Meath V Cork

Replying To meath1977:  "for example Adam Flanagan had one bad game and he has not seen any action since not much good for the future as he is the future"
So you want to put a midfielder in half backs ? What are you on, Flanagan is too slow for that position , guess what mod had Shane in that position Andy has him and if someone else came in he would have him too. Why ? cause we ain't got better at the moment.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/03/2018 19:43:02    2083566

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "No I cant blame them, felt like not going myself.

I daren't think about how many will go to Drogheda."
there will always be the loyal ones but it's hard to keep going without much hope

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/03/2018 19:45:44    2083569

Replying To Crinigan:  "Good man Nostradamus. Serious insight."
All the anti Meath crowd out in force this evening I see

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/03/2018 19:46:40    2083572

Replying To meath1977:  "we are playing Louth next"
Correct ....i was panicking a bit and was a full week ahead of myself ,gives us a tiny bit of breathing space provided we beat louth.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 11/03/2018 19:50:53    2083575

Replying To royaldunne:  "So you want to put a midfielder in half backs ? What are you on, Flanagan is too slow for that position , guess what mod had Shane in that position Andy has him and if someone else came in he would have him too. Why ? cause we ain't got better at the moment."
I am not on about Adam playing there he should be at midfield with Rooney and mention at half back so I know you take on to know everything but maybe if you listen it might help

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/03/2018 20:02:59    2083585

Replying To royaldunne:  "So you want to put a midfielder in half backs ? What are you on, Flanagan is too slow for that position , guess what mod had Shane in that position Andy has him and if someone else came in he would have him too. Why ? cause we ain't got better at the moment."
Shane was good today oh right that's nice

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/03/2018 20:06:10    2083590

Replying To royaldunne:  "All the anti Meath crowd out in force this evening I see"
I wouldn't say there are anti meath out tonight, id say anyone who was at that game could not take any positives out of it. Graham Reilly was a machine out there and i feel sorry for him. Only one who in my opnion who went over & beyond whats asked of any player out there. Must be like getting a kick in the b##ls knowing your whole team is relying on you, u play like ur the only man on the pitch & to walk away with a demoralizing result like we got. Management seriously need to sort this out. Id day half those if not all changes were lads who just didnt show up. The mental effect this must be having on the lads doesent bear thinking about. Andy needs to cop on in all fairness the way he played or didnt play lads today was nothing short of a disgrace. We just have to win louth next week. Im keeping the faith but slowing losing the will to..not in the lads but in McEntee.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 11/03/2018 20:08:33    2083591

Replying To thelutch:  "Andys second year and i dont see any improvement in any department,we will just about survive this year but are certs to go down next year,this new state of the art stadium might be ready for division one football in the long time future.Hard to believe we beat Galway this time last year and they looking like contesting a division 1 final this year,hard to digest"
I take an interest in Meath football. It's an eighties thing. Interesting that a few posters over the season refer to the Galway game last season in Div 2 and the contrasting fortunes of both teams since. A couple of key things to be noted. We were missing a few key/emerging players then like Damian Comer, Peter Cooke and Sean Andy. While we are a work in progress the u21 all Ireland winners of 2011 and more notably 2013 are slowly bearing fruit. Meath's biggest issue is probably no underage green shoots for years. Club football in the county is so so and while neither underage or decent club football is any guarantee of senior progress certainly it helps. For ye all about getting results in the final games as Div 3 not a desirable place. Think ye will survive but long term need better players coming through at underage.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 11/03/2018 20:40:57    2083611

Replying To daytona11:  "Id agree furlong re the manager. If the players arent there what can be done?

If the players are not or cannot compete at u16 minor and 20's its futile to expect them to produce the goods when they turn senior.

In Kildare we have put and emphasis on developing our underage structures and this is slowly begining to pay off.

Meath really need to do the same. Thats where things need to change. It'll take 10 years.

Andy McEntee cannot make a silk purse from a sows ear.

We havent won yet in div1 and will be relegated. We have given Tyrone Monaghan and Donegal a real rattle. But lads i wouldnt take 1 Meath player at the moment."
That's refreshing. Kildare not taking a player from another county. Well at least that's a move in the right direction.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/03/2018 20:45:24    2083616

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "No I cant blame them, felt like not going myself.

