Galway Forum

Popular Posts from Uimhir.a.3.

Late opening of gates at Croke Park on Sunday. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Staff costs. Stewards get paid by the hour. Would you pay a higher ticket price to get in a bit earlier to watch grass grow?"
What a stupid reply, watching the grass grow, ffs. As one of those queuing outside in the lashing rain, if the price of our tickets, 65,000 by an average of €35 & the Coldplay & U2 concert can't cover the staff costs then greed really has taken over in Croke Park. I'm pretty sure if we bothered to find out, the wages paid aren't far off minimum wage rates as well. Patrons are asked to enter the Stadium early in every programme & many get in early to meet up with others for a chat & a drink. Some like to eat there & with queues for bars & restaurants it all takes time. The purpose of having these facilities is that patrons use them. Anyone defending this & deeming it as in early to watch the grass grow is either working for Croke Park or has the grass growing between their two ears, defending the indefensible.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 01/08/2017 00:13:03

GAA Should Campaign For A United Ireland. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "I think national identity can be extremely dangerous, we have learned that. With cost. And is there anything more worrying than waking up this morning and hearing of the terrible events in New Zealand all believing they do it for their national identity ."
The attack in New Zealand had nothing to do with national identity.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 16/03/2019 09:12:38

Pairc Ui Chaoimh - 5 Like(s)
For those of us who point out the failure in leadership by those full time salaried people in the Association, here is a classic example. Cork County Board have a number of full time officials, so too the Munster Council & then those in Croke Park. Those in Croke Park have overall responsibility for the whole Association & all its branches. This project was driven by Croke Park/Cork County Board & rode on the coat tails of the RWC application. As pointed out in a great article by Cormac Byrne in the Indo, there were huge question marks from the start, but they were dismissed. One Cork official was quoted as saying they would pay off the debt in two years !!! Let's not forget the initial costing was €70 Million, so it's to date a €40 Million overspend, in most projects if this happened, people would be fired & an investigation launched. This is not even the final figure, so it could go higher & a so called brand new pitch now has to be relaid, which will cost a massive six figure sum & may have to have Hawk Eye be installed for the big games so they can reach the €2 Million mark needed annually to service the debt. The problem within the GAA is the lack of transparency & let's not forget the Cork official at this years Congress who dismissed the CPA's motion on transparency, maybe now we can see why ! Hard questions need to be asked, who was project managing this, why weren't Croke Park overseeing budgets & project management of a multi million Euro project. Will details be made public on where they overspend was. Was tendering & management of same above board, what companies were given contracts & was it all above board, has there been conflict of interest at any stage. What Government or lending institutions would now give the GAA massive sums when they can't even manage their budget or get their costings correct. Sadly as we saw in Galway where there has been another mismanagement of Millions, nobody is named, nobody is accountable, its all sanitised & swept under the carpet, if you question anything you are pilliored, that is why they have been getting away with things, because people don't have the guts to speak up & tell the truth. PUC will now have qualifiers, Munster finals, everything at a cost to everybody else to pay for it. As we saw this year, fans will vote with their feet & not go. I was wondering why the Cork County finals were such a price this year, now we know why. The talk from all now will be of lessons learned, systems put in place, moving forward, all the usual claptrap, when everyone can now see that the Association from top to bottom is rudderless, leaderless, lacking transparency & is rotten to the core.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 14/12/2018 14:13:06

