New Managers

The Ratoath issue has caused anger in the greater community who support this team. Comments that imply paying membership is relevant miss the point that the gaa is community based and not a snotty golf club.
A recent survey on a ratoath noticeboard showed 1 person agreed with the club executive decision and over 200 disagreed. It is gone past argueing that this is not a dysfunctional club

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 01/01/2020 19:48:00    2256760

Replying To BigJoe14:  "There seems to be a certain group in ratoath who only appear when they are in a big final (and then start explaining about the success of the club over the years) and when a controversy like this happens. Throughout the year they are rarely seen and look to play little to no role in the running of the club but start crying about EGMs when a bit of a controversy happens."
Groups like that in a few clubs

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 01/01/2020 22:39:34    2256773

I see the club executive are on here to deflect blame. I know for a fact that outgoing ratoath manager made no demands and only had a few basic conditions which any real gaa person would see as obvious neccessities.
Ignore ratleg

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 02/01/2020 00:25:08    2256783

Replying To GenderNeutral:  "But you would defend a manager who holds a club to ransom and divides a dressing room with a childish request based on a personal feud?"
You should not post lies.
There were no unreasonable demands. And Davy is a well liked and respected man to the extent that noone can fault or criticise his integrity. If anyone has an issue it would be some small donors who he would not allow bully their way. Maybe you were one of them

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 02/01/2020 00:34:52    2256784

Replying To Ashrules:  "You should not post lies.
There were no unreasonable demands. And Davy is a well liked and respected man to the extent that noone can fault or criticise his integrity. If anyone has an issue it would be some small donors who he would not allow bully their way. Maybe you were one of them"
ashrules
It's people like you that are driving a wedge among solid ratoath gaa people
Your bias approach to this is toxic
You would best serve our club to stop this rhetoric and see if we can move forward, hopefully with but possibly without Davy
There are Always two sides to every story and both sides have some blame to share
So putting Davy up on a pedestal and completely blaming the club is unfair and a reflection of your ignorance or just blind bias
Davy indeed is a really good man and is no doubt the best person for the job but mistakes were made on both sides and I think if you were to talk to Davy he would agree
Now it's about mending bridges and acting like grown ups for the reason we all do this , the good of our club
And I use the words "our club" lightly with you as I suspect you are not a good ratoath gaa man and have probably never been at an agm and only their for yourself

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 02/01/2020 10:57:52    2256821

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "ashrules
You would best serve our club to stop this rhetoric and see if we can move forward, hopefully with but possibly without Davy
There are Always two sides to every story and both sides have some blame to share
So putting Davy up on a pedestal and completely blaming the club is unfair and a reflection of your ignorance or just blind bias
Davy indeed is a really good man and is no doubt the best person for the job but mistakes were made on both sides and I think if you were to talk to Davy he would agree
Now it's about mending bridges and acting like grown ups for the reason we all do this , the good of our club
And I use the words "our club" lightly with you as I suspect you are not a good ratoath gaa man and have probably never been at an agm and only their for yourself"
Lads you need to sit down and have a large cup of cop on. To come on here and put up some of the comments are very disappointing indeed.
None of you are serving Ratoath in this matter. Ratoath had a fantastic year, we in every other club envy what you achieved. Now you come on here and undermine all that with some of the most spiteful and disappointing comments. It's clear from the comments who they are pointed at. What about his son's who have given everything for the club. Spare a thought for them.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 02/01/2020 12:20:45    2256846

And I use the words "our club" lightly with you as I suspect you are not a good ratoath gaa man and have probably never been at an agm and only their for yourself"
Are the club actively on the hunt for a new manager or is there a hope this mess can be resolved and that the Davy his team will come back or is that completely dead in the water ?

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 02/01/2020 12:39:34    2256855

Replying To Ashrules:  "I see the club executive are on here to deflect blame. I know for a fact that outgoing ratoath manager made no demands and only had a few basic conditions which any real gaa person would see as obvious neccessities.
Ignore ratleg"
I'd change my source if I were you so, as your 'facts' are completely incorrect. As I've said previously, Davy overstepped himself and wouldn't back down, now he's gone and we are all moving on together without him and looking forward to the new season with whoever the new manager is. Hopefully your bitterness and lack of knowledge on this situation won't stop you supporting us this year.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 02/01/2020 12:46:33    2256859

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Are the club actively on the hunt for a new manager or is there a hope this mess can be resolved and that the Davy his team will come back or is that completely dead in the water ?"
Ratoath are looking, i know of someone who was approached last week.

