Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from leitrim4sam

Shaving Foam For Frees - 9 Like(s)
Is it time to borrow another idea from soccer and get the referees to mark the spot where a free taker cannot go beyond with the shaving foam when a free is to be taken. So often the three taker steals a few yards and makes the angle better for himself and the kick ends up being taken from a completely different position than it should've been.

leitrim4sam (National) - 07/03/2023 17:25:21

Leitrim Senior Team - 7 Like(s)

Replying To RossiesRus:  "Good shout on Mulligan for manager,he is a born winner, one of the legends from the FBD winning team."
Posted this on another section but its relevant here too- Is there no moderators on hoganstand? Surely this above account should be suspended. Talking absolute nonsense about leitrim and doing pretty much everything to be elitist and patronizing towards us. Yes roscommon are going through a great spell lately competing in connacht finals and division 1 but it is no need to rub salt in the wounds of Leitrim. Multiple accounts and multiple split personalities talking to each other all from the one user. The rubbish being spouted is unbelievable. His posts are nothing other than mean spirited and sh1 t stirring. His constant barrage of comments on the leitrim forum are ruining what was a good honest forum full of insights, fun and good natured banter around GAA in leitrim. It's certainly ruining this page for me and I'm sure for others. This guy is a total loser and I know he doesnt represent the vast majority of roscommon people. Ignore him guys

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - 27/10/2020 19:24:44

Leitrim GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Thejampot:  "Any fine or pints deduction for mohill in the junior??"
Their junior team are only allowed 5 pints in O'Carolans this weekend. So a pint deduction is taking place

leitrim4sam (National) - 14/07/2023 14:51:00

GOAT - 4 Like(s)

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "The population thing isn't as relative as people make out. It doesn't matter if you have 30 players not on a county panel who are excellent footballers and would make any county team. Once a county has 30 good players they have competitive training sessions and competition for places, it drives the standard higher. If you have good underage structures, like Kerry at present you will produce quality seniors. Tyrone had 10 or 11 seniors off their 1997 and 1998 minor winning teams. If the structures are right counties should be able to produce 30 excellent gaelic footballers. Ireland have consistently beaten England in rugby in my living memory, 1983 on. Currently England can pick from a 750,000 rugby playing population and Ireland around 50,000. That's a 1 to 13 ratio. Cork, Kerry, Galway, Kildare, Meath, Donegal are not dealing with such odds vis a vis Dublin. How each senior club in a county can't provide 2 or 3 players for a county team and add in intermediate teams etc is beyond me. If these players are coached properly in all the skills from U6 up. You don't need 100 players of county standard, 25-30 at any time will do. I love the way Michael Murphy of Donegal described Dublin's dominance as a challenge. Fellas like himself and Lee Keegan never moan about population as they know it's a cop out. Even father's, uncles, older siblings can do a lot at home in developing a player..be it hurling or football. Skills drill, kick and puck arounds, shooting competitons and games with kids. If they have a ball or a hurl in their hands from a young age and stay playing the talented ones will come through. That's why we see so many sons and relatives of former players making it. James McCarthy, Dean Rock, Jack McCaffrey, Bernard Brogan etc are not the product of a 1.5 million population but heritage. Also as Tomas O'Se pointed out Donal Daly in Kerry is mostly responsible for their underage structures, it has nothing to do with money."
Read the following link on my own county and then tell me population and money isn't an issue http://www.leitrimgaa.ie/history/ A county with 24 clubs but yet 25000 people. A team produced in Leitrim for every 42 males within the ages of 18-32 in 5he county with a sponsorship of €20,000 a year for the inter county team. How can we compete with the likes of Dublin... its like asking kilmacud crokes to run 24 clubs and enter a team into the connacht championship and all ireland series, in terms of population it is anyway. Dublin with one club who has more teams playing and a bigger population than our entire county. .... Are they the GOAT or the most privileged GOAT...

leitrim4sam (National) - 03/09/2018 13:53:02

Dubs Back In Parnell Park? - 4 Like(s)
With covid restrictions is there any point in even having the final in Croke Park this year. Theoretically couldnt this game be played in almost any county ground. Give Kerry a neutral venue final in Tralee??

