Meath V Tyrone

Replying To BigJoe14:  "
Replying To Thejoeshow:  "I think if we look at what our strongest 15 is I would suggest it is something close to below

1. Colgan
2. Lavin

3. McGill
4. Gallagher
5. Keogan
6. Harnan
7. J McEntee
8. Menton
9. Jones
10. O Sullivan
11. McMahon
12. Campion/Devine
13. Lenihan
14. Newman
15. Walsh

Unfortunately meath (and not very many counties) can afford to miss 8 of their top players and still be competitive. I will hold my hands up and say that Colgan certainly looks a better option based on what is there.

When you look at the forwards we were missing, I would hold off until at least 2/3 of them are back as in Lenihan and Walsh we should have more accurate forwards in the weeks to come. Both Devine and Campion have more to offer than Brennan does and would add something different"
It took a first half meltdown from Yorke for people to accept what I was saying in the build up to the game regarding Colgan and Yorke was correct. Colgan is by far the best of three options that we have available to us. It is remarkable though the double standards the Meath 'supporters' have when it comes to criticizing players . If Andy Colgan or Paddy O'Rourke were in goals yesterday for the first half and put in a performance like that they would be getting all sorts of verbal abuse on every platform available to meath supporters. Some people who weren't even at the game yesterday jumped to conclusions that Colgan was in goals seeing as the first half was going so bad on kick outs. I suppose what club you are from and the region is a deciding factor for some when it comes to dishing out verbal's."
Wow you really have a hard on for where people are from and what their opinions are. Once players are in the green they're all Meath players, doesn't matter if all 15 are from the same club, a club in Dublin or Cavan or Louth, once they play in the green of Meath they have my full and unequivocal support. Stop this BS about dishing out verbals on where people are from. It doesn't exist and you're trying to make something of nothing to support your imaginary slight.

And would you ever get a grip of yourself with your self congratulations. You're full of hot air and self importance. Colgan is a terrible keeper. End of. He'll cost us games this year no doubt at all. I've seen enough over the last two years to know what I know. Colgan isn't good enough plain and simple and if we've any designs on going anywhere we're hamstringing ourselves with the belief he's good enough.

Yes Yorke had a bad game and he's now more or less consigned to the scrap heap of tried and failed keepers under this management. But lets not forget he was thrown into a game with no time to get himself mentally prepared for it (and the same for Dardis) and you want to jump all over the lad. Did he know the patterns the team were supposed to use? Did our outfield players give him options as they've failed to do so for multiple years and other keepers? Did Tyrone push up on kickouts knowing that this was his debut and force mistakes from him.

This management team stands indicted for 4 seasons of neglecting the goal keeping position, having a proper kick out strategy, having a keeper who can execute that strategy, having a keeper who can change with the game, having players who make space and give a keeper multiple options to put the ball into space, alienating multiple goal keepers from wanting to get involved. They had the whole club championship to select and settle on a keeper and they failed miserable.

Wheres McDermott from Dunshaughlin who was called up late last season? Why was he not involved this year? Beakey was another who had a chance last year but again has been cast aside? Burlingham and Hannigan two of our better underage keepers in recent years were alienated and undermined and walked away. When is this going to be solved?

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 27/01/2020 14:57:05    2262918

Replying To BigJoe14:  "
Replying To Thejoeshow:  "I think if we look at what our strongest 15 is I would suggest it is something close to below

1. Colgan
2. Lavin

3. McGill
4. Gallagher
5. Keogan
6. Harnan
7. J McEntee
8. Menton
9. Jones
10. O Sullivan
11. McMahon
12. Campion/Devine
13. Lenihan
14. Newman
15. Walsh

Unfortunately meath (and not very many counties) can afford to miss 8 of their top players and still be competitive. I will hold my hands up and say that Colgan certainly looks a better option based on what is there.

