Allianz National Football League Div 2 2018

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "I hope when he gets married he might think of emigrating.
He really is very slow and laboured in his play.
Still thinks like a soccer player" playing it across the back 4 or in Cavans case across the back 8.
If he's not playing it across he's playing it backwards.
Don't see where he fits in if we play attacking football."
I hope when he gets married he might think of emigrating.
Still thinks like a soccer player" playing it across the back 4 or in Cavans case across the back 8.
Don't see where he fits in if we play attacking football.
Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts:397 - 26/10/2017 18:58:51

Well isn't that the problem he is asked to fecking run all over the place and he is burnt out. Did he alway's play in the back 8 from my memory of him when he came to the county he played most of his game on the 40 and was a good all round forward and free taker.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 26/10/2017 20:04:26    2058347

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "I hope when he gets married he might think of emigrating.
Such a stupid thing to say, about one of our best players, its supporters like you that stop lads playing for the county team, best of luck to Martin and can't wait to see you back in the blue.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 26/10/2017 20:11:05    2058353

Replying To JamsieMac:  "Wow Richiej, deanmartin, awwwwwnow, I can't believe you didn't blame that on Terry Hyland, it's almost as if you're being sarcastic. Martin is literally the fastest and fittest in the county and can score from any angle when he's let play the way he has all his life. You blamed Terry for all our negativity and the new guy is even worse. I'd have him in the team over your hero Jelly"
No need to relate me to other posters. I just see it as it is.
Never pretended to be anyone else.
Trouble with the die hards in Cavan is they don't accept blowins.
Even McHugh never got the recognition he deserved .
If that was TH who won an Ulster there would have been calls for him to be canonised!!
Mattie will put his own stamp on it this year and the" bluffers" that have been winging it this past few years will be soon got rid of.
And there plenty of them.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 26/10/2017 20:48:56    2058368

Wasn't too slow and laboured when he put the shackles on the all action Donnacha Walsh this year in Breffni. Martin is a fantastic footballer and can play anywhere. Lucky to have him in the panel and the manager would want to be a special kind of stupid not to want him involved.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 26/10/2017 21:04:40    2058372

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "No need to relate me to other posters. I just see it as it is.
Never pretended to be anyone else.
Trouble with the die hards in Cavan is they don't accept blowins.
Even McHugh never got the recognition he deserved .
If that was TH who won an Ulster there would have been calls for him to be canonised!!
Mattie will put his own stamp on it this year and the" bluffers" that have been winging it this past few years will be soon got rid of.
And there plenty of them."
Hmm that has absolutely nothing to do with Martin Reilly but ok. I had high hopes for Mattie we were in a great position to step up. Didn't happen but he still has a chance to get us back and while he is cavan manager he has my full support. I've literally never heard a Cavan fan giving out about McHugh so dunno who you do be listening to. Terry did in fact win ulster titles as a Cavan manager so it'd be about time you showed the man the respect he deserves.
As for your username do ya think we were all born yesterday?

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 26/10/2017 21:16:30    2058380

Yep, that blowin comment is a bit daft. Martin McHugh was hugely popular here. Eamon Coleman too. If anything we fawn over big name outsiders and it's the locals that get the abuse as we seem to have an inferiority complex and don't believe a Cavan man capable of leading us. Who were the last 3 locals to manage us? Hyland, Keoghan and Carroll? And that's over a quarter of a century period. Hardly popular figures.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 27/10/2017 01:48:02    2058444

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Yep, that blowin comment is a bit daft. Martin McHugh was hugely popular here. Eamon Coleman too. If anything we fawn over big name outsiders and it's the locals that get the abuse as we seem to have an inferiority complex and don't believe a Cavan man capable of leading us. Who were the last 3 locals to manage us? Hyland, Keoghan and Carroll? And that's over a quarter of a century period. Hardly popular figures."
Go back to why McHugh left? That reason was well brushed under the carpet.
And why Liam Austin was shafted? And Val Andrews shafted too.
We have no one in the county capable of managing at inter county level.
Small players with bug heads who have a serious over rated opinion of themselves.
A CB who have no regard for club football .
We should do a Kilkenny on it for a few years . Ease the financial burden on supporters, concentrate on club football