GAA President & Martin Breheny Article. - 5 Like(s)
Great article by Martin Breheny yesterday in relation to the Super 8's. A great journalist but sometimes he is loathe to pinpoint faults in the Association. An organization can never progress if it doesn't allow critical analysis of issues that need addressing. In the GAA many issues are buried & dissenters suppressed, when acknowledgment of the faults & dealing with them leads to a smoother operation. Many of the points raised by him were never fully thought through by officials (highly paid at that) who railroaded the Super 8's through. It might suit Sky but when we get dead rubbers as we will, the public outside the top four will lose interest. What was most shocking this week was listening to the President of the Association defend Dublin having two home games at Croke Park. His justification of this was the financial benefit to Leinster counties ??? What of the rest of us & let me tell you, very few clubs see any direct funding from Croke Park. In fact most teeter on the edge of financial survival after paying Registration, Affiliation & Insurance fees to Croke Park. His ridiculing of Colm O Rourke was very under hand & in poor taste for a man as head of the Association. After his comments this week it's hard to see Dublin ever been on an equal footing to all other counties, they truly are placed above all others. This man does not represent me nor many of the Grassroots after his comments this week.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 12/07/2018 11:13:53

Galway V Kerry And World Cup Final - 4 Like(s)
The total lack of planning by the GAA authorities & CCCC who seem intent on going from one disaster to another, is mind boggling. Their decisions smack of arrogance, ignorance, lack of planning & consultation & a distinct lack of common sense. Now they decide to set the Galway V Kerry game in direct competition to the World Cup final. The stupidity of this decision is another indicator that these guys are not tuned in, most GAA fans are general sports fans who would like to watch that game. They didn't fix the Dubs for this date & time as they knew there would be a massive backlash & a massive reduction in the gate which is their obvious priority, instead they just dump the Galway/Kerry game there because the attendance of that wouldn't be enough to break even anyways. GAA leadership are a laughing stock.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 05/07/2018 21:52:16

The GAA Are Intent On Killing Off The CPA. - 4 Like(s)
The GAA at the highest levels, Central Council, Congress & Croke Park are really intent on killing off the CPA, the naked hotility towards it & the way they despise it with very cynical put downs is evidently clear to all. The CPA is viewed as a threat by all those in power, who are afraid it will disrupt their political & financial ambitions within the organisation. The GAA is on a very clear path at present, one of elitism. Their vehicle is the Inter County set up where the power & especially the money lies, particularly the media rights money. Too many have a vested interest & have too much to lose politically or financially. The next group coming are the GPA, who will want a semi-pro set up for players. At present the GAA do not want anything that will disrupt that, so they view the CPA as sh*t on the shoe of their ambitions. The failure to recognise the CPA officially at Congress was a kick in the teeth, especially from one Kilkenny man, one of the highest office holders in the land whose condescension was sickening. The open mocking by some delegates bordered on sheer hatred. The failure to recognise a group that has many multiples in membership compared to the GPA is really highlighted when they hand over millions from Central funds to the GPA plus a percentage of all commercial GAA revenues, it shows where their priorities lie. The dismissal of many of the CPA motions for Congress & then a slap down when it came to the motion on transparency, showed they don't want their political shenanigans exposed. This weekend Central Council delivered the slap down voting down the blank canvas request, yet they are ready to add more games to the Inter County set up with a Tier Two competition, following on from the addition of extra games with the introduction of the Super 8's last year. The talking out of both sides of their mouths by leading officials & Presidents is hypocritical & needs to be called out & shown up for what it is, sheer hypocrisy. The CPA should now take the nuclear option & look for an all out strike or to flood a Congress or Central Council AGM & picket it. The GAA is now infiltrated with fear, people are afraid to speak out in case they or their clubs are punished or demonised, County Boards wield a big stick & people feel threatened from speaking out. The system is rotten to the core. The flood of people now leaving from players, parents, sponsors, teachers, students to other codes, either playing, acting as administrators, sponsoring different sports is now increasing as people become more disillusioned with the whole two faced Association we have at present.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 26/11/2018 15:59:33

Kevin McStay Incident With Linesman - 4 Like(s)

