Qualifiers

Replying To Reformation:  "You're not going to go near the players, yet you cite kick outs and kick passing as something that wasn't right. If McKiernan wasn't winning kick-outs, why did Galligan persist with kicking the ball to him? Was he hoping that McKiernan would win one kickout in 10?

As for kick passing, management cant make the players kick pass, its up to the players to take full responsibility.
cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts:138 - 10/07/2017 14:38:09

Have a look at what you just wrote? Kick out and passing strategy comes from management. Its called a game plan!!!!

Don't bother posting just for the sake of it! I am making suggestions on what I felt was wrong. You echoed my point about midfield getting outnumbered. Was that a midfielders fault or a fault on management not to change things up? These things are premeditated!!
Wakey wakey."
Players too have to take responsibility for reading a game in progress. They are not robots.
Maybe Mattie should pick 2 15 aside teams in training , send them out with absolutely no instruction or tactics and see what type of game results.
County players should be capable of thinking on their feet during a game.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 11/07/2017 09:48:52    2014742

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Players too have to take responsibility for reading a game in progress. They are not robots.
Maybe Mattie should pick 2 15 aside teams in training , send them out with absolutely no instruction or tactics and see what type of game results.
County players should be capable of thinking on their feet during a game."
My point is that when we have the ball that we have a plan. I assume there was a plan to be more direct as we had big men rotating inside but they got no supply. Caomhin O'Reilly was actually winning anything that came to him in the first half but we could have done more. Tipp did pack the defence in the first half though so we needed to shoot from distance at times which actually went well.

I think we need to produce a DNA in how we play under Mattie. As someone suggested earlier, the Cavan squad is there and has the best players there of who is interested in playing. We know a number are not going to commit. We are uncomfortable on the ball, we have no playmaker, we have no plan. It's not just about putting in the best players on the field and hoping they will work it out themselves. Of course that comes into it but we need a plan and a formula that works to our strengths and can break down teams. Sitting there on Sunday, I didn't feel like we had a clue what to do from 5 mins into the second half onward. We lack leaders and people who can step up and take responsibility. As long as that continues, we will be a team with potential. That's becoming a broken record for many now.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 11/07/2017 10:23:01    2014766

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "The biggest mystery to me is why Faulkner is not used at Centre back. He's a great reader of the game and in my opinion the position is made for him.
I'd say Mattie has been listening to too many opinions.
It's time now when he gets to take in club championship games that he makes up his mind who he wants and where he wants them.
Speaking to one ex player who quit a few years ago the reason given was he wasn't happy with what he was asked to do on the field of play.
Players need to be able to enjoy it and express themselves. That's where success will come from.
After all it's a hobby not a job."
Replying To Reformation: "I have to say I was a very very disappointed man walking out of the game yesterday. I am at a loss to understand how we threw that game away.

I am not going near the players - i think this loss sits with the management. When Buchanan was taken off, Gearoid came out to midfield but was outnumbered when he tried to catch. This was glaring to all in the stand but yet there were no changes from the line. We need an enforcer at cebtre back also as they were coasting through on some occasions. I don't know where we Cavan football goes from here.

Here are my thoughts in the lead up to next year.

McGleenan needs to closely watch the club championships.
Some younger talents can break through and become important players for us - Galligan, Connolly, O'Reilly.
Game plan - how are we going to play? This should be understood by every player on the panel. Too much confusion in our play.
Kick passing - all of the top teams in Ireland use this to good effect. Time that we started using it to better effect
Clarity on positions - each player should know which position he is being considered for. Far too much confusion in our play - clarity needed.

I could go on....Anyway, thats it for Cavan and 2017. Out with a whimper."

