Cavan v Kildare

Told ye this was gonna happen and mark my words WE ARE GOING DOWN .... To were we deserve to be by the way we play , only for frees we wud 'nt to score , every game is the same .we have no forwards dat can score 4 or 5 points from play or a real danger man dat every time he gets the ball he's either gonna score or a score off him

bigass12 (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 07/03/2015 21:25:11    1700176

We are a shambles.

I never really bought into the theory that some people have that we havent progressed under the current manager. Well after tonight it is unequivocally clear that we have not progressed. Because we are going straight back to division 3, the same place we were when he took over. Taking off McVeety? One of our best players? Daft.

Players walking away left right and centre. Consecutive defeats on home ground. Paltry attendances. Not a forward in the county of Cavan.

Pains me to say it but the 4 in a row looks to be for nothing. Future is blue is it? Very very doubtful.

For the second game in a row ill discipline cost this Cavan team the game. The referee tonight was poor, but when you raise your hand to a lads face you are simply begging the referee to send you off. Why did he do it?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 07/03/2015 21:29:50    1700178

I was talking about scores from play there....thats a grand total of 7pts from play in 2 home games...a terrible stat

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 07/03/2015 21:33:35    1700183

Get the chopping board out.

waynerooney11 (Cavan) - Posts: 142 - 07/03/2015 21:34:13    1700185

Trying not to be too harsh here because there are plenty of others on here who are , but I traveled in to see that and can't stomache a pint in the local after it!!

I can live with poor shooting when a forward takes the right option. I can live with mistimed tackles. That happens and we have all done it. But coming out of the ground I asked a guy beside me if we had a plan and he shrugged his shoulders. Mackey was creating chaances and winning breaking ball and was then moved inside for the second half! I appreciate his fitness could not have been up to scratch but keep him outside and then substitute him after 40 - 45 good minutes! MeVeety coming off? Now there's a strange one. Perhaps he picked up a knock. That remains to be seen.

As soon as DJ was sent off you just couldn't see us winning tonight. I don't know if we have the know how on the line. Im not buying into to witch hunt for Terrys head and he has brought in McHale, but we need a plan B and plan C.

Make no mistake about it - even with 14 men, this was a winable game. But credit to Kildare, they did what they needed to and despite making life hard for themselve, dug out the result!

Final note - Cormaac Reilly is consistantly the worst ref in Ireland!!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 07/03/2015 21:40:36    1700195

waynerooney11

Question is, who do you get to replace him?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 07/03/2015 21:43:47    1700197

Felt sorry for the players on the pitch last night as a group they now look directionless. Clarke is a huge loss. Think The management should and will be left to finish out the season, a knee jerk replacement now and we will end up with the wrong person to replace Hyland and another 4 years paperin over the cracks. I do think the county board should be doing the research now on bringin someone new in, my own tuppence worth on that question is Kevin Mc Stay of Mayo is the man to get.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 08/03/2015 09:01:40    1700219

Ned_Stormcrow

waynerooney11

Question is, who do you get to replace him?

Keep Terry get rid of all the baggage. stats stats and more fecking stats.

You have had the pleasure of watching what happens near the end of a match when the stats start panicking.
Get back to basics before we are back in Division 3

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 08/03/2015 09:54:33    1700234

Thought the straight red was harsh .
We are still very lacking in attack and need to have forwards who can take their scores.
Gearoid mc Kiernan is fading in and out of matches and not having the impact he should have
Don't know why Dara mc aveety was substituted as he was having a good game .

marita (None) - Posts: 467 - 08/03/2015 09:54:47    1700235

Although some like deanmartintynan maybe happy with the result as it backs up their over riding agenda, true fans will be disappointed. It was good to see us try something different inside and leave more men up but it takes time to change and could not be perfected in one match. The sending off was justified and really the player in question needs to be spoken too as that behaviour is not good enough. We can still save ourselves as Westmeath and Galway are no better than us.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 08/03/2015 10:14:18    1700241

Nearly every Kildare man last night was 6ft+ Huge men, with power and pace something Cavan are lacking in ll areas apart from James McEnroe every ball he went for last night he was fit to win..

Cavan showed great fight but we hadnt players fit to win there own ball and work space to kick points, Niall Kelly of Kildare is an example every time he got the ball he looked like kicking it over sometimes taking to much out of it but he was a class act last night but,

Daniel Flynn deserved his goal in the end my man of the Match for what he done with the ball didn't do much work without out it but when it was in his hands he made it count.
Paul Cribbin Came into his own at midfield after his altercation with McKiernan, Big strong lad has serious potential
Kildare where poor for alot of last nigth but saying that for all the ball they had in the first half i couldnt believe cavan went in 1 point up!! There ball handling was shocking all night they spilled more ball into cavan mens hands, and Cavans wasnt much better esp for the first kildare goal Dunne should have had that ball up and cleared but he was fumbling about with it He was poor last night i thought between that and kicking the ball straight out of play.

Ronan Flanagan It amazes me how hes still knocking around the county panel, And MAckey should have been taking off well before he was, Thomas Corr wasnt in the game at all whatever roll he had, Clakre when inside wasnt really used ball rarely put in and if it was MCDermott was in the way he was poor again he's there cuz of his Free taking..saying that without it last night cavan could have been put away before half time.

Dr.Phil (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 08/03/2015 10:43:07    1700247

It's heartbreaking stuff as a fan when you truly believe that the players are good enough to compete in this division, but as a collective we are heading for division 3. This Cavan team is a lot poorer than the sum of its parts. That's down to management.