Replying To supersub15:  "Ya' know, as soon as the first post appeared here on the Kevin Mc Stay "thing" I said this is going nowhere fast, so, what the hell let it go there.
Keeping in mind I'm not here to defend Kevin Mc Stay,(should he need defending that is) just to say some of the postings here beggars belief, you would think the man did something out of the ordinary, something that makes him different to any one of us, however, he is different to any one of us, in that he is a house hold name for all the right reasons long before last week's so called infamous game, squeaky clean on the field of play all his life, and an out and out gentleman off the field, I'm made aware that he never in his playing career was reprimanded on the field of play, or put off, or suspended, an impeccable record to say the least.
To go from hero to zero is not is not on as far as I'm concerned no matter what the scenario is as what has been outlined, he is however a professional and a passionate gaa man, I wish I had some of his courage and passion.
So lets get real here, there's a huge difference between "passion" and "aggression" Kevin has an abundance of passion, but it's the likes of us here in animosity that has the aggression, apparently.
Kevin McStay has an impecciable playing career, like it or not he is a house hold name, fortunately / unfortunately Kevin's footballing career has been full of passion, am I making an excuse for Kevin's recent misdemeanour, well yes I am, you see Kevin's passion for the game, in this case as Manager of Roscommon senior footballers was much stronger than to show the white flag hankie or whatever you say yourself.
If someone say's his actions were out of order, so too were some of the post's here, before the prosecution sat or the jury delivered it's findings.
The dignified or honourable thing about Kevin is the way he withdrew himself from the game for the second half. No red card needed just self-dismissal, pity some of the posts here were not withdrawn before his sentence was delivered.
Good luck to you Kevin.
No junk mail please."
If Mc Stay analysed somebody on the Sunday Game running up into the face of a linesman, putting their hands on him & later throwing a ball in the direction of a linesman & hitting him he would be scathing of their actions, as he has been in the past. His behaviour was out of control & this is a standard that is unacceptable as young people follow this guy & his team. Your defence of him with comments about his persona & his past playing career are irelavent, people are only judging it on the issue at hand & what they witnessed. As for your comment that he withdrew himself voluntarily, that seems to be inaccurate as it is widely reported in print & TV media that he was dismissed to the stand by the referee. A deserved 12 week suspension for shocking behaviour by a leading Inter County manager who should be setting a better example to players & children watching.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 27/07/2018 10:56:28

GAA Should Campaign For A United Ireland. - 4 Like(s)

Replying To GreenandRed:  "If it wasn't for the Troika we'd be a third world country."
The Troika who insisted we pay even the unsecured bondholders, who along with the EU Commisioner reneged on their promise on the banking debt & foisted the largest sovereign debt in Europe on the shoulders of ordinary Irish taxpayers. They ensured the European banks & Investment houses of which some of them had previous links with got their money, even unsecured debt. Interesting that some high profile members of the Troika have since said that they made major errors & that Irish taxpayers should never have had the level of punishment placed on them. Remember these people & our Govt thought it was ok to take funding away from disabled children at the time whilst our bankers, developers & Europen speculators escaped Scot free. Anyone who thinks we owe a debt of gratitude to the Troika is very naive.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 22/03/2019 00:54:11

40 Year Ban For Soccer Ref Assailants - 4 Like(s)
Point proven today, as reported in HS, the two Down clubs had bans overturned by the GAA. Despite the video evidence where it clearly shows players, subs, m'ment teams & supporters all involved on & off the field, with reports of even women assaulted & people kicked while on the ground, the GAA do the usual thing & overturn the bans or cut them despite all their bluster about taking it seriously. The FAI might be a joke due to a dictatorship but when it comes to taking action about discipline, they are light years ahead of the comedy that is discipline in the GAA.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 24/11/2018 14:07:09

Another Spectacular GAA PR Own Goal - 4 Like(s)
Full time officials at the very top of the Association, following on from their PR disasters of last year, nothing learned. Totally lacking in Humanity, hiding behind a ruling, when a local community were getting behind & supporting one of their own !!! The rule being broken daily by GAA invested clubs all over the country when it comes to AstroTurf pitches/cages, yet a blind eye is turned. Are these clubs exempt due to influence, one rule for Naomh Colmcille, another rule for all others ? A good deed punished with 8 week suspension, allied to the fact that the club scene shuts down now for the Summer, these players won't play till August/September. Go & play some other sport & put your voluntary efforts into something else like many of us are doing, you will be amazed at the difference in appreciation.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 23/04/2019 21:46:14