leitrim4sam (National) - 31/07/2020 21:41:56

Championship 2018 - 3 Like(s)
Congratulations Leitrim on a hard fought win. Brilliant stuff. Really people need to give Leitrim a lot of credit for this - the last few weeks all we heard about has been New York, New York, New York!! Every media outlet of radio, TV, online , newspapers had Interviews with NY's management, articles everywhere on Jamie Clarke it was on every sports bulletin about how NY were so confident this was their year, how they brought leitrim to extra time before, bringing up how close they were in years gone by to a win, how they beat corofin and Clarke was the man. The preview in the Sunday independent tipped NY to win and had only one line about Leitrim the rest was all about NY!! Disgraceful! (Really the NY management played the media quite well by using them to motivate their players and build a seige mentality around them - very clever) Now it's well documented how young Leitrim are and imagine you are a young footballer from Leitrim listening to this constantly and no media outlets giving u a breath.... then u go to NY and they go and score 1-4 in the first ten minutes to your solitary point. The mental resolve needed to come back from that there is outstanding and huge credit has to be given to all involved. I really believe this could be a massive turning point in this team's development. This was/is NY's cup final they put everything in to this- they played the media to get in to Leitrims head, they hit hard, they went 6 points up early on, they went 3 points up in the second period of extra time and yet we came back from all of these set backs. Credit where it's due - well done lads

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - 06/05/2018 23:31:57

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Congrats to Sligo and good luck in division 3. We just weren't good enough, extremely close but just short. Yes the referee had a shocker and some of his decisions were nonsense. Surely we should have had a second half penalty and every crazy decision that should have gone our way was punished by Sligo with a score like the sideline ball that Shane Quinn left and it was awarded to Sligo, Sligo got a score from it, Keith blatantly tripped up, sligo got a score from it and so on … but in all honesty and as bad as the ref was Sligo still had more than us they were fitter, stronger, faster and more intelligent on the ball. Some of their quick passing and ability to always have an option when inside our 45 was top class. Agree with previous poster about Paul Keaney and Donal Flynn. Keaney is obviously talented and his attitude and determination to win is excellent but he hasn't done anything when I've seen him in the green and gold to warrant a starting place. Was Donal Flynn playing today?? He was missing so much I'm expecting him to be on the side of a milk carton when I go shopping next!! Casey was a massive loss for us and was Ryan throughout the league. Is it true Ryan has walked in solidarity with Riordan??? Hopefully this is just a rumour. Leaving Keaney midfield with Dolan and Wrynn at full forward was madness. I know Andy switched it but it was too late. When Wrynn came out we took over. Barry McNulty looks the real deal, for an 18th year old at this level he looks sensational and Tom Prior had a stormer when he came on. Surely these two have to start in New York. The age profile of the squad looks good for the future and the younger players in that squad will surely be a step up again next year, hopefully we can push on in 2024 and go up. No one in the division next year is better than us if we stay together. The heart they showed today to never give up and almost nick it is commendable and I hope the team are not too despondent. What would concern me is that with Ross, mayo and Galway pushing on in Division 1, Sligo were always the team we could compete with lately but they have had our number the last few games we played. Now I know we pushed them all the way today but if they push on to division 2 we could be left completely behind in Connacht. Remember Sligo won the minor 2021 championship and was runner up in 2020. We haven't been in a final since 2002, 21 years ago. They are also the current under 20 champs. We always get the few God given talents and McNulty seems to be the next of them for us but we need some good learned and coached players coming through, if we don't start producing the goods soon underage then Connacht competitiveness is going further and further away.

