Popular Posts from Reformation

National League - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "Jason Reilly and Pearson would be of no benifit playing the game the way we play it. . Watch Dublin they come off the shoulder in the opposing half . Let the ball in fast then come off the shoulder. We get turned over way too much then the pressure on the half backline and we get cut wide open Let the ball in fast to Johnston and o Connor with lads like Mackey and Smith coming off the shoulder inside the opposing 45 not our own 45"
Eh, were you at the Dublin game? I wouldn't say that their build up play was exactly direct (apart from a couple of high balls into O'Gara! If we learned anything from the Dublin game, it should have been their patience and the value they put in having possession. Actually, they had better movement inside which enabled them to score more but there is no way they were 'letting it in' quicker that we were! Also, they had a fair few men behind the ball so no wonder they had men coming off the shoulder as they defended and do defend in huge numbers. This theory of Dublin going man to man is total nonsense but thats another point altogether!

Reformation (Cavan) - 21/02/2017 14:34:00

National League - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "[quote=MadgeKing:  "This post has me thinking, have we actually got any big game players at all?? Think about it, who in the current panel has consistently stood up and stamped their authority on top level games? OK there are isolated examples like Mackey against Armagh in 2013, Rory Dunne v Donaghy in the Kerry QF, and maybe Johnston against Wicklow in 2010 (if that counts). We also got 40 minutes from Argue against Monaghan in 2015. And whats more, we havent seen a solitary good performance in the Ulster club championship from any Cavan player in 15 years or more. Where is the evidence for all this quality that we have ourselves convinced about? I'm beginning to wonder! Hopefully someone will prove me wrong in Omagh"
I can't recall one brilliant performance by any player in the last number of years. Maybe it's just me. I also seem to lack the confidence that we can win any match because i've been fooled many a time. I don't understand the confidence some posters have before matches or what inspires it. Maybe someone could explain it? Even before the Mc Kenna Cup match against UUJ at home I wasn't very confident and look how that turned out. They put on two good forwards at half-time and they blew us out of the water by scoring something like nine points between them. Many of our players seem to lack mental strength and the heads drop when things start to go pear-shaped. This is a side of the game that need a lot of work."]Harsh! What did you think of Gearoids performance against Galway last year in Breffni? What did you think of Givney v Tyrone. There are consistently good performers for Cavan. The level of negativity here is amazing. We are a small county and have no divine right to be in division one or winning Ulster titles. Thats not a cop out, it is reality. I do agree that we can be overly optimistic sometimes but that is maybe heart over head stuff sometimes. What rattles my cage is people can't enjoy the adventure in division 1 here. Why? Are people shocked that we would find it tough having lost some players and with a new manager? Get behind the team I say. We are Cavan, not Dublin, not Kerry.

Reformation (Cavan) - 10/03/2017 10:49:58

National League - 3 Like(s)
I think Buchanan is the natural answer at midfield and I would love to see Gearoid back on the 40. McVeety is doing very well there this year though but he has been rotating. He is clinical at full forward also as he showed last weekend! Buchanan and Argue need to be pushing our present midfield and we need some options. Any top level county has at least 4 options and it is still a vital area for getting on the front foot. I am hoping for a win over Roscommon but to suggest that we would get enough to make us better than Mayo or Kerry on score difference is madness. A 1 point win would do me and the rest is with the gods. We have no right, based on our last number of meetings, to think that we can go down to the Hyde and give Roscommon a trimming.

Reformation (Cavan) - 30/03/2017 12:03:29

Donegal V Cavan. Ulster Final. 2019- - 3 Like(s)
As the Donegal posters above are saying, 5-10 point margins are what they would expect and hope for. And I can't really give a substantial argument to that logic. However, I think there is an opportunity here for Cavan. I have seen some of these Cavan players beat Donegal teams including McBrearty, McHugh, et al in Ulster Finals. While I wouldn't like to say that this is a free hit for the Cavan lads, its certainly an opportunity to throw the kitchen sink at Donegal and see if we have enough. Lets face it, there is a fair bit of diplomacy littering these forums however the reality is that nobody gives Cavan a hope in hell of winning this one. I am probably going offline after this post as I am getting too nervous about Sunday now. And I am also tired of reading that Cavan have "McVeety, Clarke and Moynagh". Trust me, there is a lot more to this Cavan team than only those three. I am going to go where no other man has gone before and will say - Cavan will win this game!

