Galway Forum

Popular Posts from The_DOC

Should Galway GAA be split into 4 - 6 Like(s)
Hi All, Just wondering what the thoughts are on splitting Galway in 4 to make it a level playing field for other counties? Galway's sheer dominance of both code over the last few months have left the majority of the country annoyed at the glaring disparigy when it comes to Galway V's the rest of Ireland. Many reports suggest that the sunny weather and allure of the Spanish Arch has drawn an population increase to the county. Should the GAA HQ and Connacht Council look to divide the counties bubbling line of talent to ensure a level playing field for other counties by: Football (Galway are now Connacht Seniors football champs, won the FBD 2 years in a row, U.21 champs and minor league champs): - Divide the footballers into 2 and have maybe an over 25s and under 25s play as separate teams in the championship? - Another alternative would maybe be 'townies' and country lads play as separate teams in the championship? Hurling (Galway now in the league final after just having a laugh and a bit of craic in 1b for the last few months) - Divide Galway teams into two maybe based on lads who hurl with even inch hurls (i.e 32, 34's) and lads who hurl with odd numbers (31's, 33.s etc.) - Of course another suggestion is also that two Galway teams could be made up of lads with farms and lads who work in cusshy office/teaching jobs

The_DOC (National) - 18/04/2017 08:22:52

The big match: Galway V Wexford 19th Feb 2017 - 5 Like(s)
Cunningham must feel somewhat vindicated

The_DOC (Galway) - 20/02/2017 08:11:07

The Next Senior Football Manager - 5 Like(s)
From a dual club here in Galway, I think Cunningham is a great coup. He did great at Bridigts and Garycastle and went he took over the Galway hurlers no one gave him a hope....I was in a very small Galway crowd at the Leinster final V KK and the KK lads were laughing us out the gate...then BANG.....he lose a very young, hungry and determined Galway team with a fantastic gameplan and blew KK out the gap. The way it ended in GAlway, OK i didnt agree with it because without Cunningham a lot of those players wouldnt have developed and the team wouldnt be there to puch on...it was Cunningham who laid that platform...and fair play to him...he stood his ground at teh time and came out of the whole thing with plenty of respect. Funnily enough he dosnt have the best of luck in finals themselves but dont be fooled he is a very very shrewd man and will have picked up plenty of nuggets working with Gilroy over the last year. I wouldnt worry if ye dont set the world alight immediately in 2019, but ye'll be a force to be reckoned with come championship.........I hate to say!

The_DOC (Roscommon) - 12/11/2018 13:55:40

Galway vs Mayo - 5 Like(s)
We're ready for the influx of all the Mayo supporters, who will come from their houses as far a field as, Oranmore, Doughiska, Roscam, Dun na Corribe and Salthill.

The_DOC (National) - 09/06/2017 12:19:40

Galway Vs Roscommon - 4 Like(s)
Warning, I think McStay has alternative motives about fighting for the game to be played in the Hyde. While all the good people of Galway will be at the Connacht final, Roscommon will likely cease the opportunity to steal the unattended sheep of Galway. Just be warned to lock up as much as possible before leaving for the game on Sunday

The_DOC (Galway) - 11/06/2018 14:28:09

Mayo v Derry - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Pericles:  "None of us were on the pitch DOC, so all we know is that Higgins did something outrageous which was completely out of character and got punished correctly. Comer thankfully wasn't injured and looked fit and strong when flattening Diarmuid O'Connor with a shoulder in the back later in the game. Mayo lost and are playing Derry on Saturday, and now we're wondering how that will go."
I just cant fathom why the need for all the smart/snide remarks - plenty of Mayo incident we could underline as well but we don't. Show some class in defeat lads, seriously.

