Qualifiers

The short kick-out crap cost Derry two goals yesterday.
If you persist with it then you have to be good at it.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 02/07/2017 20:10:31    2009181

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "The short kick-out crap cost Derry two goals yesterday.
If you persist with it then you have to be good at it."
The short kick-out crap cost Derry two goals yesterday.
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts:10190 - 02/07/2017 20:10:31

it's had it's day

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 02/07/2017 20:27:56    2009193

Replying To seanorinn:  "The short kick-out crap cost Derry two goals yesterday.

it's had it's day"
Nonsence. It would have suited your native county to kick short with Kerry lording midfield.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 02/07/2017 22:50:19    2009269

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Nonsence. It would have suited your native county to kick short with Kerry lording midfield."
Replying To seanorinn: "The short kick-out crap cost Derry two goals yesterday.

it's had it's day"
Nonsence. It would have suited your native county to kick short with Kerry lording midfield.
doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts:992 - 02/07/2017 22:50:19 2009269

You are right they could do neither right they are total rubbish, No ideas no plan they have not got a fecking clue. I never in all my years seen such sh++e being dished out by my home county by the way doratheexplorer I have never denied my place of birth and my home for 19 years of my life. What I saw today was even worse than what we had with Mr Carr and co and jesus that was bad. Please god my adopted county might give a better performance next Saturday to lift the spirit a bit.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 02/07/2017 23:51:49    2009288

Replying To seanorinn:  "Replying To seanorinn: "The short kick-out crap cost Derry two goals yesterday.

it's had it's day"

You are right they could do neither right they are total rubbish, No ideas no plan they have not got a fecking clue. I never in all my years seen such sh++e being dished out by my home county by the way doratheexplorer I have never denied my place of birth and my home for 19 years of my life. What I saw today was even worse than what we had with Mr Carr and co and jesus that was bad. Please god my adopted county might give a better performance next Saturday to lift the spirit a bit."
Sean, it was very sad to see a proud football county reach such a level.

God willing your adopted county will show some spark next weekend.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 03/07/2017 09:40:47    2009381

Replying To seanorinn:  "Replying To seanorinn: "The short kick-out crap cost Derry two goals yesterday.

it's had it's day"

You are right they could do neither right they are total rubbish, No ideas no plan they have not got a fecking clue. I never in all my years seen such sh++e being dished out by my home county by the way doratheexplorer I have never denied my place of birth and my home for 19 years of my life. What I saw today was even worse than what we had with Mr Carr and co and jesus that was bad. Please god my adopted county might give a better performance next Saturday to lift the spirit a bit."
The sad thing is Sean there is some fine footballers there but they look rudderless.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 03/07/2017 10:35:31    2009449

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Nonsence. It would have suited your native county to kick short with Kerry lording midfield."
Replying To seanorinn: "The short kick-out crap cost Derry two goals yesterday.

it's had it's day"

Short or long they had not got a clue.
Clueless to be honest.
They looked like a team of strangers with no one at the helm.
Leadership on either side of the line was non existent.
Something we see regular now a day's around the country.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 03/07/2017 11:50:58    2009504

Getting close to this one now! Working with a few lads from Tipp and they fancy their chances. The banter is 90 already and only gona get better as we approach the weekend. Been to a few of their hurling games over the years and their fans are great craic! Hopefully they travel in numbers Saturday and make a night of it in Cavan.
They reckon quinliven has a better than 50/50 chance of making it too.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 03/07/2017 13:54:13    2009623

Just after seeing that the GAA in it's eternal wisdom have fixed the Tipp Dublin hurling match for 5pm in thurles on Saturday.
They'll have a small travelling support in breffni so. The mind boggles!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 03/07/2017 13:57:53    2009629

Replying To cavanman47:  "Just after seeing that the GAA in it's eternal wisdom have fixed the Tipp Dublin hurling match for 5pm in thurles on Saturday.
They'll have a small travelling support in breffni so. The mind boggles!"
Just after seeing that the GAA in it's eternal wisdom have fixed the Tipp Dublin hurling match for 5pm in thurles on Saturday.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts:2595 - 03/07/2017 13:57:53 2009629

They never think of the duel supporter sad thing here is if you were thinking of 3 thousand Tipp supporters here in Breffni next Saturday well that will shrink by 60% sad isn't it. I hope I am wrong.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 03/07/2017 16:20:49    2009767

Replying To cavanman47:  "Getting close to this one now! Working with a few lads from Tipp and they fancy their chances. The banter is 90 already and only gona get better as we approach the weekend. Been to a few of their hurling games over the years and their fans are great craic! Hopefully they travel in numbers Saturday and make a night of it in Cavan.
They reckon quinliven has a better than 50/50 chance of making it too."
I dunno, very pessimistic vibes down here, we've been poor all year and cork showed how bad they are last weekend too.

