Allianz National Football League Div 2 2018

Replying To shannon414:  "Cavanman47, agree with you about Mc Vitty, he's playing very well is good up front but we need him out the field comin frm deep. We do need soone with that ball winnin ability and not afraid to take on a man but I wouldn put Mc Vitty in ther.
Ciaran Brady has had a great campaign at 6 but apart from that our defence needs strengthen , a lot of missed tackles.
Also don't start movin Cillian all over the place that nonsense destroyed him last year
Love to take Roscommon down in Croke, if we could unearth a few fast players for full forward line to exploit the space at headquarters??? Well done to our neighbours nice win over the Dubs . And our Fermanagh neighbours too."
He's excellent in both roles - but I think we need him close to goals. We have others who can run at teams but over the last 2 seasons he's been our biggest threat in close to goal.

I agree about not moving Clarke. Leave him in midfield.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 26/03/2018 09:35:19    2088120

Well, I will put my hands up and say I got this one very wrong. Humble pie has never tasted so good though.

Firstly, fair play to the players yesterday. We were really up against it and we were second best for large parts of the game. But we showed guts in abundance and that is what makes us fans proud. Even if we weren't the better team on the field, we found a way and that is very pleasing. Division 1 will bring much bigger challenges but it can only be good for our younger lads to gain that sort of experience and Croker next Sunday is a massive opportunity for us.

A word on Tipp - I was very impressed with their performance and but for a moment of madness from their midfielder who was sent off, I think they would have won. They missed the boat yesterday but you have to take your chances at this level. They will be dangerous in Munster this year and are clearly a threat to Kerry and are a better team than Cork. Clare will also be dangerous so Munster will be interesting this year for sure.

Sunday will be a great day out and then we can look forward to Ballbofey in a game that I think should be competitive. Overall this is a great start to the year and who would have thought we were heading back up!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 26/03/2018 10:03:37    2088145

Replying To cavanman47:  "He's excellent in both roles - but I think we need him close to goals. We have others who can run at teams but over the last 2 seasons he's been our biggest threat in close to goal.

I agree about not moving Clarke. Leave him in midfield."
C Clarke is a wing half back with freedom to come forward no where else.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 26/03/2018 10:07:40    2088148

Great result yesterday but unlike the last promotion from div 2 Cavan know that they got up by playing averagely at times. When this subject was started last September a lot of people were wondering would cavan even stay up in the division but i'll allow myself to self indulge for a moment and remember asking why shouldn't they be favourites for promotion.!!!
however like everyone else i heard all the stories about the drop offs from the panel and thought that survival was going to be very tough after all. Cavan were the second favourites for the drop on the eve of the Clare game and by the time the Down game came around they were favourites for promotion. that is a remarkable achievement!!!!
what makes it all the more remarkable is that at the end of the Clare game they had 13 debutants and that those same players featured throughout the league. 9 of the players that featured yesterday weren't there in 2016.!!!! So as much as we complain about Cavan football it shows that there's at least 35-40 players capable of playing in a top 10 team.
the chance is there now to put two hoodoo's to bed in the space of a week. A win would be a massive massive boost going into the fortress of ballybofey.
On yesterdays game i felt Cavan were extremely nervous at times making poor decisions in possession and making some needless fouls such as the penalty. the game should have been won at least 5 mins before Maddens point. Gearoid should have kicked the winner on 70 minutes but gave a hand pass inside that was dealt with by the Tipp defence.I could list a few more things but this is no time to be negative. promotion is sorted and we'll all enjoy next weekend.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 26/03/2018 10:08:52    2088152

Great result , fair play to all involved. A win next Sunday would be massive confidence wise.
Roscommon have been a bogey team of late and it's time to end this hoodoo for once and for all.
Speaking to a Donegal man who was in Ballybofey yesterday they are extremely worried about facing a resurgent Cavan.
A win next Sunday would be better than 10 challenge games . It could kick start a good run in the Championship.
Very impressed with Mattie especially holding his hands up for some bad decisions he made last year.
Shows the honesty of the man.
Let's not go to Croke Park solely to make up the numbers and admire the view like we did the last time we were in a league final. That's what the stadium tour is for.
It's there to be won. Let's win it.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 26/03/2018 11:44:55    2088210

Replying To seanorinn:  "C Clarke is a wing half back with freedom to come forward no where else."
5 years ago, yes.

