Meath V Cork

Replying To Royalblufill:  "Folks - people keep talking about getting out of Division 2 - I know that is an ambition and an aim! But let's be honest - we are struggling in Division 2 so life in Division 1 would be short lived. Just look at Kildare!

We were well beaten by Cavan and Tipperary and outplayed in both games - the focus has to be on winning two more games at least so as to avoid a drop to division 3. The way things are shaping up, 9 of the leinster teams could be playing in Division 3 and 4 next year!!!"
Obviously we are not getting to Division 1 this year! We are doing well to hold our position in Division 2. Those illusions have been well shattered now at this stage. If we end up in Division 3 next year we may all just give up...backwards instead of forwards is just not acceptable from any team.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 26/02/2018 13:47:50    2080492

Face facts lads this is a poor Meath team and unfortunately we're in a right battle to stay in D2. The Cork game on Sunday is our biggest game in years, we can't afford to lose

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 26/02/2018 13:52:44    2080498

Just read the result of the Skyrne v Cilles game there from yesterday Cilles got some beating, Biggy & Brennan both playing but not Harry Rooney yet and hes been participating in club games up to yesterday, seems abit odd considering i thought Biggy wasn't allowed play club or did i get that wrong?? Andy needs to get Brennan out onto the field, he is a fine freetaker, who we could have done with Saturday. Hope to see him been played against Cork on Sunday.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 26/02/2018 14:02:53    2080509

I think most people are unlikely to question the commitment and hard work that the players and management are putting in. However, as supporters, we are entitled to question the overall strategy in terms of:

1. The players that are available right now; and

2. The game plan we are trying to adopt.

Most counties will have a number of guys that are unavailable due to injury or other priorities. I could be wrong but I think there are few counties with as many guys unavailable as we do. You could practically name a full 2nd team of players that are unavailable through injury, walking away or having been dropped. We do not produce enough quality footballers to allow this to happen so why it is happening? When Meath were successful, there was never more than a handful of the best talent not involved. People can make the SOR argument about lack of success etc. but that hasn't happened to the same degree in other counties. The county board have a duty to get to the bottom of it and try and rectify it. Bring in a behavioural scientist if needs be but please let's not revert to the pub talk cliches of players gone soft etc.

Similarly, on the game plan - it has been very obvious that Meath have either had no particular game plan or a very poor game plan. Any time we come up against a top 12 team, we inevitably lose. If the game plan was capable of succeeding, we would have won some of those matches. Again, the county board need to get to the bottom of it. Identify a good tactician, hire him and send him a DVD with 10 of our most recent performances. Ask him to identify and critique the game plan and come up with some proposals for change.

I would like to see a 3-5 year plan which involves enticing our best talent back and with a clearly identified game plan. It seems like more often than not the current management and players are left scratching their heads as to why things aren't working - the answers are out there but it seems we haven't got the courage or humility to go looking for them.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 26/02/2018 14:13:44    2080517

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Just read the result of the Skyrne v Cilles game there from yesterday Cilles got some beating, Biggy & Brennan both playing but not Harry Rooney yet and hes been participating in club games up to yesterday, seems abit odd considering i thought Biggy wasn't allowed play club or did i get that wrong?? Andy needs to get Brennan out onto the field, he is a fine freetaker, who we could have done with Saturday. Hope to see him been played against Cork on Sunday.
."
Haven't noticed James Conlon play any games for Cillies, is he about?