The_DOC (National) - 29/06/2017 11:27:26

Pearse Stadium - Powerhose and Paint - 4 Like(s)
Hi Guys, What a weekend in Salthill but anyone else notice how grubby Pearse stadium is? I've been at most game in Pearse Stadium for both code this year but this is something I noticed last year. The stadium is looking a little bit jaded or run down. But it would only take some very minor work to have it looking great in my opinion. Really it looks as though no one could be bothered or no pride in its upkeep. Issues: - From the terrace looking across at the stand, the roof is covered in green mould. It looks rank but its only cosmetic. Why not power-hose the roof/facia especially seeing as the camera for TV is on the terrace looking across - The pitch perimeter wall. Its plastered but left very badly weathered on both the pitch side and side facing the supporters. Firstly I'd paint the side facing the supporters maroon as it would probably wear a lot better than white. I'm not sure about the side facing the pitch but the advertising boars cover some of it but the exposed concrete looks terrible - just paint it lads - it would great on TV with just a lick of paint - Same could be said for edges of the terrace stands and walls around the stadium - it cant cost that much to paint it every 4-5 years then just powerhose it every year to clean it up a bit. Commercial: - Outside Castlebar Mayo GAA have a simple cheap mobile shop unit will all of the official Mayo GAA gear for sale. Something like this would have been perfect at Pearse stadium yesterday with 12k people there. We need to get moving commercially like Mayo, Dub etc. and have merchandise for sale at these events - especially now with footballers and hurlers with same jerseys etc. Just a quick note to finish - I'd happily submit these idea to Galway GAA if its something you think would be worthwhile or know who (would be good) to send them to. We are going to have the big0guns of football next year and we should be doing the best to promote this to all in Galway GAA and bring along the youth and show them its not all rugby etc.

The_DOC (Galway) - 03/04/2017 11:19:53

Galway Vs Kildare - 3 Like(s)

Replying To gaa190:  "The Corofin boys wont be included until after the league. There are too many guys who have been training since October who haven't got a proper game in the league yet. This game should be used as a last chance for the guys facing the chop to show what they can do. 1. Ronán O'Beolain - When the pressure came on in the second he failed to vary kickouts and kept going for the same long high ball to Conroy and Flynn on the stand side. Worked well at first but Dublin swarmed around them after a while and started to get easy turnovers. Experience will help this. 2. David Wynne - Played well last week, deserves another chance to impress. 3. Evan Wynne - Deserves a chance. 4. Declan Kyne - Didn't play last week so revolve him in this week. 5. Gary O'Donnell - More game time after coming back from injury. 6. Gareth Bradshaw - Revolve in having not played last week. 7. Sean Kelly - Unfairly lost his place for the last two games, deserves to get a look back in, has had a good league. 8. Tom Flynn - Anonymous in the first half last week but tried to stand up and be counted in the second which is encouraging. More game time needed. 9. Ciaran Duggan - Last chance saloon. 10. Eoin Finnerty - Deserves an chance having been an unused sub in most league games. 11. Shane Walsh - Very harsh decision to take him off so early in the last two games. Could be the best footballer in the country - Kevin needs to stop knocking his confidence and learn how to make him tick. 12. Robert Finnerty - Why not. 13. Padraic Cunningham - Suprising to see he has got such little game time considering he chose Galway football over Cork LOI - Would be very excited to see him play a full game. 14. Adrian Varley - Two super points v Monaghan, quiet last week - Pressure on considering a few Corofin forwards on the way in. 15. Frankie Burke - Good FBD final but haven't seen much since. Give him the chance he deserves."
No problem with the above but some comments: 1. Ronán O'Beolain - When the pressure came on in the second he failed to vary kickouts and kept going for the same long high ball to Conroy and Flynn on the stand side - I really think this was a management call, I'd say he would have loved to have changed it up but this was obviously a management call to hit it that side, maybe because there might have been more shelter from the stand and the wind was a big factor. Not sure but I doubt it was his own doing. Apart from kick-outs didn't have a whole lot to do last week. - Couldn't agree more on Sean Kelly, thought he was doing great in games....must not have been showing at training is the only think I can see that's kept him out. Interesting to see if he'll back in for the league final. 11. Shane Walsh - Very harsh decision to take him off so early in the last two games. Could be the best footballer in the country - Kevin needs to stop knocking his confidence and learn how to make him tick. - I disagree, its time now for Shane Walsh to stand up and be a leader for this team, he quiet too often in big games and needs to start making the correct decision when in possession on a higher %. He was completely absent from the game last week and did nothing, KW was spot on taking him off. Im a huge admirer of his footballing abilities but no point having the POTENTIAL, he needs to start showing it when it counts.

