New Cavan manager

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Quite a turnaround, from being a done deal a few days ago, sean66."
Fools gold... got that wrong I have to admit... It's a pity McGee and rest in the GAA wouldn't do the same ( The Black Card )....????

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 05/10/2016 13:04:48    1922813

Replying To Sean.66:  "Fools gold... got that wrong I have to admit... It's a pity McGee and rest in the GAA wouldn't do the same ( The Black Card )....????"
McGleenan will probably get it. Bonner being mentioned , not that well liked or rated on the Donegal forum.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 05/10/2016 13:42:14    1922834

Replying To Sean.66:  "Well said Anto....all very true"
Beat Kerry in a Junior All -Ireland two years ago and haven't won an Ulster since ...

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 05/10/2016 13:47:42    1922838

Replying To Sean.66:  "Is there anybody interested in this job at all.......???"
Well you were one of they clever lads that ran the last manager. What should we do now????

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 05/10/2016 13:48:41    1922839

Replying To Sean.66:  "Sean...I would not be too sure that Cork will be back in Div 1 as soon as you think but that is not here or there.. we need to get a man in place soon but in no way should Anthony Forde be let anywhere near the set up... staying in Div 1 will be a huge task and the draw doesn't help one bit.. I reckon 2 from Cavan...Monaghan and Roscommon will go down so let's stay top of that mini league"
Sean...I would not be too sure that Cork will be back in Div 1 as soon as you think but that is not here or there.. we need to get a man in place soon but in no way should Anthony Forde be let anywhere near the set up... staying in Div 1 will be a huge task and the draw doesn't help one bit.. I reckon 2 from Cavan...Monaghan and Roscommon will go down so let's stay top of that mini league

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts:114 - 04/10/2016 22:31:40 1922650

your reply tells me enough and what you know about Cavan football. Anthony Forde has a lot to offer but the problem is others don't have his ambitions. No room for Mr Nice guy if you are in management. If players dictate the show the only way is down FACTS.
Cork off course will be back where they belong sooner than you think. I would worry however who might be passing them on their way down.
Someone said if they had to get a win in the last match against Roscommon I would be very worried indeed. They best have secured division1 before they meet them.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 05/10/2016 14:26:10    1922862

Glad to see the back of him as a manager he was clueless. Can anybody point to even one positional change or switch he has made in his time in charge that changed the course of a game in Cavans favour..? These good young players need a new voice but I fear the change has came 2 years late...

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts:114 - 02/08/2016 22:02:51

Replying To Sean.66: "Is there anybody interested in this job at all.......???"
Well you were one of they clever lads that ran the last manager. What should we do now????

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts:699 - 05/10/2016 13:48:41

Any suggestions Sean.66?

You put enough of keyboard warrior effort into slating Terry Hyland, and we are now scouring the country to find someone/anyone to replace him while his management team is disintegrating day by day. It looks as if we may have no continuity to advise the new manager about certain players that undermined Terry Hyland they are likely to do the same again.

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 05/10/2016 15:17:48    1922884

Replying To Breffnisbest:  "Glad to see the back of him as a manager he was clueless. Can anybody point to even one positional change or switch he has made in his time in charge that changed the course of a game in Cavans favour..? These good young players need a new voice but I fear the change has came 2 years late...

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts:114 - 02/08/2016 22:02:51

Replying To Sean.66: "Is there anybody interested in this job at all.......???"

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts:699 - 05/10/2016 13:48:41

Any suggestions Sean.66?