He hasn't played there for club or county in years and has seriously bulked up. He needs to form part of the spine of the team.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 26/03/2018 11:52:40    2088216

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "If ye want it that bad.
Ye can have it, I'm delighted we have no major injuries and qualified yet way off championship pace.
Remember we are aiming at mid June
Hopefully both sides get time into lads in croker and benefit without injuries."
Promotion was our aim too- this is just a nice bonus.

But I do think we need the win more than Ros do. Win or lose, ye will beat leitrim or NY (Who I fancy to beat leitrim).

If we lose, particularly if we lose heavily, then we could be in trouble going up to Ballybofey!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 26/03/2018 11:57:09    2088220

With the poor end to last year and the close season defections it did not bode well. Great credit due to management and especially players for the culture that has led to such a spirited performance as yesterdays. The team wanted this so much and want to play for Cavan, to see a Cavan team come out on the right side of such a titanic struggle despite being second best at times was very pleasing and would make you proud.
Was sitting beside former ref Paddy Russell and discovered he was from the same small village in Tipp where my mother was from before she moved to Cavan in the 60's, he knew her family well and grew up with my cousins, I knew this was a good omen for us!

breffni47 (Cavan) - Posts: 34 - 26/03/2018 12:00:23    2088225

Clarke is not a midfielder. Centre Back or full back is where he should be. Ciaran Brady is a wing back, his natural game is to attack, and we are left too wide open at CB when he goes forward.

Our defence needs a lot of work Down and Tipp should have beaten us out the gate, if it wasnt for bad shooting. We seem to be getting numbers back, but not in any sort of system. A more clinical team would have battered us yesterday.

Re McVeety he was excellent inside, especially in the second half, but he would help shore up the defence if played as a wing back, or even as a wing forward.

As for Madden....What.A.Score, im delighted hes back in after the way he was treated last year

Crash Bang Wallop (None) - Posts: 268 - 26/03/2018 12:15:33    2088232

Replying To Crash Bang Wallop:  "Clarke is not a midfielder. Centre Back or full back is where he should be. Ciaran Brady is a wing back, his natural game is to attack, and we are left too wide open at CB when he goes forward.

Our defence needs a lot of work Down and Tipp should have beaten us out the gate, if it wasnt for bad shooting. We seem to be getting numbers back, but not in any sort of system. A more clinical team would have battered us yesterday.

Re McVeety he was excellent inside, especially in the second half, but he would help shore up the defence if played as a wing back, or even as a wing forward.

As for Madden....What.A.Score, im delighted hes back in after the way he was treated last year"
It was only when Clarke went midfield we started competing. In case you missed it the first quarter he was full back and we were cleaned at midfield. I'd be more worried about gearoid going missing the whole game at midfield

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 26/03/2018 14:28:30    2088298

Replying To fredflint:  "It was only when Clarke went midfield we started competing. In case you missed it the first quarter he was full back and we were cleaned at midfield. I'd be more worried about gearoid going missing the whole game at midfield"
We could do with getting Buchanan back in there

breffni47 (Cavan) - Posts: 34 - 26/03/2018 15:36:04    2088339

Replying To cavanman47:  "5 years ago, yes.

He hasn't played there for club or county in years and has seriously bulked up. He needs to form part of the spine of the team."
5 years ago, yes.

He hasn't played there for club or county in years and has seriously bulked up. He needs to form part of the spine of the team.
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 2911 - 26/03/2018 11:52:40 2088216
Yes he played very well in that position for the amalgamation as did Clerkin great to see both of them in at senior level . Has it been that long since they won the minor title against the gaels. My man of the match that day was Clerkin with Clarke a close second they both stood out then and have brought it to the next level.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 26/03/2018 16:58:38    2088376

Replying To seanorinn:  "5 years ago, yes.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 2911 - 26/03/2018 11:52:40 2088216
Yes he played very well in that position for the amalgamation as did Clerkin great to see both of them in at senior level . Has it been that long since they won the minor title against the gaels. My man of the match that day was Clerkin with Clarke a close second they both stood out then and have brought it to the next level."
He played wing back for our Seniors in the 2013 championship (although I think he wore number 2). Was very good all year and particularly excellent against Kerry in the quarter final.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 26/03/2018 19:20:41    2088438

Fair play to Mattie. The football isn't as good as it was the last time we got promoted but it did the job and hopefully we will put up better performances as the summer progresses. Sometimes you need to ride your luck.

