Galway Forum

Popular Posts from galwayfball

Football Is Finished - 12 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Brogan talking silly alright Flaker No doubting the commitment of Dublin to be as good as they are and remain as focused and driven given their success is unparalleled and does put them in a unique position But the Socioeconomic make up of the island of Ireland makes it harder for plenty of players to even arrive at training Just the lay of the land unfortunately and it's always been that way Kerry teams of the 1970's had Dublin based players training in Dublin, it's something that will always impact teams Unless the entire economic makeup of the country changes"
You know what brogan didnt mention, the board that was specifically set up to help dublin GAA. You dont mention it either. You know the one that no other county has been deemed worthy of . That apparently isn't special treatment . You can dissect the funding all you want but no other team in ireland has gotten a board with the sole purpose of improving them. saving them from the horrors of the all ireland semis and an occasional provincial . Nightmarish stuff altogether , how did you get through it Apparently that board just sat around drinking tea and twiddling its thumbs and in no way shape or form helped Dublin

galwayfball (National) - 06/12/2020 20:25:38

Armagh Vs Galway - 11 Like(s)
Armagh players and panel members realising how physically inferior each and every single one of them is to Comer. So they form a gang to take him down. We'd never see them have the b@##s to go one on one with him.

galwayfball (National) - 26/06/2022 17:21:47

NFL Division 1 - 10 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "True. Coyler would have been the man for the job. Although full credit to sideline today. Joyce went very quite all of a sudden. :)"
Oh ya you definitely got one over on joyce today. He definitely learned his lesson

galwayfball (National) - 01/03/2020 21:44:41

Football Is Finished - 9 Like(s)

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I agree with this. Cavan looked absolutely gassed before half time last night but I don't think they feared Dublin really in fairness. Dublin have natural advantages and have sorted out their structures so I would be surprised if we ever see them go very long without an All-Ireland again. But football is not dead, there are teams that can and will beat them coming soon. This is not to say GAA don't need to seriously think about the games outside the capital. Rural clubs are dying and in all honesty it's all linked to a laissez faire attitude in Irish government that let's Dublin run wild. Everything is centred on Dublin and so there's no infrastructure around the country and very little opportunity for people to stay closer to home if they want that option. Every county in Ireland has players capable of being very competitive at intercounty level in my opinion but the vast majority of these players don't stay home because they can't for lack of opportunities, and then the commitment on training and all of that you have to add 4-6-8 hour round trips on to that two or three times a week. This isn't a slight on Dublin like I said above they always had natural advantages and it's coming to the fore now because they got funding and have sorted themselves out massively. I am also a big fan of this Dublin side and the players, they are great representatives of the GAA. However Bernard Brogan (a player I greatly admired) coming out with that nonsense about Dublin players working harder than everyone else. It's an insult to players from other counties in all honesty. I hate that nonsense. The GAA need to have a massive think about a) helping clubs around the country and b) giving counties and provincial councils the money and a plan for competing. I've not got much issue with money in Dublin going towards getting kids playing our games to be honest, it all comes down to that. But the kid in Belfast or Leitrim or Portlaoise is as deserving of the same funding, structures and support right through to senior."
Great post . Every kid deserves the same funding. How can anyone argue with that Gareth Bradshaw a man from my own club has given his all for the maroon and white over the years. He gives everything he has sacrificed family time for over a decade.But Brogan says he doesn't give enough. I've seen the effort he has put in and every other member of the panel gives the same or they would be gone A lot of Dubs on here saying we are insulting the Dublin players most of us arent they are fantastic athletes and I think some of them in particular are excellent ambassadors for the game Bernard brogan insulted every single intercounty player outside of Dublin with his aspersions that they simply do not give enough and Dublin players give more. Sad fact is he completely believes this to be true

galwayfball (National) - 06/12/2020 17:52:14

AOS - A passenger who cost Mayo All Irelands - Brolly - 8 Like(s)
Wouldn't be o sheas biggest fan but brolly using the platform he has to attack an individual player isn't right. It seems o shea is a player who won't let it bother him but still it's not right and it's not like Brolly was a legend on the pitch

galwayfball (National) - 27/01/2018 12:52:10

NFL Division 1 - 7 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah well I'm that case it certainly doesn't suit galway. Joyce lived up to his name today, Galway purists of football my ass. The better team LOST today and you can thank the ref for that."
What name are you talking about? Padraic joyce is one of the classiest and entertaining forwards to ever play the game and he stuck playing with his county long after the good times were over and indeed his club were able to call on him if they were ever in real relegation trouble

