New manager candidates

Gaelsutd,
You seem very sure of things, care to tell us?

Everyone here is saying we have no forwards. We used to have, till the current system/ style of play has taken every bit of confidence and creativity out of our natural young forwards. Just look at how well Barry Reilly did when he came on, he had nothing to lose (wasn't afraid of being taken off if he took a shot) and he just went for it, fair play to him.
Watch the forwards in club games this coming championship, and see the difference!

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 07/07/2015 18:05:37    1749452

Peter Canavan, no thanks. He did something remarkable with Fermanagh though - he had them playing even worse football than Hyland had us playing. Which is an extraordinary feat. Too similar to Terry in my opinion.

Pete McGrath - doing wonderful work with Fermanagh recently, might be worth approaching. Not convinced though.

A few of yous mentioned Ciaran Whelan, an excellent candidate I reckon. Was impressed with his analysis of Cavan on the Sunday Game, you could sense he was frustrated that we are so poor and haven't kicked on like we threatened to do. Perhaps he has a soft spot for us? He's young, knows the modern game, would command the respect of the players and has achieved a lot in the game as a player.

But I still think we need James Horan.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 07/07/2015 19:10:52    1749486

Have to agree about canavan, he didn't do much with Fermanagh and just about won a championship with the Gaels, if kingscourt had of had 15 men for the whole game I doubt he would of won that, whoever it is has some job on their hands, 4 u21 ulster titles and only one forward from those teams! Really hope theirs a complete change not just someone like Peter Reilly slotting in along with Forde, if that's the case we really are going nowhere

fidel (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 07/07/2015 20:20:51    1749516

Agree. I think it definitely need to be an outsider, someone to command a bit of respect and put a little fear into the boys. Really tough call though.

redassasin (Cavan) - Posts: 25 - 08/07/2015 09:31:45    1749629

For me it boils down to the players , CB and Terry . If the players and CB are happy to continue with Terry , and if he can commit then I'd leave Terry at it for another year . These are the people who , after all , have put in the most effort and made the most sacrifices to raise our profile over the last few years and these are the people who will continue to do so . If there is something broken or irreconcilable in the above dynamic then a change is needed . What peoples' opinions are on here is irrelevant .

And for those clamouring to get a big name in or hang off the tail coats of other counties' improvements , namely Donegal and Mayo - here's something to chew on . Those improvements came from the internal appointment of an unproven manager with a genuine love for their county and an intimate knowledge of the players and club scene . They did the complete opposite of what is being suggested here . In fact , I'd say about 90% of the names being touted had their day in the sun with their native counties !

Whatever happens I want a Cavan man in charge next year or at least a Cavan resident who knows the club scene and who goes to club games because that's what he'd do anyway - not because it's an opportunity to rack up the mileage and expenses . I want someone who has the long term health of Cavan football in mind even after he's no longer manager . I want someone who respects our underage teams and who will facilitate our competitiveness in these grades .

The grass is always greener on the other side . We talk about players having mental block , of not believing they're good enough to compete with the big boys etc Then we as fans should put our money where our mouth is . We have to believe there's men in Cavan capable of leading our team and stop this nonsense of always looking to other counties to solve our woes or needing the big name to stroke our egos and ease our insecurities . We should have the confidence to blaze a new trail , to do it the Cavan way and let the chips fall where they may !

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 08/07/2015 14:09:44    1749869

forwards from the recent under-21s

Tom hayes,Enda Reilly,Chris Conway,Barry Reilly,Joe Dillon,Kevin Tierney,Paul O'Connor,the Grahams, Conor Madden,Bouchier,Niall Mcdermott, and there's more that I can't think of the top of my head, these are all decent players.

if you consider that we should also have Eugene Keating,Cian Mackey,Martin Reilly,Martin Dunne, and more at our disposal , why is it that people keep saying we have no forwards, Is it that we have no marquee forward that will score you 6 or 7 points consistently every game.

do we need this. we scored 1:16 on saturday, are we now saying that we need to be scoring an average of more than 20 points a game to win. If that is the case then it's our defence that needs looking at.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 08/07/2015 14:52:20    1749904

s goldrick

why is it that people keep saying we have no forwards

Because you don't & that's been proven time and time again. Only Mackey of the players you mention would get a place on a top 6 team and he would struggle to do that in fairness. Your defence and midfield are not the problem !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 08/07/2015 17:55:40    1750080