The_DOC (Galway) - 23/03/2018 09:31:25

Mayo V Galway - 3 Like(s)
As a Galway fan I cant say that I have the greatest time of either of the O Connors, however its a one game ban for a high tackle and that's that, book closed and lets move on. Glad to see TP tweet and that he's on the mend....long road ahead of him but no better man. Have great time for the man. Some of the Mayo posters online (not nesseciarly here) would want to get a grip, Galway fans never said we would win an AI, it was a media push and were just happy to be competitive but Mayo fans slating us online saying that its not about Connacht for them anymore etc., seems crazy....sure even Keegan was on the TV spouting on about how Mayo had targeted this game. Mayo saying Galway were overly defense ive anything s was the other way around!

The_DOC (National) - 16/05/2018 09:32:40

Well Done Cork! - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Can Galway cause the next shock upset and beat Mayo in the Connacht final? Galway must be massive underdogs now after that drubbing Mayo gave them in the league game, I think Mayo have their eyes on Sam and the Dubs again on the 3rd Sat in December."
Surely massive shock if Galway were beaten by a D2 team in championship?

The_DOC (National) - 09/11/2020 15:36:28

Writing Off Mayo? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To centerfield:  "Galway team that were beaten by 8pts by Kerry last year are now All ireland contenders with much the same team"
Sean Andy, Sean Kelly, Eammon Brannigan will all be starting come Mayo, so not really the same team Vs Kerry. Also they players who did start against Kerry last year are (relatively young) and have now come through a full season of div 1 games. Also add in new coaching and its very lazy to say the same team that lost by 8 to Kerry. Also, no one is making Galway AI contenders

The_DOC (National) - 29/03/2018 12:21:04

Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Gleebo:  "Ah now, why do you have to be so mad? It's only a game. If victories against the likes of Dublin, Kerry, Donegal, Galway, Armagh etc. in the last 5 championship seasons don't count as "big wins", then I guess my book is different to yours. But hey, at least those Mayo footballers have the consolation of their NFL, All-Ireland club and underage medals. I still think Monaghan have a great chance next week, especially if Ryan O'D doesn't make it. Anyway, clearly non-Farney folk are not welcome here, so again, safe travelling to everyone and hope ye enjoy your time in Westport or wherever ye end up staying."
Yeah Ballina St. won the All Ireland club 17 years ago! Take that Monaghan supporters!

The_DOC (National) - 26/05/2022 14:18:32

How Much Money Does the GAA Have - 3 Like(s)

Replying To totalrecall:  "yeah the GAA have to make money, money collected by did hard volunteers every week for lotto etc, tickets being bought by the same faithful who follow their county teams travelling with their families to games and paying through the nose for tickets and then getting robbed by the vendors in croke park for cups of tea/coffee and other refreshments. Croke Park was redeveloped 20 years ago, it is well paid for now. How about the association showing some respect to it's members and supporters instead of fleecing them at every opportunity?? I won't be holding my breath........rant over"
Couldn't agree more

The_DOC (National) - 01/08/2017 15:22:04

Kildare V Mayo - 3 Like(s)

Replying To kildare73:  "Well sure each to their own. Personally I think their resilience has to be admired over the last few years. Actually the majority of the people don't live in Dublin, about 20% of the population do. So are per your technicality.........I'm going to go with the majority ,the majority, of people wouldn't have begrudged Mayo an All Ireland."
Their resilience? Seriously? Well then... I admire Carlow for their brave choice of jersey colour scheme. The bravest county I've ever seen.

The_DOC (National) - 04/07/2018 08:14:42

Mayo v Derry - 3 Like(s)

Replying To jackmeyhoffer:  "Is that an insinuation he's the best 3? If that's the case are Mayo a better team with him back? and surely then you must feel they would won last years all Ireland if he wasn't injured. Have you ever actually seen him do something in a game or are you as deluded as the media who awarded him an all star in 2012"
Ah chill out there for a second horsebox....hard to judge tone from an online post. My question was a genuine one - as in who would Mayo people like to see at 3? Jezz - there's some hate on here lads!

The_DOC (National) - 22/06/2017 09:13:51

Pay the buff - 3 Like(s)
I think the GAA should pay everyone, I haven't played since my sharp decline from U.21 to the Intermediates, then the Junior B's and early retirement ~28. That was about 6 years ago now but I think I should still be played for all my top notch GAA banter on this and other fora.

The_DOC (National) - 23/10/2017 10:31:13

Andy Moran retires - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Bon:  "One of the best there was, always gave it his all. A true professional. Enjoy the retirement."
He was a class player but seriously one of the best there was? I could name 10 players off the very top of my head that were better - and at least 3 of those would be Mayo men before I get told Im bias!

