Kerry Forum

Popular Posts from Kerry15

Was Joey Barton Correct When He Said Woman Should Not Discuss Mens Sport - 8 Like(s)
I don't think any of the female pundits in either GAA or soccer are good. Yes there are bad male pundits as well which is the number one counter argument but there are also some very good ones which is the key difference. Some of best pundits in my opinion are Tomas O'Se, Peter Canavan, Anthony Daly, James O'Donoghue, Gary Neville, Roy Keane and Jamie Carragher. For various reasons I never see a woman reaching that level as a pundit in the men's game. I don't have a problem with female presenters but I prefer male commentators as well. Ladies sport should have all female pundits and men's sports all male pundits, simple and makes sense, no one should be able to be offended or outraged if that was the case.

Kerry15 (National) - 12/12/2023 10:20:16

Cathal McShane Going To The AFL? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Would Donegal have won an allireland without Murphy? Or a better 1, would Derry have won the 93 allireland without Tohill?"
Exactly that's it. It's great saying we only lose 0.0 whatever percent of players but the players we are losing are the players in the top 1 percent of players in the country and the top 5 percent of inter county. It changes things drastically. If a club who are close to winning a county championship lose their best player then they are much less likely to win the championship, same with county teams.

Kerry15 (National) - 08/01/2020 17:27:33

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 5 Like(s)
The GAA are dead right to question that decision. It is totally illogical and will do nothing to decrease the numbers of cases. It'd make you wonder do these experts have any cop on at all.

Kerry15 (National) - 19/08/2020 11:37:57

Sunday Game Football Team - 5 Like(s)
The Sunday Game Football team of the last 40 years as decided by a public vote: 1. Stephen Cluxton 2. Marc O'Sé 3. Seamus Moynihan 4. Paidí O'Sé 5. Tomas O'Sé 6. Lee Keegan 7. Jack McCaffrey 8. Jack O'Shea 9. Brian Fenton 10. Diarmuid Connolly 11. Peter Canavan 12. Pat Spillane 13. Colm Cooper 14. Michael Murphy 15. Maurice Fitzgerald Thoughts?

Kerry15 (National) - 15/05/2020 16:10:45

Galway V Mayo Connacht Final - 5 Like(s)
Galway must be sickened. They didn't play well at all but still could easily have won it. Near the end, Galway were denied a stone wall tap over free when Keith Higgins misjudged a short kick out and then proceeded to climb on top of the Galway player when he was picking it up and the ref gives a free out. That point was the difference in the end. Shane Walsh, Conroy and Sean Kelly can be happy with their performances but apart from those 3 no one really played well for Galway.

Kerry15 (National) - 15/11/2020 15:35:34

HS Readers' Football Team Of The Year - Revealed - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Kepak10:  "Keoghan for McCarthy.......he was injured for half Dublin games.Poor in the drawn final, average in the replay."
Ya McCarthy definitely doesn't deserve an all star. If he gets one it will be based on how he has played in the past which shouldn't come into it.

Kerry15 (National) - 04/10/2019 21:52:23

Kerry National League 2020 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Ah Jesus, what have we started, here back to reality the two primary danger men are Comer on the 40 and Shane Walsh inside I take it Foley will go on Walsh with Crowley on Comer ya?"
Or else Morley could be on Walsh. Although Walsh is very quick so Foley might be better suited and it is about time he is tasked with a big job in the opposition's main forward to see how much he has developed.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - 31/01/2020 18:05:49

HS Readers' Football Team Of The Year 2020 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To brian:  "Easy to see there's a lot more Cavan posters on here with getting three on the team. Ray Galligan is a certainty for goalkeeper and Thomas Galligan will likely get a spot too (even though i don't think he's worthy, that's just me) but a third one is surely stretching it a bit. From the way the defenders was going I half expected they'd get a 4th with Ciaran Brady."
All 3 are fully deserved. The 2 Galligans are certainties for me while Faulkner is a very fair selection in the full back line. The full back line is the line where there is the least amount of strong candidates so putting Faulkner in there who had a great Ulster championship and held his own against Dublin is a good choice.