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 11/07/2017 11:46:55    2014821

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "The biggest mystery to me is why Faulkner is not used at Centre back. He's a great reader of the game and in my opinion the position is made for him.
I'd say Mattie has been listening to too many opinions.
It's time now when he gets to take in club championship games that he makes up his mind who he wants and where he wants them.
Speaking to one ex player who quit a few years ago the reason given was he wasn't happy with what he was asked to do on the field of play.
Players need to be able to enjoy it and express themselves. That's where success will come from.
After all it's a hobby not a job."
Replying To Reformation: "I have to say I was a very very disappointed man walking out of the game yesterday. I am at a loss to understand how we threw that game away.

I am not going near the players - i think this loss sits with the management. When Buchanan was taken off, Gearoid came out to midfield but was outnumbered when he tried to catch. This was glaring to all in the stand but yet there were no changes from the line. We need an enforcer at cebtre back also as they were coasting through on some occasions. I don't know where we Cavan football goes from here.

Some younger talents can break through and become important players for us - Galligan, Connolly, O'Reilly.
Game plan - how are we going to play? This should be understood by every player on the panel. Too much confusion in our play.
Kick passing - all of the top teams in Ireland use this to good effect. Time that we started using it to better effect
Clarity on positions - each player should know which position he is being considered for. Far too much confusion in our play - clarity needed.

How are you at a loss as to how we through the game away. Feck sake it was obvious that the Tipperary manager was going the solve what was happening with the breaking ball which he did. Instead of a Cavan man picking up the breaking down ball a Tipp man picked it up it was that simple. I said to the gent sitting beside me just before half time we are in trouble Tipp will solve this section and fix it they did.

Why do people keep mentioning these 3 players Galligan, Connolly, O'Reilly. Is it no wonder we are where we are you would think these were the only players that came in from the U21 panel and others ignored??? come on give it a break there are many more quality young players out there and you will see them throughout the championship but will the blinkered so called know alls see them I expect not for they will only have eyes for the county player on the pitch.
I hope Mattie starts a fresh a removes those that are not up to it and bring in some quality players for it's obvious that the lads that have been training this last few years sitting on the subs bench week in week out are not what he wants or is it what someone else does not want. Time will tell.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 11/07/2017 12:15:30    2014847

Replying To fredflint:  "I never said it started this year. My point is some guys just will not play for anyone. No point pining after them and suggesting that somehow they will play if Mattie just looks at the club championship."
You are not on your own but it did not start this year ?? so let's make this very clear.
seanorinn (Cavan) - Posts:3477 - 10/07/2017 23:07:05 2014602"
I never said it started this year. My point is some guys just will not play for anyone. No point pining after them and suggesting that somehow they will play if Mattie just looks at the club championship.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts:797 - 11/07/2017 09:34:35
I know I am only the groundsman but I have spoken to many lads some that have left the panel and others that never even got a call in. Note I say never even got a call in. You hear people say they will not play with the County well maybe some but let me tell you not all.
A little bit of diplomacy and maybe sit down with any player you feel might be what you would like in with the panel and start from there. If a player has been missed by Mattie or Lorcan I say these two for they should have no bias in their system towards a person or a club if you get my drift. If clubs feel one or more of their players deserve a shot well send the names into Mattie or Lorcan and it will be a start going forward but no point in sending in names unless the player or players have said they would like to give it a shot. Don't you think this is a simple way. I have listened to people saying their players were not called in well what did they do about yes you got it in one sweet F all.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 11/07/2017 12:29:10    2014860

Just had a look at the " highlights " of the game again and do you know we did the same against Derry last year except we finished with 15 men this time.
Where to for Cavan football now?
Maybe the minors can bring a little pride back to the jersey.
I cannot understand how you can play top drawer football for one half and then fall flat on you're face. Even we played for 15 minutes of the second half we could have won, all we got were the last 5 when Tip shut shop and ran down the clock.
This idea of the young team learning is a crock and we've been hearing that excuse for to long now.
Even the chap on Facebook book who had a forum " Bring pride back to Cavan " has thrown in the towel.
I'm so disappointed and disgusted that none of the under 21s have progressed.
County board need to look at this.
Can't see us surviving div 2 either.
Sad to see the so called minnows Carlow,Clare and Tipperary are progressing better than we are.
Look at Down, in the daldrums for so long and now in an Ulster final.
All in all the future is blue, very blue and we're likely to be singing the blues for some time to come.

