Mayo Forum

Popular Posts from unclegerry

Galway Football thread - 8 Like(s)
Sad news about Bevin Sice.. Puts everything into perspective. RIP

unclegerry (National) - 07/09/2022 10:44:29

Galway V Kerry All Ireland Final 2022 - 6 Like(s)
Galway will have regrets this morning.. Kerry were on the ropes with the same doubts appearing but in reality 5 out of the 6 Galway forwards had their worst game of the year.. Despite that Galway were still hangin in there in the last 10 but a Kerry win started to look inevitable as Galway were running on fumes.. Great year for Galway but an opportunity missed

unclegerry (National) - 25/07/2022 17:10:42

Loughnane tears into Galway - 5 Like(s)
A very predictable piece tbh.

unclegerry (National) - 04/07/2016 14:47:58

Mayo v Westmeath - 3 Like(s)

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "If you get over Westmeath you'll be playing us and for Tyrone this has been a year of revenge. There is a young Peter Harte Praying he gets a craic at Mayo.."
Fortunately for Peter, Tom Cunniffe wont be playing :) #hit

unclegerry (Mayo) - 20/07/2016 14:29:47

Dubs V Mayo - 3 Like(s)
McStay is a disaster on commentary in my opinion.. He has spent this week grovelling to the Mayo public that he called the Small hit on McL wrong as he didnt see replays.. He did see replays..2 replays if im not mistaken.. I dont think he does Mayo much favours tbh.. he just talks a lot of shi** so no one listens.. McConville/Flynn was very funny.. McConville is very consistent and doesnt sugar coat anything.. which is a breath of fresh air. Flynn had clearly taken off his GPA hat and replaced it with his Dublin one.. At the end of the day we are all biased.. I laughed out loud listening to that exchange

unclegerry (National) - 19/08/2021 10:46:40

Andy Moran - Roscommon Fans - 3 Like(s)
This is a bit much lads. Booing of players happens in every game. Enda Smith was booed as he took that last kick. Only way to silence the boo boys is on the scoreboard. Some mayo fans are being too precious over Andy Moran who is a great servant no doubt. But this public outcry is cringe and a bit embarassing tbh.

unclegerry (National) - 01/08/2017 11:19:31

Rochford To Stay On - 2 Like(s)

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Great post. I wonder is Rochford so weak he allowed the Breaffy lads to convince him to start Hennelly in the 2016 replay. I think he's tougher than that, well I hope he is anyway. He's the boss and I'm a poster here but to me he should give his forwards more freedom to kick points from play, fail, fail again again and again and eventually improve."
I doubt it. What drove that decision was stats. Poor kickouts from Clarke in the last 10 mins of the drawn game resulted in 3 points from Dublin and in such a tight game that was crucial. He dosent have the length and the looping nature of his kick made our kickout a weakness. That is what drove the decision I beleive and not pressure from the Breaffy lads. What wasn't factored into that decision was that Hennelly hadnt kicked a ball in an intercounty match all year.. Maybe it was factored in and was seem as an acceptable level of risk,? which unfortunately wasnt the case.

unclegerry (Mayo) - 16/08/2018 10:24:49

Managers talking up the opposition - 2 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "That's unfair on Fitzmaurice. I think he made a very accurate observation, the disrespect shown to Clare and Tipp for reaching the last 8 is pretty poor form. Look at the commentary on this forum, they way people are going on you would swear both had just been names drawn from a hat. Clare are in the Q-final on merit, Fitzmaurice was simply articulating that and that he thinks they will give Kerry a better game than they did in June. Kerry do not take any opposition lightly, that's why we are rarely caught."
It's possible to be honest without being disrespectful...

unclegerry (National) - 29/07/2016 11:09:43

Mayo Ladies Walkout - 2 Like(s)

Replying To martinjoe:  "I am with the players who walked out and don't think it is a good idea to dismiss or stigmatise people for having feelings. Is doing so not a form of bullying?"
Managers have feelings too!! :)

unclegerry (Mayo) - 13/09/2018 15:49:28

Will Galway be worried? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To festinog:  "Galway haven't beaten a Div 1 team in donkies so I'd hate to think the team was in any way complacent coming up to this game. Look where that attitude got us last year against Tipp! Mayo won against Sligo without even moving out of 1st gear. Anyone who doesn't think they'll show a bit more spark against Galway knows nothing about the history between our two counties!"
Didnt they not beat May and Roscommon last yr?

unclegerry (Mayo) - 25/05/2017 09:52:03

Donegal game - 2 Like(s)

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "How do Mayo folk feel about Cormac Reilly refereeing this?"
I am not overly concerned about it. He had a shocking day in the Gaelic grounds in 2014 but that is history as far am I am concerned. I would urge Mayo fans not to heckle or howl at him as that kind of shi** is not what I want associated with Mayo GAA supporters. Also he is likely to turn on us if he is gettin abuse from the stands. At the end of the say the ref cant put the ball over the ball for ya and giving out abut a ref never gets you anywhere

unclegerry (Mayo) - 28/03/2017 16:28:48

Are Galway back to the old ways. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To jafallon:  "Mayo needed a completely freak goal, plus some very naive Galway fouling to beat them by a few points in 2015. That's why Galway were confident coming in this year when everyone had written them off. They knew the gap wasnt much between the sides despite the media perception. Talk of a Mayo off day this year is nonsense. What Galway lack is real experience against the top sides (bar Mayo). These teams are tactically on another level and know their gameplans perfectly, as well as the obvious player quality. Galway struggled in this sense vs Donegal last year. They might be a year otrtwo removed from being in amongst the big boys yet, with inexperience likely to tell. Will be interesting to see however, should they make the Semis"
Mayo were brutal V Galway.. Worst performance since Longford in the qualifiers.. Galway are improving but have faced nothing yet

unclegerry (National) - 20/07/2016 16:02:59

Which Of Those Teams Would They Have Beaten - 2 Like(s)
Pointless debate really..

