Galway Forum

Popular Posts from Mayonman

Should James Owens be sanctioned? - 10 Like(s)
James Owens says he saw the Austin Gleeson incident. That implies he decided to ignore the rules of the game. I'd say Cork fans are particularly annoyed.

Should a referee face consequences for ignoring rules???

In my opinion yes. That is their sole function. Any ref can make a mistake bit to admit he saw it but did nothing??

Where does this end??

Mayonman (National) - 15/08/2017 18:46:05

NFL Division 1 - 8 Like(s)
Donegal v Tyrone Could be tasty. Donegal by 2 Galway v Mayo Galway by 5........hopefully! Dublin v Meath Dublin ......ref to have a terrible game with Meath being robbed:-) Monaghan v Kerry Monaghan by 1

Mayonman (National) - 11/03/2020 14:39:34

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 8 Like(s)

Replying To updwell:  "Senior Championships all finished without any major incidents or increased spread of Covid because of games. Well done to all players involved and thanks for the entertainment over the last 2 months. Seeing as professional rugby especially and soccer has struggled to protect themselves even in their 'bubbles' it's a great achievement for GAA teams."
You obviously were oblivious to all the breaches, celebrations and outbreaks last September/October! There wasn't a weekend that a whatsapp of celebrations in some pub or other wasn't circulating. The party in the Moycullen pub, the street celebrations when the cup arrived home etc. Even the GAA president commented on it and stopped club games leaving some county finals not played. I don't remember it happening in any other sport in the country. Whatever about clapping ourselves on the back, we are certainly in no position to take the high moral ground.

Mayonman (National) - 04/02/2021 15:58:40

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 7 Like(s)

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "My cat has more concern for the plight of the GAA than the average politician. They see themselves as an elite. They literally dont give a s***e about any of us. Golfgate was 100% proof of this. Covid compliance is falling apart as a result. We are leaderless and probably have been for decades. People are sick to the teeth of being told what they can and can't do by a government who sit at home on full pay doing Jack S**t ... They are now cutting the Covid payment to the very people that they won't allow back to work... More people have died from suicide in the last month, than have died from COVID-19 in the last 3 months. WTF are people supposed to do?"
Same old populist nonsense My cat has more concern for the plight of the GAA than the average politician. By and large the GAA gets very favorable treatment from politicians They see themselves as an elite. They literally dont give a s***e about any of us. Golfgate was 100% proof of this. Some do, some don't, same as any group in society. Golfgate proves they are exactly the same as us GAA people, trying to bend the rules slightly. What they didn't count on was the "outraged generation" Covid compliance is falling apart as a result. Incorrect. Compliance is very high with the few exceptions becoming high profile because they are exceptions We are leaderless and probably have been for decades. Do you remember the eighties.........I'd say we've made some progress. I will agree that we haven't had a leader with real vision for a long time. Enda was boring and steady but he did bring us back from the brink (in football terms out of relegation to top 6 but he was a david moyes) People are sick to the teeth of being told what they can and can't do by a government who sit at home on full pay doing Jack S**t ... More rubbish. I'm not a politician and wouldn't do it if i was guaranteed to be elected every election because of the extremely long hours and the personal abuse. They are now cutting the Covid payment to the very people that they won't allow back to work... Yes they are. In my lifetime i have never seen as much money handed out in supports. It is unsustainable. More people have died from suicide in the last month, than have died from COVID-19 in the last 3 months. Correct. Are you giving them credit here for reducing the COVID deaths??? Or saying COVID is not the greatest challenge or our generation? WTF are people supposed to do?" Wash your hands and keep your distance:-)

Mayonman (National) - 07/09/2020 09:32:21

GAA Should Campaign For A United Ireland. - 7 Like(s)
GAA would be better off trying to promote hurling in 32 counties!

Mayonman (National) - 13/03/2019 21:54:15

Kerry Vs Tyrone - 6 Like(s)
Tyrone have half their panel in isolation. That means half are not. Assuming some of those in isolation have not got C19 but are close contacts they will have no return to play issues from 2 weeks off. In that regard I do not see how they can struggle to field a team. Granted it will not be their best team and it is not ideal but a lot of teams had to line out when depleted teams.

Mayonman (National) - 11/08/2021 12:41:30

Tackling Youngters And All Bullying And Gaa Can Help With It - 6 Like(s)
We need to stop tolerating abuse at all levels. Often seen on this forum where the poster is attacked rather than the post being debated. You can disagree with someone without abusing them. Lack of basic manners is a problem in society and this then lowers the bar as to what is acceptable

Mayonman (National) - 27/01/2022 13:10:08

Aidan O'Shea's Comments - 6 Like(s)
Some lads just hate anyone that had a boy of personality! Give him a break. He side stepped the issue, said it was factually incorrect and would address it when time was right. What else was he to say! Re giving up basketball etc and concentrating on improving at football ...... What a stupid statement! Maybe he should quit his job, do nothing but train, talk to nobody and do nothing else but play football for free for ur amusement! Apart from anything thing else it probably wouldn't improve his football! I think this thread proves that begrudgery is alive and well. Standing up for a Mayo man is not natural for me........a Galway man who hopes O'Shea flops next month!!