S Goldrick
Tom Hayes has yet to prove his starting place, yes, he had two good assists on Saturday, but no score.
Enda Reilly would score easily and I heard no mention of Jack Brady, was told he was injured? Bouchier, Conroy good club players, don;t know if they'd cut it at Senior

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 08/07/2015 19:41:16    1750126

Shelbourne
County: Monaghan

why is it that people keep saying we have no forwards

Because you don't & that's been proven time and time again. Only Mackey of the players you mention would get a place on a top 6 team and he would struggle to do that in fairness. Your defence and midfield are not the problem !

yea but Mackey 's scoring averages are quite low. I actually think he is well over-rated. the media love him though because it's handy to trot out cliches without any proper analysis. he gave away 2 balls with sloppy passes and put another over the sideline.
I think we actually have much better scoring forwards. admittedly we have no-one like Connolly,Brogan,O'Donoghue,Colm O'Neill,Michael Murphy,McBrearty,McManus,Jamie Clarke,Donie Kingston, and a few more but most teams (apart from Dublin) have only one exceptional scoring forward and even some of these can be easily marked out of games by top defenders. The likes of Cillian O' Connor ,Dean Rock and Sean Quigley are habitual high-scorers but the bulk of their scorers come from frees. and I guarentee you Quigley would not do a whole lot up against a top defender.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 08/07/2015 19:46:39    1750130

I am not in the know but I think almost after the events of last Saturday evening that Terry will look to carry on and see out the final year of his 5 year term. I just hope that if he does wish to carry on that he shakes up the back room team in his final year.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 10/07/2015 12:14:09    1750931

Kildare blue he shock up the back room team last year and what good did it do?

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 10/07/2015 12:58:20    1750973

We'll see Kildare Blue . Normally I'd be inclined to agree but I just don't like the way the goalkeeping issue was handled . Goalkeeper was brought in on the pretext that he was to take frees . Then after one game without ever stopping a shot and doing okay with kick outs he's suddenly first choice - and not even taking frees anymore it seems . Then to compound the issue we had the article on the Celt telling what great mates they are . Players will deal with a lot but they're not stupid and there's certain lines you cannot cross .

I just thought the communication between goalkeeper and outfield players was poor against Roscommon in terms of general organisation and kick outs . Is there an underlying issue ? If the dressing room has been lost (and I'm not saying it has) , then there's little point burying our heads in the sand and flogging a dead horse for another year . I guess it will take frank and open dialogue between all involved to see where they're at .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 10/07/2015 13:10:24    1750986

Hardtimes
youve hit the nail on the head

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 10/07/2015 13:22:38    1750995

I read this with great interest this morning.
It looks like the CB are broke and Terry wants another year.
I don't believe he should get it but he probably will now.
Being out of the C/ship in the first days of July is just not good enough.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gael...-31366120.html

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/07/2015 16:51:36    1751155

Terry would want to take his time over the manager's job. He has a lot to lose reputation wise if things don't work out well next year. If he leaves now he will leave the county in Division 2 of the league and not too far from making a significant breakthrough in Ulster.

My understanding was that the trainer from last year went back to Tyrone and that McHale came in as a forward's coach. I am talking about the kind of change that Banty brought about in Meath during his final year. He brought in John Evans to the set up. If the County Board are looking at a successor from the younger ranks would it be such a bad idea to bring a Cavnavan or a McEntee into the set up during Terry's final year and so have a smooth handover when his term is up.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 10/07/2015 18:40:49    1751189

Kildare Blue
No harm bringing someone in but some of the selections recently have been crazy and it was shown up in the roscommon game to concede three goals was just ridiculous

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 10/07/2015 20:06:42    1751219

I can't help but think we're showing a serious lack of ambition if we're willing to give Terry Hyland another year in charge. The writing is on the wall, it's blatantly obvious that he has taken the team as far as he can (which was in 2013) and we've been on a downward spiral ever since. Ok, promotion to division 2, but no medals or merit handed out for that, championship is the yardstick, and he has failed in it consistently. The simple reality is if he stays, next year won't be any different, once we come up against a half decent team i.e All of Ulster bar Antrim, we're in trouble. Because the mental resolve isn't in the team and that's the manager's fault.

