Donegal Forum

Popular Posts from IamDonegal

All Ireland Football Semi Finals - 7 Like(s)
It's a disgrace it's a week of a gap. Grand if your living in Dublin. Imagine coming from Donegal, Mayo or Kerry. It is 4 to 5 hours one way from certain places. A joke. No regard for fans at all. What about accommodation. Alot of people get paid monthly. They just cannot afford this. But sure the Dubs will be grand. That's the main thing

IamDonegal (National) - 22/07/2019 12:13:38

David Gough To Referee The Final - 5 Like(s)
Think its extremely poor form questioning Gough. Eamon Fitz probably wants the same ref as in 2014 when Aidan O Mahoneys disgraceful behaviour went 'unnoticed' The legend Fitzmaurice barely spoke for 5 years. Very disingenuous behaviour in an amateur game. Everyone will be living in Dublin in 10 years. I don't it matters one bit. Poor form

IamDonegal (National) - 17/08/2019 20:02:29

David Gough To Referee The Final - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Donegalman:  "Swings and roundabouts. I think that there isn't a single county out there that leaves a ground at least once a season, if not every other game, complaining about a big refereeing decision or a ref who was consistently biased against their team. No team are exceptions to this rule. David Gough is the best ref we have. He is fair, and doesn't try and balance the books with strange decisions. The only game that he was scrutinised for recently was the Donegal mayo match in castlebar, when the weather conditions were absolutely impossible. Good luck to him, best wishes to him, fair play to him for being a great servant to the GAA. Eamon Fitzmaurice was the beneficiary of some favourable refereeing decisions over the 2010's no question about this."
That's an understatement. Kerry v Mayo in limerick. It was a parody. Donaghy reffed that one. The final was a farce and yes i am bitter. I actually watched the ref as he stared at Murphy getting pulled entire 70 mins. It was a cop out.

IamDonegal (National) - 17/08/2019 20:07:40

Mayo V Galway - 4 Like(s)
I'm hoping for a galway win. Met some lovely mayo people down the years but I've had some horrible experiences with their supporters. Most in Donegal have. The medias narrative is they are everyone's 2nd team. I promise you they ain't. Both sides missing big players. If galway throw shackles off a little they might sneak it

IamDonegal (National) - 04/07/2019 06:28:14

David Gough To Referee The Final - 3 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "To all the country posters living and working in Dublin. ................. Would you favor Dublin if you had to ref a game involving them? The sole reason being that you live and work in Dublin where a job was available thus making you give Dublin favorable calls? Or is that an incredibly simplistic assertion and a tad bit insulting to you ?"
No way. I've family born and bred Dubs and I've many friends from Dublin. It wouldn't matter in the slightest. Like Dublin is so big compared to the rest of Ireland population wise therefore many barely know Dublin are playing. I've never in my days heard such tripe and I feel for Gough. Like you could easily switch the narrative and say a meath man will not want Dublin to win. Really think its poor form questioning a ref before a game. You could be in a fancy bar in the Southside and they will have rugger or soccer on. My point is Dublin is a big hub. You could be involved in the area but the vast majority of people might have no clue. I think gough is on a hiding to nothing now.

IamDonegal (National) - 18/08/2019 13:34:53

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 3 Like(s)

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "I didn't like and I thought it was unfair of marty Morrissey to ask Sean O'Brien about his 3 black cards and potential suspension for the all Ireland final on the field after winning man of the match today, not the time. Hopefully he will be cleared it would be a severely harsh way to miss out on a final."
How is it harsh? It was brought in because of a rugby tackle on Conor McManus. If the black card has any credibility left he wont play

IamDonegal (National) - 11/08/2019 18:43:40

Kerry V Dublin - 3 Like(s)
Kerry, Donegal, Tyrone , Mayo at full strength are all pretty close , very close in that they would all beat each other regularly in a mini league ie Kerry hammer mayo , Donegal beat Tyrone, mayo beat donegal etc. Dublin are on another level at this moment. I do believe Kerry and my own county will win an all Ireland in next 3 years but Dublin are still the best by a distance They are unreal. Kerry will take a heavy beating unless something miraculous happens. Look who knows, New Zealand nearly lost to an awful French team in WCF. Apparently pressure got to them. I just dont think it will get to Dublin. They can play terrible and win by 4 or 5. Dubs between 9-12 and create history.

IamDonegal (National) - 12/08/2019 10:28:02

Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President - 3 Like(s)

Replying To oneoff:  "Sure they can just use your logic and say they know it's happening but not have anyway of proving it"
Ha ha exactly. Look it's no advantage at all. Dubs dont have any lol. Oh dear god

IamDonegal (National) - 23/07/2019 14:55:32

Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President - 3 Like(s)
Sure money doesn't get the best of everything. Imagine thinking that money meant you get the best in what sports science has to offer. People are bonkers thinking these things. Imagine thinking the likes of S and C has something to do with financing. Money has nothing to do with success at all.

IamDonegal (National) - 24/07/2019 17:56:49

Donegal V Meath Rd 2 - 3 Like(s)
First of all let me say that Meath presenting Donegal GAA with a lit candle before thrown in was a classy act and a lovely touch. It went down really well. I hope those who travelled got home safe- it's a big drive. I will give yous my perspective on Meath from my view- I've no connections to Meath but was a huge admirer of Meath in the 90s as it was my time. Loved the never say die attitude. We were probably missing 7 starters and definitely 3 of our 4 best players but I think Meath were short too. Meath were the better side I've no doubt and would have won by 5 or 6 minus that mess at the back. The Meath half back line was superb, especially 5 and 7. Caused most of our problems. Your midfield dominated too , especially menton. Defensively yous look in a good place overall. McGill is a very good baller I must say. You's really should have beaten us. I actually felt yous would have. Murphy , Mcbrearty and McNeillis would ask different questions of your defence but I still think it's very good. We have more players coming back so I'd expect us to go up with Meath Armagh and Kildare the other team. Your matches against these are massive. All the best to a a great football county.

