Cavan v Meath

Galway's win gives us a real chance of promotion if we can beat the royals in Navan!

How do people see the last day going?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 29/03/2015 15:03:33    1707719

A lot of people are saying "were not ready for division one a year in division 2 will do us good "
a load of rubbish. Thats a losers mentality.
we do not know were we will be next year you take opportunities when they arise they may not come around again.
so we should go all out to win next Sunday and get back to division one where this great county belongs.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 29/03/2015 16:02:51    1707808

Well said blueskies. Who made monaghan world beaters? Were just as good if not better than them in terms of players available see mckiernan mackey rory dunne clarke martin reilly mcenroe damian reilly to name but a few. Dont be listening to the likes of desagov sean 66 or mowbar. They only take on board what local barman says.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 29/03/2015 18:37:17    1707997

I think it was Easter Sunday 2012 that Cavan played Antrim in Breffni in Div 3 in their last league game. Basically the team knew they had to win or they were relegated to Div 4. They put on a pathetic display shipping early goals and lost to a Antrim side who had nothing to play for. But by the grace of God i think it was Offaly or Tip? who did them a massive favour in pulling of a surprise victory which kept Cavan up.
If someone said on that bleak April day, that 3 years later Cavan would be going into their final league game in Div 2 needing a victory and other favourable results to secure promotion Div 1 they would of been sent to the nuthouse!
Fair play Terry Hyland and Co!!!

rising1916 (Cavan) - Posts: 187 - 29/03/2015 21:38:45    1708135

Sceptical :
Obviously. You weren't at the match last night.
There were over 2500 at the game including barmen and I listened to a lot of comments from lads who have watched and gone to the games and they were far from impressed.
Maybe you should open your eyes.
Your obviously the only one with a set of blinkers!!!!

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 29/03/2015 21:50:30    1708144

Desagov you were at game? Yet you listened to comments from lots of people who were at the game?? Now either you cant figure out whats going on without asking some auld crank beside you or you are lying about being in breifne!! Also any clown who is still knocking the team i ask you to answer. A. Is been in with a shout of successive promotions not a sign of success. B. Without waffle explain where and how you would make improvements? C.Did or did not westmeath play with 13 behind the ball on saturday? It defies belief that some idiots can still be heard shout WILL YOU KICK IT IN when our forwards are double or treble marked.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 30/03/2015 09:49:17    1708199

Reply to sceptical:
I was at the match, I wonder were you there????
Personally I don't go to games to ask for opinions. I do agree that we've done well to put ourselves in position for promotion.
I don't think any team in div 2 would last a season in div 1. We need to consolidate our present position.
Next time I talk to a supporter I'll make sure he has the qualifications to answer my question. Maybe you might tell me who qualifys for an opinion ( a degree in sport maybe)
Standard of football is very poor in div 2 and there is a major gulf between the top 2 divisions.
When we play Monaghan I " hope" I'll be left to eat my words.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 30/03/2015 13:31:40    1708367

rising1916

I think it was Easter Sunday 2012 that Cavan played Antrim in Breffni in Div 3 in their last league game. Basically the team knew they had to win or they were relegated to Div 4. They put on a pathetic display shipping early goals and lost to a Antrim side who had nothing to play for. But by the grace of God i think it was Offaly or Tip? who did them a massive favour in pulling of a surprise victory which kept Cavan up.
If someone said on that bleak April day, that 3 years later Cavan would be going into their final league game in Div 2 needing a victory and other favourable results to secure promotion Div 1 they would of been sent to the nuthouse!
Fair play Terry Hyland and Co!!!

well said rising1916. I remember that game well. it was a low point. I was sure we were relegated to Div 4 that day. How anyone can say we are not making progress is beyond me. To be going in to the last game with a genuine and realistic chance of promotion to Div 1
instead of relegation to div 4 is certainly progress.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 30/03/2015 13:49:40    1708373

Yes desagob i was there. I dont care about other peoples negative opinions. Im a grown man so can make up my own mind. Now you claimed that i have on blinkers because im praising obvious progress. I place absolutely no value in any of your drivel because like sean 66 mowbar and others you only appear on here to sprout negative pointless tripe or to defend that tripe. Because your so incapable of working things out without talking to A BARMAN OR TO LADS WHO GO TO LOTS OF GAMES here is a nice piece to digest. Monaghan and donegal are recently promoted teams. Monaghan were in div 3 last year. Why cant cavan emulate them? Get off that barstool before its too late.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 30/03/2015 14:36:23    1708414

lads no disrespect to yous, I am a proud Cavan supporter, but also a realist.I was a happy man last Sat night, and am not negative or positive person ,but lets be real here.

1. None of the teams in Div 2 would survive in Div 1 ...end off. the diff in standard is quite something i would think between Div 1 and Div 2. I think the tanking we got from Kerry in Croker in the first half, without them getting out of 2nd gear paints the picture (and don't give me this drivel of winning the second half, Kerry were already planning for the all Ireland at half time.
2 Progress as a few have posted on here, has certainly been made, of that there is no question, but again lets be real, its coming from a shockingly low starting point, the longford tanking in breffni springs to mind. We have gone from cannon fodder for average to poor teams to just cannon fodder for the Div 1 Teams and that has to be applauded. We may play a very ugly way to achieve that, but so be it. We dont have the quality to open up and score 18-20 points.
3. Look negative or positive, everyone is entitled to their opinion, lets get behind Cavan, and Terry. The football may be very hard to watch, but it has got us somewhere, and to be fair its better than Waterford coming up and going on the beer and hammering us in Breffni, as what happened 4 or 5 years ago.

