Mayo Forum

Popular Posts from the_walls

Meath V Dublin - 16 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh we have a lot of sore other counties that still fixated on Meath. Which is very strange. Shows maybe why Dublin have such a stranglehold on championship, most counties only care about Meath. A team that won't win a all ire in the near future."
Most counties only care about Meath? Absolute delusional nonsense!!

the_walls (National) - 07/07/2021 09:43:23

NFL Division 1 - 13 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Can't post a logical answer to why I think Meath will win. But I just do."
Yeah but to be fair no matter what game it is and no matter what logic suggests you always think Meath will win. Meath could literally be putting out under 10s against a full strength Dublin and you'd still be saying that you think Meath would win. So don't be worrying that you have no logical answer

the_walls (National) - 28/02/2020 18:10:41

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 10 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "McQuillan will do Tyrone no favours that's for sure, everybody bar Tyrone supporters and the very few like myself in other counties want to see Tyrone beaten here, they want the wee teachers pets from Mayo to finally get over the line and not bottle another final, Tyrone will have to win this the hard way, can see McQuillan doing all he can to help Mayo. Hoping to see Tyrone romp home by 6 or 7 points please God."
Seriously, what is wrong with you? Why the constant need for emotive language to try and provoke a response and belittle Mayo at every opportunity? In what way are Mayo the "teachers pet"? Who is the teacher in that scenario? If (and it is a big if) Mayo win, the cherry on top will be how much it will stick in the craw of people you like who are constantly trying to mock and ridicule.

the_walls (National) - 05/09/2021 21:26:25

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 8 Like(s)

Replying To Htaem:  "I see a lot of negativity from the usual Meath suspects on here. Now I'm not blind to the challenge we face, Dublin haven't lost a match in Leinster since 5 past Cluxton in June 2010 and they've won the last 4 All-Irelands. I get it, the Dubs are a reasonably decent football team at the minute, but here's my two questions: 1. Why the condemnation of optimistic Meath fans? What's the added benefit of giving up on your team before they even play? (Again I'm well aware of the opposition we face, I'm not living in 1999). 2. What do you propose as a county we do? If the Leinster championship is a dead duck, do we just pull out, what's the plan going forward?"
Don't be playing the auld victim card, particularly when having a read on your forum there is lads being absolutely slated and having their support for Meath questioned for voicing the view (based on football and not on emotional bluster) that they can't see past a very comfortable Dublin win. They might be wrong but that is their objective view. It doesn't mean that they don't want Meath to win any less. Meath fans (as any fans of any county are) are fully entitled to be optimistic and proclaim that they are going to be right in the mix and have a great chance of beating Dublin. Have at it, no one is stopping you. By the same token, others are fully entitled to completely disagree with you, explain why and tell you that they find your optimism utterly ridiculous and deluded. If it turns out that you boys are correct, you will have great ammunition on Monday to tell everyone you told them so. Until then though, people are fully entitled to challenge your view. Why would anyone feel you should pull out of the Leinster Championship? Is this some attempt at creating a siege mentality? Just because most people think Leinster is a total procession and will be this year too, doesn't mean that all Leinster counties, including Meath, shouldn't be striving to reel Dublin in.

the_walls (National) - 19/06/2019 13:30:35

NFL Division 1 - 8 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Limited intellect? I'm not from the short grass. College educated self made man, plenty of mulah (I mean plenty) young beautiful wife. Yeah I really must have limited intellect, says the guy who probably lives off my taxes. Bit like the fellas with all their living up to their names :)"
You're sounding exactly like Meath's answer to Trump! I bet you're a stable genius and know all the best words too! Seriously, in real life are you anything like your online persona?

the_walls (National) - 12/03/2020 22:05:18

Straight Knockout In SFC, Advantage Who? - 6 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "There's optimism and then there is delusion. I've seen galway this year. And trust me dubs would wipe the floor with them , and I say that as someone who has always had a soft spot for galway football."
I presume you also think that Dublin will wipe the floor with Meath?