Kerry15 (National) - 13/01/2021 17:51:15

Off Season Discussions Thread - 4 Like(s)
My team based on a mixture of a ability as a minor and the Senior they've become or still have potential to be: Ryan Foley Okunbor TO'Sullivan Beaglaoich DO'Brien White MO'Connor PO'Shea DO'Connor O'Shea Moynihan DO'Sullivan Clifford Spillane DBurns DMcCarthy GO'Sullivan DO'Donoghue Kearney BMahony EHoran DRahilly Burns DGeaney RBeaglaoich Shaw There's 27 real serious quality players there, and the minors from 2019 and 2020 had some outstanding players as well so we'll certainly have a great pick going forward.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - 12/03/2021 10:21:53

All Ireland Championship 2019 - 4 Like(s)
https://news.paddypower.com/gaa/2019/07/08/mahony-kerry-bullied-mayos-galacticos/

Kerry15 (Kerry) - 08/07/2019 17:19:31

Kerry National League 2020 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "We seem to have the makings of a side strong in all areas lads. The question is should we be looking to simply secure D1 status and experiment as much as possible or should PK go out to win the League and give this young side a taste of National silverware and winning a final in Croker. It was great experience getting to the League final last year and we improved so much between then and Sept as to have left an AI behind us. I'd say go for the League and use that as a stepping stone to Sam"
I think we can try to do both. Try a few new players and players in new positions in each game while still going out to win every game. Looking at our competition of making the final I can only really see ourselves and 3 other teams being in the mix to make the final. Dublin, Mayo and Galway under new management. The others won't be as strong in the league I think. Donegal are missing a few key players (McBrearty is abroad and will miss the whole league, I think Murphy might miss part of it too). Tyrone will be missing their two best forwards while Meath and Monaghan are probably the two weakest counties in the division although maybe I'm being a bit harsh on Monaghan.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - 15/01/2020 13:46:41

Spillane's All Ireland 15 - 4 Like(s)
https://m.independent.ie/sport/columnists/cluxton-in-goal-clifford-up-front-and-gavin-at-the-helm-my-team-of-gaelic-football-galacticos-39177132.html Can someone with a subscription to the Irish Independent post up Pat Spillane's 1 to 15?

Kerry15 (National) - 03/05/2020 21:11:51

Lads did ye hear the great news about Tony Brosnan? He actually will be available to Kerry for both league and championship as it was a collapsed lung and not a punctured lung as reported. I'm looking forward to seeing what he can do at county level. Also saw in the Kerrys Eye new players have been brought into the panel. I wonder who could have been brought in? Joe O'Connor of Stacks, Dan O'Donoghue of East Kerry and Mike Breen of Mid Kerry are the only possibilities that I can think of who could be good enough.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - 19/09/2020 13:45:30

Replying To TheHermit:  "On the star quality point Gerry, I think that it's more of a case of a lot of players coming through onto the team have not been given the chance yet to show they have that kind of talent given their youth, the impact of the Covid breaks etc. I believe there are several players in this panel who in the next 3-4 years of development will evolve into real quality. Gavin White should be a prime example of this in my opinion."
Totally agree. When this team wins their first All Ireland a lot of them will be talked about as the best in the country. I wouldn't say we're lacking in "star quality".

Kerry15 (Kerry) - 15/04/2021 16:11:37

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Jack has nt been called into Kerry panel to my knowledge."
Definitely worth a look and exposure to the Senior panel. Dan O'Donoghue the same. Hard to understand why they're not on there. I make out we've only 11 backs on the panel which isn't even enough for an A vs B game when everyone is injury free.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - 15/04/2021 16:14:03

A Winter Of Discontent: Post Championship Thread - 4 Like(s)
I thought the Dubs looked beatable today. I think it's clear to see Farrell is a big step down from Jim Gavin and McDaid, Bugler and Small are a big step down from McCaffrey, Howard and Mannion. When you factor in how close we were last year and the possible inclusion of Mark O'Connor, I do think we could have toppled Dublin. Immaterial now of course. Looking to next year, I think we can field a 15 and subs that are as good as Dublin, maybe even better, skill wise anyway. But the question is can we match their athleticism, structure, balance, strategy and in game management. It's up to us to take them down, the only other possibility I see is Tyrone if their new management team is good. I believe we will beat them soon and I do see All Irelands coming our way in the next number of years.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - 19/12/2020 23:29:27