IamDonegal (Meath) - 03/02/2019 10:52:53

Meath V Clare - 3 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Of course we do. Should we win. We play donegal in ballybofey, lost by a late howler of a goal in league, Kerry in navan? Our record in navan is fantastic. Galway/mayo in Croke park. Have beat Galway last number of times we played them, and mayo haven't beat us since 51. Nothing to fear. We are extremely well equipped to play any of them. One off game against a county does not make us a bad team. But hopefully all other counties will believe it does."
You wont beat Donegal, Kerry or Mayo/Galway You will be playing a different Donegal than you did when we beat you in the league, twice may I add. We have some decent players back since then.

IamDonegal (National) - 03/07/2019 21:30:48

Mayo V Galway - 3 Like(s)

Replying To the_walls:  "Indeed, in complete contrast to the sweetness and light that myself and others from Mayo have been on the receiving end from Donegal fans, particularly after the the final in 2012. Thanks for your anecdote anyway, I hope you feel better getting that off your chest."
Yeah good man. Thankfully the booing and abuse Paul durcan got in castlebar was called out on midwest radio by Mayo fans. Absolute disgrace in 2013 too. Mayo couldn't handle 2012. Lovely people away from a GAA pitch but serious chip on their shoulder.

IamDonegal (National) - 04/07/2019 13:20:50

Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President - 2 Like(s)
No but it's a huge help. It's the closest thing to professional as there is. They dont have to go doing their own funding compared to other counties. They all live in Dublin, many of them handed very easy jobs and cars. Dubs dont really just get it. That's one of the problems. Horan has been an embarrassment so far. But sure teams love playing in croker

IamDonegal (National) - 22/07/2019 20:41:24

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Absolute red. Dropped the shoulder, drove it at head. Red all day long. Conditions me a€se."
Like Shefflin really should be embarrassed today at his comments. I dont buy this thing that it's hard to be neutral. They get paid a fortune. Red every day of the week. Marty's pre-prepared scripts are cringe and well mullane shouldn't be let near a mic.

IamDonegal (National) - 19/08/2019 14:05:26

Mayo V Galway - 2 Like(s)

Replying To centerfield:  "you come from a county that have won 2 all ireland's in their history and didn't win their province till the 70s so your in no position to be speaking about Mayos record Also quoting Brolly says something"
No position ? We get this a lot. The late to the top table nonsense. We couldn't care less what we won in the 30s 50s or 70s. I'll take the two I witnessed in person and the 1 or 2 more we might win. Sure Wexford won 4 on the trot. I'd prefer our own run of late. Couldn't care less about tradition..we are creating our own one now. My club won titles in the 30s and 40s for fun..no much use now

IamDonegal (National) - 05/07/2019 19:03:36

Dublin V Roscommon - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Lightyears ahead in standard compared to the defensive rugby muck that preceded it though in fairness."
Attendances were higher TBF. There is an apathy now. I dont like extremely defensive football but I cant see how this is 'lightyears' ahead. For who? Defensive football , which Dublin very much took part in too , especially 2011 meant closer games. As bad as it was at Least we usually got a decent 10 minute spell at the end

IamDonegal (National) - 20/07/2019 22:30:11

Mayo V Galway - 2 Like(s)

Replying To PressureKick:  "I'm from neither county but have heard about Croke Park in 2013 countless times. From basically every Donegal GAA fan I know and a couple of neutrals. They'd be level headed sorts. Mayo GAA fans are a bit ott but never seemed to bad. They mustve got out of hand altogether that day"
As I've previously stated, good people away from a match. I agree every county has annoying fans. I just heard alot of really bad ones around this period. Anyway time to move on as one poster said

IamDonegal (National) - 04/07/2019 18:30:23

All Ireland Championship 2019 - 2 Like(s)
Think we might all beat each other. Donegal Kerry and Mayo all on 4 points

IamDonegal (Kerry) - 06/07/2019 23:04:54

David Brady On Kerry And Fitzmaurice - 2 Like(s)

Replying To ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone:  "His comments on the ulster club championship and drinking this year were scurrilous. Kevin Cassidy didn't take kindly to it. And then of course it was revealed his own celebratory drinks story. Tipped Mayo to beat Roscommon by 17. Now stirring again on radio and Twitter over the ex Kerry managers Irish examiner column. Kerry are no angels but the GPS incident with Lee Keegan was a new low for me. Why do off the ball and other publications give him so much oxygen. Tomas O Se summed mayo up well, get over excited and put players on pedestals. Horans comments post league final were a tad arrogant One of the weakest pundits in the game I think Mayo will beat Galway and would luv it to give them a beating in Killarney We owe them one."
Spot on. Hes a parody. Most people I know turn him off. Joke he gets airtime

IamDonegal (National) - 03/07/2019 20:19:02

2019 Review - 2 Like(s)

Replying To rorysboys:  "Fair points. Hopefully Bonner can get Rochford to stay but with the lure of a few attractive jobs it mightn't be easy. We'll probably be losing mc grath, mc gee. Mc Glynn, and Leo. But hopefully o mc Niallais and Gillespie and young lads like Ethan o donnell and a few more make the step up."
McGrath is 30. He will be 31 in February. Arguably had the season of his life. He loves playing county. Why would we lose him barring a long term injury? He will get a big rest now.

IamDonegal (Donegal) - 04/08/2019 11:25:20