the_walls (National) - 29/06/2020 16:55:05

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To edd:  "please stop embarrassing yourself and all meath fans on here. talking about how successful you are? good god. this is a football forum. you genuinely seem to believe you are some kind of hoganstand celebrity? meath did not win the league i can confirm (sadly). i suggest you seek medical help or maybe just get a rattle and shake it. that should garner enough of the attention you are seeking so badly. Dubs by 6 on sunday but meath to put in a good performance to keep the momentum going into the super 8s. see where it takes us after that."
To be fair though if he was ever on a plane that was going to crash and there was only two parachutes, he really should get both in case one fails because he's so great!

the_walls (National) - 21/06/2019 14:54:12

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "And if I were you I'd be more Worried about Down than been on the homepage of a county you not playing, I don't venture onto any other county forum until a match."
This is one of the most ridiculous posts I've ever seen from you, and that's saying something because it has some very stiff competition. If this is genuinely your attitude (rather than some ham fisted "wind up") then it is no wonder that you have complete tunnel vision and only see the GAA as a whole through the prism of Meath GAA and nothing else. Of course I'm more worried about the Down game than Dublin v Meath but guess what, I'm not a player or part of the backroom team, me talking about counties or other games or interacting with other county fans on an anonymous internet discussion board won't make the slightest bit of difference to Mayo's or Down's performance. It also won't in any way affect my support of Mayo on Saturday evening. Believe it or not the match won't be determined in the slightest on whether I have a 100%, 24 hour a day focus on it in the week leading up to it. I like seeing what fans of other counties have to say, what their point of view is and all that type of thing. If you don't have any interest in anything else other than your own parochial corner of the GAA that is entirely up to you. I think it's pretty sad but as I say, your choice, but to use the fact that someone else might have an interest in the GAA as a whole as a stick to beat them with is bizarre to say the least. Enjoy your echo chamber.

the_walls (National) - 20/06/2019 08:11:14

Kildare V Mayo - 6 Like(s)
So far there has been a Roscommon man questioning Mayo's integrity and feels that Mayo had "a word" with HQ to get the game moved, despite having no evidence of this whatsoever, and two Galway men stating that Mayo should be ashamed of themselves despite being a totally innocent party in this whole sorry debacle and then throwing out the usual ridiculous character assassinations on people involved with Mayo GAA with things like "bottle", "losers", "backbone" and "no wonder they'll never win an All Ireland" like this issue has anything to do whatsoever with Mayo's ability or disability to win an All Ireland. Despite this I don't see them heaping shame upon Galway as a result of Galway not getting involved and stating they won't play their next game unless Kildare are allowed host Mayo in Newbridge, or calling on other counties to do the same. Why should the burden of solidarity be solely with Mayo, why shouldn't every other county have a similar burden? Once again, Mayo have done absolutely nothing wrong here! It seems to me that these individuals in our neighbouring counties have zero time for Mayo or Mayo GAA, see this as an opportunity to have go at Mayo while claiming the moral highground and simultaneously make out that Mayo is behaving immorally and shamefully. In my view, that is what is actually shameful and utterly pathetic, these individuals don't really care about justice for Kildare, it's just an easy stick to beat Mayo who, just to reiterate for a final time, have done nothing wrong! These individuals would want to have a seriously long look at themselves.

the_walls (National) - 26/06/2018 17:20:24

Keep The Dubs Fans Happy - 6 Like(s)

Replying To HEREBENJI:  "I see that the Mayo v Donegal game is only on Sky on Saturday so tough luck to any fans from those Counties that cant make it and dont have Sky. On the othe hand Dublin fans cant be expected to travel to Omagh (they dont even go to Croker these days) so their dead rubber game is live on RTE. The Dubs under 20's are also live on Saturday so Anto & Bud wont have to get out the map to figure out how to get to Portlaoise. Culchies only 2nd class citizens these days."
Absolutely ridiculous post.

