Ulster Championship

Replying To fredflint:  "I didnt like the way McGlennan put it on McVitty to get the team to pull together for qualifiers. He said is was McVittys team. Sorry Matty, thats your job and you get paid to do it unlike Darragh. I thought he almost sounded desperate to get lads to go at the qualifiers so I am not very optimistic."
I hope we draw Mayo at home. Win or bust - no point beating a couple of poor teams and papering over the cracks.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 18/05/2018 08:26:18    2101869

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Hyland did a great job at u21 level but had not the experience to manage a senior inter county team. He would have made a great number 2 with his knowledge of the players .
Don't seem that Mattie has that experience either but deserves this year to finish out his 2 year term.
Of what's available James McCartan fits the bill . After all he brought an average Down team to an All Ireland final.
Maybe bring Terry in as his assistant."
Have to agree, I'd leave Mattie in charge. Reality is we were never going to beat Donegal. We got promoted and that has to be a positive. Another years experience in Division 1. The blanket defence is gone. Players have to re-learn how to play open football. It will take time but players have to get used to this after the protection of the blanket. You couldn't watch Galway last week. It was awful especially when they have some class forwards. Mattie is changing the style of football and has still got promotion. I wonder which type of football the players would prefer?

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 18/05/2018 09:12:03    2101877

Replying To Shelbourne:  "
Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "I absolutely agree that the Monaghan games were pivotal in defining the future of Cavan. The 2013 game in Clones was a bizarre game, but the 2015 game was the one that we never recovered from. We bottled that game and threw it away. Had we won that it would have possibly been a catalyst for making that step up to the next level. That was THE chance to take, and we didn't do it."
More delusion....'we bottled it'....that's what better teams do ...they keep calm, have faith in their superior ability, use their more talented bench (it's not a 15 man game anymore) and then kick on to victory in the last 15/20 mins."
Depending on what viewpoint you take. Had Cavan won that day Monaghan supporters would be talking about how they bottled it!!!
regardless of how superior you say Monaghan are and calm and talented they were an average team coming out of division 3 in 2013. they got their break and won two Ulster titles. Fair play to them!!!! I only wish we'd do the same some year.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 18/05/2018 09:48:21    2101890

Replying To cavan97:  "Have to agree, I'd leave Mattie in charge. Reality is we were never going to beat Donegal. We got promoted and that has to be a positive. Another years experience in Division 1. The blanket defence is gone. Players have to re-learn how to play open football. It will take time but players have to get used to this after the protection of the blanket. You couldn't watch Galway last week. It was awful especially when they have some class forwards. Mattie is changing the style of football and has still got promotion. I wonder which type of football the players would prefer?"
If players are preferring it and it makes a difference to them why are so many of them sitting at home and not committing.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 18/05/2018 10:17:19    2101893

Replying To cavan97:  "Have to agree, I'd leave Mattie in charge. Reality is we were never going to beat Donegal. We got promoted and that has to be a positive. Another years experience in Division 1. The blanket defence is gone. Players have to re-learn how to play open football. It will take time but players have to get used to this after the protection of the blanket. You couldn't watch Galway last week. It was awful especially when they have some class forwards. Mattie is changing the style of football and has still got promotion. I wonder which type of football the players would prefer?"
What we do have to question not just in Cavan but nationally is the standard of our coaches.
It's no wonder football is as negative as it is with ex basketball and athletes and rugby and soccer coaches now involved in training Gaa teams.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 18/05/2018 11:21:37    2101918

Replying To fredflint:  "If players are preferring it and it makes a difference to them why are so many of them sitting at home and not committing."
Players can't commit for various reasons and that's understandable.
We seem to have a high percentage maybe that's because we had a high turnover of players.
The demands in this day and age are huge in every county , add club commitments and college to that and it doesn't leave a lot of free time.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 18/05/2018 13:04:41    2101954

Does anyone know why our vice captain wasn't captain Sunday?