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 27/10/2017 10:43:42    2058503

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Go back to why McHugh left? That reason was well brushed under the carpet.
Small players with bug heads who have a serious over rated opinion of themselves.
We should do a Kilkenny on it for a few years . Ease the financial burden on supporters, concentrate on club football"
McHugh cited family commitments if I remember. Had a huge profile and never took another job so no reason to doubt it wasn't a major factor. It was certainly not a lack of recognition and had he wanted to stay on it would have been a brave man to try stop him. Most of our managers have been outsiders so how can you argue we don't accept them. Maybe some of them just weren't very good.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 27/10/2017 11:24:48    2058518

I can't believe how people belittle the success Hyland brought to Cavan football and people called for his head saying he couldn't bring them any further. Madness

theham (Cavan) - Posts: 91 - 27/10/2017 11:41:21    2058521

Replying To theham:  "I can't believe how people belittle the success Hyland brought to Cavan football and people called for his head saying he couldn't bring them any further. Madness"
Give Mattie the same time as TH got 4and a half years

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 27/10/2017 12:17:14    2058539

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Give Mattie the same time as TH got 4and a half years"
im not doubting Mattie's ability as a manager or coach. Hyland did good things for Cavan football with the resources available to him

theham (Cavan) - Posts: 91 - 27/10/2017 12:48:11    2058551

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Give Mattie the same time as TH got 4and a half years"
I agree but Terry Had respect for players. Mattie didnt show much respect for players last year.

That could be a problem why players aren't committing.

YOUWONTCODME (Cavan) - Posts: 125 - 27/10/2017 13:07:10    2058556

Worrying times ???!!!!!
We have won nothing since 1997 and now you're worried.
We have to realise that we are not one of the big guns any more.
We are an average footballing county, have been for the past 20 years and will be for the foreseeable future.
The players we have are average in the national scale. None of them would make the Dublin Panel never mind the starting 15.
We play a slow, unattractive brand of football, which is terrible to watch, but is probably tailored to suit the talent pool we have.
With the players that are leaving, we were average, and now we are a mid div 2 possibly div 3 side.
Ulster is as far away as ever, and unless there is a two tier championship we won't see silverware for a long time.
Every year we get hyped ! The glory days are back ! This is our year ! We're only fooling ourselves. Time to wake up , smell the coffee, and realise that we are in the same class as Fermanagh, Antrim etc.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts:314 - 25/10/2017 11:29:05 2057798

Have you ever considered going into motivational speaking?

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 27/10/2017 13:43:30    2058572

Yep, I'm willing to give him that time if there is a steady increase in league position year on year with a few ulster u21 titles as well. I'd call that a success

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 27/10/2017 14:13:49    2058587

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Go back to why McHugh left? That reason was well brushed under the carpet.
We should do a Kilkenny on it for a few years . Ease the financial burden on supporters, concentrate on club football"
"Small players with bug heads who have a serious over rated opinion of themselves"
My god if that isn't a perfect description of yourself I don't know what is. Maybe set up a Facebook page about how great you played and all the legends you played with

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 27/10/2017 14:17:02    2058588

Have we any potential forwards in the county or will we be wasting our time again this year?

theDagger1986 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 27/10/2017 15:01:49    2058607