When you look at the forwards we were missing, I would hold off until at least 2/3 of them are back as in Lenihan and Walsh we should have more accurate forwards in the weeks to come. Both Devine and Campion have more to offer than Brennan does and would add something different"
It took a first half meltdown from Yorke for people to accept what I was saying in the build up to the game regarding Colgan and Yorke was correct. Colgan is by far the best of three options that we have available to us. It is remarkable though the double standards the Meath 'supporters' have when it comes to criticizing players . If Andy Colgan or Paddy O'Rourke were in goals yesterday for the first half and put in a performance like that they would be getting all sorts of verbal abuse on every platform available to meath supporters. Some people who weren't even at the game yesterday jumped to conclusions that Colgan was in goals seeing as the first half was going so bad on kick outs. I suppose what club you are from and the region is a deciding factor for some when it comes to dishing out verbal's."
Who are these people that weren't at the game are they on this forum? Cos no one above has mentioned colgan being in goals for the first half. Colgan maybe be the best option that meath have, and that is the reason andy had him starting. No one can legislate for a warm up injury especially to a goalkeeper. And Andy would be the first to admit that he didnt want to start Yorke as it was his first real competitive game, meath first game back in division 1 and away to Tyrone. Did replacing him with Dardis solve the problem certainly not. But maybe it might kick them into action and they may finally realise we need an actual game plan to create space for short kickouts and for longer ones into space. 5 months they had to work it out and they didnt it shows more about the management than the players. Players dont go out to make mistakes but it happens. Frees, wides and simple errors and inability to take chances contributed to meaths loss not just the kickouts and that was clear for all to see at the game yesterday. It's one big issue andy and his selectors need to sit down and work out. Because the answer isnt playing a top forward in goals.

glover (Meath) - Posts: 24 - 27/01/2020 14:58:05    2262919

1. Colgan
2. Lavin

3. McGill
4. Gallagher
5. Keogan
6. Harnan
7. J McEntee
8. Menton
9. Jones
10. O Sullivan
11. McMahon
12. Campion/Devine
13. Lenihan
14. Newman
15. Walsh

You could include Kane too.
Disappointed that Conlon didn't get a run yesterday think when the long ball option was gone he would have been ideal to drag frees.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2020 15:15:54    2262924

Replying To royaldunne:  "

1. Colgan
2. Lavin

3. McGill
4. Gallagher
5. Keogan
6. Harnan
7. J McEntee
8. Menton
9. Jones
10. O Sullivan
11. McMahon
12. Campion/Devine
13. Lenihan
14. Newman
15. Walsh

Disappointed that Conlon didn't get a run yesterday think when the long ball option was gone he would have been ideal to drag frees."
Fair Play RD, I'd have Kane starting in my first choice 15. I'd start James McEntee on the same side in the half forward line with one bombing and the other dropping back as needed. If you watch Dublin when McCaffrey goes Scully and or Howard drop back to cover the space and make sure they're not out numbered for the counter. A similar style would get the best from both lads I believe.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 27/01/2020 15:56:15    2262942

Replying To Crinigan:  "The injuries situation is absolutely ridiculous and you'd have to say, it doesn't reflect terribly well on the new S&C coach.

I'm not sure what qualifications he has but its his job to make sure we have players fit for the start of the season - to that end what the hell were they doing in pre-season to pick up so many injuries? Its our 4th season under McEntee with many of the same players so they should be benefitting from these years of S&C now, not dropping like flies. Even GK's getting injured in warm-ups, its ridiculous."
As you say injury situation need to be looked at, not just Meath, Donegal missing up to 10 players according to reports on Saturday, Seems to be a problem for many counties. I rarely hear of an injury crisis in Dublin, like everything else they get their S/C and training methods spot on. To be missing 2/3 is expected, however questions need to be asked when we go into double figures.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2141 - 27/01/2020 16:17:01    2262951

Replying To royaldunne:  "

1. Colgan
2. Lavin

3. McGill
4. Gallagher
5. Keogan
6. Harnan
7. J McEntee
8. Menton
9. Jones
10. O Sullivan
11. McMahon
12. Campion/Devine
13. Lenihan
14. Newman
15. Walsh

Disappointed that Conlon didn't get a run yesterday think when the long ball option was gone he would have been ideal to drag frees."
Agree with Both you could easily have kane and mcentee in 100%. I am surprised as Conlon would have been different option

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 27/01/2020 16:21:52    2262955

Replying To brian:  "
Replying To royaldunne:  "[quote=Thejoeshow:  "I think if we look at what our strongest 15 is I would suggest it is something close to below

1. Colgan
2. Lavin

3. McGill
4. Gallagher
5. Keogan
6. Harnan
7. J McEntee
8. Menton
9. Jones
10. O Sullivan
11. McMahon
12. Campion/Devine
13. Lenihan
14. Newman
15. Walsh

Fair Play RD, I'd have Kane starting in my first choice 15. I'd start James McEntee on the same side in the half forward line with one bombing and the other dropping back as needed. If you watch Dublin when McCaffrey goes Scully and or Howard drop back to cover the space and make sure they're not out numbered for the counter. A similar style would get the best from both lads I believe."]Yeah in total agreement.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2020 16:23:53    2262956