leitrim4sam (National) - 26/03/2023 21:25:36

NFL Division 4 - 3 Like(s)
Fantastic footballing people in Leitrim, we deserve our day in croker and promotion so please God we will get it. The following is pulled from the Leitrim GAA website and even tho it is a few years old the numbers are more or less the same [bWhat makes Leitrim unique in Gaelic Football circles is not the County's achievements on the field but the high level of participation in the sport. Leitrim, the county with the smallest population of any of Ireland's 32 Counties, has the highest number of G.A.A. clubs and players, per capita, of any County in Ireland. Leitrim has 24 G.A.A. Clubs for a population of 25,057 (1996 Census) and 54 adult teams playing in 5 League divisions. If you consider that the number of males between the ages of 18 - 32 in the whole of County Leitrim is only 2310, that means there is a team produced for every 42 males of normal football playing age, resident in the County. Of course a proportion of these players are normally outside the County during the week and return at weekends. Not alone is this not matched by any other County in Ireland, but it is doubtful if any sporting organisation anywhere in the world could come close to this level of participation, it is an amazing achievement To think that we could be joining Cork in Division 3 next year is staggering given the scale of where we come from. Fair play to the Leitrim lads. They are amesome

leitrim4sam (National) - 25/02/2019 21:33:11

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To joeman123:  "I don't see anything wrong with it. What I find amusing Is the usual whingers on here trying to find fault with the setup before the first ball is kicked. We are a group of negative assholes constantly on this site finding fault with everything the management and players are doing. These group of players have have been working hard for months, including gym sessions since July.They did this without any expenses in the off season.Those that care are very proud of them. You might say what is wrong with the snide critical comment I referred to.? Basically it is implies the team lacks leadership. Does the stupid comment matter? Perhaps not but I worry that if players follow this forum they get a signal supporters are questioning their mettle and ability. I have looked at every other county page and I fail to find anywhere with as many totally negatively focussed contributors as this site."
Isn't every inter county footballer not working hard for months? Isn't every inter county player not doing gym sessions since July? Isn't every inter county player working flat out to improve themselves and their team. Leitrim are nothing above and beyond the call of duty here. Look I think it's fairly obvious here now that joeman123 is a member of the county board or management set up. Yes- we (genuine supporters are all behind Leitrim) but yes - look we have been in division 4 for the last past 16 years (bar one year) since limerick beat us in killmallock to relegate us in 2008 (John mckeon scored a point after the ref blew for half time that would have kept us up!!!!!!) We are starved of success, we support the lads financially and vocally, we are always there for them, we hope for the best for them, we are the eternal optimists. But results have to back our enthusiasm and personal input up. The real answers lie in reform of the club championships - make them more competitive- relegate current senior clubs to intermediate, relegate current intermediate clubs to junior and see the whole standard improve after 5-10 years- but sure hey let the club delegates for each club will do what's best for them not what's best for our county team. I've said it before - the only county without a Connacht club title at any level is us. And then we expect our inter county team to compete when everyone else is playing at a higher club standard. That's where the real problem lies

leitrim4sam (National) - 19/01/2024 19:58:22

Footballers 2018 Season - 3 Like(s)
Congratulations Carlow and well done. For me it seems like forever that Leitrim have been in division 4, but i can admit even i remember Leitrim playing in division 3, division 2 and even in division 1 back in the mid 90's when we were going well but always remeber Carlow in the lowest division. I can imagine this means so so much to the team and supporters who have struggled on for years with little reward. Successful counties can overlook these things but for counties like us this is massive. I will definately miss Carlow from division 4, we always had some great battles both home and away over the last few seasons with you guys, and some great banter with your fans too who were always classy. However definately the last two meetings between us you showed the class that got you promoted today and were on a different level Delighted for ye guys, the danger is complacency so dont stop now - keep on pushing upwards every year and every day. Would love to play you in division 3 someday. I have to admit I am very jealous of you today escaping the basement - it won't be the same wuthout you- all the best guys- fair play

leitrim4sam (Carlow) - 18/03/2018 23:10:32

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Seems like the Tipp/London game is fixed for Saturday at 7pm due to flight restrictions that London have. This has been stated on the record. This reason alone is having massive repercussions on the fixture schedule in the final round. Logic follows that the Leitrim/London game that was fixed for carrick but moved to mayo was moved to accommodate London flight schedules also. This is when the other games in the division were postponed due to an orange weather warning. If this is the case then the GAA need to take a hard look at London fixtures in the future, by all means include and accommodate them- but paramount is that all counties and teams are treated fairly.