I daren't think about how many will go to Drogheda."
I will. I'll follow them to hell and back.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/03/2018 20:47:03    2083617

What is the plan? What type of game are we trying to play. Ok the players may not be of the quality but play to a pattern or plan that suits the type of player we have. Can't understand why we don't play Graham Reilly at Full Forward. We're only playing with one inside so why not him. He's supposedly our best forward. In the second half today when we needed scores he's spending his time tracking back. That's the managers call. Supporters are getting dejected cause it appears that we don't have the ability to change it up a bit when the current scenario isn't working. Supporters wouldn't mind as much us getting beat if they could see some sort of plan that was being put in place or method to what we are doing

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 11/03/2018 20:49:38    2083621

Replying To royaldunne:  "That's refreshing. Kildare not taking a player from another county. Well at least that's a move in the right direction."
Great answer ...you get a thumbs up from me Sir

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 11/03/2018 20:51:11    2083623

We are all disappointed. Its only natural any supporter of any team in any sport would be unhappy if their team lost 3 games. But the Meath supporters have a big role here also if we want sucess. Meaths drop from the top table you can blame the county board managers the players the lack of underage sucess, they all played a role. But the Meath supporters have also played a role.

Pressure from the supporters and dissatisfaction from the supporters meant we have had 7 managers in 12 years. We had 5 managers in 6 years between 2005 and 2011. Its was madness. It meant a talented a group of Meath players did not reach their full potential with the chopping and changing managers every 12 or 24 months . I believe we were good enough to win an All Ireland title between 2007 and 2011. Especially in 2010. Look at the players we had especially the forwards eg Brendan Murphy Niall McKeigue Darren Fay Kevin Reilly Shane McInarly Cormac McGuiness Caoihim King Anthony Moyles Nigel Crawford Mark Ward Peadar Byrne Stephen Bray Graham Geraghty David Bray Shane O Rourke Brian Farrell Cian Ward Joe Sheridan Graham Reilly Seamus Kenny. There was an All Ireland in those players. But because of the supporters impatience and dissatisfaction with managers, we didnt win 1.

Boylan wanted 3 more years. The fans wanted him gone a man who built more All Ireland winning teams then any other manager in gaa history ( Dwyer and Cody built 1 team, Boylan built 3 different All Ireland winning teams ). If he was left in charge he could have and I believe would have won his 5th All Ireland title with us.

Barry should have been given a second year. O Brien after leading us to All Ireland semi final and quater final a leinster title win and beating every team in leinster in 12 months including the Dubs by 10 points. O Brien should have been given 3 years. People blame the Clubs voting against the county board. But there was serious disquiet agmost the supporters after louth and kildare loses. Banty should have been given a third year after losing by three points to reigning All Ireland champions Dublin in a leinster final. The last time a leinster team got that close to Dublin. But he was let go.

We are great supporters. A football mad county. We all want the best for Meath football. But I dont see any easy way out. This is a long drawn out process back to the top. With many ups and downs. McEntee is the best bet for sucess. There is no manager in the county or outside that I can see turning us around. There is a serious lack of quality managers in the country outside div 1 and Galvins O Rourkes.

I expected this season to be the way it is. It took Sean Boylan 4 years to turn Mick lyons Gerry McEntee Martin O Connell Bernard Flynn and Colm O Rourke into winners. look at Galway. Under Walsh , Galway were very poor in his 1st year, some dreadful performances in his second year eg 8 point hammering by Tipp, in his third year more bad performances losing to us and been hammered by Roscommon and kerry in the championship. However in his 4th year look at Galway now. The Galway supporters gave Walsh the time and it is starting to pay off. McGeeney is years with Armagh and Armagh have spent 3 of the last 4 years in div 3 and with some dreadful loses eg Tyrone last year. Yet Armagh fans have let him get on with it.

Andy has made mistakes. But he is our best bet for sucess. But give him 4 years and let him get on with it. For me he is not even halfway through his term. He is only putting in foundations in terms of fitness. He needs to settle on a first 15 and from that things can improve. Confidence levels in the county are at an all time low. Pessimism and lack interest in the county are widespread. And thats to be expected with our worst decade since 20s.

But that does not mean we lose the plot again and another manager is dropped like a hot potatoe.
Its a long road back. It will take years to turn things around. But remember the season is far from over. league form can be incredibly misleading. The last time we were relegated we had our best year in the last 6 years, beating a highly fancied kildare team and getting witthin 3 points of Dublin. Galway are flying at the moment. But kildare had a great league in div 1 in 2013 beating Cork and Kerry, Derry also had a great season in div 1 a year or two after and reached league div q final , so did Cork reach league div 1 final a year after and Roscommon played similar to Galway in div 1 two years ago. And all those counties mentioned above had disastrous championship aftetwards.