Connacht Championship 2019 - 4 Like(s)
John Maughan & David Brady, geniuses.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 25/05/2019 23:58:51

Donegal's Motion Fails - 4 Like(s)

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "So now it has been acknowledged that croke park is now Dublin's home ground..it was set in stone yesterday that croke park is now Dublin's home ground...so when it comes to an all Ireland semi final or indeed final involving Dublin will they continue to have home advantage of will the game be played at a neutral venue?"
Yesterday's decision will ensure that Dublin play their neutral & home game at Croke Park, the semi finals will also be there regardless. End of this story now forever as only 34% of the vote had the bottle to vote NO. It will be nice to see it coming back to bite some of these counties in the a#se that voted no. Fair play to the Dubs, record funding, record sponsorship, majority of games in Croke Park, majority of officials now from Dublin or Dublin club men from GPA to President. John Costello has maximised every angle, the other counties can only blame themselves & their gutless delegates who are afraid to rock the boat in case they upset their chances of future votes or committee appointments.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 24/02/2019 23:56:16

GAA Should Campaign For A United Ireland. - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "The south has moved on in many ways, we are now a multi cultural, Liberal, tolerant and vibrant society. For many people in our new Republic, the concept of patriotism and nationalism simply doesn't register with them, particularly the youth who have no real interest in the idea of a unified Ireland, and see themselves as Europeans in this new era of globalisation. So the supporters of a unified Ireland will have to push very hard to get people thinking about the issue, sheer sentiment isn't going to cut it, nor will a romantic notion of four green fields. Just because the GAA is a cultural nationalist organisation doesn't equate to supporting irish unity either. I believe a lot of people would be very shocked at the results of a border poll in the south. I suspect it would pass, but not by as much as people may expect."
Nonsense to say that most young people see themselves as European. In nearly every European country, national identity is greater than European identity. One of the main reasons the European model is under threat is because a few want to remove national identity & have autocratic control over national parliaments. Irelands own Peter Sutherland was one of the chief architects in drafting change to remove national identity in Europe, lots of stuff online on what they want to achieve. If we don't have national identity we have nothing, we might as well all be robots. I am Irish, I don't identify as being European. We will soon see how much Europe & Claude Juncker cherish us, when they will sacrifice us & do a deal with Britain, that will see Irish farming destroyed overnight & the Irish economy plunged back into recession. Lots of people with short memories on how Europe & Juncker threw us under the bus despite all the promises on banking debt. Europe are great at talking about ethnic minorities but they don't want people having or standing for national identity, forked tongue merchants.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 13/03/2019 23:31:57

GAA director general Paraic Duffy to retire - 3 Like(s)
On taking up the post originally he was interviewed on RTE & said that he wanted to better the scene of the clubs & club players, his actions have been the complete opposite, never has the plight of the clubs & club players been worse, he has left a mess behind. He & the current Uachtaran have ensured the advance of elitism & professionalism within the GAA, much to its detriment. Liam O Mulvihill was a fantaastic Ard Stiurothoir, the mess left behind currently could sink or divide the GAA.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 14/10/2017 00:20:46

Elements of the GAA that are No More - 3 Like(s)
Cow sh#te on the field, the magic sponge, refs who were actually blind, sandwiches in the local pub after a game away followed by a massive row in the car park, three pints after training, when you would enquire about the well being of your markers sister, the lad in the dressing room who smelt so bad that the last time he had a wash the midwife gave it to him, manager naming the team from the back of a Sweet Afton box with the ash of one of them an inch long as he spoke with the fag in the corner of his mouth, going to Croke Park on a Sunday & not coming home till Tuesday after a good oil change, the fella sitting beside you in the stand pucking you with his elbow as he plays each ball, marking a lad 30 years older with a massive belly that the jersey didn't get down over the belly button & him telling you how many different types of sh#te he was going to bate out of ya & last but not least when we all did it for the love of it & not the money.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 10/09/2016 20:22:56

