Down Forum

Popular Posts from PaudieSull1

Joe Canning on Late Late Show - 9 Like(s)

Replying To The_Bull:  "Playing hurling has provided Joe with plenty of business and financial opportunities including college scholarships. There are only very few players who reap the commercial opportunities provided through advertising etc. Joe has built a profile and appears very eager to build an image through the media. I wouldn't be a fan of Joe. He was a exceptional underage player but is not an in the category of players like Henry Shefflin, Ben O'Connor, Nicky English, John Fenton, DJ Carey, padraig maher, Brian Corcoran."
Bull, two things Canning is a super hurler and well in the category of Ben, Fenton, Corcoran to say otherwise is just wrong and secondly the lad is class act off the field ( plenty of lads avail of scholarships and put nothing back unlike joe .....really struggle with this Irish begrudging attitude, we also seem to look fr the worst in people

PaudieSull1 (National) - 16/12/2017 15:19:19

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 9 Like(s)

Replying To mooncat:  "I never passed a comment on the incident,I never said what I thought was going through his mind,you see I dont know or does anyone else here know,that doesnt stop them from telling us what they think,what a lot of people are asking for is consistency,in the q/f against Cork a KK player was taken out by a Cork player,shoulder into the face,drove him flying,Cork player goes to ground too,rolling around as if he was the one taken out even takes off his helmet rubbing his head which didnt hit the KK player,theKK player got to his feet immediately,this all happened in front of the ref who just stood there didnt take any action,the KK player Richie Hogan,the ref James Owens,in his book what was the difference between the 2 incidents,"
Cooper didn't raise his elbow that's why.....simple.......for a county who have won so much, particularly playing on the 'edge' and boasting of doing so via likes of Tyrell ye are doing some yapping and moaning when the tackling on the edge eventually cut up with you Take your beating ffs , ye got away with things for long enough

PaudieSull1 (National) - 19/08/2019 22:19:42

GAA Should Campaign For A United Ireland. - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "The GAA was highly criticised pre 1916 and was seen generally as a backward organisation trying to maintain traditions that were old and not necessary anymore. These traditions were essentially anything that remained of us as Irish people. The GAA established themselves to preserve the tradition and culture of the irish people not only through sports but also through language, dance, music etc. These traditions were Irish and non british so it's wasn't a suprise when revolutionary times started that the aligned themselves very easily with the GAA and as a result the GAA was and still is seen by some as a pro nationalist 32 county organisation. The truth is that although it was a constant right throughout the troubles, the GAA is now in a very different Ireland. Plenty of GAA people had different principles 30 years ago than now and the principles of the most now is what decision would be financially better for ME. 100 years ago the majority if not all GAA people would want a 32 county Ireland but now I'd hazard a guess that the further south you go the likelihood is that less and less people really care and if it meant that we in southern ireland had to make any compromises then they would say no. The GAA should continue to be a 32 county organisation promoting what is good about Irish sport and cultural traditions and leave the decisions on borders and politics to those paid to do it. Canvassing for a 32 county ireland will only divide opinion within the organisation and could open up wounds that have been dormant since partition."
Just as well those same men and women 100 yrs ago didn't think and feel the same way as yourself or the British would still occupy the whole of this island, as there was no financial gain in what they did.....it's sad to see how less than 100 yrs since partition there are many in the 26 counties who would deny their fellow Irishmen the same rights and entitlements that were given to them on the struggle of many across the whole of the island....

PaudieSull1 (National) - 07/03/2019 22:52:00

Ulster Team Allege Sectarian Abuse. - 7 Like(s)