The season is far from over. It will really start in June. And McEntee tenure is still in its infancy. Give him time and get someone like Geraghty involved with underage teams as manager so if Andy goes in 4 or 5 years time. Have a replacement with experience and not have another Mick O Dowd type appointment which Callaghan and Geraghty would be at the moment eg all young inexperienced managers. Farrell will be the next Dublin manager. Jack Connor will be the next kerry manager. And Fergal logan will be next Tyrone manager. Eddie Brennan will replace Cody more then likely. Other counties who are doing well have a sucession plan. Even if Andy is sucessful we should be looking at developing other manager's with potential. Other counties use the under 21 job as experience for the senior job. We need to be thinking along the same way. Geraghty needs to be brought in. If I was in charge of Meath football I would give Andy McEntee another 2 years and make Graham Geraghty Under 20 manager for two years and ask Anthony Moyles to take charge of the minors. That's what we should be doing. Be patient in the present and start planning for the future . Good things come to those who wait. It costs no money, just a bit of cop on and time and lots of patience.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 11/03/2018 21:01:04    2083628

Replying To royaldunne:  "That's refreshing. Kildare not taking a player from another county. Well at least that's a move in the right direction."
might not agree with everything you say but that's some answer

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/03/2018 21:08:59    2083633

Tradition aside the fall of the senior team is nothing short of disgraceful. The aim as quoted by andy was to gain promotion and that is already out of the question. A big issue under MOD was picking too many players from the south of the county. This is now not a big factor as the players aren't there full stop. It speaks volumes when the stand out player for our county championship winning team is overlooked in favour of a mediocre player. Louth play positioning ve attacking football and will run at our lacklustre backs with ease. Expect a big performance with them with so much on the line.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 11/03/2018 21:11:52    2083636

Graham Geraghty was a great footballer but is not county manager material.

I fully support Andy but we absolutely need a succession plan in place i.e. allow the under 21 manager prove himself and challenge Andy for senior position over time.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 11/03/2018 21:14:18    2083637

You really cant pass judgement on other counties moral compass.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 11/03/2018 21:15:14    2083639

Replying To Furlong1949:  "We are all disappointed. Its only natural any supporter of any team in any sport would be unhappy if their team lost 3 games. But the Meath supporters have a big role here also if we want sucess. Meaths drop from the top table you can blame the county board managers the players the lack of underage sucess, they all played a role. But the Meath supporters have also played a role.

Pressure from the supporters and dissatisfaction from the supporters meant we have had 7 managers in 12 years. We had 5 managers in 6 years between 2005 and 2011. Its was madness. It meant a talented a group of Meath players did not reach their full potential with the chopping and changing managers every 12 or 24 months . I believe we were good enough to win an All Ireland title between 2007 and 2011. Especially in 2010. Look at the players we had especially the forwards eg Brendan Murphy Niall McKeigue Darren Fay Kevin Reilly Shane McInarly Cormac McGuiness Caoihim King Anthony Moyles Nigel Crawford Mark Ward Peadar Byrne Stephen Bray Graham Geraghty David Bray Shane O Rourke Brian Farrell Cian Ward Joe Sheridan Graham Reilly Seamus Kenny. There was an All Ireland in those players. But because of the supporters impatience and dissatisfaction with managers, we didnt win 1.

Boylan wanted 3 more years. The fans wanted him gone a man who built more All Ireland winning teams then any other manager in gaa history ( Dwyer and Cody built 1 team, Boylan built 3 different All Ireland winning teams ). If he was left in charge he could have and I believe would have won his 5th All Ireland title with us.

Barry should have been given a second year. O Brien after leading us to All Ireland semi final and quater final a leinster title win and beating every team in leinster in 12 months including the Dubs by 10 points. O Brien should have been given 3 years. People blame the Clubs voting against the county board. But there was serious disquiet agmost the supporters after louth and kildare loses. Banty should have been given a third year after losing by three points to reigning All Ireland champions Dublin in a leinster final. The last time a leinster team got that close to Dublin. But he was let go.

