Qualifiers

Replying To fredflint:  "Sean - what players Mattie saw or didn't see in last years championship has nothing to do with the rubbish 2nd half yesterday or indeed the abysmal season we just had. There are not 10 top class players in cavan club football who are undiscovered and willing to play for Cavan. I don't think there is one semblance of progress this year but a serious regression where even our good kick out strategy last year is now totally destroyed. It might seem rash but I hope our county board makes a quick and bold decision and get a new man in or we will waste another season."
The last manager stifled us with defensive rubbish for 5 years. Went through over 100 players and still couldn't make a fist of it .
Mattie is only in the job since last October. He deserves time.
Let him watch the club championships

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 09/07/2017 10:21:25    2012825

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "The last manager stifled us with defensive rubbish for 5 years. Went through over 100 players and still couldn't make a fist of it .
Let him watch the club championships"
Stifled us the whole way to Divison 1. At least we got rid of the defensive rubbish....ahhem

ballygowanwater (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 09/07/2017 11:38:33    2012868

Replying To kildare blue:  "Twenty years since our last Ulster Senior Football success, one final appearance in that time, yesterday was no better or worse than what has gone down during that period. There is some talent out there but not enough to compensate for a lack of leaders on the field of play and for a mental weakness that has shown itself on many occasions over the past number of years. We folded in the second half at Healy Park in the league,found a way to lose against Derry this time last year, we folded again against Tyrone in the semi final and semi final replay last year, was there a McKenna Cup final in the not so distant past where we ruled in the first half and fell apart in the second? The more these events occur the more they are likely to occur in the future.

A lot of managers have come and gone over the twenty year period, only Val Andrews got us back to an Ulster football final. I was a big fan of the current manager and have been most disappointed to date with his performance. There has been no shift away from the style of play which was in place over the past five years. A style of play that has provided alarmingly poor results over five of the past six Championships.

Terry Hyland's team died on the pitch in Clones last summer. From my vantage point there seems to have been an effort to give that team one final chance to make the breakthrough, maybe as a result of the managers late appointment, and it has not worked out and it is not going to work out.

Mattie, you have the summer to view the club scene and to put together your squad for 2018. Changes is needed!"
Kildare blue.... I would go along with what you say..Mattie has seen what the squad he inherited has to offer and should now know that a lot of them are not up to what's needed.... Wholesale changes will make for a difficult div 2 campaign but more importantly a change of playing style is needed... It's no coincidence that 6/7 decent forwards have left the Cavan panel over the last 3/4 years who are badly missed... There is a message in that for sure....

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 09/07/2017 12:53:48    2012902

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "The last manager stifled us with defensive rubbish for 5 years. Went through over 100 players and still couldn't make a fist of it .
Let him watch the club championships"
Such nonsense. Ok, tell me 5 players Mattie doesn't know about who are willing to make the required sacrifices needed to play county football. I assume by watching our atrocious club football he will uncover these gems? Like I said before, yesterday was no about what players were in the team or the panel. It was about total Mis-management of a 6 point lead on and off the pitch.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 09/07/2017 13:26:23    2012923

Replying To fredflint:  "Such nonsense. Ok, tell me 5 players Mattie doesn't know about who are willing to make the required sacrifices needed to play county football. I assume by watching our atrocious club football he will uncover these gems? Like I said before, yesterday was no about what players were in the team or the panel. It was about total Mis-management of a 6 point lead on and off the pitch."
Maybe if you ask some of the players who are not involved this past few years why they are not interested?

