Cavan v Kildare

The 2 week break prob stunted Cavans momentum after the first 2games but in truth they never got to grips with the game or the conditions... Istill think we would have won if Flanagan had not been harshly sent off as Down were no great shakes... Kildare will pose much more of a scoreing threat than Down so if we dont get our finger out in front of goal we could be in big trouble again... This will be last chance saloon for Kildare as 6pts will tight keep them up....

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 02/03/2015 19:29:21    1698488

Hardtimes, I dont think its melodramatic at all. We are a very poor team, with a poor manager. Ive watched most of our games this year and we simply do not have enough quality in the side.
There are far too many basic errors, wayward passes, wrong decisions being made, inability of the forwards to kick points.
With respect, we've won 4 U21 titles in a row, so you would expect that the least we would see from Cavan this year is a decent consistent brand of football but at times, the football is painful to watch. People seem to highlight the wins against Fermanagh, Monaghan & Laois, but Fermanagh were dire, and we were no better, apart from the goal against Monaghan, we kicked 1 single point in the 2nd half. Then in a McKenna Cup Final, we failed to register a single score in the 2nd half, now, Im sorry for being over critical, but how can we call that progress? A Senior InterCounty Team failing to score in 35 mins is simply not acceptable by any standard.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 03/03/2015 12:01:05    1698642

cavanblueman

The manager is fine to be honest with you but I wonder is his aggressive enough??
The back room team thats is there I have to question what do they do ??
You have A.Forde and K.Downes as selectors now I wonder are they the right people well I don't think so??
You have McHale what does he do I wonder what is his role ??
P.Dolan some fella from Gowna the amount of stats people and backroom staff is crazy.
Watching all this crap night after night looking at the positives and ignoring the negatives is a crazy game.
Play your best team, Division 2 we have to stay there we cannot afford to go back into division3 so play your best get your 6 points and no need to worry about anything else.
I am afraid to say Kildare will beat us next Saturday as will Galway and I worry now about Westmeath considering they have won. I picked them with Laois for relegation but looks like I got this wrong.
We have to take a point next Saturday night and I worry we will find it difficult to get it.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 03/03/2015 13:10:02    1698691

Providing McEnroe isn't injured and Mackey can start. Here's what I would go with F Flanagan going to half back and Jack going to half forward
1. Farrelly
2. Hayes
3. R Dunne
4. McLoughlin
5. P Smith
6. McEnroe
7. D Reilly
8. McKiernan
9. Clarke
10. Mackey
11. M Reilly
12. F Flanagan
13. McDermott
14. M Dunne
15. J Brady

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 03/03/2015 13:10:50    1698693

cavan97

Providing McEnroe isn't injured and Mackey can start. Here's what I would go with F Flanagan going to half back and Jack going to half forward
1. Farrelly
2. Hayes
3. R Dunne
4. McLoughlin
5. P Smith
6. McEnroe
7. D Reilly
8. McKiernan
9. Clarke
10. Mackey
11. M Reilly
12. F Flanagan
13. McDermott
14. M Dunne
15. J Brady

I would only play one of your forward line and he would be in the half forward line. I wold not play Mackey I don't know what you see in the wing half forward one of your mid-filelders is not a team player not sure about Farrelly but he played well for Kingscourt. If your corner back scores a point it means he is not doing his job where he should be. The team you have listed is a weak team and might be okay next May when the conditions are dry. No place for Lyng I wonder why.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 03/03/2015 14:29:38    1698739

That's just my opinion Mowbar. The Reason why I wouldn't have Lyng on is because in his position I think Jack Brady would do a better job. He is an extremely good passer of the ball, very quick, gives and goes for 70 minutes and tackles very well while tracking back.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 03/03/2015 15:02:04    1698753

Martin Dunnes should be dropped. He has been very poor for all 3 games imo.
Gilsenan poor too and maybe try Galligan again.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 03/03/2015 15:08:53    1698758

Good comment Mowbar regarding the stats - too much of that stuff nowadays, granted, its good to be able to provide feedback to players now and again, but its getting to the point where players are probably concentrating that much on previous error highlighted by the stats man, that they simply forget to go out and play football.
To be honest, Im not sure if Terry is the man to bring the team forward, if he is, then he needs to go back to basics and start playing a different game to the one he has the playing at the moment. We all know that the game plan is simply not working because we dont have the quality of player to execute that type of game. We've got young fast forwards, let stop trying to carry the ball, and passing it backwards and sidewards and start playing a fast, attacking brand of football.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 03/03/2015 16:08:42    1698795

If a corner back scores a point he's not doing his job. I've heard it all now. I think we can all realise you are stuck in 1970s football.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 03/03/2015 18:45:59    1698884

NOT a good performance against Down.Cavan can beat Kildare if the attitude is right, we have enough quality in the panel. If the players selected want it enough, if they are prepared to take a tackle for the sake of setting up a team mate, if they are prepared to go that bit further to make sure of a score, if they are disciplined and believe that they are as good if not better players than kildare and all are of the same desire, then as a team Cavan can and hopefully will win.

realisticpaddy (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 03/03/2015 18:58:48    1698890

Fred Flint - Its not about the corner back doing/not doing his job, however, if you look at the tactics employed by the Cavan Team, it does not allow for a corner back to be in a position where he can score - thats the point that was being made.
A team can employ and tactic whereby, once they are in possession, then everyone attacks, players run of the shoulder of the other player.
Cavan do not employ that tactic - they employ a defensive game, where the corner back does not venture up the field.