Worrying times ???!!!!!
We are an average footballing county, have been for the past 20 years and will be for the foreseeable future.
The players we have are average in the national scale. None of them would make the Dublin Panel never mind the starting 15.
We play a slow, unattractive brand of football, which is terrible to watch, but is probably tailored to suit the talent pool we have.
With the players that are leaving, we were average, and now we are a mid div 2 possibly div 3 side.
Ulster is as far away as ever, and unless there is a two tier championship we won't see silverware for a long time.
Every year we get hyped ! The glory days are back ! This is our year ! We're only fooling ourselves. Time to wake up , smell the coffee, and realise that we are in the same class as Fermanagh, Antrim etc.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts:309 - 27/10/2017 13:43:30

I'd only be wasting my time if it was in the Cavan dressing room.
No amount of motivational talk will transform what we have at present into a team to threaten anyone for anything !!!
We are not at the races for any title and won't be for a long time. That the reality and maybe it's time you faced it. But hang on !!! All hope is not gone ! I've just realised, Christmas in coming. Maybe Santa can bring us some forwards, backs and maybe a midfielder or two ( just for back up)

We flatter to deceive. All hype and no b*lls when it comes to playing !!!

We are mid div 2 standard and unless there is a two or three tier championship, we will win nothing ( maybe an odd cup for a pitch opening. We're good at that !!) Only for it we'd have nothing to show for the past 20 years of senior football and the future ain't so bright either !!

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 31/10/2017 14:53:34    2059307

Replying To StirringIt:  "Worrying times ???!!!!!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts:309 - 27/10/2017 13:43:30

I'd only be wasting my time if it was in the Cavan dressing room.
No amount of motivational talk will transform what we have at present into a team to threaten anyone for anything !!!
We are not at the races for any title and won't be for a long time. That the reality and maybe it's time you faced it. But hang on !!! All hope is not gone ! I've just realised, Christmas in coming. Maybe Santa can bring us some forwards, backs and maybe a midfielder or two ( just for back up)

We flatter to deceive. All hype and no b*lls when it comes to playing !!!

We are mid div 2 standard and unless there is a two or three tier championship, we will win nothing ( maybe an odd cup for a pitch opening. We're good at that !!) Only for it we'd have nothing to show for the past 20 years of senior football and the future ain't so bright either !!"
If you think your so good why are you not our gooch cooper stirring it? And if you're not county standard what gives you the right to bash players that are trying, go home and grow up.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 31/10/2017 16:39:18    2059332

No gettin away from it,its worryin to see so many of the crop of players gone that was developed by T Hyland, Peter Reilly, Joe Mc Carthy,Ronan Carolan etc. We must have the biggest drop out rate of the country. At the expense of the promotion of a few stars (not somethin Id agree with) we have lost a heap of good quality team players.
As for forwards, we have worked very hard particularly in the last 12 months to get rid of forwards , expectin forwards to come back and play in massed defenses and as a result we have 1 maybe 2 forwards left in panel as in Johnson and maybe Dillon , if those 2 go theres not a natural forward left.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 31/10/2017 22:30:51    2059402

If you think your so good why are you not our gooch cooper stirring it? And if you're not county standard what gives you the right to bash players that are trying, go home and grow up.
blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts:450 - 31/10/2017 16:39:18

Not bashing them for trying. Just saying they're not good enough !
I'm entitled to my opinion and just because it doesn't agree with your blinkered view, doesn't mean i can't voice it.
It's called a democracy. Freedom of speech and I'm using my freedom to say that the current group of players are not playing to the standard required to win anything.
Look at the reality here. No natural forwards, system based on defense, slow to attack, playing a system rather than using and developing the natural flair player have.
I'm no Gooch Cooper, but I've been involved with football long enough to know a good player when I see one, and all I see is average players. We are not the kings of Ulster or anything anymore. The sooner you realise that the better.
We are an average team on par with fermanagh, Louth, Wexford, etc
We simply don't have the talent. It's the fault of the players that they are not at the standard. Maybe their best simply isn't good enough. That's life !
But it's my opinion that we are not good enough and whether you like it or not, and I'm sure I'm not alone. Just look at the attendance at games. There's your answer !

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 01/11/2017 11:00:08    2059464