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "Yeah a few thoughts spring straight into my mind. One the 'abuse' if it happened is not sectarian. Both teams were more than likely predominantly catholic and Irish and one of the 2 teams could reasonably be called both Irish and British if we go by facts. Who says there aren't kids on the team who consider themselves British.. 3 its always striking how thin skinned our Northern Brethern are. Why are Northern Irish teams so thin skinned.Is it pure insecurity ? I thought we were beyond this , apparantly not. Being continuously a victim is in no way empowering."
I and all my family are as Irish as you.........we aren't British just because we live in a part of our island that continues to be occupied by a foreign country, unless you are suggesting that the English never invaded in the first place???? Look reality is thankfully we have moved down the road very significantly in this part of our island but nationalist and republicans up here are rightly proud of their Irish identity and our nationality, we didn't lose it under the threat of violence and we won't lose it now just cos of the attitude of a few seanains ..........unfortunately this kind of abuse suffered by the club in question is becoming more common, I know Down senior hurlers had a number of instances of it with a particular team in Div 2B ( the same team has made a lot of their own team members suffering verbal abuse which is ironic)......I have also heard it at first hand in a Leinster minor league game where one of our lads was called a British c@nt, the irony being the young lad abused comes from a family of republicans whose involvement dates back to the War of Idependence.....in saying that northern teams gave not been adverse to referring to southern teams as 'free state b@stards' etc, again if lads knew their history they would know that term is very offensive to some lads particularly in counties like Kerry etc......you will usually find the idiots making these comments on both sides could do with a history lesson and a bit of manners.......

PaudieSull1 (National) - 14/06/2018 21:54:28

GAA Should Campaign For A United Ireland. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Htaem:  ""Joe Brolly has said"......that's usually enough for me to tune straight out and I haven't read his article either but just replying to the thread here itself, no I think the Gaa should stay out of any such campaign. I love the Gaa for the sports themselves, when I go to a sporting event I want to get away from the bombardment of political spiel we hear on the radio every day, be it Brexit, the children's hospital overspend, whatever the in 'crisis' of the day is (seems to be a new 'crisis' every f'in week) etc etc Leave the politics at the turnstiles lads and just enjoy the game."
I always love the way that it's often people whose counties did f all in the war of independence who have the most partionist views, as Ernie O Malley said on another man's wound Whether people like it or not the GAA is much more than a sporting organisation and by its very constitution is a Nationalist organisation, there is nothing wrong with that and many many members are proud of its ethos and aims....others treat it as just another sport which is fine but I wonder what the views would be of the committee members and office bearers up and down the country as opposed to the 'casual' members

PaudieSull1 (National) - 07/03/2019 22:39:26

GAA Should Campaign For A United Ireland. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Then let it, but the gaa stays out of it. It is a non political organization. Would you have been in favor of it taking a position of either of the two recent referendums? I wouldn't have been. Sport and politics don't mix. The poll today shows that unification is by no means certain. But that's another debate. Would u be happy if another all ire sporting organization took a opposing view on this ??"
There is no comparison between the last two referenda and a border poll none whatsoever....why would the GAA have an overall position on something like abortion or gay marriage those are fundamentally different issues to the reunification of this island particular in relation to the stated aims and constitution of the GAA.....some of ye would need to learn a bit about the organisation u claim to be members of......

PaudieSull1 (National) - 07/03/2019 22:44:48

Another embarrassment in Croke Park - 6 Like(s)
Hold on a second here........the Ladies Football is a separate organisation and are the ones dragging their heels on integration.....can't have it both ways where they won't access to GAA facilities up and down the country but want to stay outside the wire so to speak when it suits them.... Nothing to do with 'Croke Park' today and all to do with the Ladies Association.....over to them to sort out their own mess but leave te GAA out of it

PaudieSull1 (National) - 25/09/2016 18:51:37

Munster Hurling Championship 2018 - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Miami305:  "There's no bitterness, it's just my opinion. For context of who's mouth it's coming from, half of my family are from Clare. I have flown over the Atlantic and spent huge money to be at the 95, 97, 2002 and 2013 (drawn game) All Ireland finals to shout myself horse cheering on Clare as a Galway Man. I just think any Ireland won without having to go through Tipp or Kk is very favourable for a team. And I've stated given how Cork and Clare have faired in the 3 following years it shows it wasn't the best quality championship In '13. I'm glad to see both teams are on the up again."
Christ you win a single all Ireland in thirty years despite getting automatic access to all Ireland semi for over half of that yet you are casting doubt on quality of the 2013 All Ireland............was delighted to see Galway win last year but some of their 'supporters' ( use that term loosely) are fairly losing the run of themselves ..........That 'poor ' Cork team has either won or been in 3 Munster finals in 5 yrs and the same number of all Ireland semi finals......that's good consistency by any standards (albeit not by previous standards set by Cork teams!).......that was a good Clare team that won possibly the most entertaining all Ireland of recent years while accepting it didn't have the intense physicality of some if the tipp v kk or Kk v galway games but then a lot of hurling people prefer the free flowing hurling to the physical battle......either way a good Clare team that deserve respect......