The_DOC (National) - 27/08/2019 11:05:34

Dublin's Neutral Venue For Super 8'S - 3 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Another vote for Parnell Park here. If the GAA decide on Croke Park for the home game, its down to money and i think every other county including Dublin has a right to be annoyed. Dublin really dont have any say."
This is actually a great point and one which is overlooked quite a bit in the media and both professional and social medial. Dublin GAA don't really have a say in it, and they get tons of abuse on this when in fact its GAA HQ making this decision based purely from a financial standpoint

The_DOC (National) - 13/06/2018 11:45:45

Galway Vs Dublin League Final - 3 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Interesting bit of analysis from Brolly yesterday: We were only a few miles from MacHale Park last Sunday morning, but life is too short for optional Tyrone watching. Instead, we drove to Salthill to see the Dubs. I have been in Norway in the winter and Salthill was colder. A freezing gale drove up the pitch, the tricolour clinging to its pole for dear life. Galway had the wind in the first half and instead of taking advantage of it, they immediately went into their ingrained 1-13-1 formation. "We should have gone to watch Tyrone," said the glamorous brunette. As a result of Galway's game plan, Dublin, with less than half a team - minus Stephen Cluxton, Brian Fenton, four of their championship forwards and so on - were off the hook, and the pattern of the game was established. Dublin's sub goalkeeper kicked out short to an unmarked Dublin defender. They worked the ball upfield without a hand being laid on them, then held possession and probed the Galway wall, the first line of which resembled a defensive line in rugby. As they probed, the Galway players held their spots, merely shuffling a few metres to either side depending on the direction of the ball or the runner. The wind was so stiff that you could only shoot from close in, and with so many Galway men back it quickly settled into a stalemate. The result was that Galway wasted their valuable time, with the Dubs holding possession for long stretches of the first half. I timed them at one point as holding the ball for four minutes and 11 seconds, as the Galway support roared at their lads to push out. The pity was that when Galway did win possession and go forward, they looked good. As it was, because they were all breaking forward with no one ahead of the ball, save an isolated, double-marked full-forward who was therefore not an option, they were reduced to carrying the ball upfield, then taking 50 and 60-metre potshots. Several of these went over on Sunday because of the wind. A small child could have thrown the ball up in the air in the right spot and it would have blown over the bar. At half-time we had tea with the swanks and I got talking to a group of Corofin people still wearing the colours from the day before. "Is it any wonder our lads don't like playing for the county?" said one. On top of all of their other great attributes, this Dublin group play harder than anyone else. Galway had successfully bullied Mayo when they played them a few weeks earlier. The abiding symbol of that game was Paul Conroy dragging Aidan O'Shea out of a ruck by the neck, then trailing him contemptuously along the ground like a dead calf. Big Aidan should have got up and busted him but as is his wont, opted to respond like Gandhi, not Genghis. . From the throw-in last week, Conroy was tackling with no little ferocity, only this time he wasn't dealing with pacifists. In the end, the Dubs were lining up to hit him, and he must have been a very sore boy on Monday morning. Likewise, the Galway full-back put himself about throughout, until Eoghan O'Gara poleaxed him, knocking him senseless. He had it coming. Damien Comer reminds me of a computer-generated warrior from Lord of the Rings and when he came on, he immediately went on a rampaging solo run and kicked an incredible point against the gale. Quickly, Philly McMahon was in his face and there was an important moment. Like the weigh-in for a prize fight, when the psychological war is often won. The much smaller Philly stuck his forehead under Comer's chin and smiled broadly into his face for ten seconds as if to say, "come on, let's see what you've got". Nothing, as it turned out. Comer disappeared into the half-back line thereafter and wasn't seen again. In that second half, the Dubs went from five behind to one up with normal time over. Their commitment was absolute. Ciaran Kilkenny went for a suicide ball that had the crowd gasping. I had my hand over my eyes for a split second, but he emerged unscathed. Later, Jonny Cooper went for another one, played chicken with two Galway men, and won. Cooper would put his head where you wouldn't put a crowbar. Galway played with great desire throughout and even when other teams might have given up they kept going. Their equalising point came with the last kick of the game, deep in a long injury time caused by endless, final-quarter melees. I stood up at the end, and realised my legs were in spasm from the cold. But in truth the second half flew by. This was a championship battle that was absolutely absorbing and totally entertaining. Kevin Walsh needs to re-balance his system quickly because they cannot do better than a very good league showing with this formation. He ought to watch Dublin v Tyrone last August. In fairness, Tyrone, with Lee Brennan finally being allowed to play in the opposing team's 45, are inching towards that better balance. Galway are not, and Croke Park next Sunday will illustrate that with a vengeance."
