Qualifiers

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Argue is not the answer at midfield. He is far too timid."
I'm not sure Argue is too timid.... he can move when he wants to and is very direct. Directness is something we lack in a major way. We don't run at the opposition and win frees - Argue can cover the ground, break the tackle and can shoot too. He is a player that takes minding by the opposition. If the perception is that he is timid, the manager should put the fire in his belly, and that goes for the majority of the team.

Play_by_ear (Cavan) - Posts: 24 - 17/07/2017 11:41:38    2017997

Replying To Play_by_ear:  "I'm not sure Argue is too timid.... he can move when he wants to and is very direct. Directness is something we lack in a major way. We don't run at the opposition and win frees - Argue can cover the ground, break the tackle and can shoot too. He is a player that takes minding by the opposition. If the perception is that he is timid, the manager should put the fire in his belly, and that goes for the majority of the team."
Fully agreed, talent is there, fire in the belly unfortunately is not, style of play to suit the team is not, a few players that should be in that's not, get them 3 things sorted and we will be a decent team.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 881 - 17/07/2017 13:00:25    2018086

Replying To Awwwwnow: "I don't think there is anyone within the county capable of being manager. Yes there could be some great no2s or selectors who could mould into the job for the future with an experienced man.
Really that should have happened 5 years ago if Terry was no2 to someone like McGrath he would probably be experienced enough now to take the job. Now not when he got it.
I just feel lack of funds will stop us appointing an outside manager so realistically it's going to be more of the same with an inexperienced man from within the county with the same limited tactics.
Money talks and we don't have any."
So why do you want rid of Hyland if you know there is no money to get this brilliant outside manager. Do you know how idiotic you come across when you argue for something that you admit cannot be done?
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts:821 - 04/08/2016 19:20:53 1895829

Fredflint when it was put to you last year that McGrath should come in you dismissed it???
Now your all for it???
How times have changed.
Are you a defence lawyer by any chance?

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 18/07/2017 11:31:50    2018549

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Replying To Awwwwnow: "I don't think there is anyone within the county capable of being manager. Yes there could be some great no2s or selectors who could mould into the job for the future with an experienced man.
Really that should have happened 5 years ago if Terry was no2 to someone like McGrath he would probably be experienced enough now to take the job. Now not when he got it.
I just feel lack of funds will stop us appointing an outside manager so realistically it's going to be more of the same with an inexperienced man from within the county with the same limited tactics.
Money talks and we don't have any."
So why do you want rid of Hyland if you know there is no money to get this brilliant outside manager. Do you know how idiotic you come across when you argue for something that you admit cannot be done?
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts:821 - 04/08/2016 19:20:53 1895829

Fredflint when it was put to you last year that McGrath should come in you dismissed it???
Now your all for it???
How times have changed.
Are you a defence lawyer by any chance?"
There was no mention in my post there of dismissing McGrath.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 18/07/2017 13:49:34    2018636

Replying To fredflint:  "There was no mention in my post there of dismissing McGrath."
You mention earlier about bringing McGrsth in?
When that was mentioned s few years ago about bringing McGrath in and having Hyland as a number 2 you didn't want to know.
But now it seems it a great idea to bring him in and replace a manager who's only there 9 months?
Don't think you really know what your posting.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 18/07/2017 14:24:46    2018669

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "You mention earlier about bringing McGrsth in?
When that was mentioned s few years ago about bringing McGrath in and having Hyland as a number 2 you didn't want to know.
But now it seems it a great idea to bring him in and replace a manager who's only there 9 months?
Don't think you really know what your posting."
Again, that post by awwnow was referring to bringing in mcgrath back 5 years previously to the post with Hyland as a number 2. I did not dismiss the idea as it was impossible to support it as 5 years had passed - do you understand that???

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 18/07/2017 16:38:31    2018788

Replying To fredflint:  "Again, that post by awwnow was referring to bringing in mcgrath back 5 years previously to the post with Hyland as a number 2. I did not dismiss the idea as it was impossible to support it as 5 years had passed - do you understand that???"
Bring back TH and let him finish us off properly.. there won't be a forward left in the County when when he finished with us!!

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 18/07/2017 17:58:58    2018831

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Bring back TH and let him finish us off properly.. there won't be a forward left in the County when when he finished with us!!"
one step forward two steps backwards comes to mind????

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 18/07/2017 18:49:12    2018860

Replying To seanorinn:  "one step forward two steps backwards comes to mind????"
You are a nice fella sean, snipping privately to people about managers and then saying you have respect for them on here. Two faced comes to mind.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 18/07/2017 19:04:59    2018868

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Bring back TH and let him finish us off properly.. there won't be a forward left in the County when when he finished with us!!"
Martin, did you understand my post? I'll get my 5 year old daughter to give you a call and explain. She's too young to buy broadband so don't try to sell it to her.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 18/07/2017 19:07:05    2018870

I don't know why ye are still sniping at terry after all he did for us, if the new man can do as much I'll be happy , chances is he would of kept us in div 1 after him getting us there, and before you say anything I am supporting mattie too.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 881 - 18/07/2017 20:30:53    2018916

Replying To fredflint:  "You are a nice fella sean, snipping privately to people about managers and then saying you have respect for them on here. Two faced comes to mind."
Don't worry about him Fred. He constantly sniping at names suggested here for managerial roles. Even giving out now about the minor management in 2011. 6 years ago !!! Still pining for Val Andrews who nearly brought us to div 4 & jinxed the minor management with his praise....

