Allianz National Football League Div 2 2018

it looks from a search of other sites that the game goes ahead. Best of luck to the team, there are three teams for two slots so lets hope we take one of them.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 18/03/2018 10:26:49    2085230

Replying To seanorinn:  "Good luck to the boys tomorrow. I've a sneaky suspicion we might pip it. However I think killian starting is key to this. Ros look dodgy at fb and we should have edge in the middle if gearoid is roaming around there. Obviously their inside forwards are very good and if they get on a lot of ball we will be in bother. Still think we can win it.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 943 - 17/03/2018 22:33:17 2

It will be a hard game for if Roscommon get the goal chances Down had Cavan will struggle to get a result. Wit reference to the goal keepers the real advantage is that Galligan can score long range frees and in fairness made three great point blank saves last week these details cannot be ignored. With respect to Farrelly I feel Galligan would get the nod for me. Cork now gone out of the equation It's between the top three Tipp Cavan and Roscommon so a win tomorrow we are promoted a loss and a win for Tipp and Roscommon all would be on 9 points and score differences come into play. Good luck tomorrow Sunday the 18th March 2018 make it a memorable day."
Best of luck today to all cavan players and management.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 881 - 18/03/2018 10:45:26    2085236

Very poor performance yet again from the referee Cormac Reilly. He should never be allowed to referee a Cavan match again. Not the first time he has robbed Cavan and denied them clear cut penalty chances (remember the U21 semi final against the same opposition). Well done to the team and management on a fine performance yet again. It was not your fault that he lost today. Hopefully we will have a neutral ref for the crucial final match on Sunday week.

BlueHeaven (Cavan) - Posts: 75 - 18/03/2018 16:43:31    2085348

Ahhhh. Frustrating. What is it about Roscommon? Have they a curse on us?

Hopefully we get the job done next weekend, promotion still in our own hands, the pressure is really on these lads now, next week will show us what they're made of!

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 18/03/2018 16:44:05    2085349

Good effort from the lads but Roscommon just have the edge over us the last few years. Bit of a bogey team for us. Still all to play for next week.

TheBlackDeath (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 18/03/2018 17:54:00    2085409

Hard luck Cavan. I sincerely hope u beat Tipp next game and that will see both yourselves and the Rossies back in the top tier. A day out in Croke Park would be great and I think we would be treated to another cracking game of football. Two footballing mad counties that punch well above our weight. Long may this continue

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 103 - 18/03/2018 18:00:23    2085416

Replying To ComainRos:  "Hard luck Cavan. I sincerely hope u beat Tipp next game and that will see both yourselves and the Rossies back in the top tier. A day out in Croke Park would be great and I think we would be treated to another cracking game of football. Two footballing mad counties that punch well above our weight. Long may this continue"
Hopefully we get the job done next weekend, promotion still in our own hands, the pressure is really on these lads now, next week will show us what they're made of!

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 37 - 18/03/2018 16:44:05 2085349
The best thing that could happen is for Down to beat Tip this puts pressure on both teams for should Roscommon beat Cork next week they are promoted should Tip Beat Down and draw with Cavan and Roscommon draw with Cork there will be a 3 way tie. Cavan and Tip would get promoted on score difference. So a lot of football yet for everyone. Not over until the fat lady sings.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 18/03/2018 18:21:26    2085433

Replying To seanorinn:  "Hopefully we get the job done next weekend, promotion still in our own hands, the pressure is really on these lads now, next week will show us what they're made of!

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 37 - 18/03/2018 16:44:05 2085349
The best thing that could happen is for Down to beat Tip this puts pressure on both teams for should Roscommon beat Cork next week they are promoted should Tip Beat Down and draw with Cavan and Roscommon draw with Cork there will be a 3 way tie. Cavan and Tip would get promoted on score difference. So a lot of football yet for everyone. Not over until the fat lady sings."
My understanding is that as Ros have beaten Tipp and Cavan we will be promoted on head to head if all teams finish on the same points. Although if Cavan were to draw with Tipp and we were to draw with Cork I'm not sure would score difference come into play then? Also that is assuming Tipp beat Down. Anyway hopefully both Ros and Cavan won't have to worry about that and we can both go up on a winning note

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 103 - 18/03/2018 19:02:48    2085464

Cavan is a great footballing county with really passionate supporters and they are similar to us in many ways...i always support ye in the Ulster championship and I sincerely hope both yourselves and Roscommon can make it to Division one next season.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1077 - 18/03/2018 19:43:21    2085493

Replying To ComainRos:  "My understanding is that as Ros have beaten Tipp and Cavan we will be promoted on head to head if all teams finish on the same points. Although if Cavan were to draw with Tipp and we were to draw with Cork I'm not sure would score difference come into play then? Also that is assuming Tipp beat Down. Anyway hopefully both Ros and Cavan won't have to worry about that and we can both go up on a winning note"
Head to head is when two teams only finish on same points. If three or more then score difference.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 18/03/2018 20:13:43    2085513

When will the Tipp Down game be played? The league final is this day 2 weeks how will they manage to play 2 games in that period of time?

IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 303 - 18/03/2018 20:14:20    2085514

Replying To ComainRos:  "My understanding is that as Ros have beaten Tipp and Cavan we will be promoted on head to head if all teams finish on the same points. Although if Cavan were to draw with Tipp and we were to draw with Cork I'm not sure would score difference come into play then? Also that is assuming Tipp beat Down. Anyway hopefully both Ros and Cavan won't have to worry about that and we can both go up on a winning note"
if all three teams end up with ten points Cavan and Tipp will get promoted on superior score difference. It only applies on head to head when two teams teams are on the same points head to head come into play if they are the same and they drew with each other score difference comes into play. Cork suffered this when relegated from division 1 a few years back.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 18/03/2018 20:14:54    2085516

No if all teams do finish level it's score difference. Head to head only comes in if 2 teams finish in same points, not 3 teams

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 18/03/2018 20:30:15    2085527

Replying To fredflint:  "No if all teams do finish level it's score difference. Head to head only comes in if 2 teams finish in same points, not 3 teams"
If it finishes with all three on 10 points Cavan and Tipp get promoted as they have superior score difference to Roscommon.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 18/03/2018 20:42:54    2085531

Replying To seanorinn:  "If it finishes with all three on 10 points Cavan and Tipp get promoted as they have superior score difference to Roscommon."
The one thing thats stands to us is both Down and Cork need points to be safe from relegation so it's all to play for.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 18/03/2018 21:01:40    2085538

It's a pain in the arse that we can't beat Roscommon apart from dead rubber.
They are no world beaters.
Thing is, we need to beat Tip to get promotion.
That's a tall order as I feel they're better than Roscommon.

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 18/03/2018 22:36:53    2085591

Replying To seanorinn:  "The one thing thats stands to us is both Down and Cork need points to be safe from relegation so it's all to play for."
If we can't get up to Div 1 on merit well we no business there.
If we can't beat teams like Roscommon and Tipp we've no business in Div 1.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 19/03/2018 06:46:39    2085621

Another embarrassing defeat to roscommon, as expected. Game was there to be won when 2 points up, a serious outfit would've put them to the sword then but we fell back into our shell and invited them on with predictable results. Midfield a big issue for Cavan, wiped out today when it mattered most. Is Buchanan back anytime soon? He couldn't be worse than what's there at present. Our bench contributed very little bar Mackey and 1 Johnston point. On the plus side, Raymond galligan, Faulkner and mcloughlin all excellent, other than that can't see many positives. Tipp game a coin toss.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 19/03/2018 09:29:28    2085652

The Tipperary game will tell the tale. Win and we will have 11 points and be promoted. Lose and we will will end up with 9 points and most likely finish third in the Division and miss out. The table won't lie after 7 games.

Forget the permutations, go out and beat Tipperary boys!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 19/03/2018 10:08:12    2085668

A good performance to a point yesterday but Roscommon got 5 of the last 6 points when pressure really on. This is when we need the leaders emerging and there is a lack of. The messing with Johnson putting himself centre stage and wasting time on the free kick was annoying.

Ciaran brady,faulkner and mc loughlin , young Bradley too, and mc kiernan was great in spots but you need him to show at crunch times. Roscommon have a few very big talented footballers.

The ref was very poor and went against us i felt and we somehow with bad luck managed to miss the open goal we created. A fella commits a foul ,score a point and then gets a black card , does that score still stand ?

If we are not able to beat Roscommon or Tipp we are better off out of Division 1 and not ready for that standard.All likelihood is we will be coming straight down anyway.

We have home game against Tipp and a chance to avenge the loss in championship last year , in particular 2nd half collapse. To progress we need to be beating the likes of Roscommon and Tipp.

eamonnmac (Cavan) - Posts: 59 - 19/03/2018 10:08:52    2085670