Pauric Duffys round robin proposals

Any word on how the CB will vote at congress on the round robin proposals for the all Ireland quarters?
Anyone know if a vote was taken by clubs at CB meeting?
Or do congress delegates just vote as they way they want?

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 23/02/2017 13:10:00    1959866

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "Any word on how the CB will vote at congress on the round robin proposals for the all Ireland quarters?
Anyone know if a vote was taken by clubs at CB meeting?
Or do congress delegates just vote as they way they want?"
Word on the street is that the Cavan reps will toe the party line set out by O'Fearghail/Duffy and vote for the changes to come in.

gaa365 (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 23/02/2017 19:16:33    1960010

Replying To gaa365:  "Word on the street is that the Cavan reps will toe the party line set out by O'Fearghail/Duffy and vote for the changes to come in."
He's done nothing in the 2 years he's been there. He was all talk before he got elected saying club this and club that.
I'd be ashamed to call him a Cavan man

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 24/02/2017 14:39:40    1960237

So the motion is passed...!! Crazy!

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 25/02/2017 12:29:46    1960422

Must be a full moon but I am in agreement with awwnow and sean66. Achieved very little in my opinion.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 25/02/2017 14:12:18    1960455

Replying To fredflint:  "Must be a full moon but I am in agreement with awwnow and sean66. Achieved very little in my opinion."
That's what happens when the Gaa localyband nationally is run by people who never played at the highest level .
Yes our chairman won an Ulster minor medal but I don't remember any other officer including the president playing at county level.
So they have no idea of the demands on county players or their families.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 25/02/2017 16:53:55    1960524

Smells of an elitist and money orientated decision with no regard for players. Gives extra games to teams that are already getting plenty of games making quarters. What about the weaker counties? They certainly seem to be trying to milk gates at what they perceive to be higher profile matches. I'm not sure the appetite will be there to attend these matches with gusto though. The big teams in the group will pretty much be guaranteed a semi spot. There will be a few dead rubber matches and even the clash of the big 2 in the group will not be that important. But if people attend and revenues are up (maybe they think it will help with TV revenue) it's here to stay. Gotta love this quote from Duffy- "We're trying something new and if it doesn't work out I'll be the first to say let's move on to something else. I think it's a sensible decision by the GAA. Let's see how it goes. We have to be prepared to try something and I think this is worth the experiment. If after three years we find it hasn't delivered we had hoped it would deliver, then we'll try something else." Black card anyone?

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 25/02/2017 18:34:49    1960568

Lets see what the County Board have to say about it, should Cavan fail to qualify for the Q/Finals.

In essence, 76% of County Players voted against the proposals, while 76% of delegates (those ones that played junior C, or never played at all) voted for it.

Time for players to make a stand, refuse to play, and hit Duffy and the rest of the corrupt organisation in the pockets.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 27/02/2017 11:56:26    1961520

in all the proposals that were put forward by managers,pundits, ex-players, current players, supporters, people on forums like this, did anyone suggest the super8 thing. ? If so I don't recall seeing it. So where did this notion come from ?. I will predict that in future ALL these super8 games will be on pay-per-view (either Sky or Eir).
I can see the attraction of this to the armchair supporter but I can't see where it benefits the GAA community as a whole.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 27/02/2017 12:47:43    1961557

Replying To s goldrick:  "in all the proposals that were put forward by managers,pundits, ex-players, current players, supporters, people on forums like this, did anyone suggest the super8 thing. ? If so I don't recall seeing it. So where did this notion come from ?. I will predict that in future ALL these super8 games will be on pay-per-view (either Sky or Eir).
I can see the attraction of this to the armchair supporter but I can't see where it benefits the GAA community as a whole."
We all know who proposed the Super8 and we know why our CB backed it. That's not hard to work out.
There 8 extra games in the Super 8 schedule and 4 of these will probably be dead rubber games.
If we lost our first 2 games in a Super8 how many supporters or even players would travel to Cork for a dead rubber game?
For counties like Cavan , Tipperary etc who might catch a big team once this system doesn't Aldo them any favours.
CBs must have been promised a cash windfall to soften the blow because with the GAA everything boils down to money in the end.
1 Home game, 1 game in Croke Park and 1 away game is the so called deal.
So where do Dublin play their home game?
So it's flawed even before it starts.
The 8 extra games makes up for the no replays financially.
It's a joke .. Luckily it probably won't affect our County.
As long as our CB don't decide to play the local championships with a Super8.. they probably smell the pound signs already!!