galwayfball (National) - 01/03/2020 20:35:25

NFL Division 1 - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Did Galway not win the game?"
We did indeed and the bitterness from the meath fans is making it all the sweeter. Keep it coming lads

galwayfball (National) - 01/03/2020 21:31:11

Armagh Vs Galway - 7 Like(s)
Christ on a bike. The taoiseach has commented on the matter. This is a joke while I agree with a ban that affects club and county for the eye gouged. This is absolutely ridiculous with everything going on in Ireland that man has the nerve to comment on this. Keep your nose out of the GAA and do your job. The state of the country and he has the nerve to comment on this TK should be dealt with and get a decent ban from club and county but how about the taoiseach addresses the housing/healthcare/cost of living crisis . The nerve of the man

galwayfball (National) - 27/06/2022 18:19:25

Galway V Mayo - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Really:  "I was disappointed Galway, having put in good early league performances didn't target a league title. IMO it should have been a priority. Make no mistake, if top teams like Dublin or Kerry get a sniff of ultimate league success, they will go flat out to win it. I don't know what contract Conroy had with TG4 for u-20 match yesterday, and granted he played well today, but still it displayed a lack of commitment for today's game. Could he have been excused? Watching the game unfold, Graham Souness' analagy constantly came to mind - "Find the Dope!" only that Galway were being constantly exposed. Make no mistake, this is a good Mayo team in the making - plenty of speed and power, and no little scoring power. From a S&C perspective, Galway are well off the standard required. However, they can consider themselves lucky they got an early wake-up call."
All these lads have other jobs. If we played on saturday many wouldve been working on Friday some doing physical labour. None of these lads should be expected to turn down paid work. Ridiculous to question Conroys commitment for taking a job. They have bills to pay like the rest of us

galwayfball (Galway) - 18/10/2020 19:50:26

Gough Speaks Out Against Shamefull Slurs - 6 Like(s)

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Yes we should apologise lads. Would hate the poor guy to be forced to do a Connolly and 'take time away' from the forum due to the words of a Kerryman. Sensitive souls, these Dubs"
Lads insult each other on the pitch but what was said to McMahon crosses a serious line. The people who defend the behaviour are as bad as the lad who said it. I would never back a galway player who did anything similar. I suppose if you heard someone was suffering from depression youd tell them to get over it

galwayfball (National) - 03/12/2019 22:18:52

Gough Speaks Out Against Shamefull Slurs - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Themall1916:  "What was allegedly said and were you there to witness this discussion? Was the discussion all one way or was it a two way thing?"
I wouldn't repeat it but McMahon has talked about it in an interview . He didnt name the player. I would have.

galwayfball (National) - 03/12/2019 22:21:10

Galway V Mayo - 6 Like(s)

Replying To crafty:  "Its obvious Cyril that you are seething with jealousy over Corofins success. You Corofin bashers should read Joe Brollys article in the Independent today. His is an objective view as he is not even from Galway. Its not about putting Corofin players on the Galway team its about developing a style of play like Corofin which is attractive and successful. Its laughable blaming Corofin players for Galways failure as they are the one bright light in Galway football and one of the best club teams of all time. Kevin Walsh is the manager, he picks the team and decides the tactics. His time is up."
Corofin are great . I agree with that ,but dear God joe brolly has an objective view. Joe brolly is full of it and just because he wrote one article you agree with he suddenly speaks sense. All of his articles should be ignored and unless he manages an intercounty team or even a senior club team he should keep his opinions to himself Whether I disagree with him or not I have massive respect for kevin mcstay . He didn't just talk the talk. He got out from behind the desk and actually managed an intercounty team Joe brolly an objective view the same man who swooned at the defensive set up when he first saw it. The same man who has despised galway since paddy tally was brought on board because he clearly has a personal issue with him

galwayfball (Galway) - 07/07/2019 19:07:51

Mayo V Dublin - 6 Like(s)

Replying To midlands:  "There's always a Galway man ready to have a swipe at Mayo."
another galway man here. What o connor does off the ball is a disgrace and he gets away with most of it and when his team are struggling he let them down again. He didn't want to be on the pitch. Look at his teammates, look at andy moran . Look at how he conducts himself that's what's expected of the more experienced players. Keegan is well able for anyone and can push the limit as to what's acceptable but he never abandons his team. He will die in his boots regardless of what the scoreboard says

galwayfball (National) - 10/08/2019 19:20:36

Galway VS Mayo - 6 Like(s)
Now we're sucking diesel.gaillimh abù !!!