unclegerry (Mayo) - 07/07/2018 12:40:52

The Back Door - 2 Like(s)

Replying To The_DOC:  "You invited me back after we 'get to the super 8's' and then you invited me to come back when we 'actually won a game in Croke Park' so really you only have yourselves to blame! Earned your break - that's hilarious!"
We are delighted to have ye lads.. Sure we have little else for doing only posting on forums these days ;) Ye are in a good place going into the weekend. Where I think ye have been at your strongest has taken a hit over the last month or so, Midfleld.. Conroy and Duggan out leave you light on options there. That is where I think we lost our game v Kildare as they have some big units around the middle and we were down to the bare bones. I fancy ye to win this weekend as Kildare are showing signs of fatigue. This will be their 5th game in 6 weeks. They should have beaten Monaghan.. tired minds and bodies in the last 10 taking wrong options cost them. I still think your system wont win you an All Ireland with this Dublin team knocking about.. but ye are still there so fair play Mayo will take stock. I'm sure none of the lads will enjoy watching on over the next few weeks and the rest will benefit a few boys who have had 7 long tough years.. Great to see the u20s going well.. That group were wiped out in connacht as minors. It goes to show you that underage football is unpredictable and successes at the grades guarantee you nothing at senior. If we get 3 or 4 of that u20 team guys into the panel in the next couple of years that would be a great result

unclegerry (Mayo) - 20/07/2018 10:30:12

Kevin Cassidy On Laochra Gael - 2 Like(s)
Really enjoyed it. I think both Cassidy and McGuinness came off well in different ways. Cassidy made a big mistake by not disclosing the book to Jim and the entire group. However he then made the personal sacrifice by staying away and not distracting the group who were on a mission. McGuinness in his response of showing him the door put the group first despite the qualities Cassidy brought to the table. He reflected on his decision subsequently and offered Cassidy the chance to come back in. Both showed the ability to acknowledge their mistakes and ultimately Donegal completed their mission. I think every GAA fan was delighted to see Gaoth Dobhair win Ulster that time with Cassidy at 14 It's a great series and TG4 should be commended. Here is to the next 20 years. A side note.. The interview with Jim on the pitch with Cassidy 3 feet away was TV Gold.

unclegerry (National) - 11/01/2021 15:05:23

Division One 2017 - 2 Like(s)
Best of luck Sunday lads.. I will be rooting for ye. We are well aware in Mayo that there are good footballers in Roscommon. Lots of folks on other threads on about Cavan chasing a big win in case it goes to pts difference. I think that is a tad disrespectful. It will be a tight game on Sunday Hopefully we can also take care of business on our end.

unclegerry (Roscommon) - 30/03/2017 16:11:37

Sligo Covid-19 Breakout - 2 Like(s)
This game could be accommodated as there are spare weeks between Connacht final and AI semi as well as AI semi and final. I assume those weeks are being kept for when a game involving a big county is impacted. That question should be put to the GAA HQ but it wont now if Sligo have forfeited

unclegerry (National) - 04/11/2020 09:16:33

Galway V Mayo - 1 Like(s)

Replying To hopballref:  "'Mayo have been at a much higher level than Galway the last 14 years' - And what have ye to show for it? Nothing. At least we take our chances when they arise. If those Mayo players were wearing Galway jerseys they would have two or three all Ireland's at this stage."
I assume the statement above is an example of what Mayo fans say.. There is little between the 2 squads in reality.. As for the rest of the comment... Galway had the best team in the country in 98-2001 and won 2 AIs.. I am sure ye felt ye didnt take your chance in the drawn 2000 final Mayo more recently were not as good as Dublin.. simple as.. I am sure you will agree after your meeting with them in the 2018 AI semi

unclegerry (Galway) - 22/10/2020 11:12:58

Team for replay - 1 Like(s)
You might think this sounds nuts but I think Clarkes kickouts the last day might bring Hennelly back into the frame. It would be harsh on Clarke who has had a great year but the trajectory on his kickouts is high which gives the opposition a better chance to compete. I was never hennelys greatest fan as his command of the goalmouth is less than convincing but he has a more accurate kick. He also gives a long range free option as Cillian has struggled with 45's this year. The other player under pressure IMO is Seamus o Shea.. He had a very poor day with ball in hand. In fairness he gets through a power of work defensively which someone like Barry Moran may not have the engine for.

unclegerry (Mayo) - 21/09/2016 13:38:33

Club Championship 2016 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To club51:  "Correct cost us previous years will we ever learn?"
The CB have made the correct call.

unclegerry (Mayo) - 24/08/2016 07:41:45