Championship 2019

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Well I hope so for it's a disgrace the way they pick a MOTM period."
You knocked Cavan after the league saying we wouldn't beat Monaghan and called for the management to go.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 340 - 01/06/2019 20:36:09    2189675

Replying To williesboy:  "You knocked Cavan after the league saying we wouldn't beat Monaghan and called for the management to go."
Yes Cavan need to ne ready for the disruptive shenanigans that Armagh will have planned. Remember the stuff after the parade in clones when Trevor Crowe and Pierce mc kenna were playing. Anything to get an advantage.

bunnoe1 (Cavan) - Posts: 60 - 01/06/2019 21:09:12    2189678

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Hold on a minute lad, no winding up here. Like your good self, I have been through the mill following Cavan this last 2 decades. Antrim in 2009, the replays against Tyrone in 05 and 2016, the near misses against Monaghan, Donegal in 2012 and last year, Tipp as well. The list goes on and the scars are there to prove it. But this year is different. We were unlucky and disappointed to get relegated all the same there were signs of something building. Granted monaghan were muck in the first round but you can only beat what's in front of you and Cavan at last stepped up and did just that. We will be favourites for Armagh. Rightly so and we need to handle it. Look how Tyrone approach a game against lower division teams. Attitude has them ahead before they start.
I genuinely believe this team can change the narrative with a big win against Armagh. Look at the team lineups and the form and tell me 4 to 6 points is unreasonable."
What were you looking at in the team line ups?
Cavan isn't a team of All Stars. Armagh are Cavans level. Armagh were dominant in midfield and sharper forwards. Mcveety was Cavans best forward. Mackey good when he came on

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 02/06/2019 20:26:16    2189955

OK, where to start on this one......

First of all I thought it was an incredible game, my nerves were shot! Armagh were a lot better than I envisaged, I guess the league isn't always a good indicator of where a team is really at.

The first half was 50/50, and Armagh dominated the first 15 minutes of the second half and got themselves into a very commanding position in a game where scores were relatively hard to come by. I genuinely felt that we were staring defeat in the face when Armagh got the goal. Four points down was a considerable gap in a game so tightly contested. Then to compound the difficulty Ciaran Brady gets a stupid but fully deserved red card, absolutely unforgivable. How a man can do that to his team mates when your battling in an Ulster semi final is beoynd me, it could easily have cost us the game.

BUT, absolutely massive credit to our lads, they didn't drop their heads and kept battling away, taking control of the final 15 minutes to snatch a very unlikely draw. I thought Stephen Murray was superb when he came on, he injected some much needed pace and thrust into our attack, we actually fared better when we ran at Armagh through the middle. Graham's teams like to utilise space on the wings, but that didn't work all that well today, he will have learned that Armagh are vulnerable to pace.
Also massive credit to Mackey, he kicked some monstrous points for us, saved the game really, he was desperate unlucky with the final kick, it would've been a sweet ending.

As for individual performances, I thought Moynagh defended very well, but his shooting is more miss than hit. He has a very unorthodox style of striking a ball, he slips almost every time he shoots. But defensively he was solid.
Thought Conor Rehill had a good game. Gearoid put in a great shift at midfield. Martin Reilly was well marshalled, Armagh had their homework done on him. He did make an incredible catch on the endline that won us a free at a vital time though.
Niall Murray was excellent, probably my Cavan MOTM, a five point haul is a terrific return.
McVeety did plenty of ball carrying, kicked some great scores too.

Quiet day for the Gowna lads, I'm not sure if Conor Brady should start ahead of Paul Graham, and Madden was quiet too.

Referee watch: Worst refereeing performance I've witnessed in a long time. Southern referee that wasn't able for the rough hard hitting style of Ulster championship football. The pull by Grimley on Gearoid was genuinely frightening, he could've done serious damage, he was inches away from catching him in the head. And what does he get? A yellow. But Podge gets a black card for far less.
Hopefully we'll get a different referee the next day.

