New Managers

Replying To ratlag:  "Its nobodys business is the thing. Both the manager and the club have agreed not to release any details of what happened. The matter is being dealt with internally and thats it. The issue is with gossip mongers and pub talkers who assume they know what happened like iceland123 and AshRules on forums like this that continue to push their own agendas and lies to try and destroy the reputation of the people involved in the club and sponsorship."
It's nobody's business? Not even loyal Ratoath supporters? They don't deserve to know what's going on with their club, of which they are paying members of? Considering it's their membership money that helps fund managers?

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 04/01/2020 15:01:10    2257294

Replying To ratlag:  "Its nobodys business is the thing. Both the manager and the club have agreed not to release any details of what happened. The matter is being dealt with internally and thats it. The issue is with gossip mongers and pub talkers who assume they know what happened like iceland123 and AshRules on forums like this that continue to push their own agendas and lies to try and destroy the reputation of the people involved in the club and sponsorship."
It's nobody's business? Not even loyal Ratoath supporters? They don't deserve to know what's going on with their club, of which they are paying members of? Considering it's their membership money that helps fund managers?

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 04/01/2020 15:01:19    2257295

Replying To Selwyn:  "It's nobody's business? Not even loyal Ratoath supporters? They don't deserve to know what's going on with their club, of which they are paying members of? Considering it's their membership money that helps fund managers?"
No it's not and again this is more garbage. Absolutely Zero membership money is used to fund any manager that has been over a Ratoath team. IF any manager is paid (and as far as I know Davy didn't take any money) it's through sponsorship and fundraising by the team/adult section.
With regards to members knowing gym what's going on, they have been told what has been agreed on by both parties who are involved, so yes outside of that it is nobodies business

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 04/01/2020 15:44:23    2257303

More a case of trying to save further embarrassment by hoping the details never come to light rather than pretending it's a private matter.
The version of events doing the rounds doesn't exactly cast the club committee or some people in the background of the committee in a great light. The general opinion seems to be that the only one who's salvaged their dignity and reputation in all of this is Davy, by walking away.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 04/01/2020 19:55:00    2257372

Replying To ratlag:  "No it's not and again this is more garbage. Absolutely Zero membership money is used to fund any manager that has been over a Ratoath team. IF any manager is paid (and as far as I know Davy didn't take any money) it's through sponsorship and fundraising by the team/adult section.
With regards to members knowing gym what's going on, they have been told what has been agreed on by both parties who are involved, so yes outside of that it is nobodies business"
You are missing the point. Paid up members want the truth not speculation. They deserve that. What way their money is used is up to the club. But just because you say their money is not used in the adult setup gives you a right to withhold information is exactly why the club is now where it is.

Greensheen (Meath) - Posts: 51 - 05/01/2020 20:41:43    2257610

Replying To ratlag:  "No it's not and again this is more garbage. Absolutely Zero membership money is used to fund any manager that has been over a Ratoath team. IF any manager is paid (and as far as I know Davy didn't take any money) it's through sponsorship and fundraising by the team/adult section.
With regards to members knowing gym what's going on, they have been told what has been agreed on by both parties who are involved, so yes outside of that it is nobodies business"
You can't possibly be serious, that it's nobody's business.
All members deserve to know ALL THE FACTS.
The players and management use the same, pitch, lights, changing rooms, car park ect ect, as everyone else. We all pay membership and give time and therefore " should "be all equal.
That's kinda why it's called " A CLUB", and not a club within a club.
Animal Farm comes to mind !!

Upforyourball (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 05/01/2020 21:32:08    2257618

Replying To Greensheen:  "You are missing the point. Paid up members want the truth not speculation. They deserve that. What way their money is used is up to the club. But just because you say their money is not used in the adult setup gives you a right to withhold information is exactly why the club is now where it is."
To be honest - people are running scared of committing anything to print on both sides of the divide. That pretty much tells you what you need to know - that neither side really believe their own argument convincingly enough!!

If I can summarise.... it's a mess and the respective sides are as bad as each other. There are very clearly rights and wrongs on both sides. Unfortunately for Ratoath GAA, the standard bearer of expert opinion in the village at present are the folk that attended less than 2-3 games this year, making them the best candidates to converse on matters relating to Ratoath Senior football! I happened across a Ratoath club member last week who proceeded to chastise the establishment heroically for the outrageous removal of their manager... then proceeded to advise that he was not aware of their recent u21 triumph! That is a spokesman and representative of the leading opinion in the village!

