an active part in our clubs or underage teams. Well let me assure you I have played a very active part in my club, both as a mentor committee member and referee for many years. So yes I do have the right to come on here and give my opinion on the state of Meath football football and the current set up.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 03/02/2020 11:41:57    2264798

Everyone knows we have massive injury problems, so we where massively up against it. So you have make do with what you have.
Dropping Ronan Ryan was a massive mistake IMO. I taught he held the middle very well last week against Tyrone. He has plenty of experience in the backs (Gods knows we could use it ) and knows what it like to play there. He has good positional sense also .Why bring in Jones there ? I am massive fan of Jones but he has no experience in playing in such a tricky position. I know Conlon played in the backs alot of the game but still I would of had Ryan there. Jones is just coming back into the team after 2/3 years out. I would have played Jones instead of Brennan, or straight swap for Conlon . And kept Ryan where was. Also I taught Jones was struggling to make any impact on the game and was kept on a bit to long. But hopefully this game might bring Jones on if he around next week.

Also its very frustrating when every-time we attacked we where pulled down constant personal fouls quickly stops any quick counter and rarely was any ticks or a yellow shown for a accumulation of team personal fouls. The top teams have this down to a tee. Its something we need get smarter on.

We could have made better use of the ball at times. I am hugely disappointing its a bad result I expected a bit more, but there was plenty of effort shown, but just so many players but not up to speed and others thrown in on the deep end at them moment. So the last two games are not a true reflection on where we are as a county at moment. Even if we had Lavin and Gallagher it would have made a massive difference to score line.

It would be a massive boast to get some of these injured players back, but even if we do they are not going to up to fitness levels and match fitness to pick up where the left off last year. And the league might be over and us relegated again it happens unfortunately.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 03/02/2020 11:42:16    2264799

Replying To SheridansTry:  "Hard to point out the issues without slating people which i don't want to do but our Tactics for our forwards are all wrong and to obvious for the opposition. We also needed a captain to get a hold of the game, I honestly cant remember the last time Menton Fielded a ball in the middle of the park , He like a few others just drift in and out of games. Its obvious that we need a full team to be any bit competitive but we need to mix up the game a bit and be a lot quicker when we are breaking from the backline. Time and time again in both games we broke out from the backs so slow that all the Donegal /Tyrone players were able to get back in their own 45 and eventually after sideways kicking and hand passing we lose the ball. If we are a running / Counter team we need to break quicker and sometimes leave a couple forwards where they are supposed to be to mix things up. It was a very depressing game worse then last weekend i thought. On a positive note Cos and James McEntee ran all day, i thought the Brennan did well a few kick outs went astray but mostly down to no one looking for it. TOC was helping the backline quite a bit."
What should be the tactics for the forwards then if it is so obvious? Also Bryan Menton has been the best captain Meath have had in a long long time as yesterday was the first quite game by his high standards that he has had in nearly two years. He had scored in fourteen consecutive games up until yesterday and was the top scoring midfielder in all of Ireland in last years championship. Himself, Donal Keogan and James McEntee have been driving this team for the past three years.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 03/02/2020 11:48:07    2264801

As stated above everyone on the panel and management team are giving savage commitment to try and better meath footballl so i dont want to come on here and slate lads.
But we have to be honest and call it as we see it.
Yesterday was nowhere near good enough, It was our first home game back in Div 1 in 13 years and Pairc Tailteann was like a grave yard. Lads can train 7 nights a week but its not any good unless they show up on match day like men possessed.
Firstly i understand we're missing players but my god we were so poor and predictable yesterday, our build-up play is pedestrian and we are soley dependant on our running game. Any top team knows against meath if you clog up the middle and stop our runners we have nothing else. Donegal have one of the best running games in ireland and are traditionally a running team but in both halves yesterday when a kickpass was on inside they played some beautiful pop passes and cut us open.
Our movement in the forwards was shocking , T O'Reilly was trying and had a decent game but the rest were only looking for simple handpasses and looping around the fourty. We have absoloutely zero dynamism about our play and its hard to watch.
Our hard running game will work against Louth and Clare and other weaker teams but not top teams, if we want to progress to a serious top 8 team we need to develop a better mix of kicking and running style.

Secondly Meath are meant to be traditionally a tough hard team, we have passionate tough meath men in charge of us but my god we have to be the nicest team in ireland. We have a team full of physically strong men but unfortunately they are far too nice. Every top team in the country plays on the edge and plays with niggle. Watch Monaghan v Tyrone or Dublin v Kerry and its an absoloute world away from watching meath in terms of physicality and nastiness. Our first Div 1 game in navan in 13 years and i reckon donegal havent had an easier afternoons work in 2 years. We need to learn fast and realise you win nothing with angels.