leitrim4sam (National) - 24/03/2022 17:43:57

All Ireland Club Final, Kilmacud V Glen (Derry) - 2 Like(s)
I really think Glen could have won the game, but alas they couldn't afford the transfer fees required to win a club all Ireland that the Kilmacud super club were able to pay. Who will they add next year?? It's what our games are all about

leitrim4sam (National) - 22/01/2023 21:31:17

A huge huge achievement for Leitrim Gaa- beating Mayo at any level is huge, but beating them at under 20 level in championship is massive. I knew the Galway game our under 20s lost was not reflective of the scoreline or talent. Our u20s are capable of winning the rest of their group games and the title. Great to see. We'll done to Andy and the boys on a fantastic result

leitrim4sam (National) - 03/04/2024 19:50:13

County Panel 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To FoolsGold:  "His father is a Roscommon man apparently. Mulligan was deflated when leitrim were drawn with roscommon in championship. He will be more so now."
Michael Beirne is a Leitrim man, born and reared in Eslin. As far as I am aware of Keith has absolutely no Roscommon connections. Still believe this is all a hoax of some sort

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - 11/12/2018 15:44:17

County Amalgamations - 2 Like(s)

Replying To RossiesRus:  "Honest question, should the likes of Leitrim and Sligo amalgamate? They might be able to become more competitive then against the top 3 in the province, it would surely be a good thing? Would like to hear your thoughts."
Is there no moderators on hoganstand? Surely this above account should be suspended. This question he has put is nothing other than total patronising and an attempt to convey a feeling of superiority over teams in division 4. Yes roscommon are going through a great spell lately competing in connacht finals and division 1 but it is no need to rub salt in the wounds of Leitrim or Sligo. His posts are nothing other than salt rubbing in wounds, mean spirited and sh1 t stirring. His constant barrage of comments on the leitrim forum are ruining what was a good honest forum full of insights, fun and good natured banter around GAA in leitrim. It's certainly ruining this page for me and I'm sure for others. This guy is a loser and I know he doesnt represent the vast majority of roscommon people. Ignore him guys

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - 27/10/2020 19:21:18

Division 4 - National League - 2 Like(s)
Team is announced. Hyland has made some big calls some i don't agree with certinaly. He has gone with McCrann in goals which is very tough on McKiernan after he plaed in every game up to when promotion was achieved, strting Mark PLunkett in midfield where hasn't played all year, maybe Dean will be midfield and plunlett revert to centreback with Quinn or McWeeney as sweeper. Starting Mulligan again played no games up to after promotion achieved although i do think he adds a lot to the team. No Jack Heslin although maybe he is not fully fit. Darragh Rooney has had limited game time in league although has shown to play well, i would have prefered to see Dolan and Gary Plunkett in the attack for Rooney and Sweeney again very harsh on Dolan for a young playerwho played the whole league to miss out. Team for final is: 1 Cathal McCrann 2 Aidan Flynn 3 Micheal McWeeney (Captain) 4 Paddy Maguire 5 Sean McWeeney 6 Shane Quinn 7 Raymond Mulvey 8 Mark Plunkett 9 Shane Moran 10 Dean McGovern 11 Emlyn Mulligan 12 Domhnaill Flynn 13 Darragh Rooney 14 Evan Sweeney 15 Ryan O Rourke