An Cabhan Abu!

cavancoop (Cavan) - Posts: 49 - 30/03/2015 16:44:37    1708504

Cavancoop... I must say you make very valid points there but I take umberage with anybody who thinks I'm posting negitive comments...nobody loves Cavan more than me but u have to be realistic and say it as it is... Football is in a terrible state at present and I am at my wits end as to where all this negitive play is going to land us.... I never missed a Cavan game for years but for the last two years I find it a chore to watch Cavan playing even though they are winning most games...the enjoyment is gone out of the game... As I rightly predicted the crowds are starting to vote with their feet and staying at home..which is sad.... Getting to Sunday I think we have a good chance...our record in the league v Meath has been excellent but how long can we get away winning games with low scores and hardly any from play....? 56 mins to score a point from play on Sat after haveing the breeze in the first half just does not auger well !!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 30/03/2015 19:33:16    1708608

I'm shock that hoganstands biggest troll poster (previously held by 51longago and Jack L) Meaths very own Royaldunne hasn't attacked this thread yet.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 30/03/2015 19:38:47    1708614

Folks, going back a few years to the day that Antrim put 4 goals by us, on foot of a defeat to a 14 man Offaly in the park in the previous league outing puts in some perspective where the team has come from. However, I would be very disappointed if this is the extent of the improvement. I would hope that Division 2 would be the lowest level that Cavan would be playing at in future years and that ultimately promotion to Division 1 would be achieved.

Next Sunday gives the team a real opportunity to make a statement. League 2 status, the first objective for 2015,has been achieved, and I look forward to the team going out and playing without any fear, no hand brake for the first 20 minutes, and demonstrating just what they can do.

Did anyone think that with the likes of Givney and Keating not being available for the whole campaign that we would be knocking on the promotion door? Well that's just where the team finds itself and with one more push it may well be welcoming the likes of Dublin, Kerry or Tyrone, Mayo and Cork to the park in the winter of 2016!

Best of luck to the team on Sunday

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 30/03/2015 19:44:46    1708618

Cavancoop,

Great post, puts everything in perspective, now, where is the court jester Fredflint? No doubt he'll be along to police the place and slate you for being a moaning michael. Don't you know you're not a real fan if you have an opinion that Fred disagrees with?

Well said though, I agree with you, I prefer to err on the side of caution and take a reserved approach. We're simply not ready for division 1. The standard in division 2 is bang average.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 30/03/2015 20:32:45    1708651

Cavancoop is bang on....he's a realist unlike Fredflint & Cavan 97 who would have us as All-Ireland Contenders. No team currently in Division 2 will survive a season in Division 1, the Kerry game in Croker being a prime example of how a top team can out a smaller team away with minimum effort, and again, both Roscommon games, the league final and All Ireland Qualifiers and most recently, they McKenna Cup Final.

We have maintained our Division 2 status, however, I would worry about next season as we'll now have 5 Ulster Teams in Division 2, and we know what type of football thats gonna be played, a type of football that Cavan try to play, but do not have the strength or quality to do so.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 31/03/2015 09:56:55    1708736

funny thing is that 2 teams need to step up to division one and Cavan and Meath are just as good as the rest of them.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 31/03/2015 10:06:54    1708743

HAHA DeanTynan, this is a forum for personal opinion. You put my opinion as I would have Cavan as All Ireland Contenders. That's not my opinion. Do you have to get a jibe in with a comment? Please express your opinions, Not mine because I have not said that anywhere.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 31/03/2015 10:48:21    1708761

Meath to win pulling up meaning we just need your fellow Ulster puke footballers to get hockeyed by Laois.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 31/03/2015 13:56:53    1708909

Cavancoop makes a reasonable argument. I've no problem with redponding to him/her. The problem is Deanmartintynan who has nothing to say when we win but when their is a sniff of negativity he pulls himself away from his facebook page and writes some drivel. Ned is the same, Mowbar another - just no balance.

So Cavancoop, I put it like this. If Cavan go up and get 5 or 6 points and hang in Division 1, would that be progress and be of use. I say it would. Thats my starting point. Even if in the other games we get well beaten staying up their would be good for us - do you agree? If you do agree, the question is whether we are capable of staying up. I say yes. Look at Derry for example, they were in the league final last year and are now on the bottom. We are as good as Derry and even though they got to a league final Longford beat them in the championship. I saw we are well able to beat Roscommon and or Meath. I say we can beat Monaghan, we've done it in the league before. Of course it would be a big ask to get points of Dublin, Cork, Mayo or Kerry.

So I say get up there and see where we stand, if we end up back in Div 2 so be it. We may have learned something.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 31/03/2015 13:58:40    1708910

Fredflint - Tell us which teams you think we'll secure points against in Division 1 - this should be good.

P.S We won Saturday Evening and last week against Galway and im still here....its the likes of yourself who hide away
when we lose - ill be here, win or lose.

PPS Not sure why you still think Im Martin Tyan from Ramor...although, I do agree with his bring back Seanie campaign given
that the lad got man of the match in the Senior Championship Final and was also top scorer.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 31/03/2015 14:42:43    1708933