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "We will have to see how it goes Hermit, I've been a big defender of Moran over the years and I do think he has been much better for Kerry than many give him credit for, but I wonder is it better to be bringing him in for the final 25 minutes now, or is he still the best option to start? Barry is an excellent #2 midfielder, a bit injury prone unfortunately for him, but I really like him when he is fit and going well. I like all the guys in the half back line individually but as a unit they lack physicality for me, especially if White and Murphy are both starting. Bringing one of Morley or Tom O'Sullivan out would be ideal but I don't think it's an option unless they find other guys for the full back line. Tom isn't a big man but he is as tough as they come, would love to see him in the half back line where he plays his best football. It's about putting all the pieces together and playing to your strengths as HB says, hopefully they figure it out and get back to where they want to be."
We missed Barry against Cork. He is a nailed on starter for me. He has limitations but he is a strong presence as well as mobile. One thing about him is you could never say his man beat him. I wouldn't really have the same concerns about White and Murphy in the half back line together. Murphy is as aggressive as anyone in the country while White has got stronger and is about 6 foot. If Morley is chosen at 6, Gavin Crowley is a great option at wing back as well especially if the team we're playing have a very physical half forward line like Donegal. I'd disagree on Tom O'Sullivan. I think he's better in the full back line. His ability to completely blot out his opponent is remarkable and shouldn't be underestimated. For me he's the best corner back in the country along with McMenamin from Donegal. He's fantastic at attacking but he can still do that to an extent from corner back. Him and Murphy bin the same half back line would be lacking in height way too much for me and both are undroppable. The key thing for Peter Keane is getting the balance right between attack and defence. If we can hold our own defensively in a way that allows our attack to make hay then we're in a great position. It's about picking 3 out and out inside forwards along with at least 2 of our half forward line being regular scorers or creators. When we do have to bring men back we need to leave at the very least 2 forwards up to allow us attack quickly which we haven't been going in most games. I believe we can put together a back six that are all very very good individually combine that with 8-15 tackling well and we're not doing too badly at all. I really hope we see us at our best going forward this year because we have the ability to destroy teams.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - 17/04/2021 20:46:29

When they initially announced the league fixtures however many months ago we had 2 home games 1 definitely against Dublin and I'm not sure was the other against Galway or Roscommon. It makes no sense to me why that has changed now? All going very well we'll have 10 games in 20 weeks which is a good ratio for the panel although I thought there would be much less rest weeks. 10 seems a lot.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - 09/04/2021 11:47:11

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Was not trying to sleight any of the players on the panel. I agree there are several lads that can get there, let's hope this is the year they take that step. Lads like Foley, White, Barry, Crowley should be entering their prime now."
Oh I know that, it wasn't a bad comment in that way at all. I can see where you're coming from a bit. Dublin have Kilkenny, Fenton, O'Callaghan, Cluxton, McCarthy, Fitzsimons and Howard. Our comparitive 7 would probably be Clifford, O'Shea, Geaney, O'Brien, Tom O'Sullivan, Morley and Murphy. I don't think there's too much of a gap there really.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - 15/04/2021 20:18:31

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Brian Leonard a defender and Eddie Horan is versatile. Played CB for minors. Foley Morley Tom Sullivan Murphy Gavin and Pete Crowley White Sherwood G. O Sullivan B. O Beaglaoi. Yeah 11 or 12 including Horan Room for Dan ó Donoghue or Dan Mccarthy or Brian Maguire"
Eddie Horan is a forward only. He has been moved around before but to questionable success. He won't be playing in the backs for the Kerry Seniors that I'm sure of. Hopefully Dan McCarthy will be back from his cruciate and be able to play a prominent role for the u20s.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - 15/04/2021 20:21:28