Cavan Ladies Senior Championship

Replying To Joebe:  "Congratulations to Cornafean on winning the Junior Championship and to Crosserlough on winning the Intermediate Championship yesterday.

It's good to see the dispute concerning the Senior Championship has been resolved with Lurgan winning through at the weekend to meet Templeport in the Senior Championship Semi-final.

I do think however that it's a shame that the senior final cannot now be played In Kingspan Breifne Park. I know a lot of girls are very disappointed with not getting their opportunity to play in Breifne"
Ladies football in cavan very poor the year at senior level killygarry poor and st finbarrs very poor mullahoran played finbarrs semifinal very poor game finbarrs haven't got the players for senior level wouldn't even put a sub in until 10 seconds left what an insult to subs killygarry even worse and mullahoran in final against lurgan

Camera (Cavan) - Posts: 1 - 05/09/2017 23:39:49    2043226

Replying to Camera.

I'm sure Templeport would like to think they will have a say in whether Lurgan qualify for the final against Mullaghoran when they meet in the other semi-final next week end.

Joebe (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 06/09/2017 09:32:24    2043282

Replying To Joebe:  "Replying to Camera.

I'm sure Templeport would like to think they will have a say in whether Lurgan qualify for the final against Mullaghoran when they meet in the other semi-final next week end."
I do think however that it's a shame that the senior final cannot now be played In Kingspan Breifne Park. I know a lot of girls are very disappointed with not getting their opportunity to play in Breifne

Joebe (Cavan) - Posts:43 - 04/09/2017 16:17:39 2042600

Who do you blame for that joebe the CCB or the ladies finger points in the ladies direction 100%. What date have they pencilled in for the Final maybe it's possible that it could still be played in Breffni. Let me know the date and I am sure if everyone works together this can be solved. I don't mind putting myself out for the best chairperson the ladies ever had Carol Kiernan to help her have the final in the park she deserves that as her last swan song before she steps down from the chair.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 08/09/2017 20:07:28    2044267

Replying To Camera:  "Ladies football in cavan very poor the year at senior level killygarry poor and st finbarrs very poor mullahoran played finbarrs semifinal very poor game finbarrs haven't got the players for senior level wouldn't even put a sub in until 10 seconds left what an insult to subs killygarry even worse and mullahoran in final against lurgan"
If that could be arranged Sean that would be great.

I know these girls have been putting in the same effort as the lads in their preparations and training all summer. This is their one opportunity, (should they be lucky enough to make it to the final) in the year to play In Kingspan Breifne Park which within club football in Cavan is where every player aspires to play on. AT the very least they deserve that opportunity.

I know The semi-final between Lurgan and Templeport is fixed for Killeshandra this Sunday at 3.00pm. The final as far as I am aware has been provisionally fixed for Saturday 16/09/17. Time and venue yet to be decided. I am sure Carol would be delighted along with both Mullahoran and whoever wins on Sunday to work with you.

The only thing I would say is that the venue and time needs to be decided as soon as possible to be fair to both players and supporters.

Joebe (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 09/09/2017 10:16:25    2044325

Replying To Joebe:  "If that could be arranged Sean that would be great.

I know these girls have been putting in the same effort as the lads in their preparations and training all summer. This is their one opportunity, (should they be lucky enough to make it to the final) in the year to play In Kingspan Breifne Park which within club football in Cavan is where every player aspires to play on. AT the very least they deserve that opportunity.

I know The semi-final between Lurgan and Templeport is fixed for Killeshandra this Sunday at 3.00pm. The final as far as I am aware has been provisionally fixed for Saturday 16/09/17. Time and venue yet to be decided. I am sure Carol would be delighted along with both Mullahoran and whoever wins on Sunday to work with you.

The only thing I would say is that the venue and time needs to be decided as soon as possible to be fair to both players and supporters."
If that could be arranged Sean that would be great.

The only thing I would say is that the venue and time needs to be decided as soon as possible to be fair to both players and supporters.
Joebe (Cavan) - Posts:45 - 09/09/2017 10:16:25 2044325

I am not responsible for fixtures or venues but I am sure if the weather is with us and there is nothing happening even All Ireland day in Breifni I am willing to give up that day to help my friend your chairperson. I am only after having a major operation so I am off at the moment but chat with Carol to call the secretary this can be solved BUT remember this situation was off your own making with the senior situation so no finger can be pointed in the CCB's direction if you know what I mean.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 09/09/2017 11:35:20    2044341

Replying To Camera:  "Ladies football in cavan very poor the year at senior level killygarry poor and st finbarrs very poor mullahoran played finbarrs semifinal very poor game finbarrs haven't got the players for senior level wouldn't even put a sub in until 10 seconds left what an insult to subs killygarry even worse and mullahoran in final against lurgan"
ReplyIing to Sean O rinn
am not responsible for fixtures or venues but I am sure if the weather is with us and there is nothing happening even All Ireland day in Breifni I am willing to give up that day to help my friend your chairperson. I am only after having a major operation so I am off at the moment but chat with Carol to call the secretary this can be solved BUT remember this situation was off your own making with the senior situation so no finger can be pointed in the CCB's direction if you know what I mean.

Sean! firstly and most importantly I am glad to hear you are over your operation and getting back to good health.

In response to your post I want you to know that I am not involved in any way with The Ladies County Board or am I a member of Lacken or Lurgan Ladies club or have I any involvement in either club.

I am a GAA person to the core who happen to love this game whether it is played by either Men or Woman.
I was lucky enough to play for many a year and represent Cavan at underage level.