the_walls (National) - 29/07/2019 21:13:14

Meath V Clare - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "If you can't dream it you'll never achieve it, if mayo had more belief in themvselfs rather then self pity then I'm sure they would of won some of them all Ireland's they left behind in recent years."
That's me told! It's amazing how themes like these just get repeated without thinking at all, like a parrot! No thought, just mindless repetition. It's also amazing how many lads on here when they don't like what someone has posted or disagree, just look at the county the person who made the comment is from and think of some cheap put down about that county, despite it having nothing whatsoever to do with the comment. Now believe it or not, I wasn't having a go at Meath. I was pointing out how absolutely mindless belief that your team (regardless of the team you support) WILL win every game they play, not that they can or are capable but WILL, with absolutely no rational basis to base that on, is ridiculous. Would you agree with that or would you subscribe to the royaldunne school of blind optimism? Do you think Meath WILL win Sam this year?

the_walls (National) - 04/07/2019 13:43:40

Who Are Dublins Challenger Now? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Meath are the challenge immediately for dubs. Highly disrespectful to look to anyone else."
Would you ever cop on, how is it disrespectful to wonder who is the most likely to ultimately topple Dublin. I think Meath will stop Dublin. Will beat them in Leinster Final, the Dubs will recover to reach the All Ireland Final where Meath will beat them by 30 points. Feel better now?

the_walls (National) - 17/06/2019 19:30:37

Mayo vs Roscommon - 5 Like(s)

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Mayo are great ild like to thank them for letting us play them on sunday, itll be great watching a team that won so much since 2011 in action there a formidable outfit."
Said without a hint of irony. There are plenty of posters saying Mayo have had their day and Roscommon will beat us. One of your countymen reckons Roscommon by 6+! Sure I could come out with an equally childish post and say what's the point of us showing up, especially considering we're playing the Connacht Champions and we're only the 3rd best team in Connacht! People in general really do only see the things they want to see. And just on a point of order, we've won a lot more than Roscommon since 2011.

the_walls (National) - 25/07/2017 08:21:49

Meath V Clare - 5 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "I will go to every game believing they will win. That clear enough? Also I except that it might not happen, but if you do not go into a game believing you going to win. You beat beforehand. Perhaps that is why mayo haven't won since 51, I don't know. But every supporter should go to a game to cheer on a victory, since 1975 I've missed about 3 championship games, about 5 league ones and a few obc. I have yet to go to a game thinking we will get beat."
The usual pathetic put down towards the county of the poster that you somehow thinks reinforces your point. If you believe something will happen, not that it could happen or even that there is a very high probability that it could happen, but that it WILL happen, then it makes absolute sense to also expect that it might not happen. If you are locked into an absolute position then you logically cannot also expect the opposite to happen. Of course every supporter should go to a game to cheer their team on to victory. There isn't a single person here who will disagree with that. Of course we all see through rose tinted glassed when it comes to our own teams, however most people have some realistic view of their own team. If you try to look at a game objectively and based on what you have weighed up, you think it more likely that the opposition will win, that does not make you less of a supporter as long as you hope you are totally wrong and are roaring and shouting your team on in the stands. For example say Wicklow play Dublin next year. It would be absolutely ridiculous if there was a Wicklow fella going around telling all and sundry not just that Wicklow have a chance, but that they are definitely going to win. That's not support of your team, it's just pure and utter delusion!

the_walls (National) - 04/07/2019 15:31:24

MONEY - 5 Like(s)
That was fairly incoherent. Was the OP drunk when he posted this?

the_walls (National) - 24/09/2019 15:17:17

Boycott Leinster Championship 2020 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Crinigan:  "Why are Dublin supporters even posting on this thread? This has nothing to do with Dublin GAA or Dublin fans. Ye can focus on playing with yourselves in Croke Park in front of John Horan, Bertie, Costelloe, Bailey and the lads. Do whatever ye want. Who cares. This thread is about a fair competition for Leinster football counties which will bring back crowds and the players who aren't interested in playing in a rigged competition. What Dublin do is their own business."
To say that a boycott of the Leinster Championship has nothing to do with Dublin GAA or Dublin fans is ridiculous. Even if your nonsense was correct, people are fully entitled to comment and form opinions on issues that do not directly affect their own counties.