Reformation (National) - 20/06/2019 12:29:10

Qualifiers - 3 Like(s)
Some of the nonsense on here is hard to fathom!! Why bother playing back door? Who can ask that in all seriousness. I am 100% sure that the people who are posting things like that have very little else going on in their life! I am not alone in saying that I am a Cavan fan. I grew up as one since I was 3 years old and I rarely miss a game. The reason is that I love going to games and supporting my team. We have no divine right to win All Ireland's but I live in hope that it will happen again in my lifetime. People posting rubbish on here about 'Why bother' need to ask themselves - Why bother posting on this forum? You don't care much for Cavan football so go off and find something you do care about and channel your energy into that. I will listen to criticism from real fans and people that care but some of the nonsense on here is destroying this forum.

Reformation (Cavan) - 20/06/2017 10:11:24

Meath v Cavan - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Royalio11:  "Will the pitch be playable between now and then. Perhaps you can shed some light on which 'senior' players left/injured from team who we would be familiar with."
The pitch should be fine. Relax lads, I think the nerves are getting to ye!! I would never want to give an edge to opposition, especially ye or those Monaghan shower but I dont think informing you of some key men missing will offer any insight. The following are former key players or players with big potential and some are gone for the second year now... David Givney Eugene Keating Rory Dunne Mossy Corr Martin Dunne Michael Argue Gerry Smith Alan Clarke Niall McDermott Jack Brady James McEnroe Most of the above had been either big parts of our squad when we got the the All Ireland quarter final in 2013. A couple hit the scene more recently. But we'll manage. Anyway, im sure you'd have heard of a few of them and we have some good young lads who want to play for us now and we will be competitive in division 2 although we have much tougher tests to come than Clare and Louth.

Reformation (Meath) - 16/02/2018 17:35:32

Allianz National Football League Div 2 2018 - 2 Like(s)
Meath suporters seem to be very concerned over climate change! I dont think that we in Cavan, no matter how bad the times have ever been, have really doubted that on any given day, we can beat the Royals. Our neighbours seem to be a bit unsettled with all this. Sincere congratulations to our county board for fixing the weather - it seems to have done the trick! : )

Reformation (Cavan) - 15/02/2018 21:20:04

Could we have a wee H/S Posters get together? - 2 Like(s)
Tom, with respect, I'd say people have better things in their lives than this. I imagine you at the bar, taking a sip of beer and then saying Tom Smith here after every gulp. "Tom Smith here, can I have a pint of Heineken"? "Tom Smith here, have you any bacon fries"? Etc.

Reformation (Cavan) - 19/12/2017 17:27:21

Allianz National Football League Div 2 2018 - 2 Like(s)
Have we the eggs ready lads? ;) Fair play to Mattie and the team! Great performance to a man and played football the way it should be played. The table makes nice viewing this evening!

Reformation (Cavan) - 18/02/2018 16:11:03

National League 2017 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To seanorinn:  "Reformation (Cavan) - Posts:189 - 24/11/2016 09:33:49 1936369 Would you if you have time predict each teams results against the other teams so I can see who will be at the bottom positions."
I'm trying to run a business here Sean but here are my predictions on standings :) Dublin Mayo Tyrone Kerry Donegal Cavan Monaghan Roscommon

Reformation (Cavan) - 24/11/2016 10:40:11

Mayo V Cavan - 1 Like(s)
Unfortunately Cavan disappeared after half time as they did against Kerry. But I was sitting watching as the Cavan keeper was bundled into the net along with the ball. How in the name of god was that not a free out? I think it was a turning point and is infuriating when you already have a mountain to climb! Not Mayo's fault however and they closed the game out and deserved their win in the end.

Reformation (National) - 11/02/2019 12:19:37

Cavan v Armagh - 1 Like(s)
Having watched Tyrone demolish Derry yesterday, I think we know that we have a tough game awaiting us IF we manage to get past Armagh. I read nothing into what happened in the league and we know that they finished strong in their campaign. I expect that this will be a closer game but our home form has been good of late, or at least since the Derry game, and I think that we can progress. Looking forward to it and hope this awful weather will clear up and that we have a good crowd in Breffni on Sunday. I hope that we haven't lost momentum since the Tyrone game. Not much chat since then but we will be back in business with a win. Cavan by 4!

Reformation (Cavan) - 23/05/2016 08:33:15

Minors 2017 - 1 Like(s)
This is an unexpected bit of sunshine in August for Cavan fans. Well done to all the players and management. I thought we were beaten by a much better team in the Ulster Final but id take losing that and finding our way into Croker any day. We have a habit of getting excited with medals and trophies in Cavan and these young lads had the hunger in abundance in Carrick-on-Shannon on Sunday. Well done all but lets not stop here. Go and make a bit of history!