Arguably, that is Cavan's probelem at the moment, theyre playing a game when they do not have the quality of players to do so.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 04/03/2015 11:52:48    1699084

McLoughlin kicked a fine score and full power to him for it no matter what number you're wearing it doesn't matter nowadays, positions mean nothing anymore. If you think a corner back should stay rooted to the corner then the 1980's just called and they want you back.

Thing is when Jason scored that point he looked up for options, saw nothing and just thought "I'll have a go". Nobody else is willing to do it. So why not?

We need more players taking scores. We have no consistent point scorers so everybody should chip in and have a go. Big deal if it goes wide. Better than going backwards and risk losing possession and get hit on the break.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 04/03/2015 13:30:49    1699131

Ned_Stormcrow

so you are happy for the defense to come forward and score one point in the whole match but did you look at the scoreboard by any chance. I will give him credit for the point for I think it was one the better score in the match but just look at the score and ask yourself have we the players to come forward and have others to fit into their slot. My answer is no we don't

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 04/03/2015 15:19:02    1699172

The point is the players are not allowed to go forward, we persist with the Donegal type of game and we certainly dont have the type of players for that. A team should play to their strengths and its clear that Cavans are not suited to the gameplan.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 04/03/2015 16:57:30    1699213

Ned_Stormcrow

so you are happy for the defense to come forward and score one point in the whole match but did you look at the scoreboard by any chance. I will give him credit for the point for I think it was one the better score in the match but just look at the score and ask yourself have we the players to come forward and have others to fit into their slot. My answer is no we don't
We only scored 2 points from play in the whole game, one off them from a corner back, so we obviously haven't the forwards to start with

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 04/03/2015 17:07:35    1699218

I'm living in Westmeath and there tails are definetly up after beating Kildare they also ran Galway close, only a last minute free came off the bar it would have been a draw.
I was hoping that we could beat Down as I felt 5 points might be enough to see us safe.
Maybe with the pressure on now we can beat Kildare even though I think it's a big ask.
We will need everyone at there best.
It's a bit to early to expect miracles from Mackey.
Best of luck to the lads on Saturday .

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 04/03/2015 17:46:14    1699231

fredflint

If a corner back scores a point he's not doing his job. I've heard it all now. I think we can all realise you are stuck in 1970s football.

You have heard it all now. Not much point in a corner back scoring one point in 76 minuets if at the other end goals and points and easy got.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 04/03/2015 17:53:10    1699236

Well we came up short against Down in a home game and we have another against Kildare now. Kildare will be looking to get off the mark against us and they will see us as a weak team in the group. They will target this game.
I was so disappointed last Saturday with our performance or lack of it.
We were level with 25 minutes to go and playing with a very strong wind and we made a hames of it. I am not confident at all now. We are easy to play against and seem to have no plan B when things are not going our way. Our forwards are as weak as dishwater and our full-back line go missing at times. Down could have got 3 goals last week while we created no goal chances. We create very few goal scoring opportunities.
I am not confident but as usual i will go and support them although i'm fast losing patience.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 04/03/2015 18:06:45    1699244

Flint - Its not about the corner back doing/not doing his job, however, if you look at the tactics employed by the Cavan Team, it does not allow for a corner back to be in a position where he can score - thats the point that was being made.
A team can employ and tactic whereby, once they are in possession, then everyone attacks, players run of the shoulder of the other player.
Cavan do not employ that tactic - they employ a defensive game, where the corner back does not venture up the field.

Arguably, that is Cavan's probelem at the moment, theyre playing a game when they do not have the quality of players to do so.

What are you on mate! The point made by the football genius mowbar is that if a corner back scores he's not doing his defensive job. You as a fellow football genius have agreed with mowbar and then say the problem with Cavan is we don't allow our backs to get forward, which is totally at odds with mowbar and totally at odds with reality. If you bothered watch Cavan this year you would have noticed that Cavan have been trying to use McLoughlin to launch counter attacks. He scored a point on saturday! You may remember a lad called mcmenamin that played corner back for Tyrone, he did the same. Anyway you two football wizard should take joint manager of a junior B team somewhere and put up the age old cry of "drive it in for jaysus sake", I'm sure yis will go far.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 04/03/2015 19:24:52    1699272

Youre a comedian FredFlint - Ive seen most of the Cavan games this year, Im not sure what youre on, but your point that Cavan were using McLoughlin to launch counter-attacks is laughable to say the least.

If you bothered to actually watch the games, there is no attacking from any of the full back line, why do you think our half forwards spend the majority of the time collecting ball in their own back line.
The fact is, Terry Hyland has employed tactics used by the big guns in Ulster when we simply dont have the quality of players to
enforce that type of game.
Michael Hannon hit the nail on the head in the Celt yesterday, we played against the wind, in a number of matches this year,
McKenna Cup Vs Monaghan, McKenna Cup Final V Tyrone, League Vs Down, in those 3 matches we only score a total of 1 goal and 2 points from play.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 05/03/2015 10:08:30    1699345