So many inconstancies in Brolly's piece its a real let down as the contradicts himself on so much of the pints he's trying to make: 1) "As a result of Galway's game plan, Dublin, with less than half a team - minus Stephen Cluxton, Brian Fenton, four of their championship forwards and so on" - Nothing mentioned about Galway also playing without all Corofin players - Eamonn Brannigan, Damien Comer, Johnny Heaney and Seán Kelly all on the bench - Galway also started their no. 3 choice GK 2) "Dubs holding possession for long stretches of the first half. I timed them at one point as holding the ball for four minutes and 11 seconds, as the Galway support roared at their lads to push out." - I was at the match, Galway fans are well aware of how the team are setting up and no one was calling for this. 3) "They were reduced to carrying the ball upfield, then taking 50 and 60-metre potshots. Several of these went over on Sunday because of the wind. A small child could have thrown the ball up in the air in the right spot and it would have blown over the bar." - Just no. It doesn't matter how strong the wind is, you still have to put it between the two tall white uprighty things, also is this not the same for both teams as the wind didn't die off in the second half? I don't think Galway took any 'pot shots' to be fair! - The wind wasn't blowing straight down the field either it had an angle to it, which Heaney used to curl his shot over the bar from the outside of the boot 4) "Corofin people still wearing the colours from the day before. "Is it any wonder our lads don't like playing for the county?" - Maybe someone did say this but hard to believe seeing as Corofin players have always been a stalwart of Galway teams (this coming from a Westie before ye think Im down putting out cones on the Corofin training field), Ray Silke Captained us to an AI in 98 and many many Corifin players have led the lines for Galway before and since. 5) "From the throw-in last week, Conroy was tackling with no little ferocity, only this time he wasn't dealing with pacifists. In the end, the Dubs were lining up to hit him, and he must have been a very sore boy on Monday morning." - From the man who previously said things like (I paraphrase): A) Galway want to win the match like the Rose of Tralee wants world peace" B) Galway are happy enough to go out of the championship and go surfing etc. C) Theres no bite to this Galway team, they need to get more aggressive 6) "In that second half, the Dubs went from five behind to one up with normal time over. Their commitment was absolute." - I don't question that the Dublin commitment was absolute, but ah here, so was Galways - hence it ended in a draw snatched from Dublin having a 1point lead in into injury time 7) Just on inconsistence, and Brolly being a barrister, I will ask for the Hoganstand Jury to compare: A) "Quickly, Philly McMahon was in his face and there was an important moment. Like the weigh-in for a prize fight, when the psychological war is often won. The much smaller Philly stuck his forehead under Comer's chin and smiled broadly into his face for ten seconds as if to say, "come on, let's see what you've got" with B) "Likewise, the Galway full-back put himself about throughout, until Eoghan O'Gara poleaxed him, knocking him senseless. He had it coming" - So from this I can assume that's its OK for Dublin to go in and throw their weight around, but its only an issue when Galway do it? Anyway lads, just some of my thoughts. Please Dubs, this is in no way anything against you, its against the poorly written article by Brolly. We had might craic with a few of ye in Pearse stadium and hopefully good craic again on Sunday! Hon GALWAY!

The_DOC (National) - 28/03/2018 09:41:49

Kildare V Mayo - 3 Like(s)

Replying To kildare73:  "I would second everything you say about Mayo. A fine team who through a combination of luck and circumstance didn't get over the line. A fantastic bunch of supporters too. Nobody would have ever begrudged them the big prize. And thanks for your very vocal support this week. Us lads don't always see eye to eye on everything(or anything lol) but the likes of yourself, Richie and others were front and centre this week. Resume hostilities in February??;) Hope the wife and kids are well."
To be fair, I'd begrudge them an All Ireland so I wouldn't say nobody...maybe the majority? But then the majority of people live in Dublin - would they swap one of their wins for the people of Mayo? OK so not, me and probably not the majority of people either. Some. Some people would not begrudge mayo an All Ireland.

The_DOC (National) - 03/07/2018 16:21:37