Derry Forum

Popular Posts from kingpuck71

The Dubs Fans - A Credit. - 5 Like(s)
Was working tonight at the Omagh match, scanning season tickets and have to say the Dubs were full of banter and craic and not one bad word from them that you get from some other Counties fans. Then when you get into the ground and the match starts the noise and atmosphere that you generate really makes a match. Yous definitely enjoy an away day!!

kingpuck71 (National) - 21/07/2018 22:43:04

Armagh Vs Galway - 4 Like(s)

Replying To BLT:  "Because based on Sean Kelly, clearly there is no difference between "contributing" to a melee versus trying to defuse a situation."
Ok. I'll try and give my slant on what I believe the GAA are trying to do. When Comer and his Armagh counterpart were holding and shoving and doing basically not an awful lot, then everyone else should stay clear and let the officials deal with it. The fact that the first person jumps in to " defuse a situation " means that someone else then jumps in to " defuse " the situation before there are 30 people trying to defuse the situation. Amazing how trying to diffuse a situation is normally ( not always ) by reaching for someone from the opposition and dragging them away or getting them in a headlock or maybe even worse. This ignites the spark that contributes the melee. Then all of a sudden someone tries to diffuse the situation in a more aggressive manner and the whole thing kicks off. So everyone that waded in after the initial 2 people contributed to what happened. Lets not kid ourselves. When most were running in they were not going in shouting calm down lads or lets sort this out. It was a case off I'm going for the first person in an opposition shirt, bib, tracksuit. Maybe the wording is too vague but the message should be that if an incident kicks off then stay out and let the officials sort it. But sure where's the craic in that. Another problem is that the GAA won't apply the rules of the Official guide properly, therefore will create, as they already have, a situation where this kind of thing will never stop.

kingpuck71 (National) - 30/06/2022 12:43:31

What is an 18 year old supposed to do this year? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To onlyhurling:  "For anybody that turns 18 this year, at what level are the supposed to play? From an intecounty level the are too old to play minor but are too young to play either u20/21 (football/hurling) so can't compete anywhere. From a club perspective, for the counties that have changed to u17 for minor grade , they have the same problem (except for those very few good enough to play senior level). This is going to be the same problem for 18 year olds every year going forward. Is the idea here to drive our youth away from the GAA or just a complete lack of planning of the new legislation put in place?"
Believe you and me Derry know this more than anyone. We had a cub from my own club named at full forward to play in the first round of McKenna Cup on Wednesday night past, only to be be told prior to throw in that he was too young to play and then subsequently told, as you point out he can not play under 17 as he is too old, nor can he play under 20/21 as he is too young. A shocking oversight at Congress and by all those in authority at HQ. Did anyone really think this through?

kingpuck71 (National) - 05/01/2018 14:37:35

Armagh Vs Galway - 3 Like(s)

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "He deserves to have his case looked at fairly. I think he will be cleared. Excellent player and leader. His red card was just a formality to let the game continue."
Can you explain how after a free for all takes place, giving an apparently innocent man a red card was a formality to let the game continue?

kingpuck71 (National) - 26/06/2022 18:58:59

Armagh Vs Galway - 2 Like(s)

Replying To anotheralias:  "Question hardly needs answering , but to state the obvious , it's far to vague at term. What is contributing? It could be argued that the fellow who kicked the ball in the direction of the initial tackle that starts a melee contributes to it. Everyone in the proximity , even if they are peacemakers , are contributing to the melee, even if its a positive contribution, like the 2 lads on Sunday."
Maybe vague, but everyone that gets involved after Comer and the Armagh man started jostling are contributing. You're been a bit silly when saying that the person that kicks the ball in the direction of a tackle that starts a melee is contributing. Sarcasm at it's worst. You, along with the rest of us know what contributing is. I have replied to another poster here about this. Look at a lot of the peacemakers on Sunday. Who are they grabbing and pulling at? Peacekeeping or making the situation worse? Be honest. Through all the games you have watched, club or county, how many peacemakers have there been in this kind of thing and have any of them really helped? Bottom line is. 2 men in a scuffle. Everyone else stay out of the way. If this had happened on Sunday the officials would have dealt with the situation and this thread would not even have started.

kingpuck71 (National) - 30/06/2022 12:53:32

Munster Hurling Final Tipp V Limerick - 2 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "If such a horrible dangerous tackle like the one Ronan Maher put in on the limerick forward today was in the football there would be absolute uproar on here."
Only because in the majority of games of football ( particularly in Leinster ) there would be virtually nothing else to talk about apart from a hit. Plenty of other talking points in a good weekend of Hurling.