I understand we have injuries but what a seen yesterday wasnt down to personel. Attitude and tactics were awful and there two things you can control regardless of who puts on the jersey.

Meathmaverick (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 03/02/2020 12:13:15    2264811

Replying To BigJoe14:  "What should be the tactics for the forwards then if it is so obvious? Also Bryan Menton has been the best captain Meath have had in a long long time as yesterday was the first quite game by his high standards that he has had in nearly two years. He had scored in fourteen consecutive games up until yesterday and was the top scoring midfielder in all of Ireland in last years championship. Himself, Donal Keogan and James McEntee have been driving this team for the past three years."
I said its obvious for the opposition to read what our forwards will do as we are having the same issues every game . Getting to the opposition 45 and turning back. I suggested we should be faster at getting up the pitch and maybe all 15 of the opposition wont be behind the ball. Lets face it Menton was thrown into Midfield he should be a half back. Yes he does score a point a game and when we only bloody score 7 its a big deal but he is not a midfielder. The amount of games in the last few years he jumps up for the ball and pats it down to the other team rather then fielding it and calling a mark.

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 03/02/2020 12:34:13    2264817

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Newman is the only household name Meath are missing. A good free taker. Walsh only played 2 games last year? . He hasn't been there for 4 or 5 years to say he's a huge loss..
The other players are they much better then what's there?"
You should probably worry about your own affairs in Cavan.

Walsh would be a definite starter if he was fit. He showed enough against Kerry in the championship to say he's a huge loss. Especially when our forward line isn't good enough at the moment.

Lavin, Harnan, Lenihan, S McEntee are others injuries. I could be missing a few more?

Lavin was probably our best player last year. He was outstanding in the Super 8s. Himself, Harnan and McEntee are all starters from last year.

I'd be starting Lenihan as well.

ISupposeSoSheehan (Meath) - Posts: 86 - 03/02/2020 12:45:09    2264821

We know our own affairs. We have more players missing then Meath but get on with it.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 03/02/2020 12:54:46    2264827

Graham Reilly....... Just saying

7sams (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 03/02/2020 13:08:22    2264834

We are missing lads i will give thatbto the management at minute.but basically we had a lad that had 2 very good club games change our style.every free went thru eamonn wallace he kicked it away time after time.why not keep doong what got us to div 1.no back to longford mess no inside forwards.for that to b let happen has to come back to manager/coach simple as that.costello whipped off doing nothing for these lads confidence joey wallace wasnt in the game.if we were over u 10s with gale force wind ye b telling them to stay close to goals and use wind if lose possesion donegal had 100mtre to cover.no we lost it midfield half forward positions less ground to cover.this is common sense stuff.
Thc goalie mess rolls on is brennan a coach with meath also?.what must dardis yorke make of this.in general team has to b unsure what is happening.free takers jesus wept anyone seems to have a go at that.im disillusioned once again.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 03/02/2020 13:31:12    2264844

Replying To Borderroyal:  "We are missing lads i will give thatbto the management at minute.but basically we had a lad that had 2 very good club games change our style.every free went thru eamonn wallace he kicked it away time after time.why not keep doong what got us to div 1.no back to longford mess no inside forwards.for that to b let happen has to come back to manager/coach simple as that.costello whipped off doing nothing for these lads confidence joey wallace wasnt in the game.if we were over u 10s with gale force wind ye b telling them to stay close to goals and use wind if lose possesion donegal had 100mtre to cover.no we lost it midfield half forward positions less ground to cover.this is common sense stuff.
Thc goalie mess rolls on is brennan a coach with meath also?.what must dardis yorke make of this.in general team has to b unsure what is happening.free takers jesus wept anyone seems to have a go at that.im disillusioned once again."
The goalkeeper situation is a mess but to be fair to Brennan he's a better option than Dardis or Yorke. He answered the SOS call again and made a great save for the penalty.