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 18/05/2018 16:47:59    2102001

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Does anyone know why our vice captain wasn't captain Sunday?"
Very strange and not at all right

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 881 - 18/05/2018 17:56:43    2102011

Not Good enough in the stands, not good enough along the line and definitely not good enough on the pitch. Too negative yet wide open, very fit yet not strong enough and we've been listening for the last couple of years of this big breakthrough that has been predicted. finally the county board need looking at, 13 players from a starting team in an ulster championship match 2-3 years ago don't just walk away for no reason, there has to be an underlying factor. How do other counties keep hold of their players?

My "Experimental" team for the qualifiers:

1) Raymond Galligan
2) Fergal Reilly
3) Killian Clarke(we have to find a position for him lads!!)
4) Jason Mc Loughlin
5) Ciaran Brady
6) Padraig Faulkner
7) Killian Brady
8) Gearoid Mc Kiernan
9) Liam Buchanan (if back)
10) Martin Reilly
11) Dara McVeety
12) Cian Mackey
13) Caoimhin O'Reilly
14) Sean Johnston
15) Conor Bradley

mystic meg (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 18/05/2018 23:05:16    2102060

Replying To mystic meg:  "Not Good enough in the stands, not good enough along the line and definitely not good enough on the pitch. Too negative yet wide open, very fit yet not strong enough and we've been listening for the last couple of years of this big breakthrough that has been predicted. finally the county board need looking at, 13 players from a starting team in an ulster championship match 2-3 years ago don't just walk away for no reason, there has to be an underlying factor. How do other counties keep hold of their players?

1) Raymond Galligan
2) Fergal Reilly
4) Jason Mc Loughlin
5) Ciaran Brady
6) Padraig Faulkner
7) Killian Brady
8) Gearoid Mc Kiernan
10) Martin Reilly
11) Dara McVeety
12) Cian Mackey
13) Caoimhin O'Reilly
14) Sean Johnston
15) Conor Bradley"
Buchannan has being available for selection for weeks.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 18/05/2018 23:35:43    2102063

Replying To mystic meg:  "Not Good enough in the stands, not good enough along the line and definitely not good enough on the pitch. Too negative yet wide open, very fit yet not strong enough and we've been listening for the last couple of years of this big breakthrough that has been predicted. finally the county board need looking at, 13 players from a starting team in an ulster championship match 2-3 years ago don't just walk away for no reason, there has to be an underlying factor. How do other counties keep hold of their players?

1) Raymond Galligan
2) Fergal Reilly
4) Jason Mc Loughlin
5) Ciaran Brady
6) Padraig Faulkner
7) Killian Brady
8) Gearoid Mc Kiernan
10) Martin Reilly
11) Dara McVeety
12) Cian Mackey
13) Caoimhin O'Reilly
14) Sean Johnston
15) Conor Bradley"
Buchanan and Johnson are not available so you will have to try again.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 19/05/2018 07:22:07    2102084

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Buchannan has being available for selection for weeks."
You sure about that? I was told by one of his club men he needed surgery and wouldn't be available rest of year.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 19/05/2018 09:25:15    2102095

Replying To fredflint:  "You sure about that? I was told by one of his club men he needed surgery and wouldn't be available rest of year."
Mattie said in a interview before the league match in Hyde park that he might make the subs.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 881 - 19/05/2018 10:09:22    2102102

Replying To fredflint:  "You sure about that? I was told by one of his club men he needed surgery and wouldn't be available rest of year."
He said it himself.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 19/05/2018 17:31:32    2102153

1) Raymond Galligan
2) Fergal Reilly
4) Jason Mc Loughlin
5) Ciaran Brady
6) Padraig Faulkner
7) Killian Brady
8) Gearoid Mc Kiernan
10) Martin Reilly
11) Dara McVeety
12) Cian Mackey
13) Caoimhin O'Reilly
14) Sean Johnston
15) Conor Bradley"
Its a good team and a solid center back , i heard the niall mckerinan was very good agienst ramor last night and james galligan , maybe james for the future , ado cole to replace johnston if he isnt fit .

cavanlawd123 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 19/05/2018 17:50:52    2102156

1) Raymond Galligan
2) Fergal Reilly
4) Jason Mc Loughlin
5) Ciaran Brady
6) Padraig Faulkner
7) Killian Brady
8) Gearoid Mc Kiernan
10) Martin Reilly
11) Dara McVeety
12) Cian Mackey
13) Caoimhin O'Reilly
14) Sean Johnston
15) Conor Bradley"
Experimental
That's mainly the team that started sunday
Clear the whole lot apart from younger players
Too many players there a long time and winning nothing

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 19/05/2018 22:25:38    2102197

These selections are just changing the chairs on the titanic ..we have a very honest hard working bunch of players but limited. We mythologise players on the forum who often never made an impact at all.

