Cavan Club Championships 2018

Weekend Predictions:

Lacken v lavey - Think Lacken have shown so far that they don't have the squad for winning this and think a more balanced Lavey will pip them by 1.
Few interesting relegation games on this week along with the replays.

Ballyhaise V Cornafean - Two teams who are kind of stuck in no mans land about where they are going in the years to come. Tight as could possibly be. 4 red cards and Ballyhaise by 1 in Extra time.

Killygarry v Ballinagh - Killygarry will be disappointed in fluffing their lines and are missing Conor Smith. Think Ballinagh might grind out a tough 1 point win.

Cootehill v Shercock - Shercock will put up a stern fight but Cootehill's extra firepower should see them through. Low scoring 3 point win for Cootehill.

Bailieborough v Laragh - Don't think the gap in quality is as big as people think here. But Laragh to squeeze through by 2.

Belturbet v Mullahoran - Another dogged affair. Sneaky feeling for Mullahoran by 1 for no reason whatsoever as these cannot be separated.

Drumgoon v Swanlinbar - Drumgoon should win on form but I'm not sure how hunger their aging team will have for the fight to stay at this level again next year. Sneaky feeling for Swad by 1 not that they have done anything recently to show they have a big performance on the way.

Redhills V Ballymachugh - Redhills look to be back on an upward curve despite not making the QF's. Redhills by 7.

PatTheDandy (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 20/09/2018 12:05:00    2142869

Replying To IamADragon:  "Management wasn't the problem for Ramor, they were simply relying too much on 1 or 2 standout players. Even bringing in 3 starting players from outside the county didn't seem to work for them. I think Crosserlough will be the dominant force for years to come, themselves and Gowna have some lovely young players"
It's been a talking point alright, Ramor have been the most successful underage club in recent years several div 1 underage titles 3 minors at least as many u21s a string of County minors and county u21 players, the club can't accomodate these players so it's incredible that they would go after and PLAY these very ordinary, at best, players .
Very poor from the club and the ex management team.

Setantawatchl (Cavan) - Posts: 132 - 20/09/2018 12:43:52    2142880

Replying To cavaman1234:  "After last weeks results it has to be castlerahan to lose, unless they bottle it.......AGAIN"
I dont think they bottled any of the finals to be honest. Kingscourt beat them in a tight final. Against Ramor they were very lucky to get the replay, and the Gaels were also the better team last year

Cavan-Hero (Cavan) - Posts: 27 - 20/09/2018 13:49:47    2142903

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "one club only its a senior club and we are still in the championship."
Sean, You may be a member of a club but I can assure you it is only so you can say it on sites like this one.
You have an interest in watching GAA but that is as far as it goes. If you were a proud club member you wouldnt be ashamed to say who it was on here. Everyone knows your a Cork man that worked as a caretaker in the park.

YOUWONTCODME (Cavan) - Posts: 125 - 20/09/2018 14:28:20    2142915

Replying To Cavan-Hero:  "I dont think they bottled any of the finals to be honest. Kingscourt beat them in a tight final. Against Ramor they were very lucky to get the replay, and the Gaels were also the better team last year"
Yeah that is a good point. A team with no bottle doesn't win two leagues and get to four championship finals. If that's a lack of bottle then a lot of clubs in Cavan may forget about it.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 20/09/2018 15:33:48    2142931

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Yes for sure it will be interesting but I fear the gate returns will be well down.
However with the gaels now gone there may well be a bumper crowed at the final.
Park not ready yet but it will not be the gaels that will be playing on the new pitch thats for sure."
You really dont like Cavan Gaels at all. Care to tell us all why?

daddyknowsbest (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 20/09/2018 16:14:01    2142945

Cant believe they are holding the Junior Championship Final in Cootehill, no disrespect but i doubt too many people dream about playing there. Surely the County Board can open the pitch or put it back to play a double header with Junior/Intermediate final on the same day?

daddyknowsbest (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 20/09/2018 16:15:55    2142946

Replying To daddyknowsbest:  "Cant believe they are holding the Junior Championship Final in Cootehill, no disrespect but i doubt too many people dream about playing there. Surely the County Board can open the pitch or put it back to play a double header with Junior/Intermediate final on the same day?"
The Cavan champions are in Ulster action 13th of October so probably too soon to open.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 20/09/2018 17:08:25    2142965

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "The Cavan champions are in Ulster action 13th of October so probably too soon to open."
Fair enough, but Cootehill? Kingscourt would have been a better option albeit it's quite a distance away. Anyone with any other sutiable grounds it could of been held at? I know alot of clubs haven't got the biggest stands but surely there's a better ground out there.