You put enough of keyboard warrior effort into slating Terry Hyland, and we are now scouring the country to find someone/anyone to replace him while his management team is disintegrating day by day. It looks as if we may have no continuity to advise the new manager about certain players that undermined Terry Hyland they are likely to do the same again."
Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts:264 - 05/10/2016 15:17:48 1922884

I think all the backroom team are now gone and with other clubs, thats a shame considering the hours they put into it behind the scene

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 05/10/2016 17:17:51    1922955

The County Board is not goin to give this job to just anyone. T. Hyland and the people who worked with him have left a good squad in a good position. All that progress can't be squandered. The squad is not far off the pace, a new manager does not have a lot to do, he needs to be a good strategic football man who knows Ulster football and will command the respect of players. He needs to have a winners mentality. We can't have any of these journeymen managers who have been in a few county setups but achieved nothing of note. I can't see anyone around the county at present with the credibility to do the job.
I would note Damian Donohoe and Seanie Johnston as possibles down the line a bit, they have Killenkere play with a freshness not seen in Cavan in a long time. I was very disappointed in the later stages of Senior championship thought Lacken, Cootehill, Gowna, Mullahorn, Kingscourt all played very slow dogged aul football so new manager not missin much there. A few Lavey players worth a look at, but neither Ramor or Castlerahan settin the world on fire. Exception of course Jack Brady, amazin how good a forward looks when ye give him a good supply of ball!! Would have bin great for Cavan if he had ball to play.
Scotstown manager is the most attractive of what's been suggested , fresh , creative and highly professional I'm hearin.
Surprised no mention of Peter Canavan, he is a very shrewd reader of the game as is Banty and of course our old friend Martin Mc Hugh, all available.
Either way hope we get a manager soon, the Dubs in February, that should focus the minds of the CB!

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 05/10/2016 20:01:50    1923011

Replying To shannon414:  "The County Board is not goin to give this job to just anyone. T. Hyland and the people who worked with him have left a good squad in a good position. All that progress can't be squandered. The squad is not far off the pace, a new manager does not have a lot to do, he needs to be a good strategic football man who knows Ulster football and will command the respect of players. He needs to have a winners mentality. We can't have any of these journeymen managers who have been in a few county setups but achieved nothing of note. I can't see anyone around the county at present with the credibility to do the job.
I would note Damian Donohoe and Seanie Johnston as possibles down the line a bit, they have Killenkere play with a freshness not seen in Cavan in a long time. I was very disappointed in the later stages of Senior championship thought Lacken, Cootehill, Gowna, Mullahorn, Kingscourt all played very slow dogged aul football so new manager not missin much there. A few Lavey players worth a look at, but neither Ramor or Castlerahan settin the world on fire. Exception of course Jack Brady, amazin how good a forward looks when ye give him a good supply of ball!! Would have bin great for Cavan if he had ball to play.
Scotstown manager is the most attractive of what's been suggested , fresh , creative and highly professional I'm hearin.
Surprised no mention of Peter Canavan, he is a very shrewd reader of the game as is Banty and of course our old friend Martin Mc Hugh, all available.
Either way hope we get a manager soon, the Dubs in February, that should focus the minds of the CB!"
Jack Brady really??? Jordan ate him in the Lavey game. James his brother has being impressive.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 05/10/2016 21:19:56    1923029

Replying To shannon414:  "The County Board is not goin to give this job to just anyone. T. Hyland and the people who worked with him have left a good squad in a good position. All that progress can't be squandered. The squad is not far off the pace, a new manager does not have a lot to do, he needs to be a good strategic football man who knows Ulster football and will command the respect of players. He needs to have a winners mentality. We can't have any of these journeymen managers who have been in a few county setups but achieved nothing of note. I can't see anyone around the county at present with the credibility to do the job.
Either way hope we get a manager soon, the Dubs in February, that should focus the minds of the CB!"
Canavan maybe as a journalist or pundit might seem shrewd. Not as a manager. Bizzare tactic's with both Cavan Gaels in ulster club and with Fermanagh.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 05/10/2016 21:21:15    1923031

Banty...so shrewd he played McManus at left half back for 2 years. I wouldn't if I were you.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 05/10/2016 22:20:50    1923057

I see Dessie farrell is being touted now.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 06/10/2016 12:09:52    1923187

Surely Tomsmith and SeanRinn could do the job as a duo....

Might eat into some of their time they spend on this website but they can talk the talk for sure

Doglegright01 (Cavan) - Posts: 41 - 06/10/2016 12:37:03    1923206

Replying To Doglegright01:  "Surely Tomsmith and SeanRinn could do the job as a duo....