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "Leaving aside the goalkeeper issue for a minute, the statistics would suggest (and this was mentioned on the radio during the match) that we were very inefficient at taking our chances. Something like 4/13 at half time which is poor. We seemed to drop a lot short and Nally spoke in the off-season about the soft foot which we obviously haven't sorted out. No score in 30 minutes would suggest we hadn't the forwards couldn't create / take their chances."
https://www.facebook.com/MeathGAAOfficial/photos/pcb.3136074936618489/3136074596618523/?type=3&theater
Stats from Meath Facebook page
Meath management and coaching team admit they are aware of our problrms, goalkeeper/kickout strategy, poor shot selection, running into blind alleys and so on. Begs the question what are they doing to address issue.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2141 - 27/01/2020 16:30:59    2262958

Appeared in todays Irish Times, taking after yesterdays game.
"Mickey is gone. Shane (Walsh) is a couple of weeks away," said Royals manager Andy McEntee.
"Seamus Lavin is a little bit further away. Padraic Harnan is further away again. Donal Lenihan is probably a couple of weeks away but that's the way it is, that is the nature of the game."

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2141 - 27/01/2020 18:35:55    2262992

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Arnt you great you predicted your own county would lose and they did and now your gloating because you got one up on royaldunne, pathetic behaviour. A win for meath today would of been huge but it didn't happen, injuries to key players would always upset a up and coming team like meath more then an established division one and championship team like tyrone and so it proved, we have six games left and as the injuries clear up and if we play to our potential were well capable of picking up the points we need for survival. Let's support the management and players and leave the juvenile behaviour to the playground."
Yes predicted we would lose because that was always going to be the result ! When the starting 15 was announced the writing was on the wall ! Going to Tyrone and winning was too big of an ask ! If we had the full complement maybe ! Just think its abit early to be winning these games for this team ! That said alot of potantial and andy is doing a fine job ! Now suggesting we missed graham reilly is pathetic ! Maybe the graham of 7 or 8 years ago ! He had plenty of chances last year and was clear that his meath days were numbered !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 27/01/2020 19:55:50    2263007

Shane Walsh is definately out next week. I was talking to someone who knows Shane very well today and I was told Shane has a problem with his calf and will miss Donegal game and more then likely miss the Mayo game.

Thats a serious blow along with lenihan , I think we can cover every other area just about but lenihan and Walsh with Newman gone means our three best inside forwards are not available.

Take last year , defensively we have a good set of defenders, better then some teams in div 1. For example Galway lack quality defenders thata why Walsh went so defensive. And according to a mate from Galway who was at the Monaghan match , Galway have gone 6 on 6 and looked very shakey yesterday at the back . Galway in Navan could be very winnable.

Anyway We have options in midfield and half forwards. But its the full forward line that was an issue last year. It was good enough to get promoted but v Dubs and top teams not effective enough. Meaths attack game plan was keoghan McEntee Menton McCoy Kane Ryan who was ever was in the half back line with Menton would attack from deep and break into opponente half and from that scores were got. Our attack last year was heavily dependent on Menton and keoghan and half backs moving the ball through the hands, breaking from deep. There is not many games our full forward line won the matchs last year. We had Newman constantly at full forward, while players around him.chopped and changed. Newman is not a target man. But we used him as such. In the games V Dublin and second half v kildare we saw the problems in the forwards come to a head.

Top teams have duo or trio quality forwards uofront eg kerry - Geaney Clifford , Dublin - Callaghan , Mannion , Donegal - McBreaty , Murphy. The hope was lenihan Walsh Newman would be our trio this year. lenihan and Newman are not at the level of Callaghan or Clifford..But thry are proven county players, very experienced and both in late 20s , they are our best inside forwards. Along with Walsh it would form a full forward that could cause problems for div 1 teams and we could use this full forward line more and more , pick them out more, so at we least had the option of going long. So we wouldnt be as reliant on our half backs to attack. If our attack is just based around half backs and Menton attacking we wouldnt stay in the div. We need one or two inside forwards to really step up Lenihan and Walsh with Thomas Reilly would be our best option currently, with Newman gone til June.

Walsh give us a target man modern full forward something we havent had since Geraghty
Lenihan I think can cause problems at this level. Players like Joey Wallace and James Conlon are real prospects but I think they are still developing and need 12 to 24 months develop. Lenihan and Newman are at their peak and Walsh is the real thing. looking at his performance v Kerry and Mayo and his performance for Na Fianna he looks a serious player who can operate at this level. With both gone v Donegal. It makes things much harder.

All.we can do is repeat our performance v Donegal in Ballybofey last year and Navan in 2017. Throw the kitchen sink at them. Try and tie down Murphy and hope to fallover the line..But without our best forwards its twice as hard. We need at least 1 victory in next 2 games are we are gone. These next two games will possibly decide our fate in the div and with up 10 players injured its not ideal and its a massive worry concern and headache facing these two games.

