The one that got away

Great effort by the lads today, a few strange decisions with regard to long range frees at the end.
Maybe we could have worked it in closer to goal. Gearoid no as influential as we expected.
Hopefully Terry can keep them motivated for the qualifiers.
When we were 4 up the game should have been closed out.
The panel got it right, 4 ulster 21s and no quality forward to show for it.
Killian Clarke will hopefully be back for the qualifiers.
A good draw and a win and we'll be back on track.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 24/05/2015 16:39:03    1727688

Time for Terry to go. The stats don't lie. Two Ulster championship wins in 4 years. Not good enough given the resources he has at his disposal. Today was a very winnable game and we folded when it mattered. Also, one thing is clear, Cavan are every bit as good as Monaghan ability wise, yet we're a bang average division 2 team.

Something isn't right. The difference is the management.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 24/05/2015 16:53:58    1727702

Very disappointed . Lacked creativity both on and off the field.

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 24/05/2015 17:11:11    1727711

I will say it again Players not good enough and management were more concerned about officials than concentrating on the match, I told you there was not a full match in Mackey and I still say if he was brought on for the last 30 minuets he would have made a huge difference. 4 points up 11 minuets to go and they loose it time they were moved on they don't have it it's that simple.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 24/05/2015 17:36:22    1727727

Why do we play backs as forwards? What does that say to the forwards on the bench? Where was Jack Brady? Is he injured? Where was Barry Reilly, a good man to drive forward . Cannot understand why we left a gap at midfield for a long spell which allowed Monaghan back in game. Surely positional switches are the responsibility of management, and I think it's time to take responsibility for losses and not just claim credit when we win !

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 24/05/2015 18:43:21    1727779

Mowbar i do have to agree with you mackey not fit for full match therefore no impact also felt for long periods gearoid not really at the game thought flannigan had quite a good game argue im 50 50 on mcvitty not at his best today but all in all felt a good solid first half was a bit disappointed we didnt at least get the draw after all the talk of galligan great ability at free taken i didnt see any evidence of this today and felt someone else would have put that last one over mcmanus lay down too easily and surprised ref fell for it at times just felt we could have won this a few changes in middle of the field wouldnt have went a miss and the missed frees on a brighter note great win for the minors

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 24/05/2015 19:58:37    1727839

Well hard luck lads thought ye shot yourselves in the foot in first half with amount of soft frees you gave away to keep us in touch. We were always going to come strong at some point in match last 20 mins even through we were v flat throughout the game.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 24/05/2015 20:10:18    1727846

Dont know how we lost that. Monaghans experience showed in the later parts of the game. I thought the ref was shocking. I agree about mackey he looked off the pace due to being injured but in fairness the boys kept going till the last whistle. A good draw in the qualifiers and who knows what will happen. The minors did well a couple of very good performances there

cavanchamps (Cavan) - Posts: 38 - 24/05/2015 20:18:08    1727852

We need a player like Mc Manus who can score from impossible angles with a back dragging out of him, and oh yeah, an ability to con every referee into giving him frees!!
We also need cuteness on and off the field, naivety still a problem for us. A few of our regulars didn't perform as well as usual and management need to have the courage to replace .

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 24/05/2015 22:05:25    1727914

This was one that we should have won. We played great in the first half but reverted to our old backwards style for the last quarter.
We lacked leadership when the game got close . I don't think Michael Lyng was the best sub. Should have tried Tom Hayes earlier as he has a good attacking mentality.
On another note I'm sick of Anthony Forde losing his temper and attacking linesmen and referees. It is totally unprofessional and is a bad example for young people . I won't miss his antics when Terry and crew move on after this season.

