National League 2020

Replying To s goldrick:  "another great win in very difficult conditions. fair play to everyone of the lads. Working hard for each other up and down the field. It's great to see us not panicing when we concede goals. a few tough games ahead but they cant be faulted at the moment whatever happens against The Rossies, Kildare and Clare."
Fair play to Mickey and the lads. There is a group there who leave all on field for the Jersey.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 845 - 23/02/2020 08:37:12    2269193

Replying To RHF:  "Fair play to Mickey and the lads. There is a group there who leave all on field for the Jersey."
Extremely hard fought victory, well done to Mickey and the team. Two away wins on the bounce, both in terrible conditions. Excellent stuff.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 23/02/2020 11:12:19    2269224

Great commitment from the lads last night. With the horrendous conditions mistakes were inevitable but the lads all covered each other and kept working. The forward line still needs a bit of work as we're not getting a huge return from our full forward line in particular

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 23/02/2020 11:15:24    2269225

Replying To kanu:  "Great commitment from the lads last night. With the horrendous conditions mistakes were inevitable but the lads all covered each other and kept working. The forward line still needs a bit of work as we're not getting a huge return from our full forward line in particular"
Brilliant mark in the first half by g Mac, and a brilliant mark by conroy in difficult conditions, great heart all round, fair play lads.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 23/02/2020 12:29:15    2269250

Great result and well worth the trip in awful conditions. Back before Christmas there was a lot of negativity and tbf it was warranted. All anyone wanted was for Cavan lads to give it everything and they really have. A lot of lads seem to be thriving having stepped up to the plate. Gearoid was excellent last night. But for me the improvement of galligan, Kiernan, Gerry Smith and Conroy is heartening. They may have got two very fortunate goals but overall Cavan were the better side. Fermanagh were always going to be sticky but out lads dealt with it admirably. Safety is ensured now BUT dare I say it promotion looks like a realistic goal. I'll be happy whether it's achieved or not. But the carrot of a possible Armagh rematch is irresistible for me and I'm sure it's even more irresistible for the lads. A very happy Cavan man today.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 23/02/2020 13:38:58    2269270

Replying To theweanling:  "Great result and well worth the trip in awful conditions. Back before Christmas there was a lot of negativity and tbf it was warranted. All anyone wanted was for Cavan lads to give it everything and they really have. A lot of lads seem to be thriving having stepped up to the plate. Gearoid was excellent last night. But for me the improvement of galligan, Kiernan, Gerry Smith and Conroy is heartening. They may have got two very fortunate goals but overall Cavan were the better side. Fermanagh were always going to be sticky but out lads dealt with it admirably. Safety is ensured now BUT dare I say it promotion looks like a realistic goal. I'll be happy whether it's achieved or not. But the carrot of a possible Armagh rematch is irresistible for me and I'm sure it's even more irresistible for the lads. A very happy Cavan man today."
In their own hand they top the table with 6 followed by Armagh Roscommon Westmeath Laois all on 5 so I expect 10 points might get promotion. Division two guaranteed so pressure off. To play Kildare Clare Roscommon. They deserve the plaudits right now for a huge improvement since the Armagh match.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 23/02/2020 16:25:56    2269307

Replying To Virginia:  "Trouble is Cavan has had times of adversity for 60 years.
We'll soon have state of the art facilities and no team.
Underage don't seem up to much but then again we did feck all with the last good crop of players.
Not one decent forward came out of the under21s who won four Ulster titles.
Something lacking badly in the set up.
County board need to take a long look at what's going on."
Where has mr positive cavanshambles gone, once they win nothing to say.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 23/02/2020 17:46:32    2269352

Replying To fredflint:  "Where has mr positive cavanshambles gone, once they win nothing to say."
Fred the Flint I would not be getting to cocky fella for the standard in Division 2 is very poor so don't get carried away. Watching the Monaghan match today and the improvement of this Monaghan team since Banty and our good friend Peter took over has been second to none. Come championship time Cavan will have to make a huge improvement if they wish to to be threatening the Anglo Celt cup.
Pressure off now on the league so they should be more relaxed and be able to perform.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 23/02/2020 18:10:40    2269359

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Fred the Flint I would not be getting to cocky fella for the standard in Division 2 is very poor so don't get carried away. Watching the Monaghan match today and the improvement of this Monaghan team since Banty and our good friend Peter took over has been second to none. Come championship time Cavan will have to make a huge improvement if they wish to to be threatening the Anglo Celt cup.
Pressure off now on the league so they should be more relaxed and be able to perform."
Who is cocky lad? It must be killing you not to be able to come here on a Sunday evening and tell everyone how we are a Div 3 team like you did earlier in this thread.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 23/02/2020 18:39:17    2269371