Ideally for their physical presence even as options we need Givney,Keating , Mc Enroe, Rory Dunne ,Fergal Flanagan and maybe martin dunne for accuracy. Maybe tomas corr ,alan clarke and damien reilly are too old at this stage.

Hard to believe we can't get michael argue to be an option also.

Donegal were much more aggressive than our guys from what i saw , donegal were pushing and growling at guys off the ball and our guys were walking away.

Mc kiernan is not a working midfielder ,can be brilliant but we need sport physcologist or someone to see why we have a lot of non performs on the big day.

Sean johnson if he has a role it is for 20 mins and in reality he won't make an impact against the better teams. A starter at full forward is a total non runner.

eamonnmac (Cavan) - Posts: 59 - 19/05/2018 23:20:30    2102203

No insight into the future of Cavan football. Do we have a development Plan? Where is it going? What is the future of the County Team? We have missed the opportunity of the past and current team of players who won U21 Ulster titles. We are at fault within the county to allow this plod along. Going forward with the status quo. No management structures. No past ex-players within the county wanting to get involved at management level. Our County team will have a limited number of followers. Poor state of Cavan Football such that it is. Don't keep something going for the sake of it. Questions to be asked and answered. We are e a lovely bunch on here. Don't ruffle anything up with the Cavan lads. Lovely bunch of lads.

upandcomingblue (Cavan) - Posts: 37 - 20/05/2018 08:21:30    2102220

Replying To upandcomingblue:  "No insight into the future of Cavan football. Do we have a development Plan? Where is it going? What is the future of the County Team? We have missed the opportunity of the past and current team of players who won U21 Ulster titles. We are at fault within the county to allow this plod along. Going forward with the status quo. No management structures. No past ex-players within the county wanting to get involved at management level. Our County team will have a limited number of followers. Poor state of Cavan Football such that it is. Don't keep something going for the sake of it. Questions to be asked and answered. We are e a lovely bunch on here. Don't ruffle anything up with the Cavan lads. Lovely bunch of lads."
We had a development plan in place. Club championship has being restructured the last two years. This year is the first with it in place. We've had underage success. Our schools and in particular St. Pats are flying. So in my opinion there is no talent issue. What we need to address is player retention. Also we need a tactically astute manager.

There is no obvious answer to player retention as lads do have other commitments but the numbers in Cavan is way above average.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 20/05/2018 10:21:05    2102237

Replying To upandcomingblue:  "No insight into the future of Cavan football. Do we have a development Plan? Where is it going? What is the future of the County Team? We have missed the opportunity of the past and current team of players who won U21 Ulster titles. We are at fault within the county to allow this plod along. Going forward with the status quo. No management structures. No past ex-players within the county wanting to get involved at management level. Our County team will have a limited number of followers. Poor state of Cavan Football such that it is. Don't keep something going for the sake of it. Questions to be asked and answered. We are e a lovely bunch on here. Don't ruffle anything up with the Cavan lads. Lovely bunch of lads."
The shills for the status quo have always been here on this forum, deflecting from warranted criticism, defending the indefensible, attacks on posters when they're faced with facts they can't answer. Best to ignore them.

It cost Cavan fans a lot of money in this day and age to drive to Ballybofey last weekend, between tickets, fuel in the car, bite to ate etc. To watch that rubbish served up. Not good enough. If supporting my county was free I wouldn't be as incensed as I was last Sunday.

At this stage, cavan supporters should be asking serious questions of the county board.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 20/05/2018 10:59:27    2102246