Might eat into some of their time they spend on this website but they can talk the talk for sure"
Surely Tomsmith and SeanRinn could do the job as a duo....

Might eat into some of their time they spend on this website but they can talk the talk for sure

Doglegright01 (Cavan) - Posts:37 - 06/10/2016 12:37:03 1923206

Why this post towards me Doglegright01 first off I have no connection to Tomsmith.

Regarding my time on this page really is not a lot and as a retired person over 66 I am sure thats okay don't you.
I worked and paid my taxes for 47 years.
I have no desire to be manager of any team maybe Mr Smith has.
My experience of management is zero but my experience of life is 100% which is probably more important.
I see two names mentioned in another post and it tells me about the quality of many posters on here.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 06/10/2016 13:37:36    1923258

The sad thing is there is no candidate out there that is better than what we had last year. Sean66, as an example, has not named a manager that he would propose. Its easy to knock Terry Hyland or anyone for that matter but having nothing constructive to follow just shows these boys up for what they are.

At this stage we should forget an outside man, there are no outstanding candidates. Get a Cavan man in to do the job. I would like to see Peter Reilly myself but I know he ruled himself out - however, hes a good solid Cavan man through and through so maybe if he were approached again?? Anthony Forde, Jason Reilly, Mickey Graham, Damien Donohoe perhaps? Forget the mercenaries who would come in to line their pockets. Go with a young clued in Cavan man.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 06/10/2016 14:38:39    1923294

Replying To fredflint:  "The sad thing is there is no candidate out there that is better than what we had last year. Sean66, as an example, has not named a manager that he would propose. Its easy to knock Terry Hyland or anyone for that matter but having nothing constructive to follow just shows these boys up for what they are.

At this stage we should forget an outside man, there are no outstanding candidates. Get a Cavan man in to do the job. I would like to see Peter Reilly myself but I know he ruled himself out - however, hes a good solid Cavan man through and through so maybe if he were approached again?? Anthony Forde, Jason Reilly, Mickey Graham, Damien Donohoe perhaps? Forget the mercenaries who would come in to line their pockets. Go with a young clued in Cavan man."
At this stage we should forget an outside man, there are no outstanding candidates. Get a Cavan man in to do the job. I would like to see Peter Reilly myself but I know he ruled himself out - however, hes a good solid Cavan man through and through so maybe if he were approached again?? Anthony Forde, Jason Reilly, Mickey Graham, Damien Donohoe perhaps? Forget the mercenaries who would come in to line their pockets. Go with a young clued in Cavan man.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts:701 - 06/10/2016 14:38:39 192
Glad to see you have named Anthony Forde, Jason did some work with Donegal, Mickey Graham is with a Longford team at the moment going for a senior title, Peter as you said has ruled himself out in fairness. I think Damien Donohoe is not near ready for this roll. I know he has a intermediate team in a Final replay but has he had any experience at the top level but like many everyone has an opinion.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 06/10/2016 18:51:06    1923456

A rookie manager would be ideal if they were in Division 3 ,not Division 1. Forde didn't get the Gaels out of the group stages in championship this year

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 07/10/2016 13:55:01    1923756

Replying To FoolsGold:  "A rookie manager would be ideal if they were in Division 3 ,not Division 1. Forde didn't get the Gaels out of the group stages in championship this year"
A rookie manager would be ideal if they were in Division 3 ,not Division 1. Forde didn't get the Gaels out of the group stages in championship this year

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts:1405 - 07/10/2016 13:55:01
I am not a Gael supporter but do you stick the blame on A. Forde or should you look deeper. Not many share his passion for the game in Cavan like Anthony.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 07/10/2016 17:30:11    1923862

What do any of you know about this mans credentials???

Mattie Mc Gleenan????

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 07/10/2016 17:34:23    1923863

Banty McEnaney has been interviewed

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 07/10/2016 18:16:22    1923872