Overall, I think that's probably the best Armagh have played in the championship in years, there is more in us, I don't think Armagh have another level to go to.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 02/06/2019 21:15:01    2189986

I thought McGeeneys imprint was clearly seen with the extreme physicalty off the ball! Martin Reilly was continuously pushed, slapped shoved even when they ball was nowhere near!!! Linesman was aware but didn't do anything about it! The afters would make a player wonder is it worth playing gaelic football anymore. McVitty was also subject to the afters, I was wondering what the tactics would be but it became clear from the starting minutes. Let's hope both teams can get the chance to play honest football the next day.

fifty (Mayo) - Posts: 108 - 02/06/2019 21:35:27    2189993

Replying To fifty:  "I thought McGeeneys imprint was clearly seen with the extreme physicalty off the ball! Martin Reilly was continuously pushed, slapped shoved even when they ball was nowhere near!!! Linesman was aware but didn't do anything about it! The afters would make a player wonder is it worth playing gaelic football anymore. McVitty was also subject to the afters, I was wondering what the tactics would be but it became clear from the starting minutes. Let's hope both teams can get the chance to play honest football the next day."
Exactly, Armagh's physicality was way over the top, and designed to antagonise. Jim McCorry (Armagh management) made some interesting remarks after the game too about our players.

Also, did anyone else notice the craic with extra balls continuously being spilled onto the pitch from behind the goals? BBC commentary picked up on it thankfully.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 02/06/2019 21:57:25    2190001

McVeety & Martin Reilly will be black and blue tomorrow. Faulkner going off was huge because it meant Killian Clarke had to drop back.

I thought when we went four points down that our goose was cooked so will definitely take the draw. Hopefully we get over the line the next day.

And what is it with Cavan fans and being negative? Any of the crowd spoken to from Cavan on BBC were negative. The lads are training hard and doing their best. Get behind them!

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 02/06/2019 22:26:21    2190012

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Exactly, Armagh's physicality was way over the top, and designed to antagonise. Jim McCorry (Armagh management) made some interesting remarks after the game too about our players.

Also, did anyone else notice the craic with extra balls continuously being spilled onto the pitch from behind the goals? BBC commentary picked up on it thankfully."
Galligan was pulled back at least twice early in the second half after taking quick kickouts as there was an extra ball on the pitch, the Armagh goal came from a quick kickout when there was also an extra ball on the pitch but funny enough the ref didn't pick up on this.Grimley should've gotten a straight red and I actually think he gave Donaghy a second yellow .Faulkner black card but Armagh lad gets yellow for similar tackle ,no consistency.

aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 256 - 02/06/2019 22:42:09    2190019

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Exactly, Armagh's physicality was way over the top, and designed to antagonise. Jim McCorry (Armagh management) made some interesting remarks after the game too about our players.

Also, did anyone else notice the craic with extra balls continuously being spilled onto the pitch from behind the goals? BBC commentary picked up on it thankfully."
I was saying that to the lad next to me about the balls coming on at the restarts. Not sure what was going on. Highly enjoyable game though.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 02/06/2019 23:01:21    2190029

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "OK, where to start on this one......

First of all I thought it was an incredible game, my nerves were shot! Armagh were a lot better than I envisaged, I guess the league isn't always a good indicator of where a team is really at.

The first half was 50/50, and Armagh dominated the first 15 minutes of the second half and got themselves into a very commanding position in a game where scores were relatively hard to come by. I genuinely felt that we were staring defeat in the face when Armagh got the goal. Four points down was a considerable gap in a game so tightly contested. Then to compound the difficulty Ciaran Brady gets a stupid but fully deserved red card, absolutely unforgivable. How a man can do that to his team mates when your battling in an Ulster semi final is beoynd me, it could easily have cost us the game.