the_walls (National) - 02/07/2019 12:06:50

Nobody Likes Us But We Don't Care. - 5 Like(s)

Replying To thegadfly:  "I really hope Tyrone followers don't embarrass themselves by bringing this banner to the Ulster final at the weekend. It's hard to fathom the mentality behind it. I believe Millwall soccer hooligans were the first one's to use it. I can only surmise that the majority of Tyrone men and women like myself cringe when they see it at the matches. I mean, would it be some sort of Britishness rubbing off on the younger folk because of the occupation of the six counties. If that's the case it's unfortunate. I hope it doesn't continue. As irish people we should be trying to distance ourselves from that type of attitude. It doesn't belong at GAA games. Let the hooligans across the water use slogans like that but don't let it into our games and our culture. There's no place for it here."
"I mean, would it be some sort of Britishness rubbing off on the younger folk because of the occupation of the six counties" Absolutely ridiculous and low attack on your fellow Irish and Ulster men and women. Imagine Cavan fans had some sort of a banner that I took exception to wondered aloud if it was because of Cavan's proximity to the border and by extension proximity to "British" influence. It would be equally as daft. You are flat out questioning the Irishness of Tyrone folk and folk from the rest of the 6, that they are in some way adopting British culture that the rest of us aren't. It's low, particularly coming from a GAA fan.

the_walls (National) - 28/07/2021 22:36:59

Mayo V Galway - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "True for you, the impression I got down there was that they hate Galway especially or even Roscommon when they are having a bit of success, arrogant £$&*% is how they come across to me, both on and off the field, I've been at games against Mayo and I can tell you a lot of these Mayo fans are not nice people when the games on anyway, doubt a lot of them are much different away from the football pitch either."
Yeah you're right there, to a man, woman and child we are all absolutely horrible people simply by virtue of the part of Ireland we come from. Ridiculous post and you really need to take a look in the mirror.

the_walls (National) - 08/07/2019 10:42:23

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 5 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "You ventured onto Meath homepage, I don't go near mayos. Now maybe that says something more about me than you. Should we play mayo this year. I'll be on your homepage, and by Jesus you will wish I wasn't Hon the royal"
"Now maybe that says something more about me than you." What does that even mean? You've literally addressed nothing that was put to you. Not going onto Mayo's page or any other counties page unless you are playing them is not some kind of virtue. If you have no interest in games not involving Meath or the perspective of fans around the country, that is fair enough. As I say, I think that is a really sad position to take but you are fully entitled to take it. But to imply that someone is in some way not fully committed to their county's cause or that you are somehow more of a proper fan of your county because you have zero interest in discussing games not involving your county or reading the views of other fans is a truly bizarre position to take. Even your last sentence, the clear implication is that you will be a nightmare to listen to on the Mayo pages if Meath play Mayo, your only intent being to upset Mayo fans. What sort of an attitude is that? You call yourself a GAA man but to me you are the very antithesis of GAA values. Genuine question, do you even watch other intercounty games not involving Meath?

the_walls (National) - 20/06/2019 13:44:48

Meath V Dublin - 5 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Dublin can only play what's in front of them kingdomboy I can remember Kerry dropping 13-14 behind the ball while being down by 5-6pts at the time against Dublin. Not sure what you'd call that.. you went with Robotic up above.. Well I'd call Kerrys antics idiotic.. Dubs rightly held the ball as the Kerry lads had no desire to try and take it off them. I mean why do any different? Now I'm sorry if that's hard for you to watch.. but that's the way Kerry setup.. just like almost all teams setup versus Dublin. Dublin just masterfully counter such rudimentary and outdated tactics. I'm not surprised you don't want to watch it :) Must be hard to watch alright. . Especially when your own inadequacies are so blatantly exposed."
100% agree. Lots of teams seem to try and keep their "shape" when they are 4 or 5 points down with time running out rather than taking a risking and forcing a turnover that they must get. The winning team passing the ball back and forth when literally no pressure is being put on them is doing exactly the right thing in terms of ensuring they win the game

the_walls (National) - 17/07/2021 18:50:38