New manager candidates

That's very true Ned . Although I have to admit I used to enjoy seeing Paudi running up and down the line geeing up his players .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 14/07/2015 19:07:57    1753441

Ned
Im in total agreement with you ,i think terry could stay and finish his term but with a change of ass and possibly selectors

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 14/07/2015 19:19:14    1753450

Deanmartin you have really let the mask slip with that post , not that we didn't know that you have it in for Hyland.

So its not Hylands fault after all lol.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 845 - 14/07/2015 20:36:29    1753483

asitis

Ned
Im in total agreement with you ,i think terry could stay and finish his term but with a change of ass and possibly selectors

The reason I'd get rid of Terry right now is because we were having this very conversation last year after his team delivered arguably the worst performance of any Cavan team of all time against Roscommon when we scored a total of 0-05. So he was given another year and has yet again failed to make any impact on the championship. Yes, he has done some good work and WHEN we lift that Anglo Celt cup in the coming years, Terry will be the first man we should thank. But he's not going to deliver it. He admitted himself when he brought McHale in that fresh voices were needed, well its time a complete overhaul was done. He has laid the foundations, but he's limited as a tactician.

To those supporting him, I feel that this support is based on sentiment and emotion rather than on a rational logical basis. I commend that, it shows passion as Cavan men, but sadly I just feel there is no Cavan man capable of doing what needs to be done. Having an outside manager has worked wonders for some teams, Fermanagh and Monaghan to name but two.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 14/07/2015 21:46:31    1753542

Ned
I cant disagree with what your saying my only reason for saying Terry could possibly stay is that a couple of players i have spoken to have great time for Terry but not so much for the ideas of some backroom staff from what i gathered from them some of the decisions of late have not been Terrys on the flip side of that i suppose we need someone who can stand up and be counted i go to every match i can didnt go to london as was disgruntled with the set up was horrified we conceded three goals against rossies there just seemed to be no communication between goalie to the backs and the outfield players one thing this team had was good communication we had a problem scoring at times but its a far bigger problem if communication in the squad is lost i hope what some one in the CB has the sence to look at the bigger picture .Alot of thought needs to go in to the set up for next year dont feel mchale brought much to the set up this year but that is only my personal opinion,read the goalkeeper coach piece a few weeks ago he says we dont need a shot stopper after the rossies game not sure id agree with him goals generally win matches

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 15/07/2015 11:42:34    1753698

What did ppl expect McHale to bring to the forwards? St Bridget's in Roscommon were doing well before McHale ever appeared and you must remember he was with Clare before with no great success rate. So I'd question the wisdom of bringing him in just as much as question what he did? As for the other selectors what exactly do they add to the team? Force was a centre half back in his day you would never think that the way our back line has been opened up by Roscommon and even London opened us up but for some woeful finishing. Terry's reign is definitely at an end . Just comparing the 2 Roscommon games in both qualifiers there was no real improvement . Ok scoring averages are up but the end result the same. This year was stand up and be counted year and management failed. Unbelievable poorly amateurish tactics reminisant of junior club football are used with a total lack of a " we know what we're doing" look about it. Junior club football tactics. It's time that Terry stepped away completely from the Cavan senior scene . We thank him sincerely for his efforts and for bringing pride back in the jersey but it's quite clearly visible that he hasn't the tactical knowledge to bring us to the next level. So him staying will do more harm than good to both his reputation and the teams. Bring in an experienced man put Peter Reilly or Caralon or whoever in to learn the tricks of the trade . Because their are stuff that the experienced man can pass on. We missed out on malachy o rourke and Pete mc Grath this past few years. Mcentee or James mc Cartan the 2 standout canadates free in Ulster. Joe Kernan even. Pillar mc caffery with Cavan connections . They all experienced winners who know how to win . That's the secret. Know how to win

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 15/07/2015 16:34:21    1753934

Ahwwwwnow

Job for the boy's remember our last chairman is a Mayo man

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 15/07/2015 21:13:36    1754047

Hardtimes

And who exactly are you goonie? - someone who would go against the wishes of the players and force an unwanted change on them because it is your pleasure ?

Whatever management we go with I'll be happy if the players are happy . They are the ones who will have to sacrifice and follow through . I couldn't care less if it keeps people on here happy or not .

To answer your question Hardtimes,, im like a vast majority of Cavan surporter's who can see that the current set-up isn't working. and now its time for a change.
You say "whatever management we go with you will be happy if the players are happy" - In that case we could just appoint a supermodel as a manager ,im sure the players would be happy with that !

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 15/07/2015 21:37:00    1754059

Cavan management committee have started the ball rolling one weeks ago looking for a new manager.they informed terry of this also.

Shame to see our central council rep has had to resign.big loss to cavan gaa

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 16/07/2015 09:15:54    1754079

gaelsutd

really?? surely if this was the case, Terry would have announced that he is stepping down, or taking a background role - his position as manager is completely untenable if this is true.

I remember when Tommy Carr was appointed - the CB made it very public that they were looking for someone.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 16/07/2015 09:40:20    1754088

Hardtimes - the players have sacrificed enough over the last 4 years, players were played out of position, they have ruined some of our best forwards, its that bad that some of them don't actually know how to play as a forward anymore, when Martin Reilly came into the panel, he was one of the best forwards in the County, he still plays as a forward, but arguably could be called on of our best defenders!

They have ruined Martin Dunne, a prolific forward when he went into the panel, Niall McDermot also, the style of football is absolute manure!

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 16/07/2015 09:50:46    1754100

I keep reverting back to the point we re not as good as we think. But from what little I know & hearing or reading, Its Terry Out! Terry Out!

