New Additions For Meath Panel 2020...

Replying To BigJoe14:  "No strength and conditioning being done at too many clubs, especially intermediate level. Any promising young player in Meath at the minute has bucket loads of work to do if they are to even compete for a place in the squad. These players are good players but they need to have been doing proper S&C work from the age of 14 and by the time they are 18/19 they are ready to step into the Senior squad to build more layers on top of what they have already done. Unfortunately some are going to arrive in aged 18/19 with little to no work done and will struggle as a result!"
Are you for real? For God's let young lads be just that young lads. The only S&C that I would put young fellows of that age under would be a bit of running and cycling, yes cycling so as to properly stretch and strengthen their hamstrings. Damaged and pulled hamstrings have only become an issue since young fellows stopped cycling in general and to school in particular. Anyway from the ages of 12 to 20 each young person all develop differently. What suits one may well be detrimental to others.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 25/10/2019 11:24:40    2245674

Replying To MillerX:  "Are you for real? For God's let young lads be just that young lads. The only S&C that I would put young fellows of that age under would be a bit of running and cycling, yes cycling so as to properly stretch and strengthen their hamstrings. Damaged and pulled hamstrings have only become an issue since young fellows stopped cycling in general and to school in particular. Anyway from the ages of 12 to 20 each young person all develop differently. What suits one may well be detrimental to others."
Totally agree with this , way too much emphasis being put on strength and conditioning in people's mindsets these days in club football , while I do think a certain amount of conditioning is needed it is not the be all and end all for young players trying to develop .A certain balance has to maintained between strength , conditioning , fitness , Skill sets and where most football games are won or lost ( in the head ) . which to me is the most important aspect for a younger player .

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 25/10/2019 11:56:03    2245681

Replying To Bear10:  "Totally agree with this , way too much emphasis being put on strength and conditioning in people's mindsets these days in club football , while I do think a certain amount of conditioning is needed it is not the be all and end all for young players trying to develop .A certain balance has to maintained between strength , conditioning , fitness , Skill sets and where most football games are won or lost ( in the head ) . which to me is the most important aspect for a younger player ."
A not surprising response to this issue, and sums up the ignorance of some people towards S&C. The same people who complain about to much S&C (which their isnt) are probably the same people complain about Meath players being physically weaker than Dublin after being on the recieving end of a beating at either u20 or senior level. Move with the times or get left behind.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 932 - 25/10/2019 15:48:11    2245753

I think that one of the problems nowadays is too much emphasis on strength and conditioning (S & C). The biggest problem with most of the teams who are not able to complete with Dublin has little to do with S & C and more to do with skillset and decision making/workrate etc.. S& C does not improve accuracy or, indeed help to kick the ball over the bar. One of the best forwards over the last 10 years -the Gooch comes to mind. The weight of the ball has not increased that much over the years! Too much S & C slows a player down - look at Irish rugby.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 25/10/2019 17:08:24    2245772

Too much incorrect forms of S&c slows down players. Look at any 100m sprinters, they're not exactly lacking in the muscle size department. Irish rugby you say? Don't think speed was their fault. Look at NZ players, that's the evidence of correct s&c there.

RealTalk101 (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 25/10/2019 20:25:41    2245814

Replying To RealTalk101:  "Too much incorrect forms of S&c slows down players. Look at any 100m sprinters, they're not exactly lacking in the muscle size department. Irish rugby you say? Don't think speed was their fault. Look at NZ players, that's the evidence of correct s&c there."
Their ball handling skills let them down! The smallest player on view (NZ) scored two tries when well conditioned Irish players stood watching-enough said.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 25/10/2019 22:52:49    2245844

I think what the first poster was talking about was talking about was that any player that hasn't done the correct S&C at club level or wasn't involved with Meath underage will probably struggle for a while if he joins the Meath senior panel. Most of the younger lads on the Meath panel this year would have been doing S&C since 15 or 16.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 26/10/2019 09:44:40    2245885

Thomas Murtagh and Jordan Morris from Nobber should be considered after yesterday.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 27/10/2019 08:42:31    2246055

Don't confuse strength and conditioning with weight gain and muscle mass. It's about developing usable muscle to allow you to go harder for the ball, take tackles, make harder tackles, jump higher and run for longer.

Strength and Conditioning for rugby won't be the same for Gaelic or soccer. It's a silly comparison.