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 18/07/2017 21:54:52    2018964

When the thread lasts a fortnight longer than the season its a bad sign for sure.
Time to shut her down lads, and move on to the club championships.
McKenna cup anyone?

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 18/07/2017 22:11:38    2018969

Replying To MadgeKing:  "When the thread lasts a fortnight longer than the season its a bad sign for sure.
Time to shut her down lads, and move on to the club championships.
McKenna cup anyone?"
You are right, I'm signing out of this one.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 18/07/2017 22:21:41    2018971

Replying To fredflint:  "You are a nice fella sean, snipping privately to people about managers and then saying you have respect for them on here. Two faced comes to mind."
Replying To seanorinn: "one step forward two steps backwards comes to mind????"
You are a nice fella sean, snipping privately to people about managers and then saying you have respect for them on here. Two faced comes to mind.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts:827 - 18/07/2017 19:04:59 2018868
Have I spoken privately about our current manager I certainly have not for he inherited what he has out from the 6 U21 players that were brought in a few weeks ago and I am not even sure he saw them play???
Are you making an allegation if so name and shame me then.
So I talk privately and make a comment about a manager to a person one on one and like an old woman he tells p***ks like you but I will stand up any day and voice my opinion but you are not allowed to do that here are you.
Of all the managers that have been in charge at senior level here in Cavan in all my years doing what I do only two I have had no time for, the saying goes you can fool some of the people all of the time all of the people some of the time but not all the people all of the time. Remember that going forward.

I am also willing to be fair and give a person a decent chance unlike many here get rid at all cost.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 19/07/2017 01:05:48    2019028

Replying To bond:  "Don't worry about him Fred. He constantly sniping at names suggested here for managerial roles. Even giving out now about the minor management in 2011. 6 years ago !!! Still pining for Val Andrews who nearly brought us to div 4 & jinxed the minor management with his praise...."
Still pining for Val Andrews who nearly brought us to div 4 & jinxed the minor management with his praise....
bond (Longford) - Posts:97 - 18/07/2017 21:54:52
I see now I am replying to a Gowna man and let me tell you Val Andrews had no input into the minors.
When we left the Waterford man go who was probably one of the best trainers in the country and went on to train Kerry to win a few All Irelands things changed don't forget that here in Cavan.
Sure wasn't Liam Austin shafted by people like you. Two all Ireland medals in his back pocket and he was not good enough for the job. Come on time to move on and yes I had the greatest of respect for Val Andrews and I make no apology for saying so.
I have respect for the present senior manager as well and he deserves his chance to turn things around like I had for Garry Donohoe when he was the minor manager that won Cavan an Ulster Title along with his players and John Brady with the current minors your future senior players. I too am stopping my replies to this topic but as I said before you know where I am should any of you wish to speak to me one on one make sure you don't come in packs. Slain

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 19/07/2017 01:21:25    2019029

Replying To Inaroundehouse: "Bring back TH and let him finish us off properly.. there won't be a forward left in the County when when he finished with us!!"

seanorinn (Cavan) - Posts:3513 - 18/07/2017 18:49:12

Tomsmith here
I see some people are picking on Sean which I think is unfair
Seam has been a great servant of the Cavan people both professionally and in sport.
Over the years He has stood up to what is right in Cavan football, (his one blip was his unyielding support for the Clip Board men who I said put them on the Dublin Bus) and I see he has come around to the need for Divisional teams. Never was his views so justified after our disastrous period in the doldrums. I say Divisional teams are the way ahead let players play for a Cavan Jersey and let the party men party

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 19/07/2017 09:45:40    2019097

I haven't had any tangles with Sean but this is an opinion forum and people will disagree. I am sure that Sean has no problem with that and he has disagreed with almost everything i have ever posted which is fine by me, he's entitled to his opinion.

Anyway, lets let this one go for 2017. Back to the and making some silage!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 19/07/2017 10:25:56    2019116

Wrong assumption Sean. East cavan born & bred. Like you I also support our current manager and am on record here after the Tipperary game as saying that he is entitled to another year to put his print on things. Let's just give respect to everyone's opinions

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 19/07/2017 13:05:04    2019232

Replying To Inaroundehouse: "Bring back TH and let him finish us off properly.. there won't be a forward left in the County when when he finished with us!!"

seanorinn (Cavan) - Posts:3513 - 18/07/2017

Can't understand all this sniping at TH as he probably done more for Cavan football in his 4 years than was done in the previous 10. He didn't bring us backwards as some would like to believe but actually brought us forwards to a place where he raised our expectations and we were going out against the Tyrones Donegals Monaghans of this era hoping to win rather than just to compete . OK some will point to the fact that he had a winning provincial 4 in a row U21 squads to pick from, but U21 success does not automatically equate to senior success just ask Cork or Galway supporters. He may have only won 3 games in the Ulster championship but in the preceding 11 years we had won a grand total of 4 . It was he who started the ball rolling at u21 level and he did afterall manage to get us from the brink of Division 4 to Division 1.Has any other Cavan manager (apart from McHugh) had any more success in the last 40 years?

aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 256 - 19/07/2017 13:20:45    2019247