marita (None) - Posts: 467 - 25/05/2015 08:10:39    1727915

This was an extremely frustrating game to watch. I thought Cavan got their tactics spot on in the first half. Argue caused untold problems in the full forward line and Cavan went direct to him if they couldn't work a score from the 40. The appeal of this tactic was even if Cavan didn't get a score from an attack it mitigated Monaghan's opportunity to launch a counter attack as it pushed them back to their own 10 meter line and Cavan had ample time to set their defense up and as a result turned Monaghan over countless times in the first half. They occupied the space in front of McManus very well and used Murray, McVitty and Martin Reilly as out balls. The second half started much as the first had finished up until we went 4 points up. This is where our negative proclivities compounded by inaction on the sideline led to a self implosion. McEnroe going off was a big blow as Clerkin came on at the same time and had a telling influence on the game. I'm sure if McEnroe had not gone off he would have nullified Clerkin. Mackey should have been taken off at 45mins as he was out on his feet. Cavan had used the deep runners to good effect in the first half and a freshening of legs would have seen this continue. We also took Argue out which left us with no chance of winning or competeing for ball in the full forward line unless the ball was pinpoint accurate. This meant we played laterally around their forty and inevitably when the they turned us over there, we had no chance of plugging the space in front of McManus and co like we had in the first half. Monaghan are a well seasoned team although in my opinion are fairly limited in the game they play outside of McManus. Cavan promised a lot in the first half and I really thought we had got the balance in terms of defense and attack but as the game went on the inaction on the sideline and the negative inclination sealed our fate.

magicsponge (Cavan) - Posts: 5 - 25/05/2015 09:34:28    1727942

I actually think we ran out of gas. I though some of the play made a change from what we have seen so far in that we were a lot more direct and made Monaghan look ordinary at times especially in th earlier parts of the game.

I thought the Ref had a poor game given that he dished out at least 6 cards in the first half when the game wasn't dirty by any stretch of the imagination. We got a few handy free but some of the ones Monaghan got in the second half were really soft. This is not kindergarden football..

Martin Reilly was a big loss to the black card which I though was really harsh, as he would have taken that 50' towards the end (the one that wasn't a fifty) and i think we missed his ball carrying in the last 10 minutes.

I though Argue did well, 2 points, frees and a decent penalty shout. That said if we are going to do this going forward he needs more support. In the second half we seemed to stop kicking it too him and carried it more.

Unfortunately Monagahan had the experience of closing out a game at the death an we hadn't.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 25/05/2015 10:19:43    1727967

This is not the time to start a campaign of replacing the mgnt team. They are preparing for the qualifiers so let them get on with it.

I was happy that we were competitive in the first half which suggested that the team had been properly prepared - a positive. I was disappointed in some of our players on the day. It was a big occasion, but we were at home. We supplied enough quick ball into the full forward line to win any game and we let Monaghan off the hook. It was as if we got stage fright with 20 mins to go, the old fear of winning. We created a vacuum of indecision and doubt and Monaghan to their credit used their experience to take full advantage of it. Losing Martin Reilly was a blow. Taking off McEnroe was strange. Leaving on our oldest player for the full game was the most puzzling decision for me, but then the RTE panel nominated him as a candidate for MOTM, so I obviously missed something there.

I still believe that there is a big performance in this team. If we get the right people around big Michael to use his height advantage properly, then we can create goal chances. They're in the dugout so give them a proper chance.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 25/05/2015 10:41:45    1727976

Need to start Jack or Dunne beside Argue. They'd love that breaking ball. Tomas Corr is oldest player not Ronan Flanagan. McEnroe took of cause of being booked. Ref handed our players cards much quicker. Martin Reilly never a black card. The Monaghan player grabs his hand and pulled him down to ground. McManus score in 1st half should have being free out. He grabs Flanagan's jersey and pulls him back behind him. Cuteness. When we went four points up the reaction should be to go five points up.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 25/05/2015 11:04:49    1727996

Well played to Cavan yesterday. Literally a kick of a ball in it which is what most seasoned Monaghan supporters would have predicted before the game. Serious atmosphere and tension around the ground but all very sporting throughout- a real advert for Ulster football.