Ok I don t agree with tactics either but for me Forde can t hide on this one, he s played at highest level & instead or getting involved in screaming matches every game he was managing he should realise he was only a few games away from losing the dressing room.

Introduction off half fit M Lyng was final straw for me against Monaghan. Espec when we see what Barry Reilly did against Roscommon

I think we prob need a High Profile of a Man Manager to get the Exiles back in. To create a 4/5 year plan. I like Kevin Mc Stay but can he commit for 4/5 years I see him as more off a finisher.. He ll see a team missing a few things correct them & win.

Manager prob needs to be 38-40????? Years old Not long finished or a good club record. D mc Cabes Bro maybe???

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 16/07/2015 13:00:38    1754260

Goonie I'm pretty sure the average age of the squad is well above 13 so I don't really think your point is valid .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 16/07/2015 13:04:11    1754265

The finances available to the county board or lack of, cannot be used as an excuse to do nothing. Never have I seen such a level of anger and despair among football people . Bottom line if we fail to invest in a suitable manager for what is the flagship team then we will allow ourselves to fall even further down the rankings at a time when we have a wealth of talent in the county. It is appalling to hear people talk about half a dozen players going on the lash in Dublin after the London game, missed training the following week and still they were all selected and played against Rosccommon, no wonder they looked tired and uninterested. To me that was the final straw in the incompetence of the current management and the hypocrisy of a small number of players from the panel.
I believe the current management team should now graciously bow out instead of leaving everyone wondering why they need a few weeks to decide on their future!!! They decided on their own future when they failed to prepare the team properly for championship as they were appointed to do. They played unfit players, created copper fastened positions on the team for a few favourites, discarded other better players to the bench most notably Barry Reilly who gave a masterclass in half forward play, persisted with a full forward line selection for the championship that wasn't working or looked like it hadn't been worked on, failed to monitor how games were progressing and make appropriate switches in timely fashion, rewarded players who consistently gave the ball away and missed tackles with regular selection, failed utterly to address the issues of indiscipline, undermined and diminished a number of promising and talented young players over the years................so please what is there to think about?
It's time for the gravy train to stop, appoint one good man for a fraction of the sums I'm hearing bandied about to pay the collective expenses of the current outfit, appoint a good quality coach from within the current coaching structure to carry out the coaching work of the appointed manager. That should be possible. I assume the talk of bringing in the St. Pats team managements is the suggestion of enthusiastic pupils past and present, while that management have done great work, I fear that to appoint them would just mean more of the same. Good luck to the minors players and management on Sunday.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 16/07/2015 14:42:30    1754366

I can tell you now that Terry has no intention of walking away . In fact I'd say he will be looking to stay in past next year. Wait and see! He's there in one capacity or another for the past 6 years and he's no intention of quitting. Wait and see

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 16/07/2015 14:51:10    1754374

Ok lads, if there's a new management in next year or not (we will see in the next few weeks/months) what players do we need to get in to really IMPROVE things?

Name a 15 that you'd like to see line out next year. .

Mine would be:

1. James Farrelly. . .he's been around long enough to be given his shot - and he's a keeper!
2. Jason McLoughlin. . .Roscommon game aside, he's been seriously consistent for us
3. Rory Dunne (c). . .from being forced into FB as a minor to establishing himself as one of the best around, he could play anywhere but we need him here
4. Alan Clarke. . .back into his sweeper role, we need a settling influence in the backline
5. Dara McVitty. . .with half forwards dropping back (all teams do it) we need a half back who gets forward well and isnt afraid to beat a man
6. Eamonn Reilly. . .still the best CB in Cavan, by a distance
7. Killian Clarke. . .Could play anywhere but went well here in 2013
8. Gearoid McKiernan. . .fitness has improved and is improving with experience
9. David Givney. . .huge loss this year, needed back in a big way. would give us 2 scoring midfielders
10 Cian Mackey. . .looking back to his best
11 Barry Reilly. . .again - if allowed to express himself can be a top top centre forward
12 Martin Reilly. . .free taker and covers serious ground every game
13 Martin Dunne. . .a good manager will get him back to his best - or at least play him!
14 Eugene Keating. . .another huge loss this year, great target man but can roam too
15 Seanie Johnson. . .controversial maybe, but needed - we simply don't have a better consistent (when his mind is in it) scoring forward

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 16/07/2015 18:22:32    1754546

gaelsutd

Cavan management committee have started the ball rolling one weeks ago looking for a new manager.they informed terry of this also.

Shame to see our central council rep has had to resign.big loss to cavan gaa

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 16/07/2015 21:44:14    1754656

1. James Farrelly
2. ciaran brady
3. Rory Dunne
4. killan clarke
5. niall murrey
6. padraig falkner
7. gerry smith
8. Gearoid McKiernan
9. john mc cutcheon
10 dara mc vitty
11 Barry Reilly
12 Martin Reilly
13 david givney
14 Eugene Keating
15 Seanie Johnson

paulie (Cavan) - Posts: 44 - 16/07/2015 22:02:59    1754672

Gilsenan
mcloughlin
Dunne
mcenroe
J Hayes
Flannigan
K Clarke
Corr /mcCuthon
McKiernan
Mcvitty
Mackey
Reilly
mc dermott
dunne
keating

with brady barry reilly j brady there or there abouts if gilsenan injured then farrelly in goals

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 17/07/2015 16:53:21    1755017

Paulie id be inclined to have gilsenan mcloghlin mcdermott mackey in the mix

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 17/07/2015 17:29:08    1755045