Reformation (Cavan) - 08/08/2017 11:26:45

Cavan In The Qualifiers/ Super 8S - 1 Like(s)
This is a huge game for us but I think not only because of the Super 8's. I think that we have seen some progress this year and from what I have seen from the U 20's, we can strengthen our panel next year without losing anyone (if Cian Mackey keeps going). But this is an opportunity to put down a marker and to prove to ourselves that Tyrone are beatable. And they are! I think that if we could even win this one, it would represent a huge year for us and would set us up very nicely for the coming year. But now is not the time to talk about next year so I'll leave it there. One step at a time and hope that we can find a way to get this monkey off our back. If we do, plenty to look forward to. If we don't, plenty to look forward to.

Reformation (Cavan) - 04/07/2019 15:05:34

Cruise control - 1 Like(s)
Having participated and listened to many debates and points of view since the Tipp game, my opinion remains that we have the players to be more competitive but the main flows are still as follows; Game plan - We need a system where players know their roles. Where we struggle is when we have possession and we move it slowly. We need players who can take responsibility on the ball rather than just passing to someone else. Mentality - The eternal struggle for Cavan teams. Do our players ever really believe that they will cause an upset? Do they believe that Cavan can win tight games and cause an occasional upset? We have been on the end of too many small defeats over the years. Mattie needs time to make his mark on the team and we have to give him a chance. Calling for his head is pointless at this stage. Nobody is happy about the manner of how we lost to Tipp but we have to take our medicine and move on. Lets not forget, there wasn't much of a queue for this job, despite the fact the new manager was inheriting a large group of former Ulster minor & U21 winners who were moving into division 1. We need to get back to our clubs and try to encourage our younger players and work with them. We all have a role to play in Cavan and thats what I intend to do over the next months.

Reformation (Cavan) - 17/07/2017 08:27:46

National League 2019 - 1 Like(s)
The next 3 games are the pivotal ones and the ones we would have targeted. If we can get 2 points against Roscommon at home then its a start. The games against Monaghan and Tyrone will then be 4 pointers. With both of the latter games away, I think it will be a big ask to attain 6 points from these games. If we manage to do so, we should have earned our keep in division 1 for another year. With regards to the football, I am positive about what I have seen. I see more definition in the way we are trying to play and I think that Mickey is working on a template for the team. it takes time and I think we have a lot of people getting fed up with hearing that all the time. But it is how it is and he deserves time. I think that we will be a lot further on this time next year, even if we are playing division 2 football. We have a 2-3 more quality players to come back in so I am hopeful of making an impact on the championship. Monaghan will be very tough but if we lose then we only need to look to what Kildare done last year,

Reformation (Cavan) - 13/02/2019 10:40:19

Cavan Gaels v Slaughtneil - 1 Like(s)

Replying To keeper7:  "Longford have beaten bigger sides than Cavan have in recent years...& we've only half the population you have."
You lads are still selling DVD's of the time ye beat Kerry in 2004!!!

Reformation (National) - 01/12/2017 08:29:00

Meath v Cavan - 1 Like(s)
Hows the lads? Heard there was snow over there during the week. All good here. Looking forward to seeing ye!

Reformation (Meath) - 15/02/2018 21:26:53

Objects thrown at referee David Gough - 1 Like(s)
What a game of football first and foremost. That was an incredible performance from Kerry to run this Dublin team so close but in the end, I think the subs that came in for Dublin made a telling difference. This was Gaelic Football at its best and there must be some seriously tired bodies this morning. I think Kerry can take great pride in that performance and they nearly upset the odds. I thought that if they could have rode out the early pressure in the second half then they would have closed it out. But they didn't and the Dubs now have come through a perfect warm up for an All Ireland final. I can't see Mayo stopping them now. Back to the point of this thread; the scenes at the end were very ugly and certainly something that nobody needs to see. We all know tempers run high but that is simply not acceptable behaviour. From what I could see, it was mainly men in the 50's & 60's hurling stuff down. The same men who most likely bitch and moan about English soccer fans causing hassle. Its not cool and shouldn't be allowed to happen again. If they can't have manners and set an example for younger people then don't allow them back to watch Gaelic Football games.

Reformation (National) - 29/08/2016 07:43:44

Cavan v Tyrone - 1 Like(s)
Some cribbing from the Tyrone lads here. The pressure is showing. Yours to lose lads. We will be up for it Sunday week. We can play much better than that. Oh and to abuse Cavan people for booing a '45. Ye have been consistently the loudest and ugliest fans in Ulster as long as I have been going to games (40 years). Id be surprised if any poster from any other county disagreed with that! Maybe you should be looking at what went wrong internally instead of chastising us. Nervy nervy :)

Reformation (National) - 21/06/2016 19:26:04