Appreciate however that this is a club matter to an extent and as such should transcend who has or hasn't attended a Senior football match but unless both parties release a joint statement - the threat of liable is too strong for either side to issue anything formally!

GenderNeutral (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 05/01/2020 22:32:40    2257638

Replying To ratlag:  "Considering that never once happened I'd watch who your slandering here. And I can assure the majority of players are no longer behind him."
Ratlag you have posted some manure on this topic over the past while. And you are the one who has come closest to slandering anyone with your comment above. It's obvious from your arrogant tone who you represent on here and sure if it gets you a few free pints next time you're at the bar then I'm sure you think it's all worth it.

As for the poster who set the barometer for a "good club member" as one who attends an AGM will you get over yourself. It's the meetings that go on behind the scenes where all the decisions are made are the ones we as members would like to be privy to. Sure the recent Adult AGM was conveniently cancelled and has yet to be held - the committee was too busy relieving the football management team of their duties. And yes just to be clear we as members ARE entitled to know how and why decisions are made in our clubs.

The dogs in the bar, sorry in the street, know what's going on here. I laughed when I read Simon Harris' description of John Delaney and the FAI as "a fiefdom run by arrogance and power". Well Simon I hate to say it but you haven't been to Ratoath and you 'aint seen nothing yet.

hilloftara (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 06/01/2020 13:31:56    2257745

Replying To hilloftara:  "Ratlag you have posted some manure on this topic over the past while. And you are the one who has come closest to slandering anyone with your comment above. It's obvious from your arrogant tone who you represent on here and sure if it gets you a few free pints next time you're at the bar then I'm sure you think it's all worth it.

As for the poster who set the barometer for a "good club member" as one who attends an AGM will you get over yourself. It's the meetings that go on behind the scenes where all the decisions are made are the ones we as members would like to be privy to. Sure the recent Adult AGM was conveniently cancelled and has yet to be held - the committee was too busy relieving the football management team of their duties. And yes just to be clear we as members ARE entitled to know how and why decisions are made in our clubs.

The dogs in the bar, sorry in the street, know what's going on here. I laughed when I read Simon Harris' description of John Delaney and the FAI as "a fiefdom run by arrogance and power". Well Simon I hate to say it but you haven't been to Ratoath and you 'aint seen nothing yet."
First of all, congrats on a mighty year, feckin enjoy it. They don't come too often and they disappear quickly!
Secondly, very Celtic tiger of ye. Things are never good enough. Major championship winners across grades, manager that has brought success and a committee that put him there and gave him the tools, well done enjoy that!...... now we can truly see the culture in our clubs. Enough is never enough. Push harder, train more, dig deeper, obey or else. Unfortunately this is not just a one club/college/county problem. This is the Gaa.

aces (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 06/01/2020 15:19:07    2257775

Replying To ratlag:  "I'd change my source if I were you so, as your 'facts' are completely incorrect. As I've said previously, Davy overstepped himself and wouldn't back down, now he's gone and we are all moving on together without him and looking forward to the new season with whoever the new manager is. Hopefully your bitterness and lack of knowledge on this situation won't stop you supporting us this year."
The survey recently done on a ratoath noticeboard showed conclusively that all of the Community are against the club executive and support Davy and his players. They all appreciate Davy an d his team but not the club men who are only there for their free drinks who have spoilt the opportunities these lads had to represent their community with pride and maybe go a step further in the Leinster championshp.

It is clear who you represent with your attempts to contradict me with your false statements and petty attempts to intimidate . Nobody is afraid of you threatening slander charges while spoofing rubbish

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 06/01/2020 15:50:47    2257788

Replying To hilloftara:  "Ratlag you have posted some manure on this topic over the past while. And you are the one who has come closest to slandering anyone with your comment above. It's obvious from your arrogant tone who you represent on here and sure if it gets you a few free pints next time you're at the bar then I'm sure you think it's all worth it.