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 09/07/2017 13:59:59    2012939

This is just more of the same rubbish we have had dished out to us for umpteen years in Cavan.
Meanwhile the team we have close links to through the successful U.21 series, Roscommon, now go and win the Connacht Final. They were only messing in the league while we peaked in it and still got relegated.
We have been left behind. 2 wins out of the last 10 games. Deplorable.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 09/07/2017 15:38:05    2013018

Great to see Roscommon win Connaught!! Only team that they could beat in the League. !! CAVAN !! What a turnaround in a couple of months? I do have to ask unfortunately. What have done right that we can't couldn't?? Sorry!! What have they rectified that we couldn't? I know the answer! Come on you staunch Cavan followers!! Get it off your chests........

upandcomingblue (Cavan) - Posts: 37 - 09/07/2017 15:47:01    2013037

Replying To upandcomingblue:  "Great to see Roscommon win Connaught!! Only team that they could beat in the League. !! CAVAN !! What a turnaround in a couple of months? I do have to ask unfortunately. What have done right that we can't couldn't?? Sorry!! What have they rectified that we couldn't? I know the answer! Come on you staunch Cavan followers!! Get it off your chests........"
For one thing they had to beat leitrim to reach a connaught final so it was pretty much one game against an inconsistent county to win (still fair dues)
Secondly Relegated division 1 sides have terrible championship records, Its hard when you get into a habit of losing.
And lets not forget cavan lost to monaghan a strong division 1 side and tipp who showed last year what we are capable even if we still havent earned the respect just yet of alot of the persevered stronger counties. Commiserations on yesterdays game, first half was exactly as i expected the whole game to go and was shocked myself when we put in that performance the 2nd half. Havent seen such a game of two halves in a long time, ye were on fire and too good for us, 2nd half we threw off the shackles and it completely flipped and ye couldnt compete with us.

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 09/07/2017 16:55:44    2013125

What's happening on this site ?? Messages not being posted & some of those that are have been deleted. Just because of differences of opinion & no offence to other poster intended. Mattie will definitely get another year but needs more help on the line...

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 09/07/2017 17:05:12    2013134

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Maybe if you ask some of the players who are not involved this past few years why they are not interested?"
What's that got to do with what we are discussing. Will Mattie watching them play in club championship somehow make them more interested? We didn't lose yesterday because player x,y or z wasn't playing. We lost due to mis management on and off the field.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 09/07/2017 18:26:55    2013232

Replying To fredflint:  "What's that got to do with what we are discussing. Will Mattie watching them play in club championship somehow make them more interested? We didn't lose yesterday because player x,y or z wasn't playing. We lost due to mis management on and off the field."
And was miss management the reason we didn't progress in the championship last year or the year before that ??

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 09/07/2017 19:12:08    2013271

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "And was miss management the reason we didn't progress in the championship last year or the year before that ??"
You haven't answered one question ive asked, when you do I might answer one of yours in return.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 09/07/2017 19:36:18    2013308

Can anyone on here name me two county quality mid-fielders currently playing in Div. 1 Senior League Football? McGleenan should have selected more of a Cavan Personnel backroom crew... People with past playing experience.... Maybe no one would go forward... So we got what we deserved...

All will be kept hush, hush in the county.... Freedom of speech...

upandcomingblue (Cavan) - Posts: 37 - 09/07/2017 20:49:00    2013367

maybe people should be more astounded with the first half display than the 2nd half. The first half was completely out off character and it looked back to normal proceedings in the 2nd half...

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1678 - 09/07/2017 21:20:08    2013397

Replying To upandcomingblue:  "Can anyone on here name me two county quality mid-fielders currently playing in Div. 1 Senior League Football? McGleenan should have selected more of a Cavan Personnel backroom crew... People with past playing experience.... Maybe no one would go forward... So we got what we deserved...

All will be kept hush, hush in the county.... Freedom of speech..."
Thomas Galligan.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 09/07/2017 21:26:47    2013402

Replying To upandcomingblue:  "Can anyone on here name me two county quality mid-fielders currently playing in Div. 1 Senior League Football? McGleenan should have selected more of a Cavan Personnel backroom crew... People with past playing experience.... Maybe no one would go forward... So we got what we deserved...