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 27/02/2017 13:17:46    1961575

The way the players groupes were treated at the weekend was a disgrace too... The way to hit back is for supporters to vote with their feet and stay away from these so called "Super 8" games and watch them at home and then the smile will be wiped of Duffy and O Farreils faces... Players should all withdraw their services from County panels and concentrate on playing with their clubs from the start of next seasons Championship and see how the High and mighty like that......

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 27/02/2017 18:04:40    1961752

Its money money money all the way lads. Dubs at moment play 1 quarter final in front of 82'300. New system 2 x 82,300 + Thurles/Limerick 45/50k thats now over 200'000 watching Dubs and that's b4 they reach the semi with another full house. But don't worry lads that money will "trickle down" to the smaller counties, just like the Hurling replays money did! No other reason that I can see plus its a safety net in case one of the big guns get caught out by one of the smaller teams on a particular day.
Dubs
Kerry
Mayo/Galway
Cork
All win big from this. Others will get a small slice of the pie now and again but these 4/5 counties can hog this system forever.
Yet people thought new Cork/Belfast stadiums were a waste!

breffni666 (Cavan) - Posts: 294 - 27/02/2017 23:02:06    1961892

I would propose players go to their clubs AGM, instruct the club not to pay their affiliation fees. If every club in Ireland did that there would be a very quick u turn. The biggest question seems to be how did delegates get so out of touch with the players in their own counties??

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 28/02/2017 09:31:17    1961926

Replying To fredflint:  "I would propose players go to their clubs AGM, instruct the club not to pay their affiliation fees. If every club in Ireland did that there would be a very quick u turn. The biggest question seems to be how did delegates get so out of touch with the players in their own counties??"
Fredflint this is what should have happened before congress . Most clubs are only a few months after their AGM so why was it not sorted then?
Or did the CB make their own recommendations with the clubs vote?
If so many players nationwide are against it how did it even pass at county level never mind nationally.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 28/02/2017 10:52:21    1961968

76% of Inter County Players voted against the proposals - I'd imagine the vote was higher amongst Club Players. The County Board held their executive meeting on a Monday night before Congress, so I would imagine that club representatives at that meeting supported the County Boards stance. I would also imagine that there was no absolutely no discussion about these proposals at any club AGM in Cavan.

Players are so far down the pecking order, and they dont realise it. Club and County Board executives have only one agenda and thats themselves, they want to climb the ladder and the legacy they can leave behind (new pitch, new dressing rooms), they dont care about players, never have and never will. Players (particularly at club level) will never be important until they make a stand.

The time has come for all players to start fighting back, withdraw their services, refuse to tog out, and refuse to fulfil fixtures. Its the only way that the County Boards and the GAA will take notice. Why, because it will hit them where it hurts, in their pockets. The GAA is no longer an amateur organisation, it is a business, a business that cares about nothing else but profit. They dont care about small County's like Cavan. They care about the Dublin's, the Kerry's, the teams that will bring regular crowds to Croke Park. Thats why they keep pumping money into the Dublin County Baord, because they'll make it back in one fixture. The heart and soul of the GAA (the players) are amateur, but are expected to act, live and train like professionals, without any recognition. Weddings, Family Life, Jobs, Holidays, Stags, Hens, are all put on hold, for what? I can guarantee that Duffy, O Farrell, Burns & Co dont give a dam, and the proof of the pudding was last Saturday when they let those changes go through despite 76% of the heart & soul of the GAA voting against it.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 01/03/2017 10:01:09    1962385

Replying To cavanblueman:  "76% of Inter County Players voted against the proposals - I'd imagine the vote was higher amongst Club Players. The County Board held their executive meeting on a Monday night before Congress, so I would imagine that club representatives at that meeting supported the County Boards stance. I would also imagine that there was no absolutely no discussion about these proposals at any club AGM in Cavan.

Players are so far down the pecking order, and they dont realise it. Club and County Board executives have only one agenda and thats themselves, they want to climb the ladder and the legacy they can leave behind (new pitch, new dressing rooms), they dont care about players, never have and never will. Players (particularly at club level) will never be important until they make a stand.