The dogs in the bar, sorry in the street, know what's going on here. I laughed when I read Simon Harris' description of John Delaney and the FAI as "a fiefdom run by arrogance and power". Well Simon I hate to say it but you haven't been to Ratoath and you 'aint seen nothing yet."
My "arrogant tone" as you call it is because I know ALL of the facts, having spoken with Davy & management team, the exec and the players. My above comment doesn't come close to slandering anyone in any way at all so if I were you I'd look up the word and its meaning.
Ah yes the behind the scene meetings, like the Adult Football committee meeting or the Adult section committee or the Executive meetings.....all of whom are elected at the AGM wouldn't ya know. If you want to be privy to these private meetings then here's an idea, get up off your arse and join one of the committees!! Your 'right' as a member entitles you know know when a decision has been made and the reason (as agreed by both parties involved) I agree but if no other details have come out, from either side that should tell you clearly enough that that is what has been agreed between both parties.
The manure from pub critics like yourself is what has this mess as big as it is.
And just so your under no illusion, who I 'represent' is the playing members of the adult section who won't just sit by and see his club, or members of it have their character questioned by idiots on an anonymous forum who most likely aren't even from Ratoath not to mind members of our club.
Frankly I'm sick of responding to the likes of yourself, as the saying goes, "You can't reason with stupid"

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 06/01/2020 15:57:43    2257790

Three encouraging wins for Meath teams at the weekend and the top news story is still the Ratoath Row. What does that say about Meath GAA?

aghref (Meath) - Posts: 148 - 06/01/2020 15:59:49    2257792

Replying To Upforyourball:  "You can't possibly be serious, that it's nobody's business.
The players and management use the same, pitch, lights, changing rooms, car park ect ect, as everyone else. We all pay membership and give time and therefore " should "be all equal.
Animal Farm comes to mind !!"
Yes I am, both parties agreed on a statement to be released to the club on the decision that had been made and the reasons behind it. No other information has been given out by either side so clearly Davy and the club both think that whats gone out is information enough and everything else is none of anyone elses business. It might read as a 'brushing people off' type of comment but the fact of the matter is thats the way it is and wanted by the parties involved

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 06/01/2020 16:00:56    2257793

Replying To Upforyourball:  "You can't possibly be serious, that it's nobody's business.
Animal Farm comes to mind !!"
In any club the club executive which is voted in by the members and therefore represent the members will have all the information about all matters within the club. Paid up members are not entitled to know what is discussed by the club executive as often matters are private or sensitive. Same as any organisation or school board etc. Ratlag is correct in this instance.

Poormouth (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 06/01/2020 17:25:33    2257817

Replying To ratlag:  "My "arrogant tone" as you call it is because I know ALL of the facts, having spoken with Davy & management team, the exec and the players. My above comment doesn't come close to slandering anyone in any way at all so if I were you I'd look up the word and its meaning.
Ah yes the behind the scene meetings, like the Adult Football committee meeting or the Adult section committee or the Executive meetings.....all of whom are elected at the AGM wouldn't ya know. If you want to be privy to these private meetings then here's an idea, get up off your arse and join one of the committees!! Your 'right' as a member entitles you know know when a decision has been made and the reason (as agreed by both parties involved) I agree but if no other details have come out, from either side that should tell you clearly enough that that is what has been agreed between both parties.
The manure from pub critics like yourself is what has this mess as big as it is.
And just so your under no illusion, who I 'represent' is the playing members of the adult section who won't just sit by and see his club, or members of it have their character questioned by idiots on an anonymous forum who most likely aren't even from Ratoath not to mind members of our club.
Frankly I'm sick of responding to the likes of yourself, as the saying goes, "You can't reason with stupid""
Your last five words sum you up completely and nobody else. I'm not talking about the behind the scene meetings of elected committee members and well you know it. Not that they are much use anyway because they all just do what they're told.
And quite frankly you do NOT represent any playing adult members of the adult section that I know and live with. If I'm an idiot on an anonymous forum then what does that make you.

hilloftara (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 06/01/2020 17:35:40    2257819

Brendan Murphy has left Trim, apparently he is taking the Ratoath job! Darren Fay in with him as No.2. Big loss to Trim after reaching the final last year.

meathareclass (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 08/01/2020 15:57:35    2258232

Replying To meathareclass:  "Brendan Murphy has left Trim, apparently he is taking the Ratoath job! Darren Fay in with him as No.2. Big loss to Trim after reaching the final last year."
After the shambles against Nobber that is a strange one.

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 08/01/2020 16:50:00    2258243

Replying To meathareclass:  "Brendan Murphy has left Trim, apparently he is taking the Ratoath job! Darren Fay in with him as No.2. Big loss to Trim after reaching the final last year."
Completely untrue

Anmhi364 (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 08/01/2020 18:01:31    2258259

Jim gavin spotted around ratoath today?

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 08/01/2020 20:59:06    2258282

Speaking to a Ratoath member last night and apparently Mossie Quinn from Vincents has been approached , being brought before the board tonight for ratification

braxton_hicks (Meath) - Posts: 31 - 10/01/2020 08:56:30    2258599