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 11/07/2017 13:00:17    2014891

Replying To seanorinn:  "Replying To Reformation: "I have to say I was a very very disappointed man walking out of the game yesterday. I am at a loss to understand how we threw that game away.

How are you at a loss as to how we through the game away. Feck sake it was obvious that the Tipperary manager was going the solve what was happening with the breaking ball which he did. Instead of a Cavan man picking up the breaking down ball a Tipp man picked it up it was that simple. I said to the gent sitting beside me just before half time we are in trouble Tipp will solve this section and fix it they did.

Why do people keep mentioning these 3 players Galligan, Connolly, O'Reilly. Is it no wonder we are where we are you would think these were the only players that came in from the U21 panel and others ignored??? come on give it a break there are many more quality young players out there and you will see them throughout the championship but will the blinkered so called know alls see them I expect not for they will only have eyes for the county player on the pitch.
I hope Mattie starts a fresh a removes those that are not up to it and bring in some quality players for it's obvious that the lads that have been training this last few years sitting on the subs bench week in week out are not what he wants or is it what someone else does not want. Time will tell."
And what did Mattie do to solve the problem at midfield Sean. I mean if you knew what was coming surely Mattie did and had a plan? I saw no plan, no changes and nothing to say there was any know-how on the line whatsoever. You are cutting the man a lot of slack. Personally I think his über positive stance is a cover for other issues and I'm of the opinion that won't improve no matter what players he calls in. Sad but true.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 11/07/2017 13:51:50    2014941

Replying To fredflint:  "And what did Mattie do to solve the problem at midfield Sean. I mean if you knew what was coming surely Mattie did and had a plan? I saw no plan, no changes and nothing to say there was any know-how on the line whatsoever. You are cutting the man a lot of slack. Personally I think his über positive stance is a cover for other issues and I'm of the opinion that won't improve no matter what players he calls in. Sad but true."
And what did Mattie do to solve the problem at midfield Sean. I mean if you knew what was coming surely Mattie did and had a plan? I saw no plan, no changes and nothing to say there was any know-how on the line whatsoever. You are cutting the man a lot of slack. Personally I think his über positive stance is a cover for other issues and I'm of the opinion that won't improve no matter what players he calls in. Sad but true.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts:798 - 11/07/2017 13:51:50 2

Well here lay's the problem I am only a supporter like you but there was no changes made really. One very strange change was Mossie Corr feck me he was the only person playing with heart and passion I may be wrong off course.
I am you are right fredflint but sadly I cannot put it down here for I would be in trouble and off course hoganstand would not print it.
I am hoping he get's another year it's the only way we can find out if he has what it takes to be a good manager.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 11/07/2017 14:39:10    2014982

Replying To fredflint:  "And what did Mattie do to solve the problem at midfield Sean. I mean if you knew what was coming surely Mattie did and had a plan? I saw no plan, no changes and nothing to say there was any know-how on the line whatsoever. You are cutting the man a lot of slack. Personally I think his über positive stance is a cover for other issues and I'm of the opinion that won't improve no matter what players he calls in. Sad but true."
Cutting a man a lot of slack????? He 9 months in the job not 5 years. Where's the midfield of the last 5 years gone? Or the full back or centre half of the last 5 years???????

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 11/07/2017 14:39:33    2014984

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Cutting a man a lot of slack????? He 9 months in the job not 5 years. Where's the midfield of the last 5 years gone? Or the full back or centre half of the last 5 years???????"
So you are happy with how he managed the game from the line in the 2nd half?