BUT, absolutely massive credit to our lads, they didn't drop their heads and kept battling away, taking control of the final 15 minutes to snatch a very unlikely draw. I thought Stephen Murray was superb when he came on, he injected some much needed pace and thrust into our attack, we actually fared better when we ran at Armagh through the middle. Graham's teams like to utilise space on the wings, but that didn't work all that well today, he will have learned that Armagh are vulnerable to pace.
Also massive credit to Mackey, he kicked some monstrous points for us, saved the game really, he was desperate unlucky with the final kick, it would've been a sweet ending.

As for individual performances, I thought Moynagh defended very well, but his shooting is more miss than hit. He has a very unorthodox style of striking a ball, he slips almost every time he shoots. But defensively he was solid.
Thought Conor Rehill had a good game. Gearoid put in a great shift at midfield. Martin Reilly was well marshalled, Armagh had their homework done on him. He did make an incredible catch on the endline that won us a free at a vital time though.
Niall Murray was excellent, probably my Cavan MOTM, a five point haul is a terrific return.
McVeety did plenty of ball carrying, kicked some great scores too.

Quiet day for the Gowna lads, I'm not sure if Conor Brady should start ahead of Paul Graham, and Madden was quiet too.

Referee watch: Worst refereeing performance I've witnessed in a long time. Southern referee that wasn't able for the rough hard hitting style of Ulster championship football. The pull by Grimley on Gearoid was genuinely frightening, he could've done serious damage, he was inches away from catching him in the head. And what does he get? A yellow. But Podge gets a black card for far less.
Hopefully we'll get a different referee the next day.

Overall, I think that's probably the best Armagh have played in the championship in years, there is more in us, I don't think Armagh have another level to go to."
Excellent summary, fully agree

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 02/06/2019 23:07:18    2190032

Replying To fifty:  "I thought McGeeneys imprint was clearly seen with the extreme physicalty off the ball! Martin Reilly was continuously pushed, slapped shoved even when they ball was nowhere near!!! Linesman was aware but didn't do anything about it! The afters would make a player wonder is it worth playing gaelic football anymore. McVitty was also subject to the afters, I was wondering what the tactics would be but it became clear from the starting minutes. Let's hope both teams can get the chance to play honest football the next day."
I cant understand one thing from today's game ,, Armagh's weakness that was shown from the Down game was the there weakness from the high ball into there defence , we put one ball in which was actually a miss kick from Gmac and M Reilly caught it on end line and we got a free from it . Why are we having Galligan in there if he isn't being supplied with the ball . There was loads of opportunities when he was one on one and we didn't pass it in .And credit to Mackey and young Murray they got us out of jail

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 02/06/2019 23:42:17    2190038

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "McVeety & Martin Reilly will be black and blue tomorrow. Faulkner going off was huge because it meant Killian Clarke had to drop back.

I thought when we went four points down that our goose was cooked so will definitely take the draw. Hopefully we get over the line the next day.

And what is it with Cavan fans and being negative? Any of the crowd spoken to from Cavan on BBC were negative. The lads are training hard and doing their best. Get behind them!"
Good point about the fans. I wouldn't say that we're negative however, you have to understand that this is a county that hasn't won anything in fifty years beyond a single USFC title more than two decades ago. Of course people are going to be naturally pessimistic given our terrible record. It's up to the team to change that and win the supporters back.

Another thing I noticed was that Cavan supporters were vastly outnumbered by the Armagh supporters. They also made far more noise for their team.

Hopefully if we win the next day and get to an Ulster final it'll give the fans a chance to dream.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 02/06/2019 23:58:32    2190040