Strength and conditioning has a big role in Dublin's success but it's not the only thing. It would be a serious error to discount it.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 27/10/2019 20:01:34    2246170

Hopefully Joey and Éamonn Wallace also. I wrote before here that Joey was brought in too young by Mick O'Dowd and may have been put off by the experience- hope he gives it another go. He would be a big addition now.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 28/10/2019 11:28:08    2246260

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Hopefully Joey and Éamonn Wallace also. I wrote before here that Joey was brought in too young by Mick O'Dowd and may have been put off by the experience- hope he gives it another go. He would be a big addition now."
Yeah fair play to the two Wallace lads, they really stepped it up and showed great leadership for their club. I would say now that they deserve a craic at playing for the county again (they were brought in too early by MOD at the expense of better players at that time).

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 30/10/2019 14:21:29    2246626

I think Andy should ask Cathal O'Dwyer from Dunshaughlin , Still young enough and is back from a long term hip injury , Would have buckets of pace, experience and hungry as hell . . Well worth a shot for O Byrne Cup

braxton_hicks (Meath) - Posts: 31 - 06/11/2019 13:59:55    2248116

Replying To braxton_hicks:  "I think Andy should ask Cathal O'Dwyer from Dunshaughlin , Still young enough and is back from a long term hip injury , Would have buckets of pace, experience and hungry as hell . . Well worth a shot for O Byrne Cup"
Can you imagine a FF line of Banty Conlon, Nippy O Dwyer and a Big Target man like Robert Ruddy ?? Big man and two speed merchants feeding off him picking up breaks , Well worth a shot

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 06/11/2019 15:15:38    2248132

Replying To summerhillof69:  "Can you imagine a FF line of Banty Conlon, Nippy O Dwyer and a Big Target man like Robert Ruddy ?? Big man and two speed merchants feeding off him picking up breaks , Well worth a shot"
Will we just forget shane walsh and mickey newman?

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 07/11/2019 08:41:47    2248218

Replying To summerhillof69:  "Can you imagine a FF line of Banty Conlon, Nippy O Dwyer and a Big Target man like Robert Ruddy ?? Big man and two speed merchants feeding off him picking up breaks , Well worth a shot"
Do you honestly think that James conlon and Cathal o dwyer are viable options for the Meath senior football team in 2020, would have Joey Wallace and Mc Mahon far ahead of them and at that Wallace still has to prove himself at county level

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 07/11/2019 10:03:52    2248226

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "Will we just forget shane walsh and mickey newman?"
Im talking about O Byrne Cup , We all know what Mickey can do , Shane is still v young so we dont want to rush him through either . . Nippy is about 28/29 so is in his prime so def worth a gamble

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 07/11/2019 10:05:07    2248227

Replying To Analyst:  "Do you honestly think that James conlon and Cathal o dwyer are viable options for the Meath senior football team in 2020, would have Joey Wallace and Mc Mahon far ahead of them and at that Wallace still has to prove himself at county level"
Id keep McMahon in the side and I think McMahon is better suited to the HF role as he displayed this year, I was speaking to someone from Ratoath at the final and remarked on Joey and would he go in next year and apparently he's going to the states for some scholarship

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 07/11/2019 10:41:48    2248236

100% lets get back to old school route one meath football, throw 3 big agricultural men inside and lamp it in. Div 1 defenders wont like that.

A full forward line of Joe Sheridan,Robert Ruddy and Pa O'Rourke would cause havoc. no fancy movement needed just direct ball in and let the lads do the rest.
I doubt even the Dubs would know what to do .
Forget about these hinky dink corner forwards, Three big men inside and when they tire bring on Walsh and Tobin inside.

We'll need good kickers out the field so it might be an idea to try and get Bray and Ward back on board too.

Meathmaverick (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 07/11/2019 10:53:48    2248240

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "100% lets get back to old school route one meath football, throw 3 big agricultural men inside and lamp it in. Div 1 defenders wont like that.

A full forward line of Joe Sheridan,Robert Ruddy and Pa O'Rourke would cause havoc. no fancy movement needed just direct ball in and let the lads do the rest.
I doubt even the Dubs would know what to do .
Forget about these hinky dink corner forwards, Three big men inside and when they tire bring on Walsh and Tobin inside.

We'll need good kickers out the field so it might be an idea to try and get Bray and Ward back on board too."
Well can i ask you , When Newman went off injured (think it was Donegal) in Navan , we had no target man or anyone who could win a high ball in . . . So who would you suggest to fill this role? We have no direct replacement

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 07/11/2019 11:00:18    2248242

Replying To summerhillof69:  "Well can i ask you , When Newman went off injured (think it was Donegal) in Navan , we had no target man or anyone who could win a high ball in . . . So who would you suggest to fill this role? We have no direct replacement"
Barry Dardis
Shane Walsh
Sean Tobin
Thomas Reilly

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 07/11/2019 11:36:50    2248256