Cavan Hurling

The County Board had the chance to build on it back in the 1980's when Hurling was very popular and there were a number of senior teams. Cavan won a National League Title and an Ulster Championship (what have the footballers won in that time) and the County Finals were very entertaining and competitive, unfortunately, the Hurling board got no support from the County Board and it remains the same today.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 04/05/2017 08:52:37    1984357

Replying To thetruthforonce:  "One outsider played against Leitrim. D Cahill lined out at mid field Tipperary based player. A Cavan native transferred from a Cavan club to a Westmeath club last year but has come back to play county hurling with Cavan. So not many outsiders to be fair. Against Warwickshire A Cuala player started and one came one so 3 played that day. As the Cavan player based in Westmeath didn't play."
One outsider played against Leitrim. D Cahill lined out at mid field Tipperary based player. A Cavan native transferred from a Cavan club to a Westmeath club last year but has come back to play county hurling with Cavan. So not many outsiders to be fair. Against Warwickshire A Cuala player started and one came one so 3 played that day. As the Cavan player based in Westmeath didn't play.

thetruthforonce (Cavan) - Posts:7 - 02/05/2017 14:53:43 1983971

Wrong

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 04/05/2017 17:13:00    1984531

Replying To cavanblueman:  "The County Board had the chance to build on it back in the 1980's when Hurling was very popular and there were a number of senior teams. Cavan won a National League Title and an Ulster Championship (what have the footballers won in that time) and the County Finals were very entertaining and competitive, unfortunately, the Hurling board got no support from the County Board and it remains the same today."
The County Board had the chance to build on it back in the 1980's when Hurling was very popular and there were a number of senior teams. Cavan won a National League Title and an Ulster Championship (what have the footballers won in that time) and the County Finals were very entertaining and competitive, unfortunately, the Hurling board got no support from the County Board and it remains the same today.
cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts:103 - 04/05/2017 08:52:37 1984357

What ever they got back in the 1980's it's a complete waste now forget it.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 04/05/2017 17:14:47    1984532

Replying To seanorinn:  "One outsider played against Leitrim. D Cahill lined out at mid field Tipperary based player. A Cavan native transferred from a Cavan club to a Westmeath club last year but has come back to play county hurling with Cavan. So not many outsiders to be fair. Against Warwickshire A Cuala player started and one came one so 3 played that day. As the Cavan player based in Westmeath didn't play.

thetruthforonce (Cavan) - Posts:7 - 02/05/2017 14:53:43 1983971

Wrong"
John can you please point out how I am wrong.

thetruthforonce (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 05/05/2017 09:17:01    1984624

Replying To thetruthforonce:  "John can you please point out how I am wrong."
John can you please point out how I am wrong.
thetruthforonce (Cavan) - Posts:8 - 05/05/2017 09:17:01 1984624

If I locate the team sheet you will see more than two outsiders.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 05/05/2017 09:36:43    1984634

Replying To seanorinn:  "John can you please point out how I am wrong.
thetruthforonce (Cavan) - Posts:8 - 05/05/2017 09:17:01 1984624

If I locate the team sheet you will see more than two outsiders."
Lory Meagher Cup round 3
Leitrim 1-12 Lancashire 0-14, Pairc Sean Mac Diarmada - FT
Cavan 0-9 Sligo 1-20, Kingspan Breffni Park - FT
Fermanagh 3-9 Warwickshire 6-16, Brewster Park - FT

Who will Cavan take points from have they only Lancashire and Fermanagh to play. ???

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 06/05/2017 17:45:39    1984849

Replying To seanorinn:  "Lory Meagher Cup round 3
Leitrim 1-12 Lancashire 0-14, Pairc Sean Mac Diarmada - FT
Cavan 0-9 Sligo 1-20, Kingspan Breffni Park - FT
Fermanagh 3-9 Warwickshire 6-16, Brewster Park - FT

Who will Cavan take points from have they only Lancashire and Fermanagh to play. ???"
Big day for the hurlers a trip to Manchester to play Lancashire and they are hoping that they might get their first win after that Fermanagh.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 12/05/2017 00:56:09    1986107

Replying To seanorinn:  "Big day for the hurlers a trip to Manchester to play Lancashire and they are hoping that they might get their first win after that Fermanagh."
Warwickshire 2-16 Leitrim 1-11
Lancashire 0-24 Cavan 1-16
Sligo 5-13 Fermanagh 2-13

So cavan still without a win with just Fermanagh to play.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 13/05/2017 17:40:56    1986459

O Rinn seems to have a big problem with Cavan playing hurling for some reason....he can't even get the score correct.. A great effort from the team and but for one player Crowley ( he got 0-19 ) Cavan would surely have won... The Cuala boys did all they could in a loosing cause... O Bediens ground a whole lot different than Croke park I should think... Hopefully a win is not far off even though it will leave Sean O Rinn in a very sour state..!!!!