Replying To fredflint:  "Who is cocky lad? It must be killing you not to be able to come here on a Sunday evening and tell everyone how we are a Div 3 team like you did earlier in this thread."
Not sure that I did but on the performance against Armagh it was a correct assumption. It does not kill me at all for I am sure fred the flint I am a better Cavan supporter than you and many on here. I am pleased they are doing well as are the real supporters. I do and I still question their ability when it comes to the stronger teams later on this year. If you were a betting man you would not bet against them winning promotion BUT two of the three remaining games will give us a better reflection as to where Cavan are going as a serious contender for silver ware.
Right now it's the league relegation is safe that for now is all that matters.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 23/02/2020 19:57:27    2269420

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Not sure that I did but on the performance against Armagh it was a correct assumption. It does not kill me at all for I am sure fred the flint I am a better Cavan supporter than you and many on here. I am pleased they are doing well as are the real supporters. I do and I still question their ability when it comes to the stronger teams later on this year. If you were a betting man you would not bet against them winning promotion BUT two of the three remaining games will give us a better reflection as to where Cavan are going as a serious contender for silver ware.
Right now it's the league relegation is safe that for now is all that matters."
You're a better supporter than me?? I seriously doubt that lad. You are a total moan like many on here, that's not what true supporters do, run the team down after 1 bad result.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 23/02/2020 20:12:11    2269432

Everytime I come on this forum there is friction between the quiet man and someone else. I'm trying to figure out what the problem is?

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 23/02/2020 21:11:07    2269469

Replying To thegadfly:  "Everytime I come on this forum there is friction between the quiet man and someone else. I'm trying to figure out what the problem is?"
His constant negativity and nobody wanting to listen to it.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 23/02/2020 22:18:19    2269516

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "In their own hand they top the table with 6 followed by Armagh Roscommon Westmeath Laois all on 5 so I expect 10 points might get promotion. Division two guaranteed so pressure off. To play Kildare Clare Roscommon. They deserve the plaudits right now for a huge improvement since the Armagh match."
How do you make out that div 2 status is guaranteed?. It is far from it. As things stand We definitely need 2 more points. Obviously things will change after the next round of games but as it stands it could finish like this.
Armagh 9
laois 9
Kildare 8
Clare 8
Roscommon 7
Westmeath 7
Cavan 6
Fermanagh 2

That is just one scenario.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 24/02/2020 00:01:33    2269547

Replying To s goldrick:  "How do you make out that div 2 status is guaranteed?. It is far from it. As things stand We definitely need 2 more points. Obviously things will change after the next round of games but as it stands it could finish like this.
Armagh 9
laois 9
Kildare 8
Clare 8
Roscommon 7
Westmeath 7
Cavan 6
Fermanagh 2

That is just one scenario."
An unlikely scenario to be fair

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 24/02/2020 09:24:55    2269583

Replying To fredflint:  "An unlikely scenario to be fair"
Some lads on here can only see the hole in the doughnut .

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 24/02/2020 09:55:55    2269602

Replying To fredflint:  "An unlikely scenario to be fair"
True but I was just pointing out that we are not guaranteed div 2 status yet.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 24/02/2020 10:54:35    2269625

Things are looking very positive at the moment after all the negativity before Christmas and the Armagh defeat. We have some consistency now and I've no doubt that we can win the rest of our games, but without sounding negative, would this team be better with another year in Division 2 rather than going up to Division One with the likelihood that we'll go back down again? Having said that, it could be harder to avoid promotion than it would be to merely maintain our position in Division Two, and a National League Title wouldnt go amiss either!

We still have a long way to go, we've been training since October, whilst most of the top teams are not long back, yet they still have produced some scintillating football. Too often over the years, Cavan have peaked too early in the year, fitness has been one of the reasons we got our last three wins but with the exception of last years Championship, our other championship runs have been fairly poor so lets just enjoy their current form and see where we go.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 24/02/2020 14:24:10    2269747

With 4 out of 7 Rounds played who is Cavan's top marksmen so far?

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 24/02/2020 14:28:47    2269748

Replying To Breffnisbest:  "With 4 out of 7 Rounds played who is Cavan's top marksmen so far?"
Been a bit mad for us, 17 different scorers so far. McKiernan has 0-8, Murray has 2-1, and then loads of lads like Pierson, Kiernan, Thomas Galligan, Conroy and so on are all around 5 or 6 points each. Very well spread through the team. Some seem to step up when others are being double marked and such. McKiernan didn't score against Laois, but got 5 the last day out...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 24/02/2020 15:25:23    2269778