GAAhead2017 (Cavan) - Posts: 82 - 20/09/2018 18:48:39    2142993

Replying To GAAhead2017:  "Fair enough, but Cootehill? Kingscourt would have been a better option albeit it's quite a distance away. Anyone with any other sutiable grounds it could of been held at? I know alot of clubs haven't got the biggest stands but surely there's a better ground out there."
Cootehill was a great venue once upon a time. If the county board had it ear marked as a potential final with Breffni being done then they should have invested some money in its clean up. Killygarry would be good location and fine venue.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 20/09/2018 19:29:45    2143000

Don't think cootehill is such a bad venue. I was at county final when Gowna won there years ago and it had a great atmosphere .

marita (None) - Posts: 467 - 20/09/2018 20:01:49    2143011

Cootehills an awful venue for this years junior final. Especially for a double header. The four competing teams won't fit in the car park never mind supporters.

culchie123 (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 20/09/2018 21:34:12    2143027

Replying To culchie123:  "Cootehills an awful venue for this years junior final. Especially for a double header. The four competing teams won't fit in the car park never mind supporters."
Exactly. Does anyone think this Junior sheild will continue after this year? I genuinely can't see any logic behind it. I would have said Killygarry myself as a better option. I just think the buzz will be lost leading upto the final, the players themselves will be abit let down about it I'm sure. But sure look, it's done now and there's a final to win.

GAAhead2017 (Cavan) - Posts: 82 - 20/09/2018 21:58:34    2143039

Replying To marita:  "Don't think cootehill is such a bad venue. I was at county final when Gowna won there years ago and it had a great atmosphere ."
Exactly Marita years ago, times have changed and venues have changed alot since then.

daddyknowsbest (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 21/09/2018 15:30:42    2143179

The county pitch is not ready so unfortunately the junior final as been moved. To be 100% honest the bitch is not even near ready for the Intermediate and Senior finals but the fact they have spread them out might help. The pitch to the observer on the seated stand and the far terrace will say brilliant but those behind the town end will see there is no sod developed yet. Sadly the end result if it's anyway wet the lines of grass will be moved all over the place and going forward the damage will be done. I hope it will be dry. The best of luck to the teams in the final's.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 21/09/2018 22:58:09    2143212

So now the pretenders have moved aside the 3 big sides remain in the intermediate and of course the plucky underdogs Butlersbridge, hard to call a winner from here but I've a feeling it'll be the winners of Cucus v Laragh

IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 303 - 22/09/2018 18:28:13    2143279

Replying To IamADragon:  "So now the pretenders have moved aside the 3 big sides remain in the intermediate and of course the plucky underdogs Butlersbridge, hard to call a winner from here but I've a feeling it'll be the winners of Cucus v Laragh"
Mullahoran are the worst team left. They've scraped through against bad teams.
Winner of Cucus and Laragh will win it easy. Laragh year I think

theDagger1986 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 23/09/2018 09:44:32    2143333

Replying To theDagger1986:  "Mullahoran are the worst team left. They've scraped through against bad teams.
Winner of Cucus and Laragh will win it easy. Laragh year I think"
Impressive looking win for mullahoran yesterday

IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 303 - 23/09/2018 11:16:25    2143341

Replying To IamADragon:  "Impressive looking win for mullahoran yesterday"
Against a weakened Belturbet team who aren't any great shakes even at full strength.

theDagger1986 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 23/09/2018 14:16:38    2143355

Good win for your lads Sean.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 23/09/2018 19:10:38    2143394