Regards the team I heard we have done serious heavy training in the pre season, which I suspose you would expect. Hopefully when we get our players back from injury that training will help. Its a long seaaon and when we get these players back from injury the team looks much stronger and has potential. But these two games v Donegal and Mayo are massive and will probaly decide our fate in the league and our two massive games. We need two performances similar to V Tyrone in Navan in 2018 and hope we have a bit of luck. We havent had much lately.

Whats the story with Ronan Jones , is he back for good , for the whole season. That would be one bit of good news. Is Ronan Jones back to the panel full time. Does anyone know? .

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 27/01/2020 20:26:29    2263018

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Yes predicted we would lose because that was always going to be the result ! When the starting 15 was announced the writing was on the wall ! Going to Tyrone and winning was too big of an ask ! If we had the full complement maybe ! Just think its abit early to be winning these games for this team ! That said alot of potantial and andy is doing a fine job ! Now suggesting we missed graham reilly is pathetic ! Maybe the graham of 7 or 8 years ago ! He had plenty of chances last year and was clear that his meath days were numbered !"
You mean the graham that came on v Kildare and laid a inch perfect pass that led to the penalty that won us the game? Or the graham who came on v Clare and won the game for us??
Shows how many games you go to.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2020 20:31:29    2263020

Replying To royaldunne:  "You mean the graham that came on v Kildare and laid a inch perfect pass that led to the penalty that won us the game? Or the graham who came on v Clare and won the game for us??
Shows how many games you go to."
Sure bring Wardy back and Brian Farrell when your at it

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 27/01/2020 22:22:53    2263071

Having watched a lot of senior/intermediate club games last year, the argument of there is no other keepers in the county doesn't sit with me.
I don't like to name and shame lads, but Yorke shouldn't have been put in the position to be playing a Div.1 game when he clearly isn't at that level, very unfair on the young lad.

The obvious and most controversial choice seems to be Burlingham. Yes he has his faults, but so does every keeper. To me he is the best in the county.

To be fair to Colgan, he was good in club championship games I saw last year.

Other keepers who should be considered;
McHugh - Oldcastle (has inter-county experience)
Andrew Beakey - Colimcille
Ray Ryan - Moynalvey
McDermott - Dunshaighlin & Meath Leinster junior winning goalie
Cian flynn - dunboyne

All would be good choices to be on the panel and we would not have the disaster that occurred yesterday if our number1 gets injured.

Anmhi364 (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 27/01/2020 22:29:59    2263072

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Shane Walsh is definately out next week. I was talking to someone who knows Shane very well today and I was told Shane has a problem with his calf and will miss Donegal game and more then likely miss the Mayo game.

Thats a serious blow along with lenihan , I think we can cover every other area just about but lenihan and Walsh with Newman gone means our three best inside forwards are not available.

Take last year , defensively we have a good set of defenders, better then some teams in div 1. For example Galway lack quality defenders thata why Walsh went so defensive. And according to a mate from Galway who was at the Monaghan match , Galway have gone 6 on 6 and looked very shakey yesterday at the back . Galway in Navan could be very winnable.

Anyway We have options in midfield and half forwards. But its the full forward line that was an issue last year. It was good enough to get promoted but v Dubs and top teams not effective enough. Meaths attack game plan was keoghan McEntee Menton McCoy Kane Ryan who was ever was in the half back line with Menton would attack from deep and break into opponente half and from that scores were got. Our attack last year was heavily dependent on Menton and keoghan and half backs moving the ball through the hands, breaking from deep. There is not many games our full forward line won the matchs last year. We had Newman constantly at full forward, while players around him.chopped and changed. Newman is not a target man. But we used him as such. In the games V Dublin and second half v kildare we saw the problems in the forwards come to a head.

Top teams have duo or trio quality forwards uofront eg kerry - Geaney Clifford , Dublin - Callaghan , Mannion , Donegal - McBreaty , Murphy. The hope was lenihan Walsh Newman would be our trio this year. lenihan and Newman are not at the level of Callaghan or Clifford..But thry are proven county players, very experienced and both in late 20s , they are our best inside forwards. Along with Walsh it would form a full forward that could cause problems for div 1 teams and we could use this full forward line more and more , pick them out more, so at we least had the option of going long. So we wouldnt be as reliant on our half backs to attack. If our attack is just based around half backs and Menton attacking we wouldnt stay in the div. We need one or two inside forwards to really step up Lenihan and Walsh with Thomas Reilly would be our best option currently, with Newman gone til June.

