Donnelly to Tyrone

It appears terry has lost a vital cog in his backroom team as peter donnelly is taking up a position in mickey hartes backroom team next year. Peter had a huge influence on the u21 teams of the last few years and also the senior team and will be a huge loss. who can terry get in to replace him?

Breffni81 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 05/09/2014 09:49:46    1648258

Defensively Peter will be a big loss but I feel we suffered badly in our attacking style of play. Was Peters sytem and game plan built around more defensively minded players? Were attacking players sacrificed?
Dont get me wrong I think we are very tight at the back now. I remember a few years ago going down to Wexford and conceding 3 or 4 goals early in the first half. After that we were always chasing the game.
Donegal proved last Sunday that both sides of your game plan have to be worked on jointly. Who would have thought 2 or 3 years ago that Donegal would score 3-14 aginst the Dubs in an All Ireland Semi-final.
I do think that the blanket defense that we used this year was found out and that we were changing it as was seen when we played such great football aginst Kerry in the Jun. All Irl final.
So to sum up Peter Donnelly has done a great job and deserves a lot of credit but the job is ongoing and will need a lot of tweaking.

Brownred (Cavan) - Posts: 229 - 05/09/2014 11:25:02    1648314

Hear Joe Mc Carthy has left also

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 05/09/2014 13:14:11    1648392

Changes in the backroom can only be good to freshen things up, McGuinness made changes in his backroom team this as they went a bit stale last year,Gallagher and Maxi Curran left, Damien Diver and John Duffy came and it has a had a good effect. Obviously I wouldn't expect Cavan to be in the All Irelannd final next year but new ideas and style can only be good.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 05/09/2014 14:06:02    1648417

Best of luck to Peter with his new appointment. However, with Three Championships behind him Terry needs to make a few changes to the set up.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 05/09/2014 15:52:37    1648482

He's a very impressive young man and helped Cavan football a great deal. Good luck to him in the future

ochonlir1 (Cavan) - Posts: 88 - 05/09/2014 16:05:37    1648491

I'm very sorry to hear that Peter Donnelly is leaving. He made an enormous contribution to Cavan football especially at under-age level as the record shows. And he gave us a defence as well, something we hadn't for years.

I agree with other posters that we need to move it on now - get a functioning midfield and attack. If the Junior team reflects new thinking then we'll see a lot more of our forward potential in the coming year. Replacing Peter and Joe won't be easy and a lot will depend on that. For that reason I think its important that Terry stay on as manager and avoid a lot of disruption.

Best of luck to Peter - and Joe if he's leaving too.

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 05/09/2014 20:36:49    1648611

I thought he had signed a new deal earlier in the year for 3 more years, but suppose the chance to work with Tyrone his native County was too good to turn down when Mickey Harte approached him.
Made a big contribution to Cavan football

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 05/09/2014 21:57:06    1648645

Best of luck Peter, thanks for helping revive Cavan Football

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 07/09/2014 11:34:23    1649001

Losing Peter Donnelly was possibly predicable, given the top class job he did in establishing a successful defensive system at several levels in Cavan. He now has a profile base to launch himself from, if need be. I'm sure he always had a desire to return to his native county so good luck to him and many thanks for such a professional contribution to Cavan football.

But who will replace him? Look at his credentials, All Ireland winner at all levels, degree in Sports Science from UUJ. He was certainly highly qualified for the job and his direct replacement should have a similar high profile.

However, more disturbing for me is the loss of Joe McCarthy. Intelligent, composed and committed, with blue blood in his veins, his departure, if it is true, would be a bigger blow. If he does go, I hope it's not the last we see of him at this level.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 08/09/2014 10:05:45    1649387

best of luck to Peter. He has been working with Cavan football for a long time now. Before he was involed with the Senior/U21's he was coaching the primary school kids.
Dedicated coach and was a fine footballer also. Felt he was unlucky never to get a decent run with Tyrone seniors. The move is definately a gain for Tyrone.
Thanks Peter for all your hard work

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 08/09/2014 16:13:15    1649678

