Meath V Tyrone

Replying To Crinigan:  "Quite simply he's not a natural footballer. He's an athlete alright no question, and fair play to him for giving all for his county, he has my respect - but technically he's a poor footballer. I wouldn't trust him to make right decision even when not under pressure, nevermind with 3/4 Dublin defenders closing in on him. When Cian Ward referred to himself and Brian Farrell being dropped for players who are fast but can't even solo the ball, it was clear who he was referring to."
This is absolute nonsense. Can't say 'he's not a natural footballer'. Credit players where its due but don't be talking negatively about players on an online forum behind a username. If any players seen this what would it do for their confidence? Nothing.

At the end of the day they are amateur athletes and I hate this constant negativity that has seeped into GAA. It's fair criticising professional footballers or rugby players who are getting paid to carry out their Profession. Gaa players however are doing it in return for no financial support, and for themselves and to entertain us, the fans

LoyalRoyal66 (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 25/01/2020 14:38:04    2262158

Is Joey Wallace injured?

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 25/01/2020 14:59:47    2262165

What a lovely bunch of supporters we have on here. I suppose there is a fella from North Meath who scored 3-10 in a junior b game last year that should be starting? The geniuses on here should take up management, they seem to know it all.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 25/01/2020 15:26:48    2262171

Replying To Royalio11:  "The team is light starting Wallace? He is a seasoned footballer with the Meath team and will be one of the most experienced players on the pitch.

He was part of Ratoaths first ever Meath championship.

Just because he opted out of the senior set up last year does not make the team light.

I think it is very unfair to state that his inclusion makes the team light. And in saying that I am not as fan of his style. I think he takes too much out of the ball but O Sullivan does the same.

I would be more concerned about the two corner backs and the return of the goalkeeper. Colgan worth 4 points to the opposition.

Unfortunately, Meath need a full squad for the League to have a chance at survival. It may be too late when key players return.

Hopefully Tyrone are missing a few core players to even things up a bit"
The injury does not help our cause and like you I felt to have a decent chance of staying up we needed a more or less full squad. However Tyrone are without McShane. Mattie Donnelly and Peter Harte so they have their own problems. Thought we would see a change of keeper after last year, hopefully he has improved in all areas. Selection indicates we will be defensive with O Sullivan and Wallace asked to drop back and work it from deep. We live in hope.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 25/01/2020 16:24:24    2262189

Delighted to see the team. Rather than focus on negativity, I'd look at the positive, a few players making either their comeback or debut.
We have a game to win, let's go and give it our very best. Tyrone are beatable, forget about who is on an who isn't. I think the team that's picked will do the job.
In memory of my mate Jc
Hon the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/01/2020 20:37:15    2262254

Is Eamon Wallace to take up Graeme Reilly's role of running from midfield at their defense.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 25/01/2020 22:06:32    2262309

Meath to go top of division 1.

:0)

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 25/01/2020 22:41:37    2262332

Replying To LoyalRoyal:  "Is Eamon Wallace to take up Graeme Reilly's role of running from midfield at their defense."
Either him or Cillian

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/01/2020 08:40:11    2262383

Replying To Crinigan:  "Not especially impressed with that starting team to be honest although I know we have a lot of injuries.

Colgan and Brennan, in my opinion, showed they weren't at required level last year so bit disappointed to see them now still involved. Full back line very untested also. Presumably will be a Reilly and Walsh 2 man ff line.

Will need a lot of players to move to next level for us to get a win but in my opinion, it looks like a weaker team than our Div 2 team of last year. I know there are injuries and I really hope I'm proved wrong tomorrow, but I can't help but be underwhelmed."
I said all along we'd look weaker, with Newman and Lavin gone amongst others, that was a given. Not expecting much today being honest as in spite of Tyrones big two losses they seem to be flying. We will have a surprise cameo to spring from the bench at least but I fear it will be game over by then, hope I'm wrong, I've been wrong before.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 26/01/2020 08:57:13    2262387

Replying To dunboynelad:  "I said all along we'd look weaker, with Newman and Lavin gone amongst others, that was a given. Not expecting much today being honest as in spite of Tyrones big two losses they seem to be flying. We will have a surprise cameo to spring from the bench at least but I fear it will be game over by then, hope I'm wrong, I've been wrong before."
You'll be wrong dunboyne keep the faith, best of luck to the meath team today.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 26/01/2020 10:18:55    2262410

Mickey could have been useful as a target man for the advanced Mark. A big loss but he isn't the type to pity himself and will need no motivation on his return when competition for places will be high.

Eamonn Wallace brings both athleticism and experience to the table both are needed particularly for us coming up against strong div 1 teams who are further down the line in terms of development of both. Who ever declared him as only an athlete needs to rethink just exactly what his contribution to the team is.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 26/01/2020 10:24:41    2262413

Replying To dunboynelad:  "I said all along we'd look weaker, with Newman and Lavin gone amongst others, that was a given. Not expecting much today being honest as in spite of Tyrones big two losses they seem to be flying. We will have a surprise cameo to spring from the bench at least but I fear it will be game over by then, hope I'm wrong, I've been wrong before."
Should be a close game were both missing some important players but still think we could get a win here.

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 26/01/2020 10:33:52    2262415

Yeah you were spot on. I suppose my point is that I'd like to see new lads in instead of players being picked after not being up to scratch last year for the level we want to get to.

If Ben Brennan scores 3/4 points today and has a good game and then Colgan has a good game with his kick outs, I'll be the first to hold my hands up.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 26/01/2020 10:34:29    2262417

Strong bench

Ryan
Mccoy
Devine
Joey Wallace
O connor
Conlan
Costello

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 26/01/2020 13:07:46    2262466

No Shane walsh, Ronan Jones on bench, another big loss

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 26/01/2020 13:32:48    2262476

Maybe people might believe me now regarding Dominic Yorke. Felt very sorry for him there today as he is just not up to it and it was the right decision to take him off at half time as his confidence was shot and was costing, or nearly costing us, scores. The goalkeeper and free taking situation is a mess and needs urgent attention before Meath go any further.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 26/01/2020 15:54:17    2262510

Not at game did we look anywsy dangerous or with hope for games ahead.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 26/01/2020 16:06:11    2262517

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Maybe people might believe me now regarding Dominic Yorke. Felt very sorry for him there today as he is just not up to it and it was the right decision to take him off at half time as his confidence was shot and was costing, or nearly costing us, scores. The goalkeeper and free taking situation is a mess and needs urgent attention before Meath go any further."
5 months to solve this problem.

It has not been addressed.

So so very frustrating

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 26/01/2020 16:13:43    2262519

Replying To Royalio11:  "5 months to solve this problem.

So so very frustrating"
Agreed. Absolutely ridiculous.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 26/01/2020 16:18:54    2262521

Replying To Royalio11:  "5 months to solve this problem.

So so very frustrating"
Unfortunately the alternatives are either not there or not able to commit. Newman and Shane Walsh being out curtailed the free taking problem but still. All the preparation and detail that goes into this team and we end up with a second choice goalkeeper not up to it having to be replaced at half time by an outfield player to mearly just kick the ball out! And the goalkeeping coach having to fill in as sub keeper on the day another calamity.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 26/01/2020 16:48:42    2262532