Kerry V Dublin - 3 Like(s)

Replying To carlovia:  "Worst red card in history? Fitzsimons booked first when it wasn't even a free then second yellow for being grabbed and dragged."
Massive error by Maurice Deegan, Fitzsimons first yellow was case of mistaken identity for a foul he didn't commit.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 09/02/2019 20:42:55

Kildare V Mayo - 3 Like(s)
Well done to Cian O Neill & the Kildare County Board on taking a rightful stance, the whole country is behind you. Cian O Neill spoke calmly, eloquently & articulately this eve on RTE staying the facts. The GAA are a sham, makey up rules & competition, home advantage was only ever a fallacy on this whole Super 8's. The arrogance of the statement made by Fergal Mc Gill this eve beggars belief, I hope Kildare stand their ground, I hope some sort of demonstration is held outside Croke Park, I would travel to support a demonstration. It's past time Croke Park & it's paid officials were reined in by the Grassroots. Duffy, O Fearghail, Ryan, Mc Gill et al introduced a format & obviously haven't planned or made contingency for anything. The whole thing is a farce. The elephant in the room here in this situation is Sky who are dictating matters. The sell out to Sky by O Fearghail & Duffy has led to these situations, Sky are wagging the tail. Please oh please Kildare do not cave in, we all need to take a stance.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 26/06/2018 01:27:55

GAA Finances & purchasing a farm. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Whammo86:  "They don't get 20 times spent on them. That's my whole point."
Your harping on all the time here about the development money despite several journalists dissecting the figures this week & showing that even excluding that figure, it shows that Dublin are grossly overfunded in comparison to everyone else. Your constant defence of this is like the way Paraic Duffy dismisses any criticism of it, have you a vested interest or is it that you don't like been proven wrong. Your other argument about comparing like for like such as population also doesn't stack up, Dublin receive greater funding that the rest of the entire Leinster province which has a greater combined population, similarly when you contrast the combined population of Munster, also Ulster & though the most under deprived province Connacht has a combined population of less than half that of Dublin it gets a much smaller slice of the pie than Dublin despite all the disadvantages it faces. No cognisance is taken either of the fact of Dublin's greater ability to access sponsorship & the money that turns over in comparison to all others, so allied with the inequality of funding from the GAA, it's a massive scandal & all Paraic Duffy does is dismiss any arguments on it.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 04/02/2018 17:54:41

Admission To League Games Set To Increase - 3 Like(s)
In response to the two Dubs, don't be getting excited about stereotyping, your at with the Kerry boys here all the time, a lot of it is jousting. Over my years in Artane, Coolock & Dolphins Barn I saw the other side of Dublin, the one where people struggle like some in Donegal or Kerry.

Uimhir.a.3. (National) - 22/01/2019 17:15:56

Fr. Leo Morahan RIP. - 3 Like(s)
RIP to Fr. Leo Morahan who was an outstanding Gael whose contribution to Mayo GAA & the Association nationally was highly underestimated. Even in Galway he contributed, up to his last parish Bearna/Na Forbacha where even though in his seventies he ran up & down the field with lads at training. If something needed to be said, he said it straight out, a great trait. His delivery of a rousing dressing room speech was always done in a calm demeanour but would put the hair standing on the back of your neck. He had a great eye for how games developed tactically & where to play players & passed off his experience & enthusiasm to many who respected him totally for his selfless & total passion to the club. A good friend to many of us who knew him well he was sadly missed when he left. As a priest his ability with vocabulary tré gaeilge nó bearla, bhí sé béal-líofa le heigh gach ócáid, an uncanny ability to say the right thing & put people at ease. A friend who at one time inspired many of us who will not forget, rest in peace Fr. Leo.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - 26/12/2016 21:07:04