Lads who is going to replace them though, have we thought of this. Rory Gallagher has been mentioned but its a long drive from Kilcar and if McGuinness goes this year then Gallagher would be in a strong position to replace him. Tony McEntee mentioned but he is gonna get the Down job. Plus Donnelly done both jobs S&C and coaching so we either get a person who covers both roles or we have to get 2 people in.

chancey (Cavan) - Posts: 32 - 08/09/2014 16:25:23    1649687

Looking at the canditates to replace Peter Donnelly and Joe Mc Carthy , did anyone think of Peter Canavan. I think he would work really well with Terry. I know he is with the Gaels but he could still do both jobs. Peter has a great football brain and as well as being one of the greatest forwards ever to play the game he would be a huge inspiration to our young players. Just imagine the tactical battles between Terry/Peter and Micky Harte, Jim Mc Guinness, Kieran McGeeney. And to replace Joe Mc how about Ronan Carolan? Another legend!
It would be a very talented back-room team dont ye think?
Cavan Abu !!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 08/09/2014 19:27:50    1649815

not bad but once again lads we need a s&c coach and a coach, Peter Canavan is not going to do weights with the players, if he is then he is a mighty man altogether. What we are looking for is a top level s&c coach and a top football coach, it is very hard for one man to combine the two unless he has a lot of help. So lads let start thinking outside the box, stop dreaming about the dream team and start thinking about a s&c coach and a football coach and a selector to replace Joe.

chancey (Cavan) - Posts: 32 - 08/09/2014 20:46:18    1649857

BreffniDub

Canavan to replace Donnelly you must really be joking he did after all do a fantastic job with Fermanagh didn't he heavens forbid if Cavan considered him for any position. Maybe bring back Tommy Carr ????

The man to bring back if he was willing to do both jobs in a full time capacity is Marty McElkinnen

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 08/09/2014 20:55:28    1649866

Why don't we have a good look at the kind of football the Gaels are playing under Canavan before we come to conclusions. Seems to me that Fermanagh went backwards under his management and developed a lot of nastiness that wasn't in their usual game - at least that's what Cavan and Meath supporters thought and neither of us are angels.

No doubting his football brain but can he teach it to others? We need a replacement for Peter Donnelly, not Terry Hyland IMO. I agree with posters who say that Peter Donnelly knew his stuff especially in the S&C field. That's a hard act to follow and the place is full of people who think they know all about this but haven't a clue. Big decision for all concerned and one that will have a direct bearing on Cavan teams next year.

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 08/09/2014 21:09:16    1649872

chancey

1649687 Lads who is going to replace them though, have we thought of this. Rory Gallagher has been mentioned but its a long drive from Kilcar and if McGuinness goes this year then Gallagher would be in a strong position to replace him. Tony McEntee mentioned but he is gonna get the Down job. Plus Donnelly done both jobs S&C and coaching so we either get a person who covers both roles or we have to get 2 people in.

It's not us making the decisions in fairness, no doubt they will look for a good replacement. Mike McGurn is suppose to be a top class S&C coach but probaly has enough work as it is.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 11/09/2014 10:43:37    1650856

There is far too much emphasis on S&C coaches. Look at young Ryan McHugh you would hard think he did much of it !! What we need is a top class Selector who has inter county experience and who is tactically aware .. Aware of what's happening during games and be knowledgeable and experienced enough to advise switches or substitutions. That's what we are lacking. Big time!

dirtybag (Cavan) - Posts: 242 - 11/09/2014 11:17:06    1650868

dirtybag

There is far too much emphasis on S&C coaches. Look at young Ryan McHugh you would hard think he did much of it !! What we need is a top class Selector who has inter county experience and who is tactically aware .. Aware of what's happening during games and be knowledgeable and experienced enough to advise switches or substitutions. That's what we are lacking. Big time!

I'd agree with you that we do need a shrewd tactician on the line but we shouldn't mix up the two roles. Ryan McHugh is a prime example of proper S&C I think - nobody could keep that up for 70+ minutes without being properly trained in terms of stamina AND strength. Anything less and he would've been taken out of the game long before now. Top teams like Donegal usually have it right when it comes to tactical nous AND strength & conditioning. We can only hope that the people who will appoint the next coach will get it right as far as possible. I'd have Mice McGurn any day but I doubt if he's available.

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 11/09/2014 21:17:31    1651155