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 26/02/2018 15:56:08    2080586

Replying To RoylerKing:  "Face facts lads this is a poor Meath team and unfortunately we're in a right battle to stay in D2. The Cork game on Sunday is our biggest game in years, we can't afford to lose"
I have heard the "Biggest game in years" Line a lot lately in Meath..Starting to lose all meaning

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 26/02/2018 16:36:27    2080622

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Haven't noticed James Conlon play any games for Cillies, is he about?"
1st game back from injury yesterday, scored 3 points

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 26/02/2018 16:41:19    2080627

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Haven't noticed James Conlon play any games for Cillies, is he about?"
He was injured, came on as sub yesterday, first game of the year

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 26/02/2018 16:43:35    2080630

Replying To longroadback:  "He was injured, came on as sub yesterday, first game of the year"
That's good news, he and Moriarty will be important for the U20s too

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 26/02/2018 17:22:38    2080649

Replying To ziggy320001:  "That's good news, he and Moriarty will be important for the U20s too"
Definetly im excited bout all these youngs lads coming up the ranks

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 26/02/2018 18:07:05    2080675

Replying To pauk123:  "Navan is a fantastic playing surface so I think there's a decent chance of it going ahead as long as the snow melts by then.
Huge game whenever it's played. My guess is whomever is beaten here will go down. Cork are is disarray at the moment, likley saying the same about Meath. Andy sounded like a beaten man on LMFM after the game. Exasperated answers and at a loss to explain why we were so bad, worrying, if not surprising.
Hopefully a decent sized crowd in Navan will make the difference.

Sidenote why all the tumbsdown for royaldunne? Alot of his posts seem pretty non confrontational but get a negative reaction. Seems a little unnecessary."
Haha. It actually is a compliment, very few of them are genuine Meath fans. I found that out when I once posted the following.
(Best wishes to management and players today, hopefully a good crowd and a Meath win. )
That was all I posted. I noticed it got 6 thumbs down. We have been infiltrated by a few people pretending to be from county but not, there posts are pretty generic, unless we get beat then it's this that and the other, and usually a little tip of hat to their native county.
Anyway as I said the more thumbs down I get the more I like it, I know I'm p...ing them off , so it cheers me up no end , particularly after the last two games.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2018 18:44:24    2080688

Replying To royalwarrior:  "When are Meath going to learn to play away from home ? When are Meath going to learn to play full stop !! This is no better than the mick o dowd era ,if ur going to play with six forwards then at least demand that at least 4 of them play as forwards and when going forward we might have someone to kick it into.id sooner be bet every weekend trying to play football than the type of crap Andy has them trying to play .sideways back ways sideways backways ,no ambition whatsoever then Rd comes on here defending Andy mcentee?? Cop on he is ruining good young players trying to play what is alien to them . How he could take off Sean Tobin last Saturday night the one lad who actually stayed forward and done what a forward is meant to do is undefendable. How you can defend this type of crap RD week in week out is beyond me especially someone who says he has followed Meath as long as he has !!!"
Who is better placed to take over,? And is the difficulty not that we have chopped and changed management too often???

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2018 18:46:34    2080689

Replying To royalwarrior:  "When are Meath going to learn to play away from home ? When are Meath going to learn to play full stop !! This is no better than the mick o dowd era ,if ur going to play with six forwards then at least demand that at least 4 of them play as forwards and when going forward we might have someone to kick it into.id sooner be bet every weekend trying to play football than the type of crap Andy has them trying to play .sideways back ways sideways backways ,no ambition whatsoever then Rd comes on here defending Andy mcentee?? Cop on he is ruining good young players trying to play what is alien to them . How he could take off Sean Tobin last Saturday night the one lad who actually stayed forward and done what a forward is meant to do is undefendable. How you can defend this type of crap RD week in week out is beyond me especially someone who says he has followed Meath as long as he has !!!"
So leave on a injured player? And get rid of a manager just into second season? How has that worked out for us since sean left?? Thank god you opinion is very very much in minority view

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2018 18:49:28    2080691

Replying To royaldunne:  "So leave on a injured player? And get rid of a manager just into second season? How has that worked out for us since sean left?? Thank god you opinion is very very much in minority view"
Andy should be let get on with his job and a review should be had at the end of the year.the biggest problem we have is why so many players from last year's panel are not willing to take part this year and why some new lads refused to join the panel this year I don't believe this can be all the mangers fault but the players in question should be asked why they don't want to put on the green jersey. our problem is our panel at the moment is very weak and some lads are out of their depth at this level