ISupposeSoSheehan (Meath) - Posts: 86 - 03/02/2020 13:43:26    2264850

More of the same..........embarassing. Must be very difficult for players to keep plugging away at taining. NO evidence of any learning from mistakes from previous games. NONE. Sideline seem to be at sea .....very dissapointing to discover we are going nowhere when we compete against div 1 teams. Tactics...do we have ANY when it matters?.Only positives yesterday Thomas O Reilly was really on his own in the forwards.....well done Thomas! Well done also to our no 4 Toner for a great point scored...well done for having a go from long range! Why are forwards so afraid of shooting when in range? Why are our midfielders not willing to catch the ball rather than mucking around? WHY still no movement from outfield players for kickouts to provide options gor the goalkeeper? Brennan in goals did his best in the circumstances,and deserves his place
Injuries ....yes a problem. It does seem lthough that the injuries may be a convenient excuse in masking the major promlems of poor leadership on the sideline .. I am not saying replace Andy Mc Entee and Colm Nally etc. I am saying it is a very difficult task with limited panel in terms of experience and talent. My question is if training is not about dealing with mistakes made, and working on tactics ,then what is training about ? To me i cannot se ANY improvement in leadership from the sideline when the chips are down.
On this forum at times it appears it is not nice to be critical especially of management. Bull...t. Clearly management cant work miracles with limited talent available. You certainly can do better than ye have done up to now. I make no appologies for these comments .i believe they are constructive . Ye have the honour of guiding the fortunes of a proud football county .That is a massive honour !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1223 - 03/02/2020 14:17:25    2264869

Replying To Borderroyal:  "We are missing lads i will give thatbto the management at minute.but basically we had a lad that had 2 very good club games change our style.every free went thru eamonn wallace he kicked it away time after time.why not keep doong what got us to div 1.no back to longford mess no inside forwards.for that to b let happen has to come back to manager/coach simple as that.costello whipped off doing nothing for these lads confidence joey wallace wasnt in the game.if we were over u 10s with gale force wind ye b telling them to stay close to goals and use wind if lose possesion donegal had 100mtre to cover.no we lost it midfield half forward positions less ground to cover.this is common sense stuff.
Thc goalie mess rolls on is brennan a coach with meath also?.what must dardis yorke make of this.in general team has to b unsure what is happening.free takers jesus wept anyone seems to have a go at that.im disillusioned once again."
Again, as I've said before I've no idea how this guy gets on Meath teams. He's not a natural footballer. Someone like David Larkin, Damian Carroll, Oisin Reilly, Jason Scully, O'Brien from Ratoath, to list just a few, would be far better options as hard working, ball playing half forwards. As you say he only played a couple of decent games last year after a break from the game - what did he do to deserve to now have such a prominent role in Div 1 team?

The problem with lads who are not natural footballers is that they don't have the skills to get out of tight spots, they don't kick well under pressure and they give the ball away too much.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 03/02/2020 14:25:58    2264872

Replying To ISupposeSoSheehan:  "The goalkeeper situation is a mess but to be fair to Brennan he's a better option than Dardis or Yorke. He answered the SOS call again and made a great save for the penalty."
Yes Marcus Brennan was one of our top performers yesterday. It was late in the game that his first kickout went astray and that was because morale of the team was low and I could see no obvious runners making it easy for him so he had no option except go for distance. I know he is hardly one for the future but survival is very much in the present. So he must stay.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1062 - 03/02/2020 14:46:08    2264874

Replying To FoolsGold:  "We know our own affairs. We have more players missing then Meath but get on with it."
Tell that Cavan couple from the Aldi ad they can feck off too, trying to make out Meath people are tight, cheeky feckers

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 03/02/2020 16:25:07    2264901

Replying To FoolsGold:  "We know our own affairs. We have more players missing then Meath but get on with it."
Luckily for Cavan you are in the safe zone of Division 2 where everyone is more or less at the same level no matter who is or isn't unavailable to them and can remain competitive. Division 1 is unforgiving to teams with weaker squads while the big five or six (Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone, Donegal, Mayo and maybe Galway) will crush teams like Meath or Cavan given the chance.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 03/02/2020 16:32:45    2264902

Replying To ISupposeSoSheehan:  "The goalkeeper situation is a mess but to be fair to Brennan he's a better option than Dardis or Yorke. He answered the SOS call again and made a great save for the penalty."
If you dont get much of a chance in goals how are you goin to improve.brennan at his peak wasnt round meath set up.now we are in the s..t he is put in.surely if yorke was so bad before tyrone game brennan would have been put in.yorke in sure given a chance with week in between games could have worked on kickoits same as brennan.not even in team squad yday.has he walked.??

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 03/02/2020 17:03:36    2264907

is that due to injuries or people simply not wanting to play for Cavan?

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 03/02/2020 19:41:22    2264936

Replying To Richieq:  "Tell that Cavan couple from the Aldi ad they can feck off too, trying to make out Meath people are tight, cheeky feckers"
Yeah. Never met a Cavan one that wasn't mane as f...

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2020 20:06:14    2264938