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 11/07/2017 16:40:10    2015059

Replying To fredflint:  "So you are happy with how he managed the game from the line in the 2nd half?"
No I'm not and I wasn't happy how it was managed at times this past 5 years especially the year Monaghan beat us at home in the championship when we went into our usual defensive mode! Nor was I happy about the way things were managed against Roscommon on a few occasions.
Were you?

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 11/07/2017 18:09:04    2015123

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "No I'm not and I wasn't happy how it was managed at times this past 5 years especially the year Monaghan beat us at home in the championship when we went into our usual defensive mode! Nor was I happy about the way things were managed against Roscommon on a few occasions.
Were you?"
No I want happy about tactics in some of those games but our previous manager had done good tactical wins too. Funny thing is you under your previous user name had no issue hammering Hyland but have given Mattie a complete pass despite agreeing you were not impressed by him on the line. Maybe being straight on such matters doesn't fit the agenda?

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 11/07/2017 18:59:34    2015165

Replying To fredflint:  "No I want happy about tactics in some of those games but our previous manager had done good tactical wins too. Funny thing is you under your previous user name had no issue hammering Hyland but have given Mattie a complete pass despite agreeing you were not impressed by him on the line. Maybe being straight on such matters doesn't fit the agenda?"
No previous Username . No problem with Hyland only I think he overstayed his time there.
He did a lot for Cavan football but I honestly think he came up short as a Senior manager. Maybe it was lack of help or lack or tactical knowledge . Who knows. But I think 5 years was a fair craic at it .
Maybe Mattie is not what we expected. It's too early to tell. He definitely entitled to another year at least and I think it's unfair to call for his head so early . Hylands record in 2012 or 2013 when he took over was nothing to get excited about was it?
But I didn't hear you complaining.
Why? Was it because Hyland was one of our own and Mattie isn't?

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 11/07/2017 19:49:02    2015208

Replying To seanorinn:  "You are not on your own but it did not start this year ?? so let's make this very clear.
seanorinn (Cavan) - Posts:3477 - 10/07/2017 23:07:05 2014602"
I never said it started this year. My point is some guys just will not play for anyone. No point pining after them and suggesting that somehow they will play if Mattie just looks at the club championship.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts:797 - 11/07/2017 09:34:35
I know I am only the groundsman but I have spoken to many lads some that have left the panel and others that never even got a call in. Note I say never even got a call in. You hear people say they will not play with the County well maybe some but let me tell you not all.
A little bit of diplomacy and maybe sit down with any player you feel might be what you would like in with the panel and start from there. If a player has been missed by Mattie or Lorcan I say these two for they should have no bias in their system towards a person or a club if you get my drift. If clubs feel one or more of their players deserve a shot well send the names into Mattie or Lorcan and it will be a start going forward but no point in sending in names unless the player or players have said they would like to give it a shot. Don't you think this is a simple way. I have listened to people saying their players were not called in well what did they do about yes you got it in one sweet F all."
How are you at a loss as to how we through the game away. Feck sake it was obvious that the Tipperary manager was going the solve what was happening with the breaking ball which he did. Instead of a Cavan man picking up the breaking down ball a Tipp man picked it up it was that simple.

Thanks for the insight Sean! Seems that you have a deeper insight into football than me. I'll down tools and leave with my tail between my little legs.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 12/07/2017 09:50:23    2015405

Replying To Reformation:  "How are you at a loss as to how we through the game away. Feck sake it was obvious that the Tipperary manager was going the solve what was happening with the breaking ball which he did. Instead of a Cavan man picking up the breaking down ball a Tipp man picked it up it was that simple.