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 14/05/2017 08:31:16    1986514

Replying To Sean.66:  "O Rinn seems to have a big problem with Cavan playing hurling for some reason....he can't even get the score correct.. A great effort from the team and but for one player Crowley ( he got 0-19 ) Cavan would surely have won... The Cuala boys did all they could in a loosing cause... O Bediens ground a whole lot different than Croke park I should think... Hopefully a win is not far off even though it will leave Sean O Rinn in a very sour state..!!!!"
agreed . If I didn't know better I would almost think he was gloating at another defeat..

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 14/05/2017 23:42:09    1986698

Fantastic win for the Cavan hurlers in Fermanagh by 4-17 to 0-17 today... How sweet the first win must feel...? Well done to all involved but Ye may have upset Seanorinn a bit...

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 20/05/2017 14:43:12    1988548

What say you now John? Great win by the Cavan hurlers today. Considering it was their first campaign back in years and they had no league, going into the Lory Meagher cold, this is a cracking win. They've been getting better throughout the campaign, and were unlucky last week against Lancashire. Just shows that there are the players in Cavan and there is an appetite there. If you don't like hurling, fair enough, but otherwise, lets support the lads and stop with the constant negativity. There's good young players coming through, and hopefully they'll stick with it and the senior team will be there for them when they come of age. This team can get better and better and they deserve a chance.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2378 - 20/05/2017 15:42:22    1988564

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "What say you now John? Great win by the Cavan hurlers today. Considering it was their first campaign back in years and they had no league, going into the Lory Meagher cold, this is a cracking win. They've been getting better throughout the campaign, and were unlucky last week against Lancashire. Just shows that there are the players in Cavan and there is an appetite there. If you don't like hurling, fair enough, but otherwise, lets support the lads and stop with the constant negativity. There's good young players coming through, and hopefully they'll stick with it and the senior team will be there for them when they come of age. This team can get better and better and they deserve a chance."
I have been trying to post replies to this topic but it would seem certain people have me blocked.

Great win the laws of averages you had to get one at some stage.

How many Cavan lads scored out from the five imports ??

This is my argument you see without these imports Cavan Hurlers would win nothing. I am posting under my own name so man enough to stand up and be counted.

Go on and win on your own strength only way forward. Two senior clubs now it's getting worse.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 20/05/2017 19:54:30    1988625

All the weaker hurling counties have to have imports as it helps to up the standards for the local players... The 3 Cuala lads have Cavan connections so are intitled to play for us and fair play to them for putting the effort in... Their presence can only help the rest of the players in the squad... Cavan are the lowest rank hurling County and don't have a huge pool of hurlers to pick from to even try and compete at the lowest level so no one should give out about outside players who are willing to pull on the blue and give it their all... Remember Seanorinn Cork footballers ( strong at time ) had no problem playing imports ( Tomkins and Fahey ) in the late 80s and 90s to strengthen their cause... Again well done today lads and just ignore the knockers...

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 20/05/2017 22:33:08    1988674

Replying To Sean.66:  "All the weaker hurling counties have to have imports as it helps to up the standards for the local players... The 3 Cuala lads have Cavan connections so are intitled to play for us and fair play to them for putting the effort in... Their presence can only help the rest of the players in the squad... Cavan are the lowest rank hurling County and don't have a huge pool of hurlers to pick from to even try and compete at the lowest level so no one should give out about outside players who are willing to pull on the blue and give it their all... Remember Seanorinn Cork footballers ( strong at time ) had no problem playing imports ( Tomkins and Fahey ) in the late 80s and 90s to strengthen their cause... Again well done today lads and just ignore the knockers..."
Remember Seanorinn Cork footballers ( strong at time ) had no problem playing imports ( Tomkins and Fahey ) in the late 80s and 90s to strengthen their cause... Again well done today lads and just ignore the knockers...

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts:173 - 20/05/2017 22:33:08 1988674

I am not a knocker I am telling it as I see and feel about it. Yes go back to Thompkins and Fahey work took Fahey to Cork being an Army man just like work brought the army and garda lads to Cavan in the 70/ 80ths.
Not long ago we had a Meath man a fermanagh man and a few others playing for Cavan at senior football level. Thats fine but when you are depending on outsiders year on year you are going no place it's there for all to see is it not. The lads train hard knowing the outsider need only turn up on match day and they will get playing.