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 26/02/2018 19:44:42    2080713

lads Jim Gavin wouldn't get this lot out of division 2,we simply not good enough,face facts we are maybe the 3rd best team in leinster westmeath possibly better,galway mayo and arguably roscommon ahead of us,kerry tipp and cork and donegal monaghan tyrone cavan and you could throw maybe down into the equation also.its very hard to accept as meath supporters but this is a poor meath panel.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 26/02/2018 20:47:22    2080730

Replying To thelutch:  "lads Jim Gavin wouldn't get this lot out of division 2,we simply not good enough,face facts we are maybe the 3rd best team in leinster westmeath possibly better,galway mayo and arguably roscommon ahead of us,kerry tipp and cork and donegal monaghan tyrone cavan and you could throw maybe down into the equation also.its very hard to accept as meath supporters but this is a poor meath panel."
Doesn't do Meath any good if people keep calling it a poor meath panel or Andy is a poor manger !

Give it a break !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 26/02/2018 21:09:16    2080746

Replying To meath1977:  "Andy should be let get on with his job and a review should be had at the end of the year.the biggest problem we have is why so many players from last year's panel are not willing to take part this year and why some new lads refused to join the panel this year I don't believe this can be all the mangers fault but the players in question should be asked why they don't want to put on the green jersey. our problem is our panel at the moment is very weak and some lads are out of their depth at this level"
Who are the players though? Nash is gone, jones was always going, Harnan is studying , por well we all read what he thinks and actually with that attitude I wouldn't let him within a asses roar of a team, . I can only think of one who felt commitments were too much, again he didn't have a problem with management, just didn't want Meath to take up 9 month of his year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2018 22:22:12    2080770

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Doesn't do Meath any good if people keep calling it a poor meath panel or Andy is a poor manger !

Give it a break !"
didn't call Andy a poor manager but i did call this panel poor,we were bet in a leinster final in 2012 by 3 points by dublin,there was some promising young lads that vanished off the radar,look signs are on it,7 players from one club who cant get into a county final.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 26/02/2018 22:49:54    2080782

Replying To Royalblufill:  "Folks - people keep talking about getting out of Division 2 - I know that is an ambition and an aim! But let's be honest - we are struggling in Division 2 so life in Division 1 would be short lived. Just look at Kildare!

We were well beaten by Cavan and Tipperary and outplayed in both games - the focus has to be on winning two more games at least so as to avoid a drop to division 3. The way things are shaping up, 9 of the leinster teams could be playing in Division 3 and 4 next year!!!"
I see your point but is it not also the case that a sojourn in Division One would ultimately mean a vast improvement in the type of football we would need to produce to have any chance of survival? We have become too accustomed to the mediocrity of Division 2 and therefore despite a welcome change in management we have failed to deliver. The tide is changing in relation to the disgusting tactic that is the blanket defence. We have the right kind of footballers to play an attacking game and I agree with anyone in this forum who maintain the shackles should be taken off our players and for god's sake just let them play!

ClonardGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 26/02/2018 23:29:07    2080801

Replying To royaldunne:  "Who are the players though? Nash is gone, jones was always going, Harnan is studying , por well we all read what he thinks and actually with that attitude I wouldn't let him within a asses roar of a team, . I can only think of one who felt commitments were too much, again he didn't have a problem with management, just didn't want Meath to take up 9 month of his year."
Yeah in Fairness I have to agree with this ! Only other player would be Tobin and I know for a fact he was in the same boat as Paddy and had enough ! The rest was out of Andy's Hands ! Newman not sure if he left himself or was dropped! I honestly don't know how the lads work/Study and still play county football! They do more than any professional player! All credit to them

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 26/02/2018 23:43:47    2080804