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - 28/03/2019 13:50:46

Lads we could have Jim Gavin managing us we still wouldn't be winning. Slating Andy and calling for a change of manager is simply not calling it as it is. The fact is that the standard of club football in the county is amongst the poorest in the country. The players available to the management are behind all other counties in skill levels, fitness levels, intelligence on the ball systems of play etc…. etc… If Andy and Solan were managing Mayo then they would be flying it. So stop blaming the manager. People blame Stephen Kenny when Ireland don't win, the guy has donkeys to play for him. He is doing his best the next manager has the same. Stephen Kenny's replacement will do no better until the FAI start processes to produce better players. I was at the game on saturday and the biggest thing to stand out to me was how physical Fermanagh were. Their lads were huge and fast - bullying our boys off the ball, swatting them away like flies. When on the ball Fermanagh were composed- they always had two or three options available to everyone in possession. Very composed assured players that seemed so comfortable on the ball. I can't put my finger on it but they were smarter, more intelligent on the ball. Look at our club scene- players and clubs plodding away going through the motions. Some clubs with players 10+ years past their prime and are still the best in the squad. Slow cumbersome play in all games. Don't believe me- look at the Connacht club champs. We are the only county with no club title at any level. In the senior championship kiltubrid beat standhill in 2005 and it took us 9 years to get another win when Aughawillan beat Tubbercurry in 2014. Have we had a win since then? If not, then that would make it 1 win in 17 years in the senior club champ. Mirroring the inter county set up?? Our clubs look good in Leitrim champs and then get destroyed outside of them. Galway, mayo and ross teams dominate the Connacht club champs at all levels. What Connacht counties are all in division 1?? Does no one see a relationship here. Good club scene = good county team. Intermediate and junior clubs we send to Connacht are the same, constantly beaten. Our club scene is so far behind other Connacht counties that we are behind because of that. Expecting a manager like Andy or anyone else to come in and make these players better, play better be smarter is madness. The Fermanagh players will be playing more skillfull, fitter, stronger, smarter and conditioned players in their club games, as will Sligo, Roscommon players and all the rest Improve the clubs, make better quality club teams and club championship. The rest will follow

leitrim4sam (National) - 21/05/2023 20:33:24

Leitrim's Allianz League campaign - 2 Like(s)
Great to hear Paddy Maguire has rejoined the panel. Massive addition for the rest of the season. His return cannot be underestimated. I really believe that inexperience cost us the game last weekend, if we had a few old heads there like Wayne McKeon or Paddy they could have made the difference. Our young squad competed tooth and nail last weekend though, which bodes very well for the future (and for our upcoming under 21 championship) and they really have some serious potential. Leitrim need to try and keep this squad together and develop them both physically and experience wise. Even if promotion is not achieved this year, if we keep the group together it surely will be achieved within a season or two. The turnover of players that we have had year on year is simply unsustainable for any county never mind ours. We seem to be starting every year with a vastly new squad and competing with teams that have been together and developed over a number of seasons. Leitrims time is now to take this fresh young squad and run with them as a long term plan, get them bigger, stronger, fitter, more confident and more experience with a few quality additions year on year as needed

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - 14/02/2017 14:18:29

Football Clubs Per County - 2 Like(s)
Leitrim has 23 clubs running out of a population similar to Navan. I remember this on the Leitrim gaa website from the 1996 census " If you consider that the number of males between the ages of 18 - 32 in the whole of County Leitrim is only 2310, that means there is a team produced for every 42 males of normal football playing age, resident in the County" Quite astounding

leitrim4sam (National) - 12/10/2023 21:27:10

National League 2018 - 2 Like(s)
Oh good God - this is embarrassing - we have without a doubt the worst team and worst management in ireland and will have the worst team entering the all ireland championship this year IMO. I think everone is to blame- players , the players who won't play, management, coaching staff, county board, the neglect of proper underage supporters for decades, us as supporters and club members for not changing things sooner, our club members who won't change things at board convensions. It's getting harder and harder to keep the faith and support the boys, embarrased every week while all our neighbouring counties seem to be flying it, donegal, fermanagh, cavan, longford, roscommon, sligo all around us operating in higher divisions and winning and here's us in the middle of them all continuously failing, continuously and inevitably losing and doing nothing about it. The acceptance of mediocrity we as a county have is extraordinary, accept mediocrity and move on - thats us. What changes after this (our 3rd loss in a row in div 4 badly to carlow) disaster in carlow? Do the boys and management go to training and accept it and repeat again against limerick and everyother team? My guess is yes - because it keeps happening every week year after year!! So they must! Every other county is moving on and we seem to be constantly stuck in a rut, destined to lose and fail. Losing have a panel and febuilfing year after year. For God's sake will it ever change - make a change now or lose to new york without a doubt. Enough of this. The best we can hope for in new york looks like a good fundraiser amongst some wealthy Leitrim ex pats to pay for a top manager next year, that would be a start in the right direction, thats the best we can hope at the moment because i can't see us winning. Think this beating by Carlow is bad and embarrassing- wait until New York whip us! I hope some county board, management or players read this. Enough with the mediocrity and change something because obviously what's going on now and the past years is useless , what you are doing is completly useless

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - 10/02/2018 18:51:34