PaudieSull1 (National) - 13/06/2018 20:03:16

Damien Duff - 5 Like(s)

Replying To alano12:  "100% agree..the amount of people looking to deflect from it instead of holding their hands up and admitting the gaa have been a disgrace over this and deserve the abuse.."
GAA don't deserve any abuse and certainly don't need any lessons on community service from Duff, assuming all his appearance money for representing his country went to charity did it??? GAA have rules, the organisers knew this but instead of privately engaging with Horan etc indulged in megaphone politics which I'm not sure the actual family are comfortable with...........the GAA will do the right thing here but lets not avoid the elephant in the room namely the FAI mismanagement of soccer in the 26 counties.......

PaudieSull1 (National) - 25/07/2018 09:20:14

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 4 Like(s)

Replying To ballydalane:  "So you don't think Cooper's challenge on Hogan in the Cork game was a red card offence? A shoulder charge to the head? Because all I've been hearing the last 48 hours is how any reckless contact to the head is a red card offence (and rightly so I might add). Because this issue will come up big style in the league, players will be sent off for shoulder charges (malicious intent or not, elbows or not) to the head area. The rulebook doesn't mention "raised elbows" as a deciding factor, is that just another one of those little non-existent add-ons people like to put on the rules when it fecks over a county they don't like?"
The rule is there in black and white about strike/attempted strike with the elbow......take your bearing for a change and show some grace.....ye got away with it enough down through the years when ye were allowed bend the rules of the game to suit your own style of play All this sh@te about no tactics etc as well ffs TJ Reid was back closing the space in the Tipp half forward line throughout the first half, if Waterford, cork, Limerick did that you would have Tyrell etc bemoaning 'tactics' ruining hurling KK had a golden era , fair play to them......that era has now ended and things are more even .....that's good for the game as us teams like Tipp, Limerick etc winning all Irelands playing open, expansive hurling and mixing it with a tactical nous....

PaudieSull1 (National) - 20/08/2019 10:30:03

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "I tell you what's sad, there is a high profile controversial incident that has rightly or wrongly been discussed for five days now and you still haven't the wherewithal to realise that no one was elbowed in the head."
Seriously??? What is really embarrassing though is the likes of Offaly men coming on here as 'cheerleaders' for KK, have they no self pride....any wonder they are now a Christy Ring county......

PaudieSull1 (National) - 23/08/2019 19:19:06

Why No Red Card For Austin GLEESON? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Canuck:  "Maher should have get six month's for trying to get a player sent off by pulling his own helmet off. This was also the opinion of Tipp reporters in the press box. There is no room in our game for this behaviour."
You saying the Gleeson didn't touch his helmet???? Cmon no doubt Bonnar made a meal if it but Gleeson still had his hand around the face guard ..........he should have learned the lesson last year but didn't as he was allowed off scot free.......for me he is the most over rated hurler in the country, good hurler yes but nowhere near the level some media people try make him out to be......

PaudieSull1 (National) - 05/06/2018 16:59:05

Hurling, a national game? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To bloodyban:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "Another issue is that the traditional hurling counties are nearly all big big population counties. bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts:639 - 02/08/2017 18:28:21 2028033 Big big population counties? Below is a list of the top ten counties by population (data from census 2016 in the Republic of Ireland and 2011 in Northern Ireland) 1 Dublin 1,345,402 2 Antrim 618,108 3 Cork 542,196 4 Down 531,665 - Fingal 296,214 - South Dublin 278,749 5 Galway 258,552 6 Derry 247,132 7 Kildare 222,130 - Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown 217,274 8 Limerick 195,175 9 Meath 194,942 10 Tyrone 179,000"
Cork, Galway, limerick Dublin are all big populations.. the likes of Tipp ect are 150, 000. Forget the northern counties are half protestant so that rules out half their populations. They neither want to or would be welcomed to play GAA by those northern backwoodsmen republicans"]Good man bloodyban........you should come up and try promote hurling before you throw insults at those that do.........your right over half the population in Down and Antrim don't want to play Gaelic games but it's nothing to do with the GAA not being welcoming and all to do with their own mentality.