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 02/01/2020 15:26:19    2256911

I never claimed to be a ratoath club member but would like to in the event that the people with more class take over the show.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 03/01/2020 00:46:14    2257022

Replying To GenderNeutral:  "But you would defend a manager who holds a club to ransom and divides a dressing room with a childish request based on a personal feud?"
What is the personal feud. Look I'm not getting involved in this. I saw rathoath play twice this year. One of them was in Mullingar, but what has happened ? It seems like a meltdown. Disappointing for a club that achieved so much this year. And I'm not saying one side is right or the other is wrong.
I wish them well for coming year and hopefully this can be put behind everyone for the good of the club.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/01/2020 09:51:24    2257043

Replying To Ashrules:  "The Ratoath issue has caused anger in the greater community who support this team. Comments that imply paying membership is relevant miss the point that the gaa is community based and not a snotty golf club.
A recent survey on a ratoath noticeboard showed 1 person agreed with the club executive decision and over 200 disagreed. It is gone past argueing that this is not a dysfunctional club"
That poll or survey should never have gone up and was taken down about 48 hours later, how can you form a considered opinion when the full facts aren't known. Of course given the success people would lean towards supporting Davy Byrne but I'm a Ratoath man and being honest I don't fully know what has gone on, I hear rumour and talk of certain things but Davy Byrne and the management teak have stayed silent, the club made a short statement that didn't put meat on any bones so how you could vote on a poll based on that is beyond me. The only thing I know right now is that this is all incredibly sad and after lifting the Keegan Cup last October no one expected this, Ratoath won 3 championships in 2019 we should be talking about that and not this.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 03/01/2020 14:02:32    2257088

Replying To Jackpot:  "It will be interesting to see if Deegan can bring a Keegan cup to Ashbourne. Anything less will be disappointing. Have Ashbourne much coming through the ranks at 18/19 years of age?"
I think Deegan could be the man to get Ashbourne over the line. They won the minor championship in 2018 so there must be some players coming through from that group. Sean Curran and the McGovern twins have left the county panel to concentrate on the club.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 03/01/2020 16:29:17    2257123

Replying To ratlag:  "I'd change my source if I were you so, as your 'facts' are completely incorrect. As I've said previously, Davy overstepped himself and wouldn't back down, now he's gone and we are all moving on together without him and looking forward to the new season with whoever the new manager is. Hopefully your bitterness and lack of knowledge on this situation won't stop you supporting us this year."
Davy never overstepped any mark unless you mean a managet should defer to sponsors and play whoever they want to .You should take a look at yourself before posting lies. The players and supporters are behind him .

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 03/01/2020 19:55:39    2257174

Replying To Ashrules:  "Davy never overstepped any mark unless you mean a managet should defer to sponsors and play whoever they want to .You should take a look at yourself before posting lies. The players and supporters are behind him ."
Who sponsored ratoath last year?

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 03/01/2020 23:49:29    2257219

Davy did a great job. Was he on big money?

Jackpot (Meath) - Posts: 199 - 04/01/2020 11:14:34    2257245

Replying To Ashrules:  "Davy never overstepped any mark unless you mean a managet should defer to sponsors and play whoever they want to .You should take a look at yourself before posting lies. The players and supporters are behind him ."
Considering that never once happened I'd watch who your slandering here. And I can assure the majority of players are no longer behind him.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 04/01/2020 12:36:44    2257264

Nobody from Ratoath going to put the record straight on what really happened...?
Are they quite happy to run with the narrative that's currently doing the rounds...?

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 04/01/2020 13:07:07    2257270

Replying To Wedgie:  "Nobody from Ratoath going to put the record straight on what really happened...?
Are they quite happy to run with the narrative that's currently doing the rounds...?"
Its nobodys business is the thing. Both the manager and the club have agreed not to release any details of what happened. The matter is being dealt with internally and thats it. The issue is with gossip mongers and pub talkers who assume they know what happened like iceland123 and AshRules on forums like this that continue to push their own agendas and lies to try and destroy the reputation of the people involved in the club and sponsorship.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 04/01/2020 13:29:58    2257272

Replying To Monkeycatcher:  "Who sponsored ratoath last year?"
Their new manager this year...

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 04/01/2020 13:33:28    2257273