kingpuck71 (National) - 30/06/2019 19:43:46

Another Ref Pushed - 1 Like(s)
Most people seem to talk about how unacceptable the push on the referee was. Would I be in the minority that think what he did to the Kildare player was worse? The public slating on social media is so wrong but I believe he should get the punishment his actions deserve through the proper channels. I read people on other platforms coming out with the " He's only a young fella. Has none of you ever made a mistake in life? " type comments. Of course most of us have but I say very few of us went to these levels either on or off a pitch. Faith should be placed in the discipline committee and perhaps the saddest thing is that only a few seem to be talking about the achievements of the Kildare team. The praise for them has been taken off their victory somewhat.

kingpuck71 (National) - 06/08/2018 12:26:01

Another Selfish Mistake - 1 Like(s)

Replying To WanPintWin:  "A home quarter final was never mentioned for the Sam Maguire. They were always going to be neutral and in Croke Park. The teams who won their groups got the extra week off and avoided playing other group winners in the quarter. That was the advantage. I'm not sure where you got the idea that Celtic Park would be hosting an All-Ireland quarter-final."
The quarter finals are only neutral for 6 of the counties. One other has a home fixture and the county they play ( either Cork or Monaghan or Donegal should they win ) will be away. So the odd county have more than one advantage.

kingpuck71 (National) - 24/06/2023 17:31:49

Armagh Vs Galway - 1 Like(s)

Replying To giveitlong:  "I don't recall galway being involved in too many of these incidents over the years."
I'd love to be a fly on the wall at a hearings meeting if that statement was mentioned. "What's your defence?" "I don't recall Galway being involved in too many of these incidents over the years." Some disgraceful behaviour on both sides, with some incidents worse than others, especially the cowardly eye gouge. But I definitely saw a Galway man with a bib throw a right hook that Conor McGregor would have been proud of. My guess is that the CCCC will bottle it and there will be very few sanctions on either side.

kingpuck71 (National) - 26/06/2022 18:12:39

Mayo Vs Kerry - 1 Like(s)
Dublin will fancy their chances of beating Kerry.

kingpuck71 (National) - 26/06/2022 18:22:41

Another handy provincial draw for Kerry - 1 Like(s)
To be honest it's getting farcical now..... Kerry to play one match against Limerick or Clare to be guaranteed into the last 12 of the AI series.. If anyone at HQ can't see how unfair this is then more and more people are going to be turned off every year.

kingpuck71 (National) - 13/10/2016 23:18:08

Best Hurley Makers - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Pikeman96:  "I think it's time we left it so all right :) If nothing else, that poor Derry man who just wanted to buy hurls/hurleys for his daughter must be sick of seeing new posts appear here that are nothing to do with what he asked. Then again, he was the one who started it. "Hurleys" indeed. Hmmph!!! :)"
If you note I used Hurley in the thread title and Hurl in the post. Keeping everyone happy. One thing is for sure. You Wexford men get uptight about the slightest things.

kingpuck71 (National) - 24/09/2021 00:46:46

Best Hurley Makers - 1 Like(s)
Looking for a bit of advice people. Looking to buy the daughter a couple of good hurls for her birthday. She is just coming out of underage into senior camogie. She would prefer a lighter hurl to a heavy hurl. Any advice greatly appreciated.

kingpuck71 (National) - 22/09/2021 21:06:11

Ulster Championship Draw - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Should be an easy path for ourselves to the Final - happy days......"
See you in the Final lad!!!

kingpuck71 (National) - 09/10/2019 19:06:49

Donegal Have The Friendliest Supporters In The Country - 1 Like(s)
As someone alluded to earlier every County has their idiots. I would do gates at a lot of matches around the country and have met a lot of great fans from many counties including Donegal. Like someone also said it's usually your bad experiences that stick with you the most and unfortunately I have had a couple of really bad experiences with Donegal fans. The worst was in 2012 after giving us a real beating in Ballybofey where myself and my family along with other Derry supporters were subjected to a number of unsavoury people in Green and Gold ( some young and some not so young ) telling us in no uncertain terms to get back to Londonderry but not as nicely as that. From a working perspective you normally get abuse from fans about admission prices ( which to all of you out there has nothing to do with the volunteer ticket sellers and gate men ) but last year this went to a new level when Dublin visited Omagh when there were not enough seats for all the season ticket holders and some of the vitriol from a section of Tyrone supporters who believed it was our fault they couldn't get a seat in "Their" ground was savage.

kingpuck71 (National) - 27/07/2019 22:58:52

Tyrone V Dublin - 1 Like(s)
Tyrone maybe missed a trick here with poor decision making, poor shooting and bad team selection but Dublin have another gear in them as well. Tyrone's subs made a great impact when they came on. Not going to be easy for them to go into Donegal and get a result in 2 weeks time but should be a cracking match. On a side note Ciaran Kilkenny is a fine footballer but in the course of the match tonight he did some bleating to everyone - Referee, linesmen, bench. Does he really need to be at it?

kingpuck71 (National) - 21/07/2018 22:38:28