Walsh give us a target man modern full forward something we havent had since Geraghty
Lenihan I think can cause problems at this level. Players like Joey Wallace and James Conlon are real prospects but I think they are still developing and need 12 to 24 months develop. Lenihan and Newman are at their peak and Walsh is the real thing. looking at his performance v Kerry and Mayo and his performance for Na Fianna he looks a serious player who can operate at this level. With both gone v Donegal. It makes things much harder.

All.we can do is repeat our performance v Donegal in Ballybofey last year and Navan in 2017. Throw the kitchen sink at them. Try and tie down Murphy and hope to fallover the line..But without our best forwards its twice as hard. We need at least 1 victory in next 2 games are we are gone. These next two games will possibly decide our fate in the div and with up 10 players injured its not ideal and its a massive worry concern and headache facing these two games.

Regards the team I heard we have done serious heavy training in the pre season, which I suspose you would expect. Hopefully when we get our players back from injury that training will help. Its a long seaaon and when we get these players back from injury the team looks much stronger and has potential. But these two games v Donegal and Mayo are massive and will probaly decide our fate in the league and our two massive games. We need two performances similar to V Tyrone in Navan in 2018 and hope we have a bit of luck. We havent had much lately.

Whats the story with Ronan Jones , is he back for good , for the whole season. That would be one bit of good news. Is Ronan Jones back to the panel full time. Does anyone know? ."
with Ronan Jones I believe he came back from the US for just for the Tyrone game if he is still around for Donegal game this weekend it's unclear.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 27/01/2020 22:49:04    2263078

"There is definitely an issue there in that we did not retain as much ball as we would have liked," he said

This is an amazing statement from Andy McEntee about our kickouts on Sunday this problem didnt only occur last weekend .
I questioned last year what work was being done by the coaching staff in one of the most important parts of the game now a days getting the ball back into play as quick as possible to one of your own players .
I criticised Colgan last year on some awful performances but when you have your 2 sub keepers come in and the same problems occur then it's time to point the finger else where .
York done no more wrong than Colgan did in a number of games last year yet he was never subbed surely if he was on the panel as our 2nd choice goalie he deserved more than 1 half of football and also Dardis deserved as a top club forward better than 3rd choice goal keeper especially when our forwards were struggling .
We have a lot of injuries at the moment but that aside we continue to look like a team that really dont trust or know what they are really meant to be doing .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 266 - 28/01/2020 09:03:10    2263115

Replying To Anmhi364:  "Having watched a lot of senior/intermediate club games last year, the argument of there is no other keepers in the county doesn't sit with me.
I don't like to name and shame lads, but Yorke shouldn't have been put in the position to be playing a Div.1 game when he clearly isn't at that level, very unfair on the young lad.

The obvious and most controversial choice seems to be Burlingham. Yes he has his faults, but so does every keeper. To me he is the best in the county.

Ray Ryan - Moynalvey
Cian flynn - dunboyne

All would be good choices to be on the panel and we would not have the disaster that occurred yesterday if our number1 gets injured."
Good post.

I had seen Yorke in action last season but he never stood out as having anything special in terms of kick outs. Incredible that that was allowed to happen last weekend.

Cian Flynn was impressive last year and stood out as a proper gk with a good kick out. You've listed him there.

Blackhall used to have a brilliant gk, small enough in stature but had laser guided kickouts, might have been a soccer keeper but I've never seen him involved with Meath.

In any case, whatever, the gk situation is a big mark against McEntee in my book. How hard could be to get a competent gk??

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 28/01/2020 13:07:46    2263185

Replying To Analyst:  "Sure bring Wardy back and Brian Farrell when your at it"
Wow how stupid are some of our so called supporters, trying to equate players gone 6/7 years with one gone 6/7 months. Ahh well there's no point arguing with egits

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/01/2020 13:32:07    2263193

Replying To Analyst:  "Sure bring Wardy back and Brian Farrell when your at it"
Wow , how can I argue with that???
Comparing players gone 6/7 years with one gone 6/7 years.
I mean there's a word for that kind of logic.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/01/2020 13:37:35    2263195

Replying To Anmhi364:  "Having watched a lot of senior/intermediate club games last year, the argument of there is no other keepers in the county doesn't sit with me.

Ray Ryan - Moynalvey
Cian flynn - dunboyne

All would be good choices to be on the panel and we would not have the disaster that occurred yesterday if our number1 gets injured."
McHugh has no interest anymore and apart from Beakley and maybe cian Flynn, the rest are not up to it either.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 28/01/2020 17:30:32    2263252