I'd agree that Cavan simply ran out of steam for the last 15 minutes- they had exposed Monaghan through serious tackling, work rate and clever play up to that point. But nobody in blue, on the pitch or in the stands, seemed to believe the game was going to be won even when you were 13-9 ahead. Once the legs went that was it, Monaghan were let play for the critical 15 minutes they hit 7 points to 2. We have had our fair share of these 'hard luck' losses against favoured teams over the last 10 years- managed correctly it has helped to build the character of the team.

One thing is for sure, there is a gradual shift in relative power towards Cavan again. They will be a fair bit ahead of Monaghan within 3-5 years. That is certainly no yardstick for winning an Ulster title or more. But if and when the titles come, yesterday will be seen as an important step along the way. Good luck in the qualifiers.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1055 - 25/05/2015 11:07:22    1727998

Hard luck yesterday lads, ye put in a great performance, just like 2013, ye probably deserved at least a draw.

Hopefully ye will put in some decent displays in qualifiers. Its not for me to say, but I can only say that a new voice in changing room might be a good thing for ye. We were there or thereabouts in 2012 and in previous years, we were down to Div 3 and things looked bleak. The new management team seemed to be exactly the tonic that we needed. I know Terry Hyland has done a lot for ye, but so did Banty and Eamon McEnaeney in Monaghan.

I would love to see Cavan start really pushing for honours again. Not at the expense of us of course.The county has a great tradition.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 25/05/2015 11:20:24    1728014

Well done Monaghan. Also great credit to Cavan for what was a great game edge of you seat play. Cavan were depleted with the loss of Killian Clarke, Giveney, Keating, players who would have streghtened their squad. Alas only Clarke will available for the future. I know my Monaghan friends were worried when they thought Darren Hughes and the two wylies might be missing. So I think Cavan will find replacements but not over night. So chin up Terry Hyland and Cavan, you have a bright Future!!!!

fifty (Mayo) - Posts: 108 - 25/05/2015 11:20:30    1728015

so is there a new tactic with the team now. as soon as someone gets a yellow card, take them off. Terry admitted that when McEnroe went off it gave Monaghan an advantage. I don't think the ref was biased one way or the other. I have seen worse refereeing performances for sure. Having said that I did think Martin Reilly's Black card was wrong. not for a moment did I fear a Black card for that "tackle".

I think I said on here last week that you team you finish with is more important than the team you start with and that was emphasised by who finished the game for Monaghan. Again our use of subs left a lot to be desired. Ciaran Brady did do well though. I thought that Barry Reilly would be a ready-made replacement for Martin Reilly. I think the goalie situation has been handled really badly. I hope it doesn't have a long-term effect on the panel. Definitely one that got away. oh and by the way well done to all the lads you gave it everything and played really well. I feel the line could have been smarter and who is going to tell A.Forde to shut up, it does us no favours to have him roaring at officials throuhghout the match. If I was the officials I would banish him to the stands, I know he is passionate but he needs to control it, it is not doing himself or the team any favours.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 25/05/2015 12:40:19    1728064

Could anyone tell me what Liam Mc Hale brought to the table? I just don't see a lot. Pumping a high ball to a big tall forward is great IF you have someone feeding off him. We didn't yesterday.
Also why did Jason Mc Loughlin hesitate in going for a ball he was 80% sure of getting. It cost us a point and it could have been three.

All in all the performance was very good and the players worked their socks off. I couldn't make the game because of other committments but I watched it twice since and can't fault the team, they tried their best. Could we have tried different substitutions and maybe earlier?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/05/2015 13:07:28    1728077

S GOLDRICK
Have to agree with you on the handling of the goalkeeper was in kingscourt last night people very upset at the way farrelly treated galligan supposed to be brought in to be amazing freetaker i didnt see much proof of that yesterday he should have at least got that 45 to give us a draw i too hope it doesnt have a negative backlash on the panel i also think anthony ford needs to control his anger

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 25/05/2015 13:41:13    1728102