Mayonman (National) - 03/05/2017 20:13:53

Failed drug test - 6 Like(s)
Nothing to see here, these lads are amateurs, it was unintentional, ban had been served, no drugs in the gaa, move on.......... What a load of b%ll%ck! In February this case was pending according to the anti doping agency yet by today it is finalised and the ban has been served!! Yet the Anti doping agency has not yet delivered the written judgement........... Something smells and if the player is as innocent as everyone says all this secrecy etc does him no favours.

Mayonman (National) - 28/05/2017 18:13:20

That Tyrone/Armagh Row - 6 Like(s)
Choke holds/head locks or anything applying pressure on the neck should be a red.

Mayonman (National) - 08/02/2022 20:39:47

Alan Dillon Comparing GAA Referees With Soccer - 5 Like(s)

Replying To StopTheLights:  "Soccer getting some bad press lately. Fair play to Alan Dillon for needlessly draging the GAA into it through the Irish Independent. Maybe he should compare the violence after the FAI cup final to All Ireland Final day too. Chalk & cheese my friend!"
It is a societal thing and getting into we're better than them is nothing but bull. Re the scenes before the FAI Cup final, I've seen plenty worse on a GAA pitch. Generally never at I/C level, but everyone on here has seen some of the brawls at various club fixtures. So we would be better off not getting into that debate. The abuse from the terraces on any given Sunday at a GAA match is scandalous. Is it better or worse than soccer??? Who cares, the only question we need to ask is, is it acceptable? We as GAA people should not be complacent. Rassie Erasmus got a nice long ban for disrespecting the ref during the Lions tour. He was going to appeal but obviously someone had a word with him. Rugby does not tolerate this sort of rubbish and teams generally will not appeal bans. They accept they have done wrong and take the punishment. This is what we should aim for in our game. Not endless "whataboutery", looking for loopholes and never ending appeals.

Mayonman (National) - 01/12/2021 15:14:25

NFL Division 1 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To greatpoint:  "If as you say it was a jaw breaking hit and Murphy tried to nail him and did, how come he was fine and continued playing? Your logic doesn't follow."
Rather than nit picking ......i left the word "type" out of my post...............jaw breaking type tackles! are shoulder charges or elbows to the jaw, jaw breaking type tackles and do we want them in the game? Most people understand what I meant, may not agree but understood!

Mayonman (National) - 24/02/2020 14:10:26

Galway Participation In Leinster - 5 Like(s)
I couldn't believe what I read in this https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/galway-to-seek-fair-deal-from-leinster-37674068.html Galway only received 15% of the gate receipts for game against Kilkenny, Connacht Council received nothing, which you may say is fair enough except they were expected to pay the match day expenses, stewarding etc. Galway County Board need to grow a pair and demand equality, not a lot to ask for. If they don't get it they should walk away from Leinster. To be honest I don't even blame the Leinster Council........why would they give us more when we are willing to accept less! When it comes down to it in the GAA there is a huge proportion of me feiners. There are also plenty that look at the greater good but the me feiners seem to always get their way be it be overturning suspensions because of a technicality or this ridiculous treatment of Galway. It is the same way with the treatment of the so called lesser counties. I mean surely the likes of Leitrim should get huge help from Central GAA with regards to funding and expertise because with the best will in the world they will never have the resources otherwise. But the me feiners will be out if that happens as well..... Fair play to Nicky Brennan he seems to be one sane mind out there looking for equality on Galways behalf.

Mayonman (National) - 04/01/2019 08:47:23

Galway Football 2022 - Where To From Here? - 5 Like(s)
Depressing stuff. I wasn't a great fan of KW's tactics however his organisational skills on and off the pitch along with the professionalism of the set up was there for all to see. I remember his first year in D1 and how we overpowered teams. Teams were complaining about Galways aggression. Sean Andy looked like the best FB in the country (to be fair his decline started on KW's watch). We have a team of much more talent now but we are going backwards. I think KW would be great as head of high performance. The man at the top putting structures and properly qualified people in charge of teams, S&C, Medical etc. I think he could probably perform the role across both codes. The reason i say that is because it is not a coaching role as such and not being a hurler (waiting on someone to say he played No 14 junior c!!) would not be a hindrance. The county board should be able to create synergies across both codes for activities like S&C & Medical. Regarding the current manager. I had high hopes but after seeing the last 2 seasons and the fact that the backroom staff are all his mates I have lost confidence. Rocheford? Thought he was very unlucky in Mayo. Corofin lads will be more familiar with him but he seemed to do a great job there. or what about Morris? I have no preferred choice (not close enough to club scene) but it needs to be someone of pedigree with a professional set up We have the raw materials and I won't agree with anyone that says we haven't. We just need to get our sh*t together. Shane Walsh and Comer have a good 3-4 years of top level football left before they hit their 30's. While it sounds like a long time it is not. We must make changes now!