All will be kept hush, hush in the county.... Freedom of speech..."
Agree wholeheartedly. Why when he was only appointed last October did he not go with experienced cavan coaches who would know the scene?? Seems to be a lot of outsiders involved whom would have no knowledge of the local scene. Finbarr o Reilly probably the only one familiar with cavan club football. The county board must take responsibility for this as it was there delaying of his appointment that caused the problem

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 09/07/2017 22:04:42    2013448

Replying To bond:  "Agree wholeheartedly. Why when he was only appointed last October did he not go with experienced cavan coaches who would know the scene?? Seems to be a lot of outsiders involved whom would have no knowledge of the local scene. Finbarr o Reilly probably the only one familiar with cavan club football. The county board must take responsibility for this as it was there delaying of his appointment that caused the problem"
Lads making excuses for him. We were six points up at half time. Tactical ineptitude cost us. Not a manager not being appointed in time, club football quality, not enough locals in backroom team, the allignment of the planets, breaking a mirror. Tactical ineptitude. Not being able to respond to Tipperary putting pressure on our kick outs. Create a free man or get bodies in for breaks.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 09/07/2017 22:17:59    2013467

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Lads making excuses for him. We were six points up at half time. Tactical ineptitude cost us. Not a manager not being appointed in time, club football quality, not enough locals in backroom team, the allignment of the planets, breaking a mirror. Tactical ineptitude. Not being able to respond to Tipperary putting pressure on our kick outs. Create a free man or get bodies in for breaks."
He needs a backroom team with no Cavan connections. This way we will be far better off for they will select I hope an unbiased team but having said that they will all ready have heard of certain players and from that moment on they are blinkered " EWell I hope I am wrong".
I sat in the stand Yesterday and I wonder where in the name of god what match they were watching.
I suppose the same could be said of those relaying down to the side line. You will have noticed Mattie had no ear piece I wonder why.
Those of us that see the majority of matches and some training sessions could get very close to naming the starting 15 week on week. Now you wonder why player's walk.
In the championship 2016 our best midfielder by a long shot was a Lavey player.

I tell you what if people could take the blinkers off and try and look at everything that was happening they might well be able to make a better assessment of the overall game.
The player for Cavan playing with heart and trying his utmost to raise the spirit was taken off crazy crazy crazy

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 09/07/2017 22:37:47    2013495

Replying To seanorinn:  "He needs a backroom team with no Cavan connections. This way we will be far better off for they will select I hope an unbiased team but having said that they will all ready have heard of certain players and from that moment on they are blinkered " EWell I hope I am wrong".
I sat in the stand Yesterday and I wonder where in the name of god what match they were watching.
I suppose the same could be said of those relaying down to the side line. You will have noticed Mattie had no ear piece I wonder why.
Those of us that see the majority of matches and some training sessions could get very close to naming the starting 15 week on week. Now you wonder why player's walk.
In the championship 2016 our best midfielder by a long shot was a Lavey player.

I tell you what if people could take the blinkers off and try and look at everything that was happening they might well be able to make a better assessment of the overall game.
The player for Cavan playing with heart and trying his utmost to raise the spirit was taken off crazy crazy crazy"
Sean again they walk in my opinion because the haven't the mentality to throw everything at it and prove people wrong. For God's sake every manager can't be wrong. I repeat it would not happen it Monaghan the mentality is the problem.

Silverblue (Cavan) - Posts: 10 - 09/07/2017 23:02:59    2013517

is it possible that cavan actually didn't want to win? I'm searching logically through my brain to try explain the last day. look, fair play to tipp they came out the second half and ruled the game but cavans lack of leadership and desire was astounding!! In a panel of 30 lads i didn't see one leader when needed against tipp!! You don't lose a game that your'e up 6 points at half time. go down to the lowest level of football in cavan where teams might not have huge panels to call on good players of the bench. if corlough or maghera were 6 points up in any game you'd expect them to carry on and win it.
I'm actually starting to think that the lifestyle these players are leading is becoming seriously detrimental to not only their footballing ability but also to their life. They're been told what to eat, drink, when to go to bed, when to get up, when to take days of work, when they can and can't socialise, go to weddings etc etc etc. this life of been told what to do is unraveling their confidence, initiative and decision making. Maybe i'm talking bulls**t but they looked like a team short on initiative in the second half. nobody had a clue what to do. Incidentally another thing i notice was that the two young lads o' reilly and connolly seemed to be the two going hardest in the second half to try turn things, maybe they're not corrupted yet or again maybe i haven't a clue.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 10/07/2017 10:19:52    2013772