galwayfball (National) - 11/02/2018 15:53:28

Armagh Vs Galway - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Malonemagic:  "He shouldn't be back for the semi. Until players start missing big games these melees will continue. Both teams were a disgrace today"
God forbid the his behaviour be encouraged. Imagine we will have youngsters looking at sean kelly and copying him by not engaging in fights or laying a hand on opponents off the field despite being pushed repeatedly. We can't have that

galwayfball (National) - 26/06/2022 18:05:00

2019 Division 1 League Final. - 5 Like(s)

Replying To blacknamber:  "Mayo fans today reminded me of galway fans last year after da first super 8 game...it was like an all Ireland win. I hope they don't finish up like galway last year. Congrats to mayo better team by far today..Kerry have the makings of a very good team its over to P Keane now to put the pieces together..how do we set up to feed dat ff line good ball."
But that was a good day for us galway fans are quick to stick the knife in when we lose but they hop right back on the bandwagon after a win. Mayo fans stay on the bandwagon win lose or draw can any other county say the same?.We went through a serious bad patch for a few years I remember us beating mayo in castle bar in 2016 maybe a few hundred if even travelled that day regardless of how mayo are doing I don't even think a league game several hours away would they bring a crowd that small. I do think they should go mad tonight its silverware in croke park and they were deserved winners. No disrespect to Dublin but its nice to see a div 1 final not involving them

galwayfball (National) - 31/03/2019 21:34:27

Tackling Youngters And All Bullying And Gaa Can Help With It - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "without rehashing or personalising any case, we will have seen here where Joe Canning visited that young chaps family in Cavan whom lost his life as a result of bullying. A lovely and very fitting touch by Joe Canning, and another Galway hurler is also invovled with promotiing positive mental health. With these in mind, wouldnt it be nice to see the GAA at all intercounty games, both teams stand armlinked or breif gesture (similar to taking the knee in soccer but not necessarily that) and the reason being calling for and end to bullying and encourage those affected to reach out to someone in their club or other for assistance. I am only sticking this together here off the cuff but no doubt you will get my line of thought...highlight that bullying isnt acceptable in any sphere of life and that GAA players are there as peers etc. in fighting it or somethiing like that. Hoepfully the anoraks wont come on and say bullying has nothing to do with Sport, bullying is in every walk of life, and are young are the most vulnerable and and wouldnt it be nice to see intercounty players stand in solidarity in fighting it etc.."
The prime time programme about the bullying of Eden Heaslip that caused him to take his life should be shown to all 6th class and first years. It was extremely difficult to watch. RIP Eden On Joe he only just lost his mother to Cancer a few days ago. The fact that he made time to visit Edens family while going through so much himself shows what a great man he is off the field. A credit to his mother and family. GAA players have a massive influence on youth and I think it'd be great to get the GAA involved in anti bullying campaigns.

galwayfball (National) - 31/01/2022 16:00:58

2019 Division 1 League Final. - 5 Like(s)
Horan could have just said he was delighted and left it at that. I don't think Mayo could have won by 12 points. Hoping this over confidence continues into the championship

galwayfball (National) - 01/04/2019 22:03:20

The Future Of The Provincial Football Championships - 5 Like(s)

Replying To DL_Man:  "Well I hope that puts to rest the rhetoric that the provincial championships are a waste of time. As a Donegal man I'm disappointed, but delighted also for Cavan. I think today shows that the problem isn't the provincial championships, rather a crazy system that gives the big teams several second chances. Time to get rid of super 8s and maybe the qualifiers also."
Unbelievable stuff today and I was very emotional even as a neutral watching tipp win today BBC had a great interview with the Cavan manager too and he struggled to keep it together Today really reminded me of why i love the GAA. It was a fantastic day for football

galwayfball (National) - 22/11/2020 20:28:38

Dublin Senior Football Team - 5 Like(s)
Glad the Dublin team got caught and rightly received their punishment but our taoiseach broke covid rules and attended an indoor boxing event and the media is quite. Yet the Dublin team are front page news 2 days in a row. Absolute joke

galwayfball (National) - 04/04/2021 01:25:08