Thanks for the insight Sean! Seems that you have a deeper insight into football than me. I'll down tools and leave with my tail between my little legs."
Thanks for the insight Sean! Seems that you have a deeper insight into football than me. I'll down tools and leave with my tail between my little legs.
Reformation (Cavan) - Posts:297 - 12/07/2017 09:50:23 2015405

Well I don't know what you do for a living but if you were sat where I was it was blatantly obvious there was going to be a change in the center. Cavan were picking up the breaking ball for most of the first half but what they did after that is a different story. In the second half I counted 14 tapdowns in the stand side of the pitch where a Cavan player was higher to to ball but punched it downwards and a Tipp play picked it up every time. If you were there I am sure you would have seen this. There were several areas that we were in trouble in and for me to name these areas I may as well name the players which I don't intend to do.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 12/07/2017 10:52:25    2015438

Gameplans are one thing but when it comes down to it,players have to be able/be allowed to make good decisions during the game.we are all guessing what goes on behind the scenes,but surely if our keeper decided that it was madness to keep kicking the ball to Mc Kiernan after losing 3 in a row,he should have the football nous not to kick another 10 to him,i think we would have won this match if kickouts were either to the wings or if we had 2 or 3 players even available for breaking ball from McKiernan,all our players were 20+ yards away from Mc Kiernan,is this because they are made immediately get to a set position by a rigid game plan and if they don't stick exactly to it,then they are dropped,only asking the question.Are our players not allowed take any risk by trying some long defence splitting kick passes,if they try it and it doesn't come off,are they dropped?. It seems that over a period of time,all of the spontaneity of play is forced out of our county seniors.Rigid game plans are one thing but players have to be allowed to be trusted to make the right decisions when games change mid course.Also,if half of Breffni Park could see the problems,why could management not,it was brutally obvious,why could our keeper not see it either or was he afraid to change it,surely our outfield players could see that 2 or 3 Tipperary men were allowed to collect the breaks unchallenged.

celt2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 160 - 12/07/2017 11:23:44    2015458

Replying To celt2018:  "Gameplans are one thing but when it comes down to it,players have to be able/be allowed to make good decisions during the game.we are all guessing what goes on behind the scenes,but surely if our keeper decided that it was madness to keep kicking the ball to Mc Kiernan after losing 3 in a row,he should have the football nous not to kick another 10 to him,i think we would have won this match if kickouts were either to the wings or if we had 2 or 3 players even available for breaking ball from McKiernan,all our players were 20+ yards away from Mc Kiernan,is this because they are made immediately get to a set position by a rigid game plan and if they don't stick exactly to it,then they are dropped,only asking the question.Are our players not allowed take any risk by trying some long defence splitting kick passes,if they try it and it doesn't come off,are they dropped?. It seems that over a period of time,all of the spontaneity of play is forced out of our county seniors.Rigid game plans are one thing but players have to be allowed to be trusted to make the right decisions when games change mid course.Also,if half of Breffni Park could see the problems,why could management not,it was brutally obvious,why could our keeper not see it either or was he afraid to change it,surely our outfield players could see that 2 or 3 Tipperary men were allowed to collect the breaks unchallenged."
Yes agreed. Players have got to be able to think on their feet too.. it's called been switched on.
There not robots

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 12/07/2017 11:27:45    2015462

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Yes agreed. Players have got to be able to think on their feet too.. it's called been switched on.
There not robots"
If players were instructed not to commit themselves to contest midfield breaks and rather filter back as a game plan, should they ignore the instructions from the line?

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 12/07/2017 12:09:51    2015499

Replying To fredflint:  "If players were instructed not to commit themselves to contest midfield breaks and rather filter back as a game plan, should they ignore the instructions from the line?"
You don't get instructions for every single move or every single breaking ball. Players have to think on their feet at a moments notice. That's common sense. General instructions can be give with the assumption things are going to happen but players should be switched on enough to make split second decisions. And we never are.
How do you think Roscommon beat galway?

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 12/07/2017 12:43:11    2015520

If a keeper goes long wellbits common sense for wing backs and wing forwards to fore see a breaking ball. That's not coachable simply because it's common sense.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 12/07/2017 12:45:54    2015523