Toolbar Header Preload Menu Menu
Home Football Hurling Counties

Cork Forum - Latest Posts
Click on the subject to bring you to the thread where the message was posted 
(this page is sorted differently from rest of forum in that the latest messages are at the top of the page)

Cork v Down All Ireland Final
"They forced us to make a lot of silly mistakes on sunday with our short passing and I think the same could be done to Cork unless they put the talent they have to better use."

Good points. We were desperate for the farting around with short-handpassing in the half back line until this year. One of Wee James' more simple tactical moves was to cut that out and to actively target other teams that do it.

I'm always baffled at the way Cork play given the clear talent at their disposal.

ElReydeEspana , 02/09/2010 at 17:42

Think Counihan will have to change things up a lot if Cork are going to do it this year, the talent is there but we're yet to see them gel so far despite them getting to the AI. The lateral handpassing around the half back line for example will have to go against this Down team. The Dubs played into Corks hands with their 'lets get 13 men back inside our own half' defending. Didn't go near a tackle until the ball came over halfway. It's been a while since I've seen a group of forwards hassle like the Down lads this year and Cork won't get the luxury of time they did against Dublin at the back. They forced us to make a lot of silly mistakes on sunday with our short passing and I think the same could be done to Cork unless they put the talent they have to better use. The two sets of forwards should make for a great game with Clarke, Coulter, O'Neill and Kerrigan etc. leading the lines. It'll be tough to call all the way up to throw-in. Would have loved to be there ourselves but I'm looking forward to seeing the two teams battle it out, best of luck to both and we'll see ye again next year.

RadleyParkLily , 02/09/2010 at 13:51

Congratulations Cork
Will we see a Black cloud over Cork yet again, a Red and Black cloud ? Hope its a great game and let the best team win !!

Cavan_Slasher , 02/09/2010 at 11:46

It shall be an interesting game, with two different styles of Football clashing. Cork are full of big name players, but they seem to play for themselves rather than for the team, but without playing great football, in many of their games to date, they STILL find themselves in an All Ireland Final, so that says a lot for the talent that they possess. As for ourselves, well as was previous mentioned in this thread, i don't think we got the credit we deserved for easily dismantling the All Ireland champions Kerry in the QF, but im hoping our defeat of Kildare will have showed the country that we actually are a a top side on form. Another point, there is no doubt that the Down players have serious belief that they are in the Final and are going to win it, but i would have to question Corks belief after stumbling over Dublin (the better team in the game), but more importantly there is no doubt last years All Ireland defeat was a massive psychological blow to many of the Cork players, but will this spare them on in the Final, or hinder them?

Would finally just like to genuinely wish the Cork team and supporters the best of luck! It will be a great day, and a great sporting occasion. May the best team win.

AN DÚN ABÚ

MourneArmy , 02/09/2010 at 10:46

Best place to watch the All Ireland Football
Reardens or any pubs around there. Should be great craic around there I'd imagine.

Ben10 , 01/09/2010 at 21:39

Will the Rochestown Park hotel or Silversprings hotel be doing an All Ireland party they normally do one in connection with 96FM, and they be great crack at them, get lunch and match . It was in Silversprings last year, I find out and i come back to you on it. It wouldnt cost you that much i say in taxi ,but i say it be better amtosphere, than in a pub.

yummymummy , 01/09/2010 at 20:39

I would head for Reardens on Washington st. pretty much across from the court house. Tends to get a good crowd, also has more women

tj09 , 01/09/2010 at 20:22

lavitts quay..just off patricks street.

as i said im no expert,im not sure what kind of crowd they get for matches but i presume there would be a decent crowd there

pidge , 01/09/2010 at 17:15

Where is Larry's Bar in Cork City. ?

sam02 , 01/09/2010 at 15:39

marty clarke is top class..and has some engine one minute hes corner foward the next hes in midfield and then corner back...in my opinion
he would be impossible to stop with a man marker..i have a genuine fear of him

pidge , 01/09/2010 at 15:25

im no expert but maybe larry tomkins bar

pidge , 01/09/2010 at 15:22

Where would be the best place to watch the All Ireland Football Finals in Cork City, I will be in Cork for the weekend, and Staying in Patrick St, so was wondering where would be the best place / Pub/ Hotel for the craic for the 2 games.

sam02 , 01/09/2010 at 14:54

Hi all in cork so we meet in the All Ireland Final , so who will take sam home?( my First Cousins Are All From Cork), have to say its going to be one hell off a battle didnt think we got the credit we deserved for beating kerry and didnt know why we where underdogs against Kildare as they beat a average enough meath team and maybe the media got carried away whoses to know.So who going to win but lads Down are driven big time ,would love to know what you all think and up Down

redonion , 01/09/2010 at 12:52

Cork players have the ability but I hope for Cork's sake that Conor Counihan has something up his sleeve-this years tactics are lacking AI quality.

kerrykerry , 31/08/2010 at 21:24

Evening Echo tonight says that Cadogan will probably start even if Canty is fit. Maybe Kissane or O Leary might have to drop to bench.

marym , 31/08/2010 at 16:05

Fearanbhaile, I think Cork would surely be hungrier having lost two finals in three years. I agree with the direct ball into the full forward line. For that reason Colm O Neill has to start. Given the twin threats of Coulter and Clarke, there's a strong case for starting with Eoin Cadogan given his excellent man marking ability and athleticism. Other than those two changes I can't see anything else changing. Nicholas Murphy will feature but I think Conor Counihan prefers introducing him.

k947598 , 31/08/2010 at 14:17

i think down are more hungrier and the ful back line has came on alot . . .

Fear.an.Bhaile , 31/08/2010 at 12:56

East Cork Junior Hurling final
final was delayed as 2 members of the castlemartyr junior hurling panel were on the cork i ntermediate hurling panel as well. the game against kilkenny was clashing with that date and so it was put off until the following week.

upthereds , 30/08/2010 at 17:12

Congratulations Cork
well done to both our minor and senior lads, probably two of the most exciting games ive been at. Ye have done us proud. Roll on the 19th now, looking forward to the build up and having the banter with the Tyrone and Down fans. Hopefully Tom and Sam will be heading south !!! Up the rebels !!!

rebelfi , 30/08/2010 at 16:29

downtothecore
County: Down

760268 Cork are much more experienced than Down. I see the following as the main cork threats... Paul kerrigan, Paddy kelly, Donncha O'Connor, Fintan Gould & Pease O'Neill.

i doubt fintan goold will be starting but anyhoo...
i think cork will have to play more direct football into the full forward line as the way down play could stop the lateral handpassing nonsense!
im interested to see who will play at full forward... hard to leave colm o neill out after his impact in the dublin match

rebelsrock , 30/08/2010 at 16:06