Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from offyertrolley

This is not Kerry football - 14 Like(s)
Replying to westkerry Re: Most of them come from counties that could kick snow of a rope. Dear wk, just to note, when you decide to use cliches or platitudes in a condescending manner towards the less successful counties, would you at least quote the blinking things correctly, as in: 'they couldn't [or could not] kick snow off [not of] a rope!' Coming from one of the aforementioned counties that you are inferring by your remark, I, like many, have always looked up to Kerry football, and the panache (not always) that they are renowned for. This year was not a vintage year by Kerry standards, and not today, by any means. Donaghy's 'throwing the toys out of the pram' so to speak, at the end, was something I'm sure he'll look back on with regret. I felt it demeaned the fine traditions of the Kerry jersey. Where I come from we're used to condescension from many counties, but you know what, we suck it up and get on with it. Your team is not above reproach, and today it was certainly not above criticism, on many levels. I have no doubt Kerry will be back sooner rather than later, and producing scintillating football as well, in contrast to the team I take pride in following. So, in the meantime, I suggest to you 'suck it up', and try to use your platitudes in the correct manner in future, or you'll end up with 'egg on your face', just like Donaghy.

offyertrolley (National) - 26/08/2017 20:55:14

Kerry v Mayo - 5 Like(s)
Well done to Mayo. Delighted for ye. Disappointed with the lack of character displayed by Kerry. There is no dishonor in defeat if you carry yourself with dignity. Mayo have always done so throughout these past seven years, as did Dublin in the years prior to their dominance. But Kerry today, for all their so-called 'pedigree' failed to do so, which was epitomized by Donaghy's rather cowardly reaction at the end. Take your defeat son... in the same way you accepted the plaudits when you were victorious. Best of luck Mayo in the final, you are a credit to yourselves and the province.

offyertrolley (National) - 26/08/2017 19:38:44

Sean Cavanagh Kerry Fans Dogs/Animals - 4 Like(s)

Replying To blueshirt1:  "This coming from a lilly langer jesus wept it would be like cobh ramblers supporter proferring a critique on Barcelona"
Your logic implies that because the supporter is loyal to a smaller, less successful team then that individual's views on the game are invalid. Are you also implying that everyone who follows Barcelona is therefore an expert? It's pretty obvious what you're driving at. Is this the kind of condescending attitude that Mr Cavanagh was alluding to? A strange ideology, but you're a definitely a blue shirt.

offyertrolley (National) - 12/07/2019 11:23:44

This is not Kerry football - 4 Like(s)
Replying to westkerry

Really? Get over yourself. You made your point quite clearly, and if you had omitted that condescending little swipe you chose to add, then there would not have been any post from me. I stated my admiration for Kerry football as have a lot of people on here. And the general consensus is that they were poor today. But you very deliberately chose to insert that cliche to convey a very specific image of the limitations of other county teams, in general, which clearly reflects your attitude. Your words, not mine. Now, you chose to make that swipe, not in a verbal exchange, but through the medium of text. Yet, you managed to mangle that sarcastic little swipe so badly that you left yourself open to a little ridicule. I too, quite clearly have limitations with my grammar, so be it. The point was not about English grammar, but dignity in defeat. Don't start 'poor mouthing'. You are from the most successful footballing county on the island. Your whingeing is akin to one of those rich bankers complaining about the recession! It happens to us all. I stand by my original point.

offyertrolley (National) - 26/08/2017 23:52:25

Jim Gavin Steps Down - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Fionn:  "Yeah whatever you say man.. It amuses me to think that I don't even need to be logged into HS to be bothering you.. More silly unfounded conspiracy nonsense About all you're capable of contributing You're being called out and this is all you have to say... dear oh dear Whatever you say ya daft brush.. lol"
Haha... I like that Fionn. Took me a moment to get it though...

offyertrolley (National) - 03/12/2019 19:02:20

Kimmage rant at Jim Gavin - 3 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ahh aul Kimmage Exposes one man doping While every other cyclist was at it at the same time Yeah you're a hero!!"
Jimbo, by all means take Kimmage to task for the rant against Gavin. I agree, it was a pointless exercise. But I think its unfair to ridicule him for the stance he took in whistleblowing against the drug culture in cycling. Would you ridicule the Garda whistleblowers for the stance they took in their profession? It took balls for Kimmage to do what he did, particularly at the time that he did so. Yes, most if not all were at it, which made it even more difficult for him to expose what was going on. And he paid a heavy price for doing so at the time when they all closed ranks against him. As have the Garda whistleblowers suffered similarly. By all means attack and ridicule Kimmage what he said last Sunday, but separate your anger towards him (and his demeanour last Sunday) from the honest and brave stance that he took in tackling a very serious issue in sport, at an earlier time in his career. Anyway, Jimbo, congrats on the double All-Ireland. I do enjoy your comments normally. This minor retort is very much the exception.