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "I don't think, in the history of my time on this forum, you have ever backed Cavan to win a game. Is this because you don't want to tempt fate, or you just have no belief in them? Genuine question. Why do you always back the other team?"
I dont "back" the other team. I always roar my head off for Cavan but on the forum I call out people who get carried away after one win. As I said it was 50/50 v Armagh. I thought it was a great game. nail-biting towards the end of both regulation and extra time but fair play to our lads who didnt panic and we could have easily snuck it through either Pierson or Mackey but a draw was probably fair. We had some terrific performances all over the field most notably Moynagh, the 2 Murrays, McVitty,Mackey. McKeirnan was good but will be dissappointed he missed those couple of frees. To be fair there was a horrible breeze blowing which made it tricky. Our squad was really tested and was not found wanting. I hope Gerry Smith's injury is not long term as he is a terrific player.
As for the black card for Faulkner. cant understand how it was black. yellow would have done. He doesn't hold back and sometimes is a bit reckless ( remember county final v Gaels Levi Murphy) but it was never cynical. Ciaran Brady was correct . he will learn from it. Moynagh's also. Grimley's was a straight red all day long . he should never have drawn the boot with another player on the ground like that. absolutely dangerous and reckless. and Donaghy's could have been straight red too instead of second yellow( I may have missed that one( was it second yellow or straight red) anyway a cheap shot on Killian Clarke who incidently was also magnificent all day. Armagh got away with a lot of roughhouse stuff off the ball on Reilly and McVitty and they did well to keep their cool although they should have been better protected by the officials. I think we need to be braver when goal chances present themselves cause they dont come around too often. It's all set up nicely for next day. looking forward to double header. Both ourselves and Armagh will be thinking we can do it as there are a few players on both sides who can improve on yesterday's display.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 03/06/2019 07:49:32    2190069

Well that was a titanic struggle yesterday! Well done to the team for coming back when they looked dead and buried. Where to start. I thought we looked off up front yesterday apart from McVeety. Very unwilling to shoot when in shooting range and passed the buck a bit to the half backs coming through. McVeety was outstanding and got some very rough treatment all day. Fouled from start to finish but got little joy from referee. Two lads that came on, Murray and Mackey were outstanding. Always willing to take a man on and shoot when in range. Swung the game back for us. Once we got back level I thought we needed to be a little braver as the game was there to be won. Armagh will be feeling the same. Mackey nearly won it with last kick of the game in ET but draw was probably the fairest result.
Going forward we may get to Ulster final or we may not but unfortunately I don't see this team lifting a cup this year. You simply have to have a free taker especially in the higher stakes games. We missed criminally easy frees yesterday and in the first half refused some very presentable frees because of the wind and choose to kick backwards. A good free taker yesterday was worth at least 5 more points to us. McKiernan didn't look himself either but apparently he was touch and go fitness wise. Definitely looked fatigued and had at least two very weak kicks into goalkeepers hands from close range that he normally pops over. On yesterday's evidence too, a fully fit Caoimhin O'Reilly and Seanie Johnston start every time. Good to see Pierson get a bit of game time as well. One for the future hopefully.
On referee, he was very annoying. Very inconsistent. Plenty of Armagh people round me were complaining about him but he definitely rode us more. And all the big decisions he bottled and gave to Armagh. Seemed completely star struck by Jamie Clarke too. Luckily enough Clarke doesn't look the player he looked 4 years ago.
Onto next week, hard to call a winner. Armagh are a tight outfit but play a very risky game discipline wise. Against a no nonsense fussy referee I think they will come undone. Cavan have a bit more leeway in that regard. Up front Armagh looked the sleeker outfit and their forwards were more willing to have a go when in range. Better spread of scorers in their ranks too although some of the subs had poor attempts. Against the wind yesterday they worked some nice scores from play where we really struggled from play. Elements should be different next day out. Hard to know who a calmer day would suit better. I think we have plenty to work on but will be very glad to be still in the championship proper. Probably the happier of the two teams. If we can raise our game and have a fully fit Gearoid motoring, it might be enough to swing this tie in our favour.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 03/06/2019 12:08:19    2190132

Armagh have some neck appealing the red card.
Maybe if they concentrated on playing the ball instead of the man they might get better results.
Some horrific off the ball stuff by Armagh but our lads stood up well.