Take a good look at what hurling is about just look at the difference there is in the game thats played here and the game that is played by Galway the Leinster teams and Munster teams maybe take a good look at Warwickshire they have a nice team all be it all exiles but they are united in one cause and thats keeping whats beautiful about hurling alive. Even today an exhibition of end to end hurling regardless of who won you could not leave the game for a minuet. This is the game you call hurling. A Munster match and a hurling match.
Seanalias66 if you think I am a knocker you don't have a clue about me but you are entitled to your opinion as are all the rest of the aliases but I am who I am and I say it as I feel it I hope you understand this and when you see me you know there is Sean O'Rinn who has the B+++s to stand up and be counted.
I will say no more on this subject and let you enjoy your dream or whatever you get from it.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 21/05/2017 18:13:58    1988891

Replying To seanorinn:  "I have been trying to post replies to this topic but it would seem certain people have me blocked.

Great win the laws of averages you had to get one at some stage.

How many Cavan lads scored out from the five imports ??

This is my argument you see without these imports Cavan Hurlers would win nothing. I am posting under my own name so man enough to stand up and be counted.

Go on and win on your own strength only way forward. Two senior clubs now it's getting worse."
Good win for Cavan at the weekend. good to see them back. what good is bringing players from outside the county going to do to promote Cavan hurling. Fermanagh keep it going with one club and dont bring outsiders. Plus Fermanagh were missing 6 starting players. Cavan will be strong if they have that team next year.

law01 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 28 - 22/05/2017 11:18:48    1989236

what about Meath they have no imports playing? and they beat Antrim and Kerry and were only bet by 2 points by westmeath.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 685 - 22/05/2017 12:48:48    1989311

Well done Cavan. Great result. They are called permit players and every county allowed have used them at one stage or another its not breaking any rules. It's used to strengthen teams, make the games a better standard and to develop the game in the county. It so happens the ones Cavan use are in scoring positions. Cavan conceded less goals than any other team in the competition and no permit players in the goals or the six backs. But I suppose that's a good news story and people making arguments on here don't like using facts. When Fermanagh won the Lory Meagher a few years a go they had permit players in the team. The Full back was Eoin Morrisey who was Cavan Hurling Development officer at the time and a number of others. Warwickshire and Leitrim both in the final now have permit players. Crawley who scored 20 points against Cavan for Lancashire is a permit player. John I'm afraid a number of times you have being caught out on this discussion. Your better off giving up at this stage your doing yourself no favours at all. People using these others teams as arguments to down play Cavan's win are not giving the full facts about the other teams they hold in high esteem. Great first year back. I hope for the best in the future to both the hurling and football Cavan teams.

thetruthforonce (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 22/05/2017 14:11:03    1989370

Of course there is no tradition of the new form of hurling in Cavan (since they changed from ground hurling). so what can you do.
Option 1 = nothing (which is what SeanORinn seems to be proposing. as according to him we will never be like the munster or Leinster teams. Of course this is true . Hurling is completely different to Football as it's much harder to play and only 9 or 10 teams could hope to live with the top teams.

option 2 = do something. which is happening now. Perhaps some people might think that playing outside players is not really in the best interest of Cavan Hurling and that it will put off any Local lads who were involved but I think it should have the opposite effect.

It's all about generating interest amongst the kids so that they will at least have something to aspire to.
when people gave out about Jack Charlton recruiting all those 2nd and third generation Irish soccer players to play for the republic , it was the same gripe but what happened The team started to qualify for tournaments, the feel-good factor set in, Ireland climbed the world rankings, true we were never going to be world champions but it generated interest, more kids started playing soccer, more clubs sprang up (perhaps if the FAI had managed the situation better we would have had a decent league of Ireland but that's another story.

You have to take a long-term view of this. I am talking about 10,20,30 years from now not this year of next. I am talking about the time when the current under-8's and uner-10s have matured and those coming behind them. You have to start somewhere. Again we will never be at the same level as the top 9 or 10 but surely we should aspire to be able to compete with the other ulster and Connacht counties (with the obvious exceptions of Antrim and Galway).

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/05/2017 17:54:15    1989509

S.Goldrick....your post is 100% correct... we must take small steps to be competitive at our current level first... If next season we can call on the same players for the NH league then we may do ok... Every win generates interest within the County and among the local players who will only improve while playing alongside better quality players... Dinny Cahill must be commended greatly for the work he is putting in with the lowest ranked team in the country...and Saturdays win must have been a proud moment for him... Well done lads

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 22/05/2017 22:14:43    1989611