I coach underage football and wish to see Ladies Football develope to where somewhere down the road it can compete on an even keel with Mens football. The dispute between Lacken and Lurgan was unfortunate and did not do the overall image of Ladies football within the County any good. Thankfully it has been resolved and let's move on.

Hopefully we can play what should be the blue ribbon event of Ladies Club football within the County ie: The Ladies Senior Club Championship football final in the home of Gaelic Football in Cavan, Kingspan Breifne Park.

Joebe (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 09/09/2017 18:49:31    2044443

Ehmm just to clear something up, Lurgan were not involved in any dispute with Lacken. Also on the basis of their last 2 games, Lurgan look like they deserve to be in the final, where ever it will be played

Marymac (Cavan) - Posts: 38 - 10/09/2017 20:55:34    2044723

Congrats to Lurgan on winning the Cavan Ladies Senior Championship 2017. Comprehensive winners

Joebe (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 16/09/2017 18:31:20    2046480

A bit strange that I had to go back almost 6 years to find any posts on HS Cavan discussing Ladies championship. All competitions started last week so any ideas who is going to win each grade?

MGR (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 12/08/2023 20:11:28    2500233

Replying To MGR:  "A bit strange that I had to go back almost 6 years to find any posts on HS Cavan discussing Ladies championship. All competitions started last week so any ideas who is going to win each grade?"
How are the various runners and riders at each level looking after the summer leagues. Who's going to be contending?

Calving4Sam (Cavan) - Posts: 69 - 14/08/2023 10:32:44    2500415

Yes, way too long since the women's game was discussed on this forum.
Senior; Lacken
Intermediate; Kingscourt
Junior; Cavan Gaels

bunnoe1 (Cavan) - Posts: 60 - 14/08/2023 13:51:39    2500478

Yes, way too long since the women's game was discussed on this forum.
Senior; Lacken
Intermediate; Kingscourt
Junior; Cavan Gaels

bunnoe1 (Cavan) - Posts: 60 - 14/08/2023 14:00:50    2500483

Any word who is in for or interested in the Cavan Senior Ladies Job?

Breffni81 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 15/08/2023 08:50:52    2500576

Replying To bunnoe1:  "Yes, way too long since the women's game was discussed on this forum.
Senior; Lacken
Intermediate; Kingscourt
Junior; Cavan Gaels"
That's fairly decisive. Any arguments to be made for anyone else. St. Fins went well in the league didn't they

Calving4Sam (Cavan) - Posts: 69 - 15/08/2023 14:51:01    2500646

Replying To bunnoe1:  "Yes, way too long since the women's game was discussed on this forum.
Senior; Lacken
Intermediate; Kingscourt
Junior; Cavan Gaels"
Pretty good predictions so far with Lacken & Cavan Gaels making the final.
Surprising results in senior today (for me) with Crosserlough & Lurgan - last 2 champions - losing out.

MGR (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 17/09/2023 17:09:48    2504511

I must admit, I didn't see Ballyhaise catching Kingscourt in the qtr final but fair play to them they have, and now they are in the final on merit and are a well balanced team. It should be a great tussle between Ballyhaise and Mullahoran. Who knows, it might be a double intermediate celebration on the banks of the Annalee! Whisper it!!!
For the other two predictions, just because they have reached the finals I am no more or no less confident now, than I was before the championship started when I wrote that.
Cavan Gaels have good management and are getting the "new manager" bounce. They were missing some experience in the Junior final last year but they seem to have a few older, wiser heads back. They have lots of great young players coming through, it will be interesting to see how those players react to the tough evening in last weeks minor final. Cuchulainn's too have lots of good young players coming through and isn't it a great achievement for them to contest the final in their first year back from the amalgamation.
For the Senior championship I was fairly confident that Lacken could overturn Lurgan, but I thought it might have been on final day. Because of the possession based football that Lurgan play (and they are brilliant at it- professional), one could conceive a plan to counteract it on a one-off. Of course a lot of work must go in by the Lacken management, and players on the pitch for weeks to refine the plan. Coming up with a plan and putting it into practice are worlds apart, so job done for Lacken but the challenge for them now is to prepare for a different challenge. Hopefully for Lacken Lurgan wasn't their final.
Drumlane are a serious outfit, like Ballyhaise they are a well balanced side, that have been coming for a few years. They showed real character yesterday against Crosserlough and have the tools to ask lots of questions of Lacken. Bear in mind that Drumlane have already beaten Lacken in this championship.
Looking forward to 3 cracking finals.

bunnoe1 (Cavan) - Posts: 60 - 18/09/2023 12:53:40    2504597

With the semi finals coming up, any word on the New county senior Manager?

orc (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 18/09/2023 14:07:45    2504614

Replying To orc:  "With the semi finals coming up, any word on the New county senior Manager?"
Semi Finals ?? We are into finals now and the County Board have still not made an appointment. No chance for a new manager to have a look around the county for players in a competitive environment before picking a panel. The county have already made the job more difficult.

Breffni81 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 19/09/2023 11:44:52    2504786

I agree. Manager should have been appointed at least before championship quarterfinal stage. A lot of county standard players in the 3 grades playing intense championship matches and no county management team to be seen? How do they go about their business of selecting a panel? Stick with who was there before? Who the county board think should play county? A half hearted and in my opinion incredibly off.putting message was sent to club players last year the gist of it being ,well if you think you're good enough come in to a training session this weekend. No young lassie is going to turn up unknown to a session on an already established panel without a proper approach from an approved member of a management team!

Mammy (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 19/09/2023 16:57:36    2504847

Surely any person that wishes to apply/take the job is already scouting players..shouldn't have to wait to get the job before taking an interest in players/teams/games. Surely that should be a prerequisite

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 20/09/2023 01:17:22    2504882