The time has come for all players to start fighting back, withdraw their services, refuse to tog out, and refuse to fulfil fixtures. Its the only way that the County Boards and the GAA will take notice. Why, because it will hit them where it hurts, in their pockets. The GAA is no longer an amateur organisation, it is a business, a business that cares about nothing else but profit. They dont care about small County's like Cavan. They care about the Dublin's, the Kerry's, the teams that will bring regular crowds to Croke Park. Thats why they keep pumping money into the Dublin County Baord, because they'll make it back in one fixture. The heart and soul of the GAA (the players) are amateur, but are expected to act, live and train like professionals, without any recognition. Weddings, Family Life, Jobs, Holidays, Stags, Hens, are all put on hold, for what? I can guarantee that Duffy, O Farrell, Burns & Co dont give a dam, and the proof of the pudding was last Saturday when they let those changes go through despite 76% of the heart & soul of the GAA voting against it."
Cavanblueman??

Why did Dermot Early not make a massive issue at congress he was there he had the chance to highlight what you have posted above and really make an nuisance off himself, sorry to have to say this wrong man at the helm. Would he have been evicted from the convention if he did and was well then your post would stand up to some substance but he did nothing along with the other selected people of this new organisation or have they also got their own agenda going forward.
Maybe now is the time to gather as many members as possible between now and next years convention and make a firm stance, If they are not willing to do this they may as well close the book.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 01/03/2017 10:53:14    1962405

Replying To seanorinn:  "Cavanblueman??

Why did Dermot Early not make a massive issue at congress he was there he had the chance to highlight what you have posted above and really make an nuisance off himself, sorry to have to say this wrong man at the helm. Would he have been evicted from the convention if he did and was well then your post would stand up to some substance but he did nothing along with the other selected people of this new organisation or have they also got their own agenda going forward.
Maybe now is the time to gather as many members as possible between now and next years convention and make a firm stance, If they are not willing to do this they may as well close the book."
It would seem I owe Dermot an apology Sorry Dermot until I read the home page I realised these people Aaron Kernan, Secretary Declan Brennan and Chairman Michael Briody should have been heard shouting and not you but did they it would seem not.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 01/03/2017 12:50:10    1962459

Replying To seanorinn:  "It would seem I owe Dermot an apology Sorry Dermot until I read the home page I realised these people Aaron Kernan, Secretary Declan Brennan and Chairman Michael Briody should have been heard shouting and not you but did they it would seem not."
Seanorinn, they were not allowed to talk . they were barred, not recognised. The paid administrators are having a laugh at the amateurs who are slogging their guts out. it's the end of the GAA as we know it. There will be a split. mark my words.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 01/03/2017 17:47:08    1962569

Replying To s goldrick:  "Seanorinn, they were not allowed to talk . they were barred, not recognised. The paid administrators are having a laugh at the amateurs who are slogging their guts out. it's the end of the GAA as we know it. There will be a split. mark my words."
Replying To seanorinn: "It would seem I owe Dermot an apology Sorry Dermot until I read the home page I realised these people Aaron Kernan, Secretary Declan Brennan and Chairman Michael Briody should have been heard shouting and not you but did they it would seem not."
Seanorinn, they were not allowed to talk . they were barred, not recognised. The paid administrators are having a laugh at the amateurs who are slogging their guts out. it's the end of the GAA as we know it. There will be a split. mark my words.
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts:4569 - 01/03/2017 17:47:08 1

Had it been me they would have had to evict me and this would have been very embarrassing for those sitting on the high chair. It would have gone viral within a minuet of it happening and this is what they should have done made a nuisance of themselves. Strike action what will it do nothing for without a shadow of a doubt players will still turn up. If however you had the support of those representing their county to walk with you then there would be changes rapid thats for sure.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 01/03/2017 20:59:19    1962638

Replying To s goldrick:  "Seanorinn, they were not allowed to talk . they were barred, not recognised. The paid administrators are having a laugh at the amateurs who are slogging their guts out. it's the end of the GAA as we know it. There will be a split. mark my words."
We are letting them get away with it. Our ACFL start has been put back until the 8th April because of the re-scheduled match in Omagh, with the games that were to be played on 12th march being played mid-week later this year. So the clubs are messed around again, and the season hasn't even started and will be expected to play 3 games in a week to make up for it. No one complains..the GAA are fecking the grass root players around and laughing at us as they arrange extra high cash generating games to sell to Sky.
everyone should join the CPA and join forces with the GPA to make Croke park pay attention.
All they are doing is paying lip service to the plight of the club player and giving the two fingers behind their backs.

These forums are an example. More interest in the National league than the fact that the ACFL has been pushed back by almost a month.

FrDougalMaguire (Cavan) - Posts: 152 - 02/03/2017 10:37:46    1962727