Kicking scores is a foreign concept for this team it appears. Our whole tactic is based on drawing fouls and tapping over frees to keep us in games. Did I read 7 Points from play in 140 minutes of football? I mean it's baffling stuff. When was the last time we drew a save from a goalkeeper even?

Having said that, I think it also may be time to acknowledge that we simply do not have the players up front to compete any higher than division 3. There's nothing management can do about that.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 08/03/2015 11:16:18    1700256

Folks what's the big idea announcing a team on Saturday morning and then starting a different team 7 hours later?

No points from 2 home games, no goals in 4 league games and not finishing with 15 men in the last two games is not good enough. If Niall McDermott is the free taker then Tom Hayes will play in the summer instead of Martin Dunne.

Cavan have three more games to play and on the basis of their first 4 games in the division if they finish the games with 15 men then they have a chance of picking up more points. They will be judged on where they finish after the 7 games.

The idea that under 21 success will result in senior success in the immediate future just does not hold. Enjoy the success at under age level and if it leads to success at senior level that's great and if doesn't well that's life.

Maybe the success of the under 21's and the minors is showing itself in Saint Pats reaching the McCrory Cup final for the first time in 40 years! Maybe the dividend will be a long term one!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 08/03/2015 11:39:00    1700266

Hard luck to the lads last night . Again , indiscipline cost us . I thought we went with the right approach in terms of team selection . Kildare are a big strong physical team and we put players in there who would compete in a battle . Even at that we would still be losing out in the physical stakes so we could not afford passengers and we most certainly could not afford to go a man down . O'Reilly really let his team mates down last night and gave them an up hill battle to fight . It's not the first time he's done it either . There are small margins in football and the margins get smaller as you go up the divisions . Last night was a real "welcome to Division 2" game and some of our players and mentors need to take a good hard look at themselves .

Kildare played the better football and deserved the win . Played better than us against the wind and took some really good scores from play . Thought Kelly was excellent . Second half they used the wind much better and took some really good long range scores . Conway , Cribbin and Flynn gave them the power and drive that set up victory . Took their goal chances well .

For us I thought McLoughlin , F Flanagan , McEnroe , M Reilly and McVeety were the pick and I thought McDermott did ok up front as well in spite of what others have said . Midfield were out muscled . Think we look a bit lost at centre half back as well . There is no one in there that can read the game like A Clarke . A lot of ball that could have been cut out wasn't due to poor positioning . Forwards we know too well . Really need someone in there with a bit of drive that's not afraid to take defenders on . We got in for one goal chance first half that Argue passed off . Second half he got in again from an absolute peach of a pass but he took his eye off it . We desperately needed a goal last night and must be ruthless when the opportunities present . Again them's the margins .

Where do we go from here ? I don't think we're too far off but squeezing that extra percentage out is much harder at the higher levels . Teams have off days and everyone is capable of beating everyone in this division so there's no reason to think we'll not meet someone on an off day and pick up some unexpected points . But we're definitely in a slump and have lost all momentum . Management need to step up as well and sort out some things . Less said about the behaviour of Forde the better . Last night was a game made for J Hayes . Tinnelly would have got game time last night too if he was still around . We need every conceivable bit of help to shoulder the wheel at the moment!!!!!

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 08/03/2015 11:59:30    1700271

marita

Thought the straight red was harsh .
you kick a fella and punch him in front of the ref a red card is the only card he could have got.
Thought Kildare midfielder could have got his marching orders three or four times.
Kildare penalty player brought to the ground with hand around the neck and the cavan player was the last man between the goalkeeper and anyone else he does not even get a card. I asked several their opinion and everyone of them to a man said we were lucky.
On the overall performance sad to say we are strangers too small no plan A let alone a plan B terrible stuff to watch.
I have no problem saying this we have several on the panel that are not up to inter county standard and sadly Terry has stuck with most of his U21 players to the detriment of balance.
Please Terry get rid of the stats baggage and anyone else you have around you that you don't need. Do it your own way for a change and prove to people like me that you have what it takes to manage.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 08/03/2015 12:27:14    1700281

i think last two weekends has shown management to be out of there depth. i think they should be let see out season and see what happens but a new voice is needed. i don't think ive seen such a lightweight cavan team in a long time. we lack so much power. but the thing is we also lack basic skills. are passing/ shooting is so bad it scares me. i really couldn't see last night what kind of team were trying to be. the bench is very weak aswell. bar argue/ moynagh no sub really gets the crowd excited. where are all these 21s?? 4 under 21 titles and no forwards?? something is gone seriously wrong.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 08/03/2015 12:54:38    1700288

The reason 7/8 players have left the panell is down to woefull tatics and---- and more will leave too.... Why has Killian Clarke gone from giveing a MOM display in Croker v Kerry 2 years back to playing Full Foreward...? Its like something a junior B team would do as a last resort..!! Dara McVitty playing well and taken off...??? .. Players leaving and the crowd is also leaving should spell it out to all...!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 08/03/2015 14:42:03    1700323

Well how do the results today effect

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 08/03/2015 17:38:20    1700441

would imagine laois beating rossies a good result for us the way things stand

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 08/03/2015 18:32:14    1700472

Hard to know mowbar . Anyone of the bottom 5 are in squeaky bum territory . Down are the only ones with a cushion of sorts in terms of points . Meath and Galway have their games in hand but that's not exactly points in the bag . Tomas Flynn is a big loss to Galway which might clip their wings a bit but their Corofin lads will give them a boost . Looking at the fixtures they really could go either way .
If today's results tells us anything it's to keep a cool head when the pressure is on and to never write yourself off . Nobody is down or up yet . There is a lot of football to be played and more upsets to come . Hopefully we are on the giving end of a few .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 08/03/2015 18:39:54    1700475