Holla, Dara, Martin Reilly and Mackey were the heartbeat yesterday. Seanie came on and brought calm, picked the right passes. Madden's moment should be viewed in the context of how he's been treated over the last 12 months. Real character and skill.

Next week should mean more to us than Roscommon. Hopefully we see a plan to exploit the space in Croke Park and negate Roscommon's attacking threat. It's a second chance to get something tangible and break the inexplicable Rossie Hoodoo in one go.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 26/03/2018 20:06:14    2088459

Great to be promoted again . Over all our performance wasnt up to scratch . I hope tomas galligan recovers i think we need a midfielder badly, and mcveety to center back . I would love to see gps results from yesterday bradley was everywere played very well , when holla went to wing back he played well . I taught subs were strange .

cavanlawd123 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 26/03/2018 20:47:51    2088482

Replying To cavanlawd123:  "Great to be promoted again . Over all our performance wasnt up to scratch . I hope tomas galligan recovers i think we need a midfielder badly, and mcveety to center back . I would love to see gps results from yesterday bradley was everywere played very well , when holla went to wing back he played well . I taught subs were strange ."
In fairness with an extra man for most of the second half it was easier to move player's about which did put a different perspective on the game's outcome.
Depends how Roscommon reacted to promotion along with Cavan for it will show next Sunday who celebrated the least. ?? Be nice to get a bit of senior silverware and it will give the lads some bragging rights going forward.
Biggest game we have is against Donegal in the first round of the championship and to be honest I would be happy to lose against Roscommon and beat Donegal in the first round of Ulster. I think Tyrone will be hard to beat on their present form so what ever the outcome next Sunday let's not take our eye of whats ahead.
Clare did well getting 7 points well done to them.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 26/03/2018 21:21:04    2088500

Brilliant result on Sunday. Well done Cavan. I couldn't care less about the "League" final. We should be given the cup for finishing Top. Galway should be League winners. It's a bloomin' league. That's how it's supposed to work. Donegal are a great team and are extremely unlucky to be relegated. They went toe-to-toe with the best teams in the country and pushed them all the way. They could have easily beaten Kerry in the first game and it looked like they were very unlucky yesterday too. They have improved vastly from last year and are my tip for Ulster 2018.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 27/03/2018 00:13:45    2088558

Replying To s goldrick:  "Brilliant result on Sunday. Well done Cavan. I couldn't care less about the "League" final. We should be given the cup for finishing Top. Galway should be League winners. It's a bloomin' league. That's how it's supposed to work. Donegal are a great team and are extremely unlucky to be relegated. They went toe-to-toe with the best teams in the country and pushed them all the way. They could have easily beaten Kerry in the first game and it looked like they were very unlucky yesterday too. They have improved vastly from last year and are my tip for Ulster 2018."
I agree with your point, but Ros finished ahead of us on head to head.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 27/03/2018 08:01:42    2088575

Replying To s goldrick:  "Brilliant result on Sunday. Well done Cavan. I couldn't care less about the "League" final. We should be given the cup for finishing Top. Galway should be League winners. It's a bloomin' league. That's how it's supposed to work. Donegal are a great team and are extremely unlucky to be relegated. They went toe-to-toe with the best teams in the country and pushed them all the way. They could have easily beaten Kerry in the first game and it looked like they were very unlucky yesterday too. They have improved vastly from last year and are my tip for Ulster 2018."
Good idea, I agree.
Give us the trophy any league table will show you we finished top under the rules of the league.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 27/03/2018 09:45:57    2088599

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Good idea, I agree.
Give us the trophy any league table will show you we finished top under the rules of the league."
Good idea, I agree.
Give us the trophy any league table will show you we finished top under the rules of the league.
OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1017 - 27/03/2018 09:45:57 2088599
Just wondering how Roscommon are top of the table with +21 and Cavan have +23 is there another way of calculating how one finishes ahead of the other when they both have the same points ?? 11
Having said that the league is the league there is one cup and it was alway's the two top teams play each other to have bragging rights with their name on the Cup. To be honest promotion was good enough for me and there is a huge year next year having to play most of the top teams in the country. Staying in division 1 will be a huge ask but let's get this year over first before we start to worry about it.
Best of luck Sunday bring back the silverware for your true supporters.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 27/03/2018 11:38:17    2088640