PaudieSull1 (National) - 03/08/2017 23:02:59

2021 Hurling Championship - 4 Like(s)

Replying To bloodyban:  "Absolutely. Waterford really looked tired when Tipp came on strong in the last 10 mins. Waterford had to dip into their reserves again and only Montgomery's goal sealed it. Thats going to the well alot and they are out next Saturday aswell. But they have big momentum. I knew my Tipperary comments would cause some disquiet. They were a fantastic team but there are genuine question marks. They've met Limerick whilst not at their peak. I recognise that the Tipperary of 5 years ago would have been a real tough nut for Limerick. But the statistics don't lie. They've gotten well beat in every serious game against them over the last number of years. 2016 according to Shane McGrath was the last big Tipp win over Limerick. John and Noel McGrath, Bubbles and many of their forwards have gone totally and completely out of games against Limerick and Kilkenny over the years. All fine stickmen but how many times have they been called ashore against Limerick. Paudie has been a fantastic servant. No pace of course but a lynch pin and rarely injured. He's a class act. I couldn't praise him enough."
Seriously there are few posters who write as much nonsense as you ……some of those Tipp lads have won as many all Ireland's as Limerick in 50 years so a bit of common respect for some of the best hurlers in the past 25 years wouldn't go amiss …… This is a fantastic Limerick team but some of their 'fans' would need to learn some humility as the worm doesn't be long turning , pride very often comes before the fall……

PaudieSull1 (National) - 01/08/2021 12:42:43

Anyone see post by Hill 16 Group? - 4 Like(s)
Just read some of the posts on that Hill 16 Facebook......not doing the perception of Dublin fans any favours over there, the sense of entitlement is incredible and noteworthy that a lot of the posters quite openly admit they have no connection to a club.........this organisation us built on the club volunteer , that is our bedrock hence don't be surprised that club members get first call on biggest day of the year Attending 4/5 games a year generating €150-200 a year......more valuable to this organisation than the man/woman taking the u8s etc down in their club every week???? As I said Mayo have a greater spread of contacts also had the support if vast majority of neutrals hence the so called disparity in supporter numbers but please stop with this we deserve tickets cos we went all year.......... Get a season ticket then or get involved in your club, this isn't Man Utd you are following, the organisation doesn't work that way BTW I gave a dub ( my cousin) a ticket for Sunday as he didn't win one in his club draw so I get there are genuine dubs out there who list out but hard to have too much sympathy for those posting on that Facebook page when you read through the comments

PaudieSull1 (National) - 21/09/2016 10:43:18

Paul Kimmage - 4 Like(s)

Replying To padthepostman:  "Another article by PK today and another hard hitting one at that. Keep up the good work PK and name and shame and expose this Sheer incompetence and neglect. You could add other full time officials to your list particularly pertaining to child welfare. Cover your ass at all times!! No accountability. HSE is now in good company!!"
Yeah good man Paul as GAA only organisation with these issues......not! So three week in a row he runs with a GAA story can we expect the same coverage for other sports, particularly those who put young players back onto field of play after head collisions........I know which I consider more dangerous to the well being of my child but let's all bash the GAA and ignore the thousands of first class volunteers up and down the country........was at my young lads u6 game today with a neighbouring club, super day which the kiss loved.....a picture no doubt repeated up and down the country today, yes we have some issues in some clubs BUT at its core the GAA remains a super organisation and no amount of s@tt stirring by PK will change that........yes highlight issues but at least try be balanced as I said I welcome his expose on other sports in the coming weeks.......