offyertrolley (National) - 26/09/2017 14:22:19

Case Study: Longford Football To Connaught? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  "Will there be a benefit to Longford in joining the Connaught Championship? At the moment they need to win 3 games to make a Leinster final. If they moved to Connaught, they might favour their chances of making the provincial semi-finals."
I'm not sure what side of the political divide you come from but west of the Shannon we play in the Connacht Championship, not some anglo colonial variant.

offyertrolley (National) - 29/07/2019 13:23:20

Heartbreak for Mayo once again - 3 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's what happens when you put amiteures against professionals. Hard luck Mayo and well done to the GAA."
Wow! Kerry gain a fine victory and that's how you celebrate it, with a juvenile outpouring of bitterness? Astounding! Keep sucking your lemons boy.

offyertrolley (National) - 17/09/2017 20:21:49

Dublin V Cork Super 8S - 2 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "https://www.google.com/amp/s/galwaydaily.com/news/galway-sets-record-e1-8-million-spend-on-county-inter-county-teams/amp/ While Baire spent his Sunday poor mouthing.... How much of advantage was all that money Galway spent last year? Galway spending over every other county.. poor aul Leitrim"
Steady on Jimbo. That was uncalled for. If your problem's with Galway what's with the swipe at Leitrim? Leave us out of your little tête-à-tête with the cool Baire.

offyertrolley (National) - 15/07/2019 13:40:36

Bizarre Incidents - 2 Like(s)

Replying To realdub:  "Meath beating Dublin in 2010 :D"
ouch! A tad patronizing that one.

offyertrolley (National) - 08/07/2019 19:47:57

Cavan V Donegal - USFC Final 2019 - 2 Like(s)
Well Done yesterday guys. Great to see the Breifne boys back. Looking forward to a great Ulster Final.

offyertrolley (Cavan) - 10/06/2019 22:31:17

Dublin V Cork Super 8S - 2 Like(s)

Replying To realdub:  "Correct and right!"
Actually, I didn't mean it literally.

offyertrolley (National) - 13/07/2019 21:45:51

Winter Waffle - 2 Like(s)
Well done to both Kilcummin and Beaufort. There's great heart and character in both teams. They're having some right titanic battles on these runs as well. Best of luck to both of them in their respective finals.

offyertrolley (Kerry) - 20/01/2019 17:30:03

Sean Cavanagh Kerry Fans Dogs/Animals - 2 Like(s)

Replying To blueshirt1:  "[quote=offyertrolley:  "[quote=lilylanger:  "We were the last team to win an all ireland outside of Dublin Well whoop di do! Fair play."
Haha, well whoop di do indeed!"]If I were you I would be more concerned about the your own counties short comings than preoccupying yourself with mine. Oh and by the way disdainful comments like yours equate to condescension, ergo pot/kettle and all that. You're like the lad who is a jack Russell thinking he is a Dobermann, all noise, if you pardon the analogy, ironic given the title of the thread"]Haha, Call me a dog if you wish. Different words, same blue shirt ideology. The criticism of your attitude still stands though It is a deluded bigoted condescension. Disdainful? Whoop di do! I found the other poster's comment humorous. And I know precisely where my own county stands in the pecking order. I'm not under any illusions about that. Even if it was only promotion from division four for us this year it was a wonderful experience. You're sitting at the top table permanently, yet all you do is whinge and whine. It's quite comical. But your attitude stinks.

offyertrolley (National) - 12/07/2019 13:33:52

Stephen Cluxton 100 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To realdub:  "Ah jaysus boy you're scraping the barrel now with your jibes, seriously though, what do you actually think of him?"
What I particularly admire about Cluxton is the way he has developed over the years. I remember back in 03 against Armagh in the qualifiers. He got sent off and I thought he's just a head case. A very talented goalkeeper, but a loose cannon who could be a liability for his team. He has definitely matured into one of the modern greats. No doubt about that.