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 03/06/2019 12:10:01    2190134

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Well that was a titanic struggle yesterday! Well done to the team for coming back when they looked dead and buried. Where to start. I thought we looked off up front yesterday apart from McVeety. Very unwilling to shoot when in shooting range and passed the buck a bit to the half backs coming through. McVeety was outstanding and got some very rough treatment all day. Fouled from start to finish but got little joy from referee. Two lads that came on, Murray and Mackey were outstanding. Always willing to take a man on and shoot when in range. Swung the game back for us. Once we got back level I thought we needed to be a little braver as the game was there to be won. Armagh will be feeling the same. Mackey nearly won it with last kick of the game in ET but draw was probably the fairest result.
Going forward we may get to Ulster final or we may not but unfortunately I don't see this team lifting a cup this year. You simply have to have a free taker especially in the higher stakes games. We missed criminally easy frees yesterday and in the first half refused some very presentable frees because of the wind and choose to kick backwards. A good free taker yesterday was worth at least 5 more points to us. McKiernan didn't look himself either but apparently he was touch and go fitness wise. Definitely looked fatigued and had at least two very weak kicks into goalkeepers hands from close range that he normally pops over. On yesterday's evidence too, a fully fit Caoimhin O'Reilly and Seanie Johnston start every time. Good to see Pierson get a bit of game time as well. One for the future hopefully.
On referee, he was very annoying. Very inconsistent. Plenty of Armagh people round me were complaining about him but he definitely rode us more. And all the big decisions he bottled and gave to Armagh. Seemed completely star struck by Jamie Clarke too. Luckily enough Clarke doesn't look the player he looked 4 years ago.
Onto next week, hard to call a winner. Armagh are a tight outfit but play a very risky game discipline wise. Against a no nonsense fussy referee I think they will come undone. Cavan have a bit more leeway in that regard. Up front Armagh looked the sleeker outfit and their forwards were more willing to have a go when in range. Better spread of scorers in their ranks too although some of the subs had poor attempts. Against the wind yesterday they worked some nice scores from play where we really struggled from play. Elements should be different next day out. Hard to know who a calmer day would suit better. I think we have plenty to work on but will be very glad to be still in the championship proper. Probably the happier of the two teams. If we can raise our game and have a fully fit Gearoid motoring, it might be enough to swing this tie in our favour."
Yeah good post, agree that we need Caoimhín starting when fully fit. I also think Paul Graham should be in the team ahead of Conor Brady.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 03/06/2019 14:10:40    2190170

From what I saw from the TV coverage the following is clear, we can't win an Ulster title without a dependable free taker. With one in our ranks we would be looking forward to the Ulster final today. Team spirit and morale are in a very good place at the moment. To pull it out of the fire in the last 10 minutes of normal time proved this in spades. If, we win the replay, I think we will, it will stand to us later on in the summer. For the first time in years we are playing better in the summer than in the winter. The Cavan support level was disappointing, hopefully, more will turn out for the replay.

The last few weeks will have thought the management team more about this squad than any amount of National League games or training sessions in the cold of winter. Armagh are better than I thought but I think that we have more improvement and will learn more from the game.

I look forward to seeing the team later on in the year, with reasonable luck there is a lot more football to enjoy in 2019.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 03/06/2019 14:16:33    2190174

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Yeah good post, agree that we need Caoimhín starting when fully fit. I also think Paul Graham should be in the team ahead of Conor Brady."
Not sure I'd agree with Paul Graham , he didn't look up to that level when he came on yesterday ,, I'd be more in favour of the younger Galligan

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 03/06/2019 14:40:38    2190188

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Yeah good post, agree that we need Caoimhín starting when fully fit. I also think Paul Graham should be in the team ahead of Conor Brady."
Not sure I'd agree with Paul Graham , he didn't look up to that level when he came on yesterday ,, I'd be more in favour of the younger Galligan

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 03/06/2019 14:40:47    2190189

Yeah Conor was quiet enough. Not sure on Graham either as we're a bit light in that department. There's a slot up for grabs there for sure. Yesterday was a day for a lad like Mossy Corr but unfortunately the contenders at the moment are maybe a couple of years off in the conditioning stakes.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 03/06/2019 14:52:19    2190194