Intercounty Commitments Unsustainable

So Terry Hyland thinks that the demands of intercounty footballers is not sustainable...is it not the manager that chooses how many training sessions there are, when they training, challenge matches etc?

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 19/05/2015 14:10:49    1725513

You are some thick end off

CFC (Australia) - Posts: 25 - 19/05/2015 17:22:47    1725717

Ah Deanmartin, change the script lad. We all know you have a vendetta against Terry. Sure, Cavan aren't much better than they were under previous managers, Andrews, Carr etc, but we're still better nonetheless. More settled, more professionalism, and the team actually cares.

Seriously man, you are wrecking thread after thread with the same tired argument "What has Terry done to improve us?". If nobody can give you an answer, don't you think you've won the argument? No need to keep persisting with the same question.

As for the point Terry made, he's dead right. It is unsustainable.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 19/05/2015 18:47:42    1725762

And there ends my interest in this website. Well done Dean. You are the most idiotic person I've ever encountered, on or offline. Enjoy.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 19/05/2015 19:11:22    1725777

There is one thing that will make this guy happy and that's for Monaghan to win on Sunday which they are favourites to do anyway.

He will be creaming himself going home in the car getting ready to post on Hoganstand about the style of football, Hyland hasn't a clue and no Seanie Johnston why Keating and Givney did not come back this year. He may even have his post typed up already and just have to copy and paste it in.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 844 - 19/05/2015 21:31:11    1725844

Agree 100 percent with Hyland on this one and fsirplay to him as an inter county manager to have the courage to say it .

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 20/05/2015 17:13:12    1726185

three field based training sessions a week ...4 hours from arrival to departure, plus on average 2 hours driving, total 18 hours
one game per week (on average, competition, training friendlies etc) 8 hours commitment
2 gym sessions with travel 4 hours. 2 recovery session each week 2 hours each.
subsidiary requirements around football (5 hours
a grand total of 37 hours a week and that's on top of most of them working a full week.
totally agree with Terry

notimpressed (UK) - Posts: 98 - 21/05/2015 11:19:13    1726390

Ah here lads - Terry's the manager, hes the one that determines when training is, type of training and how often it is - if he's so concerned, why doesnt HE, reduce the training schedule!

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 21/05/2015 11:38:44    1726406

Needs to be reduced nationally. If Terry reduces commitment and training then you're at a lower level than opponents so that is pointless.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 21/05/2015 13:20:25    1726506

doratheexplorer - It does need to be reduced Nationally, but for Terry to come out with a statement like that whilst he is managing the team is a bit ludicrous.
And who knows, maybe if the players get more rest in between matches/training sessions, they might feel better, it might actually have a positive effect on players staying with the panel.

Its not that long ago that training consisted of 2/3 days per week, there was none of this strength & conditioning or nutrition melarkey and the football was alot better.

But as I said in previous posts - the GAA dont give a damn, as they fill the grounds and line their pockets, they dont care about the players.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 21/05/2015 17:16:14    1726710

Dean,

i am sure the County Board would not be too impressed if Terry decided to reduce training, thereby decreasing our chances of success .

it's a country-wide issue and an organisation-wide issue. If you want to give yourself the best chance nowadays you have to mimic what the more successfull teams are doing otherwise you might as well resign yourself to the bottom of DIv 4 and regular hammerings in the championship. there is only 1 sensible solution and that is for county teams to go professional.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 21/05/2015 17:45:30    1726730

RHF

There is one thing that will make this guy happy and that's for Monaghan to win on Sunday which they are favourites to do anyway.

He will be creaming himself going home in the car getting ready to post on Hoganstand about the style of football, Hyland hasn't a clue and no Seanie Johnston why Keating and Givney did not come back this year. He may even have his post typed up already and just have to copy and paste it in.

Don't know what ur on about, that lad doesn't even go to matches

CR7 (Cavan) - Posts: 125 - 21/05/2015 18:45:37    1726765