Mayonman (Galway) - 23/09/2021 09:28:26

Abuse Of KW & Some Players - 5 Like(s)
Firstly I'm Corofin supporter, I hate Galways style of play and I think it is time for a change of management. However I would like to thank Kevin Walsh for all he has done for us as a player and as a manager. Taking us over when we were a laughing stock headed for D3 and bringing us to the top table again. However I am disgusted by the level of abuse that both Kevin and some of the players are getting. I witnessed someone abuse Kevin straight after the game what I've seen on social media aimed at Lavelle is disgraceful. West Galway players getting abused left, right and centre. I have no problem with any of them being criticised based on performance but mother of god it's embarrassing and disgusting what is going on with the personalised insults etc. I always thought we had more class in Galway ......I was wrong

Mayonman (Galway) - 06/07/2019 22:50:36

Dean Rock Free Taking Project - 5 Like(s)
The amount of begrudery on here is mind boggling...... I didn't no which comment to reply to. Fair play to him starting his own business and trying to earn a living. Generally these are things to be applauded. Now I will reserve the right to change my mind on that if it is just a show up "I'm Dean Rock" thanks very much type of gig. But as long as it is a proper structured session I have absolutely no issue with it. The hypocrisy of some. Cul Camps charge, most club managers charge "expenses", physiotherapist, traditionalists, S&C coaches etc and usually whats thrown at these guys and girls is "how will that help you put the ball over the bar"...... now we have someone that will!! Anyway whats the difference between this and a player starting up a gym???

Mayonman (National) - 23/07/2020 09:00:51

NFL Division 1 - 5 Like(s)
Lately every time someone gets clattered "they have made a meal out of it". God forbid the player with the frontal charge, head high tackle or swinging elbow actually meant it! I didn't see full Dub V Donegal game but Murphy should have got red, he tried to nail him and got him. They are jaw breaking hits. Actually felt sorry for the Tyrone lad v Galway as Brannigan turned into him. Definitely accidental but it was reckless so still think it was a red. The onus must be on the tackler to be in control.

Mayonman (National) - 24/02/2020 12:09:46

Alan Dillon Comparing GAA Referees With Soccer - 5 Like(s)
As a public representative it is his job to highlight stuff. This puts the pressure on the organsations in question to sort their house out. I have no affiliation to AD football or political wise but reading some of the above comments, while they could not be described as vicious (very mild to be fair), they still attacked the messenger rather than the message and shows how personalised comments have become the norm in society. We should not therefore be surprised when abuse starts on football, rugby, soccer pitches...... outside chippers etc. This has become an all to common trend on this form. Some great robust debates, opinion, fact, counter fact, great to read but then you get someone who decides to attack the messenger. It has got to the stage that you would want to be a masochist to be a referee or a politician. If we keep the abuse going online/offline who will do the job???? what will we be left with???? the cream of the crop.......i don't so. Personally if I was guaranteed to be elected I still wouldn't become a TD and not a hope would I referee a game. You only know you've done a good job if everyone hates you equally!

Mayonman (National) - 06/12/2021 09:34:51

Roscommon GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
My heart says Shane & Comer tear Rossies apart and Conroy chips in with a few majestic points! My head says both teams will have their periods of domination and one of us will be hanging on at the end while the other tries to get the equalising score.....like against Mayo! I always go back to the last 2 All Irelands we won. Our toughest opponent both times was Rossies. 1998 we were lucky to escape with a draw on a terrible day in Tuam and won the replay after extra time. 2001 ye beat us and half of Galway thought we were out until we relaised we had the back door. We beat ye in the qualifiers. The most disrespectful thing i've heard say after losing to the Rossies was we took them for granted. How could we with our record against ye. Anytime we lost it was because ye were better not because we took ye for granted. Whichever team wins the Championship opens up. Dublin and Kerry are on the other side. and while any team we get in q/f or s/f will be good, they will be far from unbeatable and I would expect the Connacht Champions to have a good shot at getting to an All Ireland final.

Mayonman (National) - 09/05/2022 11:51:15

Galway Football thread - 4 Like(s)
We have a strong squad with lots of depth. There are a couple of positions we are light. I think the key to the season is tying down a formation and road testing it in the league, tweaking as needed with the aim of being ready for the Connacht final..... all the while avoiding relegation! Loads of potential combinations but we need to get it settled and a settled style. Last year I felt we reverted too much to slow build up. We need to be able to inject pace into the game and I think when Sean Kelly and Comer were injured we suffered in that regard. Injury free going into the round robin stages especially our key men.

Mayonman (National) - 08/01/2024 16:43:47