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 03/07/2017 20:53:52    2009946

Replying To seanorinn:  "Just after seeing that the GAA in it's eternal wisdom have fixed the Tipp Dublin hurling match for 5pm in thurles on Saturday.

They never think of the duel supporter sad thing here is if you were thinking of 3 thousand Tipp supporters here in Breffni next Saturday well that will shrink by 60% sad isn't it. I hope I am wrong."
We'd hardly get 3000 if it was in thurles, couple hundred will travel.

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 03/07/2017 20:55:16    2009950

Replying To seanorinn:  "Just after seeing that the GAA in it's eternal wisdom have fixed the Tipp Dublin hurling match for 5pm in thurles on Saturday.

They never think of the duel supporter sad thing here is if you were thinking of 3 thousand Tipp supporters here in Breffni next Saturday well that will shrink by 60% sad isn't it. I hope I am wrong."
3 thousand tipp following if the Hurling didn't clash. You serious? There wasn't even 3 thousand at the Offaly v Cavan game in Tullamore. Without the Hurling Tipperary wouldn't even bring 300

Mike_Clitoris69 (Cavan) - Posts: 230 - 03/07/2017 20:55:49    2009951

Replying To Mike_Clitoris69:  "3 thousand tipp following if the Hurling didn't clash. You serious? There wasn't even 3 thousand at the Offaly v Cavan game in Tullamore. Without the Hurling Tipperary wouldn't even bring 300"
Official attendance in tullamore was 3650 not including u16s (and that was at an awkward time).

But Yeah, Tipp were never gona bring 3k. But whatever few hundred they were gona bring, i reckon they'll bring about half of what they would have if the hurling was a different day or even at 7pm

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 03/07/2017 21:00:41    2009955

R Galligan (0-2, 2 45s. P Faulkner, K Clarke, J McLoughlin, C Brady, C Moynagh, K Brady, T Corr L Buchanan (0-1), D McVeety (0-1), G McKiernan (0-5), M Reilly, D Givney (1-1), M Argue, J Brady (0-2f)

I was looking back at the team that beat Galway last year in the league, and the main differences to the team that beat Offaly last week is the full forward line . Big size and strength differences

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 03/07/2017 21:29:16    2009984

Replying To Mike_Clitoris69:  "3 thousand tipp following if the Hurling didn't clash. You serious? There wasn't even 3 thousand at the Offaly v Cavan game in Tullamore. Without the Hurling Tipperary wouldn't even bring 300"
3 thousand tipp following if the Hurling didn't clash. You serious? There wasn't even 3 thousand at the Offaly v Cavan game in Tullamore. Without the Hurling Tipperary wouldn't even bring 300
Mike_Clitoris69 (Cavan) - Posts:187 - 03/07/2017 20:55:49 2009951

Post Reply Link 0 0

I think you are wrong but you are entitled to your opinion. There would have been far more than 300 hundred Top supporters at the match and there will still be as there is a large Tip community in Cavan. Cavan were on a downer after Monaghan and the supporters were cheesed off but I think we will have a nice crowed Saturday and please god a nice day of football and a favorable result. Come out support your teams. Sean

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 03/07/2017 23:10:56    2010047

Replying To cavanman47:  "Official attendance in tullamore was 3650 not including u16s (and that was at an awkward time).

But Yeah, Tipp were never gona bring 3k. But whatever few hundred they were gona bring, i reckon they'll bring about half of what they would have if the hurling was a different day or even at 7pm"
It's a pity they didn't bring the Tipp/Dublin game to breffni as part of a double header.
Be great to see top class hurling played in Cavan.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 04/07/2017 09:10:43    2010143

Fact of the matter is that Cavan are no better off now than they were since the 90s. I really thought McGleenon would change things and be more attacking, but perhaps when he saw what was at his disposal, he realised that he couldn't, or else he just couldn't change the mindset thats was instilled into them.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 04/07/2017 09:36:24    2010158

It's laughable to think that we're worried about how many supporters Tipperary will rather than the result.
I'd be more worried about our panel considering we had to play and bring on injured players.
What's the status on the fitness of these injured players especially killian Clarke and Martin Reilly??????
Tip are not going to be any pushover!!!

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 04/07/2017 12:30:30    2010337

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Fact of the matter is that Cavan are no better off now than they were since the 90s. I really thought McGleenon would change things and be more attacking, but perhaps when he saw what was at his disposal, he realised that he couldn't, or else he just couldn't change the mindset thats was instilled into them."
Mattie is only in in first year. Give him time. The last man had 5 years plus a few years with the u21s and as a selector too.
The man needs time .
Look at the down manager Burns , only showing improvement now and he there a few years.
Same goes for Kildare manager .
Bit of a run in the qualifiers . Let him put his stamp on things for 2/3,years.
I think he's the type that won't hang around if he don't see improvement.
I'd expect a return to div 1 next year and maybe a last 12 or 8 this year.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 04/07/2017 13:19:54    2010374