We are great supporters. A football mad county. We all want the best for Meath football. But I dont see any easy way out. This is a long drawn out process back to the top. With many ups and downs. McEntee is the best bet for sucess. There is no manager in the county or outside that I can see turning us around. There is a serious lack of quality managers in the country outside div 1 and Galvins O Rourkes.

I expected this season to be the way it is. It took Sean Boylan 4 years to turn Mick lyons Gerry McEntee Martin O Connell Bernard Flynn and Colm O Rourke into winners. look at Galway. Under Walsh , Galway were very poor in his 1st year, some dreadful performances in his second year eg 8 point hammering by Tipp, in his third year more bad performances losing to us and been hammered by Roscommon and kerry in the championship. However in his 4th year look at Galway now. The Galway supporters gave Walsh the time and it is starting to pay off. McGeeney is years with Armagh and Armagh have spent 3 of the last 4 years in div 3 and with some dreadful loses eg Tyrone last year. Yet Armagh fans have let him get on with it.

Andy has made mistakes. But he is our best bet for sucess. But give him 4 years and let him get on with it. For me he is not even halfway through his term. He is only putting in foundations in terms of fitness. He needs to settle on a first 15 and from that things can improve. Confidence levels in the county are at an all time low. Pessimism and lack interest in the county are widespread. And thats to be expected with our worst decade since 20s.

But that does not mean we lose the plot again and another manager is dropped like a hot potatoe.
Its a long road back. It will take years to turn things around. But remember the season is far from over. league form can be incredibly misleading. The last time we were relegated we had our best year in the last 6 years, beating a highly fancied kildare team and getting witthin 3 points of Dublin. Galway are flying at the moment. But kildare had a great league in div 1 in 2013 beating Cork and Kerry, Derry also had a great season in div 1 a year or two after and reached league div q final , so did Cork reach league div 1 final a year after and Roscommon played similar to Galway in div 1 two years ago. And all those counties mentioned above had disastrous championship aftetwards.

The season is far from over. It will really start in June. And McEntee tenure is still in its infancy. Give him time and get someone like Geraghty involved with underage teams as manager so if Andy goes in 4 or 5 years time. Have a replacement with experience and not have another Mick O Dowd type appointment which Callaghan and Geraghty would be at the moment eg all young inexperienced managers. Farrell will be the next Dublin manager. Jack Connor will be the next kerry manager. And Fergal logan will be next Tyrone manager. Eddie Brennan will replace Cody more then likely. Other counties who are doing well have a sucession plan. Even if Andy is sucessful we should be looking at developing other manager's with potential. Other counties use the under 21 job as experience for the senior job. We need to be thinking along the same way. Geraghty needs to be brought in. If I was in charge of Meath football I would give Andy McEntee another 2 years and make Graham Geraghty Under 20 manager for two years and ask Anthony Moyles to take charge of the minors. That's what we should be doing. Be patient in the present and start planning for the future . Good things come to those who wait. It costs no money, just a bit of cop on and time and lots of patience."
After two years....what has Andy brought to this team than other managers have failed to bring. I think we are going backwards instead of forwards and as i said earlier im always one of the first to back & defend Andy as i did believe he was the only man in the country who can turn this team around so if ur blaming supporters you need to look further a field as its lack of confidence supporters have in management that is leaving us so frustrated. To have come from top of the table to fighting to stay in this division is a joke. Blame everyone except management. The lads shouldnt be allowed play like they are playing, its as if Andy has just accepted this & given up. He should be roasting the a**e off them lads half time. We need the likes of Geraghty in there someone who takes a no bulls**t attitude and knows the respect & pride in wearing the jersey. Things need to change fast.....

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 11/03/2018 21:17:35    2083642

Replying To bert09:  "Graham Geraghty was a great footballer but is not county manager material.

I fully support Andy but we absolutely need a succession plan in place i.e. allow the under 21 manager prove himself and challenge Andy for senior position over time."
Saying over time is great 2 years plans etc but thats not going to help us now in the state we are in. We are not going to be championship ready any time soon until that back room is sorted and done pronto. We need help fast!

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 11/03/2018 21:23:46    2083647

Replying To bert09:  "Graham Geraghty was a great footballer but is not county manager material.

I fully support Andy but we absolutely need a succession plan in place i.e. allow the under 21 manager prove himself and challenge Andy for senior position over time."
Andy will be there till the year is over but why not try a three way management team next year Barry Callaghan graham Geraghty Trevor Giles we have nothing to lose.

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/03/2018 21:26:40    2083649