I am really disappointed, disillusioned in fact, at the direction of Cavan football in the past two years. It was clear that the negative football Hyland introduced would have far reaching consequences, consequences that are still being felt today. In an effort to improve the scoring situation, we fell apart defensively.

Sorry, but I for one won't be going back to Breffni Park if this is the direction the county is heading. And I know the sentiment among a majority of fans is that Hyland should go. Crowd attendances are paltry, we're getting outnumbered by away supporters on home ground, unless something drastic is done, and yes that means breaking the bank if need be, then we're facing a very grim future. The county board need to act now and get the fans back on board, they need to get a big name, one of the best in the business to coach these Cavan players and reward them and reassure them that as a county we have their best interests in mind and we share their ambition to win trophies. Anything else is an admission that we don't care about success and we're happy to carry on as usual.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 11/07/2015 11:12:02    1751308

We dont have the funds to get a high profile name in the county board are in debt.

Cavan_COYBIB (Cavan) - Posts: 62 - 11/07/2015 13:38:38    1751340

Breaking the bank to get in a big name would be a terrible idea and the smart money would be on us ending up pretty much where we are now . In fact we would probably be worse off as to fund this spending spree underage coaching resources and funds allocated for capital investment would most certainly have to have their pockets picked - this would have a knock on effect for future players coming through . Our senior team deserve investment but not if it means selling the family silver . If players need this sort of reassurance then I'd say their mental fortitude is not all that to begin with . Self improvement and belief ultimately comes from within .

Regarding attendances - I have not noticed this massive decline people keep harping on about . Our attendances have been poor for near on 15 years now . It reflects the fans expectation of how the team will do . I'd even go so far as to say the attendances have improved slightly on occasion over the last few years . But when we lose games it's easy to be out shouted by opposition and add to the perception that we have been massively outnumbered . The game in Derry two years ago was by far the best Cavan game to be at in many many years as we had a decent crowd who completely got behind the team . It felt like we had taken over Derry that evening when in fact we probably had an attendance not too dissimilar to what we're currently getting and possibly less .

I feel our defensive absentees had a massive bearing on us for the last match and the goalkeeping issue didn't help things . These added more to our defensive woes than the fact that we opened up more offensively . I have been saying all year that Alan Clarke is a massive loss to this team and the CHB position for us had a big question mark over it . I felt our full back was being over exposed during the league and there were obvious cracks showing . Rory Dunne , Killian Clarke , Alan Clarke and James McEnroe are very important players for us . Alan Clarke is by far the best number 6 we have . If he is unavailable James McEnroe is a good deputy . But he is NOT a full back . Rory Dunne is our best full back and if unavailable Killian Clarke is a good replacement . We do not have other great options to cover this position - In fact it took us 10 years just to get one good option here . The 3 lads missing and moving James McEnroe to full back put us defensively where we were at 5 years ago . If there was one team you could cheery pick for Roscommon to play against after the defeat to Sligo unfortunately it was us . In hindsight conceding those goals was always on the cards .

I honestly don't know where I rate Terry at the moment . I don't think he is a bad manager but he is fast becoming an unlucky general . I don't know how the players feel about him either but I would expect he is losing the ear of a lot of them . He needs to be honest with himself regarding some of the decisions he has taken and the players need to be honest with him as to where they see themselves going forward . There is little point going forward if the air hasn't been cleared and player resentments not voiced .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 13/07/2015 12:55:27    1752472

good sensible post Hardtimes. I feel Terry should be given another year, especially if the lads that were not available this year become available. The football has improved. it is certainly not as awful to watch as last year. and I feel we performed better v Roscommon this year . I also feel we performed alot better this year v Monaghan than we did last year v Armagh. We certainly performed better against London than we did v Westmeath last year. so I would say that in our 3 champuionship games , the corresponding fixtures this year were an improvement on last year. However it has proven to be not good enough.then again we are not the only teams gone out.
Meath,Down,Roscommon,Laois from Div 2 have gone already. you will probably find that of the quarter finalists 6 will be from div 1.
so i think it is important that we take the league seriously next year and try and get promoted, that would be a massive step in the right direction.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 13/07/2015 14:29:50    1752567