offyertrolley (National) - 04/06/2019 12:56:44

Kerry V Dublin - 2 Like(s)
An enjoyable match. Compelling if not a classic. I thought the Dubs would dig out the draw or even sneak a win. But fair play to Kerry, they held their nerve at the end. Interesting to read the reactions to it. The outcome far more important for Kerry than for Dublin. A lot of doubters in the kingdom will be reassured by that win. They've put in far more work early on for the league this year than previously. I expect they are probably missing a few from Dr Crokes/Kilcummin as well? And the possibility of a return, too, of Darth V... sorry, Diarmuid Connolly, is absolutely tantalising. However, enough signs to suggest that the Dubs will likely win a second meeting between these sides later in the summer. But a second defeat for the Dubs maybe also gives just enough to suggest that the five-in-a-row might not be so inevitable. Interesting times ahead.

offyertrolley (National) - 10/02/2019 11:08:42

Donegal Have The Friendliest Supporters In The Country - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Donegalman:  "Leitrim fans. I came across them in a back door game 12 years ago in Carrick. Great people. They waved us home through villages of south county leitrim as we drove to Manorhamilton. Havent seen the likes of this in a long while before or after. Same in 2013 when we played laois there. They were very friendly and as excited about the game as we were. More games around the country like this please."
Ahh Donegalman, I was at that match. It was one of the few matches I shed tears at! A great match. One of the most spectacular goals I have ever seen was scored in the match. We didn't begrudge ye the win but we were heartbroken at the end. One of our biggest 'might have beens'. We have a huge amount of time for Donegal, particularly in North Leitrim. When ye won in 92 I think most of us went in to Sligo train station to greet the team on its return. Great memories.

offyertrolley (National) - 17/07/2019 23:37:57

Tailteann Cup 2022 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Rolo2010:  "Or by just getting a draw and having a better scoring difference. It's a bad format which takes the intensity out of the group stage. The hurling round robin works because you only have half the teams advancing. Tipp, Waterford, and Dublin are all out."
I disagree. I think it's worth trying out. In Munster it's three out of five. In Leinster it's three out of four - neither Westmeath nor Laois at the moment have any prospect of breaking into the top three.

offyertrolley (National) - 29/05/2022 15:00:56

Winter Waffle - 1 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya Tuam is a bit of a trek all right the hermit, it's practically in Mayo and is about 30 miles further on from Galway city from what I remember, that's like Donegal taking us all the way to ballybofey for matches as well and would be semilar to us taking teams to kenmare for a game, it's bad form . Also I haven't heard why PK didn't enter the McGrath cup , he probably thinks he'l get as much from A v B games plus it saves a bit of dosh as well."
Gents, in relation to travelling to Tuam it's not as far as ye think. It's around 3 hours from Tralee - 90 mins from Adare with motorway all the way. It's an easy drive and far easier than making your way into Salthill through Galway city traffic.

offyertrolley (Kerry) - 06/01/2019 14:48:07

Qualifiers 2019 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "[quote=Forgodssakeref:  "[quote=moesyzlack:  ". "I would like to see Terry shake his management team up" Agree 100%.I'd like to see him try and get someone like Adian Rooney on board.I don't see terry hanging round for too many years so it would be good to have someone there to take over when he departs and have some continuity. At the same time we need to sort out our underage structures or we'll never win anything."
Unbelievable Last year we were also rans in D4. This year the lads gave us a spring to remember, a brilliant day on croker where we ran Derry to a few points, won a qualifier for only the third time ever and generally restored pride and respectability. Yet all I se on some posts is negativity. Got Gods sake will we give the manager and his team a chance to reflect on 2019 and build for next year Leitrim are currently a work in progress and if anything we over achieved this year. So let's settle down and see what the club championship throws up"]Well said. What a bunch of moaners, conspiracy theorists and all round negativity. The snide remarks about Emlyn Mulligan is typical of the attitude of posters who are generally a small unrepresentative group that real supporters just laugh at and like me don't take too much here very seriously. You can be certain the the much aligned members of the Co Board don't pay attention to this forum so keep talking rubbish to yourselves!"]I'll second that! It has been a positive year. The main goal was achieved with a style we have not been accustomed to lately. And if the team got a bit of luck in some games, it was well earned. The performances in the championship were disappointing but in Roscommon and Clare they came up against superior teams. Hopefully what was learned in those matches will stand to the lads next spring. The priority remains the league, that's where the realistic goals are to be achieved for the foreseeable future. Based on the performances against Roscommon and Clare I'm not overly confident of the prospects in Div three, but I'm certainly looking forward to that challenge next spring.

offyertrolley (Leitrim) - 27/06/2019 21:16:45