PaudieSull1 (National) - 10/06/2018 13:27:33

Time To Stand Up To GAA - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Mfs:  "People can give out all they like but the GAA wont listen. The only language they understand is €€€€€. I dont expect anybody not to go and and support their county as a result of what has happened this week. However would it be possible to get a campaign going this weekend NOT TO BUY ANY MATCH PROGRAMME OR ANY FOOD OR DRINK FROM THE GAA. I know it would be short notice but if they were told in advance it was going to happen they simply wouldnt buy in as much supplies or print as many programmes so short notice would hurt more. Food or drink can be bought anywhere else and team sheets can be printed off or got online."
Why should we hit the funding of our facilities up and down the country???? What are we 'standing' up to?? Any chance someone might pose the question to the multi million FAI organisation as to why it is such as shambles to not even have a 15000 capacity stadium in the country's second city.........

PaudieSull1 (National) - 21/07/2018 15:03:38

Should James Owens be sanctioned? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Canuck:  "O come on Galway man do not leave your great county down with bias. When it was Tadgh the rules were the rules and must be followed. Most posters. The linesman and officials have the call and their report must stand. Now when the rule says if the referee sees it o.k. (as is what occurred exactly with your man) there can be no further action we must ignore the rules. If his decision is correct is another debate. Philip Mahony heard the ref saying get up, tie you strap, nothing here. He would now have to lie to reverse his decision. He is also not allowed review video but again the media playing its part by slowing down the action and guess what was the picture on rte site. The tail end of the slowed down video. I know of one sport where they look at slowed down video but take in to account actual speed."
Canuck - two things, firstly it's now irrelevant as decision is made and gleeson will play so time to move on in that regard but secondly for Owens to say tie up your helmet shows a shocking disregard for what gleeson did...another inch and Meade could have lost an eye, we need to stop minimising tampering with helmets.....the full face guard was introduced to stop serious eye injury and tampering with them is dangerous, full stop while 90% of time no serious injury occurs what will the likes of you say when an eye is lost or seriously damaged........very concerning that a senior inter county ref has such disregard for safety of players and just illustrates how poor a ref Owens is

PaudieSull1 (National) - 15/08/2017 22:15:06

Time for HURLING to leave GAA - 3 Like(s)

Replying To bloodyban:  "I do follow rugby..all my life. Its just Hurling is my passion. I dont like tge insinuation that i cant follow hurling if im not a nationalist. Its supposed to be non political. Of course gaa clubs in certain areas had it hard in Northern Ireland. But theres 2 sides to that story aswell. Yeah it would be very hard for dual clubs probably impossible. I feel their days are coming to an end anyway and clubs will just have to go hurling or football. It's not stopping other clubs starting up. Hurling needs the separation..room to breathe"
Two sides to what story bloody ban.....if you haven't lived with the hassle of trying to promote hurling up here during the troubles then don't talk nonsense.......if you have the experience to back up your statement then please enlighten us

PaudieSull1 (National) - 16/10/2017 00:51:29

The pinnacle of cute Kerry h***r*sm - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Damothedub:  "My fella in last four years has trained in Abbottstown, DCU,UCD, Alfie Byrne Clontarf, innisfails, Cuala, craobh Ciarans,basically where ever was available, marches have been played at all those venues including Parnell Park and DIT grangegorman , nomads for four years constantly waiting for the text never knowing where your training one week to another, yet Kermit would have you think differently, yet in our travels we have played in some fantastic and some not so fantastic centers of excellence as well as being hosted by limerick IT , Waterford IT , Kermit hasn't a clue but opinions are like you know what and everyone has one , as to the function go don't go it's a free world."
Damothedub is spot on........I have taken teams to play various different Dublin development squads in hurling and almost always it's been a different pitch St Brigid, Craobh Ciaran, Na Fianna, Abbottstown etc etc so this nonsense about DCU being used exclusively by Dublin is exactly that nonsense (same for Abbottstown - book the pitch and you can use it as we have several times).......... I tell you one thing about the Dubs, certainly in hurling anyway......ask them for a game and they will always try facilitate you despite their massive improvement over past 10 yrs they have never forgotten their peers from former years and always willing to help teams out on the rung below them.........the Dub bashing threads really are getting tiresome......the biggest change in the past 15 yrs in Dublin is not money but organisation, which they are great at.......money without good adminsatration gets you no where

PaudieSull1 (National) - 18/01/2018 13:18:03